17 years ago he started out as a receptionist in a hotel belonging to the Palladium Hotel Group in Playa den Bossa. Now he’s the brand ambassador of this globally active company.

Although he is constantly away on travel for the hotel group, there is almost no important event in Ibiza at which you don’t bump into him. Years before the term Community Manager had been invented for social networks, it would have been a fitting description of him. That’s because this friendly manager is always communicative. His latest adventure takes him back to the place he used to work again, to Playa den Bossa because the “IBIZA MEDITERRANEAN GRAND PRIX” – organised by IBIZA WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP – of which he’s president, is going to take place here in September. We met Danny Gomez to talk about this mega event at Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel.

IBIZASTYLE_DANNYGOMEZ-001Give us a brief run-down of your career. Within Grupo Matutes, what are your areas of responsibility?

My working career within the group goes all the way back to 1997. Being a sociable type and wanting to stay permanently in touch with people, I decided to start off working as a receptionist at a hotel in Playa den Bossa. From there I carried on learning about the different departments that exist within a hotel. I went on to work in several of the group’s other international destinations until I took over the position that I currently hold within the company. After all these years it’s a huge honour to be the group’s ambassador, representing its brands.

Is IBIZA WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP independent of Grupo Matutes?

Although IBIZA WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP is a personal effort and project, it’s one that I have shared with the rest of the island from day one. The Palladium Hotel Group, and in particular its product and brand Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel, have an important position and role within IWC and the development of the “IBIZA MEDITERRANEAN GRAND PRIX”. Localising the hotels and the services offered is the key to reaching the level of visitors we’re expecting over coming months. To borrow a term from the world of sports, we could say that Playa d’en Bossa and its complementary offer are in “pole position” in this event. Needless to say, the zone has managed to secure excellent positioning in recent years. I believe an event of this kind is the ideal ingredient to complete what it offers.

What kinds of events is IBIZA WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP planning to organise in the future?

We hope to continue relying on sporting events that have not yet been held in the setting of the island; ones that match both the profile of our residents and that of the people who visit us each year. As of today we have reached an agreement with H20 Racing to bring the ClassOne circus and Aquabike for the next four years.

What are your responsibilities as president of IBIZA WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP?

To be honest, we still haven’t had time to sit down and officially divide up the responsibilities between each one of us making up the IWC team. We’ve approached everything with masses of passion and energy and we’ve taken part in each and every one of the meetings, presentations, etc. But it is true that the time has now arrived to divide up the functions. As CEO of IWC my biggest responsibility up till now has been to make the project a reality and to obtain support from the brands and institutions.

How long have you been planning this event?

Well, ever since one night in July in the summer of 2012 with my friend and now business partner Mikel Astelarra. It still seems to me like it was just last night! (laughs)

What bureaucratic hurdles have you had to overcome?

When you set about organising an event on this scale, the first thing that goes through your head is whether you’ll be able to get permission at the end from the authorities and all the other public bodies.

Was it difficult getting all of the permits?

The most important aspect in this area was being patient and doing things in a conscious and well planned way. Thanks to the superb technical team that we have; the marine engineer, Pedro Puigdengoles and architect, Alvaro de la Fuente, who from the outset understood what the organisation required of us as well as the different regulations governing the areas in which the event will take place, they knew how to show the project on maps and thus start with all the subsequent meetings with each one of the public bodies. Up until now they’ve made everything possible them and thank them for all their support.

Which sponsors do you already have on board?

This has been the job that’s taken the longest over the past two years and without which the event would not be a reality today. All of those who have backed us are international brands that love the island and its people. They didn’t just want to support us because of the event in itself but rather because of everything the island represents and a staging like the one we are going to have during the first weekend of September.

How many and which local companies are taking part in the event?

There are quite a few. Mainly those offering the necessary services and logistics for the event. Two large companies from the island are directly involved and they are Marina Ibiza as the official headquarters of the village and the zone of competition boats and Palladium Hotel Group with its product, Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel, with the range of 5-star accommodation and catering and leisure services that Playa d’en Bossa offers.

What problems have arisen in bringing the boats and teams to Ibiza?

Well, there’s the fact that the ClassOne boats don’t have enough range to sail to Ibiza (laughing). We got logistical support from Balearia. The port from which they embark for Ibiza will be Barcelona, where the vast majority of teams are going to arrive with their boats and logistics. Some of the teams are travelling from other European capitals and two of them from the United Arab Emirates.

How many teams are taking part in the championship and how many people are coming in total?

In the ClassOne category we are going to have nine teams as well as six P1 teams and in the Aquabike group there are more than 35 drivers competing in three disciplines. On behalf of the organisation alone 600 people are expected to arrive. You have to think that each team then brings its own guests and sponsors which, without a doubt, means a good number of visitors with considerable spending power and the desire to have a good time on the island.

How many private jets are expected?

Well, lots I hope. We’ve got the logistical support of one of the best private airline companies in Europe that’s also marketing VIP packages to enjoy the event.

How many spectators are there for the jet ski and powerboat competitions?

Both trials will be held in the zone of Playa den Bossa. The geography of the coastline itself turns it into a natural amphitheatre that can hold a large number of members of the public. Zones of stands will be set up for the occasion and hospitality areas such as Club Paddock zones.

Which celebrities are you expecting / going to invite?

The first people we want to invite are the island’s residents. It is an event by and for everyone. Of course, we are going to have more than one special guest for the event, as well as athletes related to the world of motor sports. One of the pilots in ClassOne is the well known Luca Fendi. We also hope to count on the presence as Honorary Chairman of Sheikh Sultan Bin Khalifa Bin Zayed Al Nahyan, son of the President of the United Arab Emirates, who presides over the same competition in Abu Dhabi.

Grupo Matutes + IWC – do you still have time for a private life?

The truth is that I’ve had very little time in recent years! I am someone who’s very dedicated and committed to the work I do every job and I am passionate about it. It is also true that there are times when I realise what I’m missing because of being so tired. Right now I’m motivated towards one goal and that is bringing something new to Ibiza that has never happened before.

IBIZASTYLE_DANNYGOMEZ-007

For privacy reasons YouTube needs your permission to be loaded.
I Accept

Related Posts

  • Published On: August 3rd, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: July 20th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: July 9th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: June 23rd, 2022|Categories: People|

Vor 17 Jahren begann er als Rezeptionist in einem Hotel der Palladium Hotel Group an der Playa den Bossa. Heute ist er Brand Ambassador dieses weltweit agierenden Unternehmens.

Obwohl er für die Hotelgruppe permanent auf Reisen ist, gibt es fast kein wichtiges Event auf Ibiza, wo man ihn nicht antrifft. Noch bevor der Begriff Community Manager für die sozialen Netzwerke erfunden wurde, wäre dies schon vor Jahren eine treffliche Beschreibung über ihn gewesen. Denn kommunikativ ist der sympathische Manager allemal. Sein jüngstes Abenteuer führt ihn wieder an die Stätte frühen Schaffens zurück: an die Playa den Bossa. Denn hier wird im September der „IBIZA MEDITERRANEAN GRAND PRIX“ stattfinden, organisiert von IBIZA WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP, dessen Präsident er ist. Wir trafen Danny Gomez zu einem Gespräch über dieses Mega-Event im Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel.

IBIZASTYLE_DANNYGOMEZ-001Geben Sie uns doch eine kurze Übersicht Ihrer Karriere bei der Matutes Gruppe, was waren Ihre wichtigsten Stationen?

Meine berufliche Laufbahn bei der Matutes Gruppe begann 1997 an der Rezeption eines Hotels in Playa d’en Bossa. Ich war ein geselliger Typ und wollte gerne mit Menschen arbeiten, liebte es, zu kommunizieren. Danach lief ich durch die verschiedensten Abteilungen, schließlich auch international, bis ich die Position einnahm, die ich noch heute voller Stolz erfülle. Es ist eine große Ehre, Markenbotschafter dieser Firma zu sein, die mich schon so lange begleitet.

Ist IBIZA WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP unabhängig von der Hotelgruppe Matutes?

Obgleich IBIZA WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP (IWC) ein persönliches Anliegen und Projekt meinerseits darstellt, teilte ich es doch von Beginn an mit der gesamten Insel. Die Palladium Hotel Gruppe und das Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel im Speziellen spielt eine wichtige Rolle innerhalb des IWC und für die Entwicklung des „MEDITERRANEAN GRAND PRIX“. Die Auswahl der Hotels und damit verknüpften Dienstleistungen tragen maßgeblich zur Zufriedenheit der Besucher und damit zum Erfolg der Veranstaltung bei. Um einen Begriff aus dem Sport zu nutzen: die Hotels am Playa d’en Bossa nehmen aufgrund ihrer Lage eine Pole Position für dieses Event ein. Natürlich haben wir auch über Jahre daran gearbeitet, uns diese exzellente Position zu sichern und ich bin mir sicher, eine Veranstaltung dieser Größenordnung benötigt einen exquisiten Rahmen.

Welche weiteren Veranstaltungen plant IBIZA WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP für die Zukunft?

Wir setzen darauf, großartige Sportevents auf der Insel positionieren zu können, auch die, die noch nicht so be- und anerkannt sind, aber das Interesse der Bewohner und der zahlreichen Besucher anziehen werden. Mit dem heutigen Stand haben wir für 4 Jahre eine Vereinbarung mit H20 Racing, um den ClassOne Zirkus und Aquabike nach Ibiza bringen zu dürfen.

Was sind Ihre konkreten Aufgaben als Präsident von IBIZA WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP?

Um ehrlich zu sein, wir hatten nie Zeit, uns hinzusetzen und zu besprechen, welche Aufgaben und welche Zuständigkeiten eine Person innerhalb des IWC Teams hat. Wir haben mit einer Unmenge von Energie und Leidenschaft angefangen, diese Organisation zu betreiben und es war jeder bei allen wichtigen Entscheidungen, Präsentationen oder Sitzungen dabei. Aber es stimmt schon, wir haben eine Größenordnung erreicht, wo wir Abteilungen gründen und aufteilen müssen. Als CEO vom IWC ist es meine größte Verantwortung, Projekte Wirklichkeit werden zu lassen und die Unterstützung von Firmen und Marken einzuholen.

Wieviel Zeit haben Sie in die Planung investiert?

Nun, jeden Tag, seit ich mit meinem Freund und Geschäftspartner Mikel Astelerra in einer lauen Julinacht 2012 dieses Event erstmalig plante. Es kommt mir wie gestern vor! (lacht)

Welche bürokratischen Hürden mussten Sie nehmen?

Bei einer Veranstaltung dieser Größenordnung ist es das Wichtigste, das man alle Genehmigungen von den Behörden und all den anderen öffentlichen Einrichtungen erhält. Das sollte man als erstes sicherstellen.

War es schwer, alle Genehmigungen zu erhalten?

Eines der wichtigsten Dinge hier in diesem Land ist es, alles in Ruhe und wohl durchdacht zu planen und auch Geduld im Umgang mit den Behörden mitzubringen. Dank des hervorragenden technischen Teams (allen voran der Schiffsingenieur Pedro Puigdengoles und der Architekt Alvaro de la Fuente) haben wir hier großartige Arbeit geleistet. Bei jeder öffentlichen Sitzung waren sie dabei und wurden nicht müde, Rede und Antwort zu stehen. Sie haben uns so viel abgenommen und wir sind ihnen zu großem Dank verpflichtet.

Welche Sponsoren haben Sie bislang gewinnen können?

Das war die größte Herausforderung der letzten zwei Jahre, aber ohne Sponsoren hätten wir die Veranstaltung niemals umsetzen können. Alle, die uns unterstützen, sind große Marken und Firmen, die die Insel und die Menschen hier lieben. Sie haben das nicht für uns oder für diese spezielle Veranstaltung getan, sondern um der Insel eine fantastische Inszenierung am ersten Septemberwochenende zu bieten.

Wie viele und welche lokalen Unternehmen unterstützen das Rennen?

Das sind schon einige. Wichtig sind vor allen Dingen die Bereiche Logistik und Dienstleistung. Zwei große Unternehmen der Insel sind unmittelbar an der Umsetzung beteiligt, da haben wir den Hafen Marina Ibiza als Headquarter und Zentrale sowie die Palladium Hotel Group, vertreten durch das Ushuaia Ibiza Beach Hotel: eine fünf Sterne Deluxe Unterkunft mit Verpflegung und zahlreichen Dienstleistungen am Playa d’en Bossa.

War es eine große Herausforderung, Boote und Teams nach Ibiza zu bringen?

Nun ja, Fakt ist, dass Class 1 Boote nicht gerade die Reichweite besitzen, um sie nach Ibiza zu überführen (lacht!). Wir haben große logistische Unterstützung von Balearia bekommen. Die meisten Boote und Teams werden über den Hafen Barcelona ihre Reise antreten. Einige Teams kommen aus anderen europäischen Hauptstädten und zwei Teams kommen aus den Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten.

Wie viele Teams nehmen an der Meisterschaft teil und wie viele Menschen werden insgesamt anreisen?

In der Class 1 Kategorie werden wir neun Mannschaften haben und sechs P1 Teams. In der Aquabike Gruppe haben wir 35 Starter, die in drei unterschiedlichen Disziplinen gegen einander antreten. Allein im Gefolge der Teilnehmer werden wir rund 600 Gäste erwarten. Jedes Team, jeder Teilnehmer bringt Freunde, Sponsoren und Familie mit und die möchten natürlich eine gute Zeit auf Ibiza verbringen und werden sicher auch für Umsatz sorgen.

Wie viele Privatjets werden erwartet?

Nun, ich denke schon einige. Wir haben logistische Unterstützung von einem der besten privaten Flugunternehmen Europas, das für diesen Event auch VIP Pakete im Angebot haben wird.

Wie viele Besucher erwarten Sie sowohl zu den Jetski- als auch den Motorbootwettbewerben?

Beide Competitions werden im Zentrum von Playa d‘en Bossa ausgetragen. Die Küste wird sich in ein natürliches Amphitheater verwandeln, so dass eine riesige Anzahl von Gästen den Event verfolgen kann. Wir werden natürlich Bereiche mit Verpflegungsständen einrichten und Club Paddock Zonen.

Welche Prominenten werden erwartet?

Die prominentesten Gäste sind natürlich die Bewohner Ibizas. Es ist eine Veranstaltung von ihnen – für sie! Und darüber hinaus freuen wir uns natürlich auf legendäre Class 1 – Rennfahrer und tolle Athleten, wie z.B. den Class 1 Held, Luca Fendi. Des Weiteren erwarten wir den Ehrenpräsidenten Scheich Sultan Bin Khalifa Bin Zayed Al Nahyan, den Sohn des Präsidenten des Vereinigten Arabischen Emiraten.

Die Hotelgruppe Matutes & IWC – haben Sie überhaupt noch ein Privatleben?

Eine berechtigte Frage, denn in der Tat, habe ich dafür nur noch sehr wenig Zeit, da ich mich immer zu 100 Prozent und voller Leidenschaft meinen Projekten zuwende. Meine Begeisterung treibt mich an, auch wenn man manchmal etwas zurückhaltender sein sollte, um nicht auszubrennen. Aber derzeit bin ich hochmotiviert, das wird ein fantastischer Event!

IBIZASTYLE_DANNYGOMEZ-007