Carl Cox first met Pepe Rosello in 1994 at a React Records launch party at Space. “The album was called Fact,” Carl recalls. “I was one of those artists who had a release on the compilation series and they asked me to come along to Ibiza and play for a couple of hours. That’s where Pepe first heard my music and basically he liked what he heard.”

Over the course of the next 12 months, Pepe followed Carl’s career with interest, following him to London, mainland Spain and Germany to listen to his sets. “Eventually Pepe felt it was time for us to meet,” Carl explains. “We talked about playing at Space a little bit more. Back then, it was all about the Opening and Closing parties and he asked me to come and do that first.”

From the outset, Pepe gave Carl a free reign to play the type of music he wanted to play, a rarity within the scene. “That’s why it was never really a business relationship to start off with,” Carl continues. “Pepe and I became good friends because of the business, but we always had the friendship first. We respect each others way of life, which is fantastic. It’s one of the reasons why we’ve been able to sustain our relationship over all these years. Normally relationships with club management are front loaded. You tell the club owner how much money you want and they say, well, if you underperform you’re out. If that was how things worked at Space I wouldn’t be talking to you about it today. I know that once I’ve finished at Space, I won’t have that kind relationship with any other club owner in the world. It’s just not possible. Our relationship is much deeper than Pepe paying me and me playing at Space.”

With Space set to close later this summer, the island is currently rife with rumours concerning the future of the Space brand. “Even though Pepe is 80-years old, he’s not going to start growing tomatoes,” Carl smiles. “He still wants to work within the industry for the sake of the island. If you threw up a handful of confetti, that’s where we are right now in terms of what happens next with the Space brand. If he wants to bring some positive attention to San Antonio, of course it would be a dream for me to go along with him and do that. His vision is to create the same Discoteca within the grounds of a hotel. But you won’t see anything for at least two years.”

In the meantime, Carl will still be a regular visitor to the island. He’ll have the luxury of picking and choosing where to perform, but it’s highly doubtful he’ll take a residency at another club. “Whatever I do will be very special,” Carl concludes. “Whether it’s DC10 or Amnesia – I might even do something at Privilege, who knows – but at the end of the day I’m not looking to create another residency like my Revolution residency at Space. It would be hard to replicate that at any other club on the island… and I don’t think I even want to.”

Catch Carl Cox at Music Is Revolution at Space, every Tuesday until September 20th.

Related Posts

  • Published On: October 19th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: October 10th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: October 5th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: October 5th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: August 25th, 2022|Categories: People|

Zum ersten Mal trafen sich die beiden im Jahre 1994 bei einer React Records Launch Party im Space. „Das Album hieß ‚Fact‘“ erinnert sich Carl. „Ich war einer der Künstler auf einer Compilation-Reihe und wurde gefragt, ob ich nach Ibiza kommen würde, um einige Stunden aufzulegen.“

Während der folgenden zwölf Monate verfolgte Pepe Carls Karriere mit Interesse, reiste nach London, aufs spanische Festland und nach Deutschland um seine Sets zu hören. „Dann fand Pepe, es sei an der Zeit, dass wir uns treffen“ erklärt Carl. „Wir sprachen darüber, öfter im Space aufzulegen. Damals drehte sich alles um die Opening und Closing Partys und er bat mich, das zuerst anzugehen.“

Carl-Cox_Ibiza-Style-001

Von Beginn an gab ihm Pepe carte blanche, und so konnte Carl Cox das spielen, was er wollte – in der Szene eine ziemliche Seltenheit. „Es ist der Grund, warum es niemals eine Geschäftsbeziehung war“ berichtet Carl weiter. „Pepe und ich wurden gute Freunde. Es ging ums Business – aber die Freundschaft war vorrangig. Wir respektieren den Lebensstil des anderen und das ist fantastisch. Einer der Gründe, warum wir diese Beziehung über all die Jahre gepflegt und aufrechterhalten haben. Normalerweise geht es mit dem Club Management zur Sache. Du sagst dem Clubbesitzer deine Gagenvorstellung und der sagt, well, wenn du nicht ablieferst, bist du raus. Wäre es so im Space gewesen würden wir dieses Gespräch heute nicht führen. Ich bin sicher, wenn ich irgendwann im Space aufhöre werde ich nie wieder solch ein Verhältnis zu irgendeinem anderen Clubbesitzer auf der Welt haben. Es ist einfach nicht möglich. Unser Verhältnis ist viel tiefer als das simple ‚Carl spielt, Pepe zahlt’.“

Mit der Schließung des Space am Ende des Sommer hat die Gerüchteküche, wie es mit der Marke Space weitergeht, bereits mächtig Fahrt aufgenommen. „Obwohl Pepe jetzt 80 Jahre alt ist, denkt er nicht daran, in die Tomatenzucht zu gehen“ lächelt Carl. „Im Sinne der Insel will er weiter in der Industrie arbeiten. Schmeiß’ eine Hand Konfetti in die Luft und du hast ziemlich genau den Status Quo der Marke. Sollte es sein Plan sein, etwas Aufsehenerregendes für San Antonio tun zu wollen, ich wäre sofort dabei. Seine Vision ist, eine ähnliche Diskothek im Kontext eines Hotels aufzubauen. Aber das dauert mindestens zwei Jahre.“

In der Zwischenzeit wird Carl die Insel weiterhin regelmäßig besuchen. Er hat den Luxus, sich die Gigs aussuchen zu können, die er spielen möchte. Eine Residency in einem anderen Club ist dennoch höchst unwahrscheinlich. „Was immer ich tue, es wird etwas Besonderes sein“ resümiert Carl. „Ob es DC10 wird oder Amnesia, vielleicht sogar etwas im Privilege – wer weiß – aber am Ende des Tages geht es mir nicht darum, eine weitere Residency wie die im Space zu spielen. Es wäre schwer, das in irgendeinem Club der Insel zu wiederholen. Und ich denke auch nicht, dass ich das überhaupt will.“

Carl Cox bei der Music Revolution im Space jeden Dienstag bis zum 20. September