Amongst all the cosmopolitan interiors many of Dalt Vila’s buildings have been sacrificed to, it’s comforting to know at least one remains faithful to the romanticism of times past. Hidden behind an unassuming door in one of the old fortress’s cobblestone alleys, is the remarkable product of Ibiza interior designer, Anisya Sam’s latest project.

From the narrow archways and feminine, dusty pastels to the striking period furniture and ornate glass chandeliers, this apartment invokes a Paris of the twenties and thirties, a golden age of bohemianism and luxury. In every room lie treasures spanning antiquity to the early twentieth century, many of which Sam has sourced from all around the world.

The central living room is heavily influenced by the work of renown Sri Lankan architect Geoffrey Bawa, the father of Tropical Modernism and one of Sam’s biggest inspirations. ‘He worked closely with nature and was very avant-garde. His work is strong, mystical and symbolic.’

The room features a rare, colonial style Bawa table with legs of deer antler, real ebony inlay and the maker’s signature carved into the wood. The piece is matched with two 1930’s walnut and cane nursing chairs and a vintage teak settee. In the corner of the room sits an antique Godin cast iron stove in immaculate condition, decorated with Art Nouveau detail. The palms and hanging orchids, which continue throughout every room, create a whimsical atmosphere and the original tiled flooring, indicative of the buildings Spanish roots, possesses a beauty only age can bestow.

Further on is the master bedroom, dominated by the panels of a 250-year-old, intricately carved, Afghan cupboard transformed into a bedhead. A stone fireplace and water feature in opposite corners balance one another. The elegant adjoining dressing room boasts a beautiful antique French cupboard gracing an entire wall. Heady scents of jasmine and honeysuckle drift inside from the vines lining every doorframe of the balcony where panoramic views of Ibiza Port lay open.

Climbing the narrow spiral staircase to the second floor is like entering Alice’s wonderland. Small, solitary windows provide glimpses of the weathered rooftops across Ibiza Town. A low doorway leads to an intimate sitting room wherein sits a gorgeous Louis XV salon suite, masterfully restored with soft turquoise and golden fleur-de-lys upholstery.

The intricate Art Nouveau fixtures and historical gems continue through every room. It’s easy to imagine this place belonging to a young, love-struck Parisian couple, draped in elegance, wistfully dreaming their day away in bedded luxury while sipping champagne, reading works of Jean Cocteau and listening to the sounds of Edith Piaf lament through the house. This beautiful Dalt Vila apartment invokes a time of art and true elegance, sadly, often long forgotten.


 

CREDITS

Photography: Natalie Beth Harris

Styling: Anisya Sam +34 617 091 579

Hair & make-up: Bart Brom www.bartbrom.com

Clothes & accessories, antiques & soft furnishing: Solis Lucrum concept stores, Dalt Vila. www.facebook.com/Solis-Lucrum

Models: Danielle Moseley & Christian Bogani.

Bei all dem kosmopolitischem Interieur, dem sich viele der Dalt Vila Gebäude hingeben, ist es tröstlich zu wissen, dass wenigstens eines davon der Romantik vergangener Zeiten treu bleibt. Versteckt hinter einer unauffälligen Tür in einer der Kopfsteinpflaster-Gassen der alten Festung fanden wir das bemerkenswerte jüngste Projekts der Innendesignerin Anisya Sam aus Ibiza.

Von engen Bogengängen und femininen, staubigen Pastellen bis zu auffälligen Stilmöbeln und reich verzierten Glaskronleuchtern – dieses Apartment beschwört ein Paris der Zwanziger- oder Dreißigerjahre herauf, ein goldenes Zeitalter der Boheme und des Luxus. In jedem Raum findet man Schätze – Antiquitäten des frühen zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts – von Sam aus der ganzen Welt zusammengetragen.

Das Wohnzimmer ist stark von der Arbeit des angesehenen Architekten Geoffrey Bawa aus Sri Lanka beeinflusst, dem Vater des Tropischen Modernismus und einer der größten Inspiratoren Sams. „Er arbeitete viel mit Naturmaterialien und war sehr avantgardistisch. Seine Arbeit ist überzeugend, mystisch und symbolhaft.“

Der Raum ist geprägt durch einen seltenen Bawa-Tisch im Kolonialstil mit Beinen aus Hirschgeweih, Einlegearbeiten aus echtem Ebenholz und der in das Holz geschnitzten Signatur des Erbauers. Das Stück ist abgestimmt auf zwei 1930er Stilsessel aus Walnussholz und Zuckerrohr und eine altmodische Teakholz-Sitzbank. In der Ecke des Raumes steht ein antiker Godin-Gussofen in makellosem Zustand, verziert mit Jugendstil-Details. Die Palmen und hängenden Orchideen, die sich in allen Räumen fortsetzen, schaffen eine skurrile Atmosphäre, und der Fußbodenbelag aus Originalfliesen, typisch in diesen alten spanischen Häusern, besitzt eine Schönheit, die nur das Alter verleihen kann.

Weiter hinten ist das Schlafzimmer, welches von der Vertäfelung eines 250 Jahre alten, kompliziert geschnitzten afghanischen Schranks, der zum Kopfteil des Bettes umgestaltet wurde, dominiert wird. Ein steinerner Kamin und ein Wasserspiel in den jeweils gegenüberliegenden Ecken bilden ein Gleichgewicht zueinander. Das angrenzende elegante Ankleidezimmer trumpft mit einem schönen, antiken französischen Schrank auf, der eine ganze Wand schmückt. Berauschende Jasmin- und Heckenkirschdüfte wehen von den Ranken herein, die jeden Türrahmen zum Balkon säumen, der Panoramaausblicke auf Ibiza’s Hafen offenbart.

Die enge Wendeltreppe in den zweiten Stock hochzusteigen ist, als ob man Alices Wunderland betritt. Kleine einzelne Fenster gewähren flüchtige Blicke auf die verwitterten Dächer von Ibiza Stadt. Ein niedriger Durchgang führt zu einem privaten Wohnzimmer, in dem eine prachtvolle Sitzgarnitur von Louis XV steht, die Polster meisterhaft restauriert mit sanften türkis- und goldfarbenen Lilienornamenten.

Das komplexe Art Nouveau Inventar und die historischen Prachtstücke ziehen sich durch jeden Raum. Man kann sich leicht vorstellen, dass dieser Ort einem frisch verliebten Pariser Pärchen gehört, das in Eleganz gehüllt sehnsüchtig den Tag verträumt, eingebettet in Luxus, während es Champagner nippt, Werke von Jean Cocteau liest und den Klängen von Edith Piaf lauscht, die durch das Haus wehklagt. Dieses schöne Dalt Vila Apartment beschwört eine Zeit der Kunst und wahren Eleganz herauf, traurig, oftmals längst vergessen.


 

CREDITS

Photography: Natalie Beth Harris

Styling: Anisya Sam +34 617 091 579

Hair & make-up: Bart Brom www.bartbrom.com

Clothes & accessories, antiques & soft furnishing: Solis Lucrum concept stores, Dalt Vila. www.facebook.com/Solis-Lucrum

Models: Danielle Moseley & Christian Bogani.