Walter El Nagar, a native of Milan, is a culinary nomad and a devotee of politics. He went to Mexico to fall in love and ended up in Los Angeles, where he didn’t become an actor. His latest concept, the Pop Up, is a success throughout Europe. Italy around the world beyond pasta and pizza.

When did you decide to go to Los Angeles in order to not become an actor?
In 2008. I never believed in the American dream; quite the opposite. However, after a year when it was very cold and it snowed a lot, I got a job offer in Beverly Hills that sounded really appealing. I didn’t like it and after three months I left for Mexico, to a magical town called San Miguel de Allende. That’s where I stayed for quite a time and also where I left my heart. Following that I went back to the USA and I have been living in Venice Beach for the last five years. The only time anyone offered me the chance to be an actor was in a monkey-chef series. I turned it down.

How much acting is going into your cooking lately?
On one hand, too much while not enough on the other. Let me explain: all the television, magazines and advertising form part of a system of production that uses celebrity chefs to sell a false idea of what the catering business really is. Unfortunately, in the majority of cases, it’s about exploiting individuals, products, entire regions and, ultimately, the customers.

Is what we eat getting better and better or just stranger?
In general, the food is better in the restaurants where it’s more unusual because, more and more, we create our menus based on economic terms, brands and marketing. It’s almost as if what we’re doing is no longer cooking. What I do love about today’s cuisine is the mixture of cultures and one section of the public’s ability to know how to interpret it.

Which chefs have inspired you and why?
I’m self-taught. I have never had a mentor and I have never worked for any of the big names in cooking. I do, however, know how to read. Herve This is an inquiring mind, and a great author. He is a hero of contemporary cooking; the anti-demagogue, above all others. Davide Scabin is irreverent: it’s the only word you need to describe such a peculiarly Italian personality. And Ferran Adria. The lesson that I learned is that there’s no limit to your creative process.

As a native of Milan, what has Silvio Berlusconi contributed to gastronomy?
An entire generation of chefs wandering around the world. His last spell as Prime Minister was the most destructive one of all for Italian society what with his legislation against labour rights and pensions as well as other atrocities. The response among many young people was simply to reject that kind of society and to go abroad. I did the same thing.

Is it possible to be happy without pasta and pizza?
Life is better without stereotypes, don’t you think? The truth is that when somebody sets out to discover the world they have to be prepared to sample the tastiest street food dishes in whichever country they find themselves. Obviously, I learnt it by experience: I wasted so much time searching for good pasta and pizzas in Maine but I felt like a fool when I discovered lobster roll, for example. Or Khachapuri in Russia, and many other delicacies.

After trying their Mediterranean cuisine in the USA, do they know how to find us on the map by now?
It depends. Many of them are intelligent and they are very well-educated. They travel a lot and have no problem recognising flavours and matching them with cultures and countries that they already visited. At other times, unbelievably, what is in fashion in Los Angeles as Italian food are meatballs, pizza with tons of cheese and chicken parmigiana: something that no one’s heard of in Italy.

Are you happier when you eat with Gin Mare?
What I like most is a good negroni, and best of all if it’s with Gin Mare. It’s a company that is very young, serious, exploratory, down-to-earth and innovative. They gave us a lot of support in Barcelona and here in Ibiza. Let’s see if we can keep going in Milan too. And more.

How did Pop Up come about?
It was born from the needs of a chef to express what they think about their profession, with no limitations. Obviously, it’s very difficult. It is not all as natural as it might seem. It takes a lot of hard work. The logistics are a lot of fun but you rent a closed restaurant and set up an unsuspected concept for a limited time. It is a very dynamic atmosphere.

What is a culinary nomad? How are things going on your European tour?
It is someone who wants to discover the way to develop their culinary and cultural ability by looking at a very, very broad horizon. The European tour is going very well: we went to Barcelona where we were the guests of Jorge Vidal’s Fooditeca. We went to Russia and cooked in the middle of a forest without electricity. And now we find ourselves in Ibiza. Very soon we will continue in Milan, my home city. After that, who knows? Very probably in Asia.

Describe a dish that can be prepared in the time it takes to read this interview
Spaghetti with garlic and oil!

Related Posts

  • Published On: August 3rd, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: July 20th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: July 9th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: June 23rd, 2022|Categories: People|

Walter El Nagar, geboren in Milan, ist kulinarischer Nomade und politisch ambitioniert, eine Mix, so spannend wie seine Gerichte und seine Geschichte. In Mexiko verliebte er sich, in Los Angeles wurde er kein Schauspieler (gut für die Liebhaber exzellenter Küche) und sein Pop Up Konzept erfreut inzwischen die halbe Welt mit Pasta & Co.

Wann hast du dich entschieden nach L.A. zu gehen und kein Schauspieler zu werden?
Das war 2008. Ich habe niemals an den amerikanischen Traum geglaubt, ganz im Gegenteil. Doch in einem Jahr, als es in Europa ungewöhnlich kalt war und viel schneite, bekam ich ein interessantes Jobangebot aus Beverly Hills. Letztendlich habe ich den Job nicht angetreten, aber er führte mich nach Mexiko, in die wunderbare Stadt San Miguel de Allende, dort verlor ich mein Herz und kehrte erst später in die USA zurück, um für 5 Jahre in Venice Beach zu leben. Einmal habe ich eine Rolle angeboten bekommen: In einer affigen Kochserie. Ich lehnte sofort ab.

Wieviel Schauspielerei fließt auch in dein Kochkonzept ein?
Auf der einen Seite zu viel und auf der anderen zu wenig. Ich erkläre es dir: Die ganzen Medien sind Teil eines Systems, das einige Starköche nutzen, um werbewirksam eine völlig falsche Vorstellung davon zu vermitteln, was Kochen wirklich ist.  Unglücklicherweise werden dafür Personen, aber auch Produkte, ganze Regionen und letztendlich die Kunden instrumentalisiert.

Wird das, was wir essen, immer besser oder nur verrückter, fremder?
Im Allgemeinen ist das Essen in Restaurants besser, die auch ungewöhnliche Wege beschreiten, es fließen immer mehr Faktoren ein: Die wirtschaftlichen Bedingungen, das Branding und natürlich das Marketing. Was ich an der heutigen Küche liebe, ist die Mixtur aus verschiedenen Kulturen und das öffentliche Bewusstsein, dieses auch so anzunehmen und zu interpretieren.

Welche Köche haben dich inspiriert und warum?
Ich bin Autodidakt, hatte keinen Mentor und habe nie für einen berühmten Koch gearbeitet. Ich weiß jedoch zu lesen: Hervé This ist ein Visionär und ein hervorragender Autor: Ein Held der modernen Küche, ein Antidemagoge, vor allen anderen. Davide Scabin ist respektlos: Ein Lob für eine so besondere italienische Persönlichkeit. Und natürlich Ferran Adria, von dem ich gelernt habe, dass ein kreativer Prozess keine Grenzen kennt.

Eine Frage an den Mailänder: Was hat Berlusconi zur Gastronomie beigetragen?
Dass eine ganze Generation von guten Köchen ausgewandert ist. Seine letzte Amtszeit als Premierminister ging mit einer Reihe verheerender Beschlüsse einher, die große negative Auswirkungen auf das Arbeitsrecht und die Rente hatten. Die Antwort der jungen Menschen? Sie gingen ins Ausland. So wie ich auch.

Ist es möglich ohne Pasta und Pizza glücklich zu werden?
Das Leben ist besser ohne Stereotype, meinst du nicht? Die Wahrheit ist doch, wenn jemand verschiedene Länder bereist wird er immer wieder neue beste Gerichte finden, ganz einfach weil er probiert. Ich habe das am eigenen Leib erfahren. Ich habe soviel Zeit damit verbracht, die beste Pasta und die besten Pizzen in Maine zu finden und kam mir wie ein Depp vor, als ich die Hummerrolle entdeckte. Oder Khachapuri in Russland, es gibt so viele Delikatessen!

Nachdem die mediterrane Küche die USA bereits eroberte, wissen die Amerikaner auch, wo sie uns jetzt finden?
Eine Vielzahl ist sehr intelligent, gut ausgebildet, reiselustig und versteht es, verschiedene Aromen zu erkennen und den Kulturen zuzuordnen, die sie kennen. Allerdings darf man auch nicht vergessen, dass es eine Zeit gab, in der sie unter italienischer Küche Hackbällchen und Pizza mit einer Unmenge von Käse verstanden.

Bist du glücklicher, wenn Gin Mare dein Essen begleitet?
Was ich liebe ist ein Negroni, und der Beste ist für mich mit Gin Mare. Das Unternehmen ist jung, neugierig, down-to-earth und innovativ. Die Resonanz in Barcelona und Ibiza ist großartig und jetzt bin ich gespannt, was uns in meiner Heimat Mailand erwartet. Danach geht es weiter!

Wie entstand das Konzept von Pop Up?
Es wurde aus den Bedürfnissen eines Kochs geboren, von seinen Vorstellungen über seine Arbeit. Es ist nicht immer so leicht, wie es scheint, es ist ein harter Job. Aber wenn du nur vorübergehend ein Lokal übernimmst, dann hast du eine Riesenfreude, auch an der damit verbundenen Logistik. Die Atmosphäre ist sehr dynamisch.

Was ist ein kulinarischer Nomade? Wie funktioniert eine Europa-Tour?
Das ist jemand, der einen Weg finden möchte, um seine kulinarischen und kulturellen Fähigkeiten weiter auszubauen, und das sucht er hinter einem sehr weiten Horizont. Die Tour läuft super. Wir waren in Barcelona als Gäste von Jorge Vidals Fooditeca. Dann ging es nach Russland und wir haben inmitten eines Waldes ohne Strom gekocht. Nun erfinden wir uns in Ibiza neu. Bald geht es nach Mailand, meiner Heimatstadt. Und danach? Wir werden sehen, vielleicht Asien.

Sag uns doch ein Gericht, dass wir so schnell zubereiten können, wie dieses Interview lesen.
Spaghetti mit Knoblauch und Öl!