Ever since I released my book, Glorious Ibiza Food, which featured C’an Pere Mussona and the extensive work they were doing to increase numbers of various livestock endemic to the Balearic archipelago, many articles have been written about this important organic farm.

However there are many new developments to this essential and exciting project. The owner, a most wonderful Irishman called Ronnie, who’s passion and love for the work he does is quite simply unrivalled on the island, continues to breed and work on the regeneration of the Mallorcan cow, Formentera black pig, Ibiza sheep and Ibizan chickens.

These traditional breeds were simply not suited to high density and artificial methods of rearing and the chemical and hormone laced fodder needed to fatten livestock in modern day production for our food chain. These breeds thrived on an outdoor environment complimented with a varied, seasonal and natural diet and the animals matured more slowly. With the rapid increase in tourism, other breeds more hardy to industrial methods of rearing took first place and so endemic stock started to decline in numbers.

The latest installment of the ongoing work at C’an Pere Mussona is to introduce a Pedigree Hereford herd to the island in October of this year. This breed of cow, originated in Hereford in England and on Ibiza they will enjoy an organic lifestyle and all the benefits of living on this paradise island. These cows, raised under such conditions will produce naturally marbled beef that is succulent and full of flavor and will be sold to local butchers and restaurants ensuring that there is a plentiful supply of extremely good quality beef to the island, from the island. Most importantly this is a sustainable source of breeding.

The farm has also recently acquired mature orchards of oranges, lemons and pears, trees that will now benefit from a new input of love and care. They continue to grow many vegetables, herbs and edible flowers, and have increased their production with the new land they now curate.

C’an Pere Mussona, simply put, are in the business of love and hard labor, they produce by far the best meat on the island and their fruit and vegetables are hard to follow. Try the butchers Can Ros (Ctra San Jose km1) or Los Gallegos (Second left turn before Pacha) to see if you can buy some for your own barbecue this summer!

The very quick and easy recipe I have chosen for this issue uses the fillet of the Formentera black pig. This breed has an intense mature flavor with earthy notes. You could easily substitute for The Duroc pig or Iberico pig, both having great flavor.

I have paired it with smoked paprika, a Spanish classic, and julienned Mango and vegetables for adding crisp sweet and sour notes all wrapped up in fresh Coz lettuce for the ultimate crunchy wrap-snack for a beautiful Mediterranean summer lunch.

Serves 4

Meat

  • Salt Black Pork Loin, Mango & Sesame lettuce wraps, 2 x tbspn Smoked Paprika

Ingredients

  • 800G x Pork fillet, trimmed but whole, rubbed in smoked paprika and salt
  • 2 x tbspn Extra virgin olive oil

For the vegetable filling & wraps

  • 1 x small red onion, peeled and thinly sliced
  • 1 x mango, peeled, de-stoned and sliced into matchstick strips
  • 1 x red bell pepper, de-seeded, thinly sliced
  • 1 x Romaine lettuce: trim the outside leaves then use whole leaves with the base trimmed for the wraps. 3 leaves per person should do it.

Sauce

  • 4 x tbspn Soya Sauce
  • 2 x tbspn Sesame oil
  • 2 x lime, juice
  • 1 x clove garlic, peeled, crushed
  • I x thumb ginger, finely chopped
  • 1 x small red birds eye chili, deseeded, finely chopped

Method

  • Mix all the ingredients for the sauce together as soon as possible. The flavors will infuse with each minute they spend together!
  • Marinate the pork fillet in the Smoked Paprika and salt for at least 1 hour.
  • Pre heat oven to gas mark 3 / 160º.
  • While the pork is marinating, prepare all your filling ingredients. Set aside on a serving plate
  • Prepare and mix all your sauce ingredients. Set aside in a small sauce bowl.
  • Heat some olive oil in a cast iron skillet and when hot add the pork fillet.
  • Cook for around 30seconds on each side, browning all the sides, then place in the oven and cook for 30-35 minutes. Remove and allow to rest for 5-10 minutes.
  • Slice the fillet lengthways then at an angle into thin strips.
  • Serve on a platter with the lettuce, strips of filling and sauce bowl.
  • Build your own wraps, placing the pork strips across the lettuce spine, then the vegetables on top dribble some sauce, roll up and eat with the fingers!

Related Posts

  • Published On: September 27th, 2017|Categories: Eat & Drink|
  • Published On: August 9th, 2017|Categories: Eat & Drink|
  • Published On: August 9th, 2017|Categories: Eat & Drink|
  • Published On: August 7th, 2017|Categories: Eat & Drink|
  • Published On: July 4th, 2017|Categories: Eat & Drink|

Seit ich mein Buch Glorious Ibiza Food herausgebracht und  Ca‘n Pere Mussona vorgestellt habe sowie das umfangreiche  Engagement, mit dem sich dieser besondere Bio Bauernhof für die balearische Artenvielfalt und deren Aufbau einsetzt, wurden viele Artikel über diesen geschrieben.

Allerdings gibt es auch viele neue Entwicklungen in diesem spannenden Projekt. Inhaber Ronnie, ein wunderbarer Ire, hat sich mit Leib und Seele seiner Arbeit verschrieben. Kein anderer setzt sich so wie er auf Ibiza für den Erhalt regionaler Rassen ein, wie den mallorquinischen Kühen, den schwarzen Formentera Schweinen sowie den ibizenkischen Hühnern und Schafen.

Diese traditionellen Rassen sind ungeeignet für Massentierhaltung, künstliche Methoden zur Aufzucht oder für ein mit Chemie und Hormonen angereichertes Futter, daher spielen sie in den modernen Produktionen kaum mehr eine Rolle. Diese Tiere benötigen ein natürliches Umfeld, eine abwechslungsreiche, saisonale natürliche Ernährung und mästen daher langsamer. Mit dem raschen Anstieg des Tourismus und dem zunehmendem Bedarf an Fleisch und der damit verbundenen Massenproduktion rutschen die Tiere immer mehr ins Abseits.

Im Oktober 2016 kommen weitere Zöglinge nach Ca‘n Pere Mussona, eine ganze Herde Hereford Rinder. Dieses klimatolerante Rind stammt ursprünglich aus England, fand aber auch schnell auf Ibiza Verbreitung. Die Herde wird den Bauernhof und die paradiesische Umgebung genießen.  Wenn die Kühe unter diesen perfekten Bedingungen gehalten werden, wird das Fleisch fein marmoriert und saftig, damit beliebt bei den lokalen Metzgern und den guten Restaurants der Insel. Dadurch wird nicht nur die Versorgung durch hochwertiges Biofleisch auf Ibiza gesichert, sondern auch die Nachhaltigkeit der Quelle.

Darüber hinaus hat die Farm weitere Plantagen mit Orangen-, Zitronen- und Birnenbäumen erwerben können und widmet sich hingebungsvoll der biologischen Pflege. Damit erweitert der Hof seine Vielfalt an Gemüse, Kräutern und essbaren Blüten.

Ca‘n Pere Mussona, das ist Liebe und harte Arbeit. Hierher kommen das beste Fleisch und die süßesten Früchte. Wenn Sie sich ein Stück Fleisch für den Grill sichern möchten, versuchen Sie es beim Metzger Can Ros (Ctra San Jose km1) oder Los Gallegos (zweite links vorm Pacha abbiegen) – Ihre Gäste werden begeistert sein!

Als Hommage an Ca‘n Pere Mussona wähle ich ein einfaches, köstliches Gericht mit dem Filet vom schwarzen Formentera Schwein. Der erdige Geschmack ist intensiv, kann aber auch durch ein Filet vom Duroc- oder Iberico-Schwein ersetzt werden.

Ich kombiniere es mit einem spanischen Klassiker, der gesmokten Paprika, und Mango Julienne, so dass sich die süßen und sauren Nuancen duellieren und wickele es in einen frischen Salat: fertig ist der knackige mediterrane Mittagswrap!

Für 4 Personen

Gesalzene schwarze Schweinelende,  Mango und Sesam-Wrap, 2 Teelöffel geräucherter Paprika

Fleisch

  • 800 g Filet im Ganzen, eingerieben mit geräuchertem Paprikapulver und Salz
  • 2 Tl. Extra Virgin Olivenöl

Für die Gemüsefüllung & Wrap

  • 1 kleine rote Zwiebel, in dünne Streifen gehobelt
  • 1 Mango, gepellt, entsteint und in Zündholz breite Streifen geschnitten
  • 1 rote Paprika, entkernt und in dünne Scheiben geschnitten
  • 1 Römersalat, die großen äußeren Blätter als Wrapwickel zur Seite legen, den Rest klein schneiden. 3 große Blätter pro Person sollten reichen.

Sauce

  • 4 Tl. Soja Sauce
  • 2 Tl. Sesamöl
  • Saft von 2 Limetten
  • 1 Knoblauchzehe, kleingehackt
  • 1 daumengroßes Stück Ingwer, kleingehackt
  • 1 kleine rote Chili, entkernt und kleingehackt

Zubereitung

  • Mixen Sie die Zutaten für die Soße als erstes zusammen, denn je länger diese Mischung zieht, desto intensiver der Geschmack.
  • Marinieren Sie das Schweinefilet im geräucherten Paprikapulver und Salz für mindestens eine Stunde. Den Ofen vorheizen auf 160 Grad oder Gas, Stufe 3.
  • Während das Fleisch ruht, bereiten Sie alle anderen Zutaten vor und richten es auf einer großen Servierplatte an.
  • Bereiten Sie auch die Sauce vor und stellen sie diese in einer kleinen Schüssel zur Seite.
  • Erhitzen Sie das Olivenöl in einer Pfanne aus Gusseisen und braten Sie das Filet an.
  • Von jeder Seite 30 Sek. anbraten, so dass es von allen Seiten gut gebräunt ist, dann im Ofen ca. 35 Minuten garen. Herausnehmen und 5-10 Minuten ruhen lassen.
  • Schneiden Sie das Filet längs in dünne Streifen.
  • Servieren Sie es auf der großen Platte, gemeinsam mit dem Salat und der Sauce.
  • Bauen Sie sich einen Wrap: Einfach Fleisch und Füllung in der Mitte des Salatblatts platzieren, mit Soße beträufeln, rollen und in den Mund stecken, einfach köstlich!