Ferrán Adrià (L`Hospitalet de Llobregat, 1962) wanted to be a football player but cooking turned into his plan B. So it was that he became— for many—the world’s best chef and—for all— the owner of the best restaurant on the planet, father of spherification and avant-garde genius.

What does a dishwasher learn about cooking?
Many things: it is the best “first course” in the ‘live’ cooking school: learning to work, to understand the pace of a kitchen, to come into contact with the different items, with the way the services function…

What was cooking in Ibiza at the beginning of the 80s?
At the beginning of the 80s…You can imagine, above all for a young lad who was barely 20 years old like me. It was a kind of stronghold of freedom where you met many people that, like yourself, came to find inspiration and experiences.

Isn’t creativity just not copying, as Jacques Maximin said?
That would be the basis, although it seems to be self-evident: clearly creating something means doing something new, something that nobody has done before that means that you are not copying. However, creativity is also, I would even say above all, a lot of work, pursuing an idea, understanding the framework in which you move in order to be able to rise above it, the will to open up new paths, perseverance and determination, and an indispensable anarchic streak.

If people compare you to Picasso and Miró, can we say that cooking is the painting of the 21st century? Don’t you think there are too many Impressionists?
I always say, cooking is cooking. It is true that parallels are sometimes sought; I suppose it is because cooking has taken a leap forward and cooks have opted to push the frontiers of the avant-garde. But to go from there to saying that it is the painting of the 21st-century…

Ferran-Adria_Ibiza-Style-001

How many stars should a chef who got rid of spare tyres be awarded?
As is well known, the stars reward excellence in cuisine…And that doesn’t mean that they’re against diets per se, but let’s say that, in general, it is not the foremost factor for a chef when it comes to creating a gastronomic approach. They are two different things.

Do the stars dazzle you?
You clearly have to keep a cool head when you enter the game of the stars. Going after them just because they are there can lead to big disappointments. The best thing is to work honestly and relentlessly in search of your own style. The results and the rewards are an added consequence.

Have you ever really expelled anyone from a kitchen, à la Master Chef? Tell me about it
The truth is no. In real life, the professional world works in a very different way. The people coming to work in restaurants like el Bulli possess a more or less important background in the trade, which is why it’s unusual for these kinds of situations to occur. If I had to point out one possible reason why tense situations can happen, I would say that, at elBulli, punctuality was very important and perhaps there were cooks who were not aware of it at the beginning.

Tell me about a nightmare you’ve experienced in the kitchen
Of course they have: the day that we were starting a dinner service and there was a power cut and it didn’t come back on. Obviously, we had to fulfil our obligations as professionals, so we had to make do with candles and other devices to light up the room…And with burners and plate warmers to cook on.

How long is the culinary bubble going to last?
I don’t know if it has to disappear, if such a bubble really exists. What really is desirable is for it to acquire reasonable dimensions, but for that to happen there is nothing better than the perspective of time that puts each one, each creator, each movement, in its place.

How many chefs are having us on?
I never speak about my colleagues in the profession. I believe that everyone has to do what they want; after that the public is the one that will give more or less support to each approach.

What is your freakiest creation? How the devil did you come up with that?
There is no such thing as a freaky creation; there are freaky people.

What three foodstuffs would you take to a desert island, and why?
You would probably already be able to find salt, fruit, fish and meat on the island. Perhaps I would take bread, ham and olive oil.

How does chemistry come into cooking, Doctor Honoris Causa?
Chemistry comes into cooking through interest in discovering new ways of working, of understanding phenomena. But if we are talking about chemistry we can also talk about design, about art, about a whole series of disciplines with which cuisine has collaborated in the last one and a half decades and that help to enrich the language of gastronomy.

A deconstructed potato omelette with or without onion?
The one at elBulli is with onion, it’s always more tasty and honey-like, the ideal counterpoint to potato and egg…

How much have people offered you to get a table at El Bulli?
There have been many situations that were surreal and at times stupid… The fact that we could not offer a table to everyone never made us feel proud. It would have been nice if everybody who wanted could have been able to book a table at elBulli.

Do you think that Spain was lacking in spherification in the recent Euro finals?
We were coming out of the golden period in our football, but there is scarcely team any or any squad that can prolong its reign indefinitely. I believe that we have to hold onto all the amazing things that we have experienced and learn from them, as well as from the failures.

Give me an original recipe that you can make in the time it takes to read this interview.
Some sliced strawberries, seasoned with sea salt and olive oil and sprinkled with lemon juice.

www.elbullifoundation.com

For privacy reasons YouTube needs your permission to be loaded.
I Accept

Related Posts

  • Published On: October 19th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: October 10th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: October 5th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: October 5th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: August 25th, 2022|Categories: People|

Ferrán Adrià (L`Hospitalet de Llobregat, 1962) wollte eigentlich Fußballer werden, aber das Kochen entpuppte sich als sein Plan B. So wurde er also der für viele beste Koch der Welt und – da sind sich alle einig – Besitzer des besten Restaurants des Planeten, Urvater der Spherification und Avantgarde-Genius.

Was lernt ein Tellerwäscher übers Kochen?
Viele Dinge: Es ist der beste Anfängerkurs in der Kochschule: die Arbeit lernen, das Tempo der Küche verstehen, mit den Gegebenheiten in Kontakt kommen, lernen, wie der Service funktioniert.

Wie war das mit dem Kochen auf Ibiza, Anfang der 80er Jahre?
Diese Zeit … das war für einen jungen Kerl wie mich natürlich alles. Es war die ursprüngliche Freiheit, wo man Leute treffen konnte, die wie ich waren. Auf der Suche nach Inspiration und Erfahrungen.

Jacques Maxim behauptete einmal, Kreativität sei eigentlich nur Kopieren.
Klar ist das vielleicht eine Basis, aber hierum geht es wirklich: Wenn du etwas kreierst, dann machst du etwas ganz Neues, etwas, das nie zuvor jemand getan hat – und das bedeutet sicher nicht, dass du nur kopierst. Aber mehr als alles andere ist Kreativität eine Menge Arbeit, an eine Idee glauben, den Kontext verstehen, in dem du dich bewegst und aus dem du herausstechen möchtest. Der Wille, neue Wege zu beschreiten, Durchhaltevermögen und Leidenschaft und ein Hang zum Anarchischen.

Wenn Leute sie mit Picasso und Miró vergleichen, könnte man dann sagen, dass Kochen das Malen des 21. Jahrhunderts ist? Gibt es da vielleicht einige Impressionisten zuviel?
Ich sage immer: Kochen ist Kochen. Es stimmt, dass man immer Parallelen sucht. Vielleicht weil das Kochen so einen Sprung nach vorn gemacht und Köche sich in Richtung Avantgarde bewegt haben. Aber nun zu behaupten, es wäre das Malen des 21. Jahrhunderts …

Wieviele Sterne verdient ein Koch, der sich seine Rettungsringe abgehungert hat?
Wie man weiß, geht es bei den Sternen um das Können in der Küche … Und das bedeutet nicht unbedingt, gegen jede Art von Diät zu sein. Aber so im allgemeinen ist das nicht eben das vordergründige Charakteristikum in der Gastronomie. Das sind schon zwei verschiedene Dinge.

Ferran-Adria_Ibiza-Style-001

Blenden Sie die Sterne?
Du musst auf jeden Fall einen kühlen Kopf bewahren, wenn du das Spiel der Sterne mitspielst. Sie zu jagen, nur weil es sie gibt, führt zu mancher Enttäuschung. Das Beste ist, ehrlich zu arbeiten und immer auf der Suche nach dem eigenen Stil zu sein. Der Lohn kommt dann von allein.

Haben Sie schon mal jemanden aus der Küche gekickt, so wie man es in Master Chef sieht?
Ganz ehrlich: nein. Im wirklichen Leben geht es unter Profis ganz anders zu. Die Menschen, die im El Bulli arbeiten, kommen aus einem ähnlichen Background, deswegen ist es eher unwahrscheinlich, dass so etwas passiert. Wenn es überhaupt etwas gibt, was zu Spannungen führt, dann ist es die Pünktlichkeit. Die ist zum Beispiel im El Bulli unglaublich wichtig und da gab es vielleicht den einen oder anderen Koch, dem das zu Beginn nicht so klar war.

Erzählen Sie uns von einem Alptraum, den Sie in der Küche erlebt haben.
So etwas passiert natürlich. Zum Beispiel als wir den Dinner Service starteten, der Strom ausfiel und einfach nicht wieder ansprang. Der Laden musste trotzdem laufen, also nahmen wir Kerzen und beleuchteten damit die Räume, dazu Stövchen und Brenner.

Wie lange noch, bis die kulinarische Blase platzt?
Ich weiß nicht, ob es sie so gibt und falls ja, ob sie platzt. Was wünschenswert ist, das ist die Tatsache, dass die Dinge in vernünftigen Dimensionen bleiben sollten. Damit das gewährleistet ist, gibt es nichts Besseres als den Zeitfaktor, dem jeder, jeder Kreative, jede Bewegung unterliegt.

Wieviele Köche gibt es, die uns an der Nase herumführen?
Ich spreche nie über meine Kollegen. Ich glaube daran, dass jeder machen sollte, was er will. Es ist das Publikum, was letztendlich entscheidet, wem es folgt.

Was ist Ihre freakigste Kreation und wie sind Sie darauf gekommen?
Es gibt keine freakige Kreation, es gibt nur freakige Leute.

Welche drei Nahrungsmittel würden Sie mit auf eine einsame Insel nehmen und warum?
Ich denke, man findet Salz, Obst, Fisch und Fleisch sowieso auf der Insel, also nehme ich wohl Brot, Schinken und Olivenöl.

Wie kommt die Chemie ins Kochen, Doktor Honoris Causa?
Die Chemie findet ihren Weg in die Küche, weil die Leute neugierig nach neuen Wegen forschen, nach neuen Phänomenen. Aber wenn wir schon darüber sprechen, dann können wir auch  über Design sprechen, über Kunst, über verschiedene Disziplinen, die in den letzten anderthalb Dekaden mit der Küche kollaboriert haben und die Sprache der Gastronomie bereichert haben.

Ein Kartoffel-Omelett mit oder ohne Zwiebeln?
Im El Bulli gibt es eins mit Zwiebeln, das hat mehr Geschmack und dieses leicht Honigartige ist der ideale Gegensatz zu Kartoffel und Ei.

Was hat man Ihnen schon für einen Tisch im El Bulli geboten?
Da gab es viele Situationen, die unwirklich waren und manchmal auch ziemlich blöd. Der Umstand, dass wir nicht grundsätzlich jedem einen Tisch anbieten können – darauf sind wir nicht eben stolz. Es wäre schon schön, wenn wirklich jeder, der ins El Bulli kommen möchte, bei uns auch stets einen Tisch bekommt.

Glauben Sie, dass es dem spanischen Team bei der EURO 2016 an Spherification gefehlt hat?
Wir kamen aus der goldenen Ära unseres Fußballs und kein Team auf der Welt bleibt ewig so dominant. Ich glaube, dass wir uns an den erstaunlichen Dingen, die passiert sind, festhalten sollten, daraus lernen müssen, aber genauso auch aus den Misserfolgen.

Nennen Sie mir ein Rezept, dass nicht länger dauert, als es braucht, dieses Interview zu lesen.
Geschnittene Erdbeeren, dazu Seesalz und Olivenöl, mit einem Spritzer Zitrone.

www.elbullifoundation.com