As this classic Mediterranean osteria flows smoothly into its third glorious summer in Ibiza, we visited the stylish dining, wine and cocktail destination, located in the heart of the iconic Plaza del Parque, to speak to chef and owner Tito Piazza about what both loyal customers and new visitors can expect from Locals Only for summer 2016.

As always, their focus and philosophy is on farm to table freshness and sustainability and as the team have sunk their roots further and further into the Ibizan local culture, building relationships with local farms, fishermen and other seasonal suppliers, they are now using more organic and island sourced produce than ever before.

Fresh, organic local fruit features heavily throughout the menus, from the delectable Cucumber Margarita, served on the rocks, using local organic lemons, a rustic yet incredibly refreshing beverage which will undoubtedly inject a spring into your step, through to their signature Ibizan take on the legendary Florida Key Lime pie, which has been redefined by Tito and his team and created using custard with Ibiza lemon juice, and eggs fresh from the payes fields, this is a taste of Ibiza you will never forget.

Their already extensive wine list is a work in progress, carefully and consistently upgraded to include a handpicked selection of European organic wines, mainly sourced from Italy, a nod to Tito´s Italian ancestry, but also including a full bodied red from Ibiza, and a crisp, fresh white from her sister island Formentera. The cocktail list is innovative and features daily specials alongside firm favourites, the in house mixologists are creative and forward thinking, never afraid to try something a little different. Also integrated into the drinks menu this year are two local Ibosim beers, one made from carob, which has a similar taste to Guinness, and another, Posidonia, which is more of a refreshing pale ale, all brewed right here on the island.

Weekends are particularly special at Locals Only, and on Saturdays and Sundays from midday until 4.30pm you can feast on arguably the best brunch menu on the island.. We highly recommend the white scrambled local farm eggs, served with salmon raw, grilled organic zucchini and zucchini sauce, which are beautifully complemented by a highly unique Green Bloody Mary, the perfect weekend wake up call!

Some of the most popular weekly specials on the menu include the exquisite black truffle risotto, infused with organic prosecco, which sells out time after time, and is given rave reviews by everyone who samples its unmistakable flavours. Thursdays have become something of an institution for meat lovers, who flock to devour the succulent Iberian BBQ ribs, served with their secret recipe home cooked BBQ sauce, a smoky, signature flavour which never fails to please. Another bestseller is the eggplant parmigiana, again, made lovingly and using only organic, local produce.

Pescatarians amongst you will delight in the ever increasing amount of seafood dishes on the menu, due to continually redefining relationships with local fisherman, there has never been more choice of incredibly fresh, seafood specials, using seasonal octopus, grouper, scorpion fish and of course, the eternally popular boquerones.

Everyone is welcome at Locals Only, and the charming, inviting ambience created so naturally by Tito and his team, means that whether you choose to visit for lunch, dinner, or to simply enjoy an atmospheric afternoon or evening cocktail as you watch the bohemian characters pass through the tree lined square, you can be assured of a warm welcome at Locals Only every time.

Locals Only

Plaza del Parque, 5

07800 Ibiza

+34 971 301 997

www.localsonlyibiza.com

Related Posts

  • Published On: October 7th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: August 29th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: August 28th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: August 26th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: August 17th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomy|

Bereits den dritten Sommer glänzt die mediterrane Osteria mit der Sonne um die Wette, für uns ein guter Zeitpunkt, um dem stylischen Restaurant einen Besuch auf dem legendären Plaza del Parque abzustatten. Inhaber und Küchenchef Tito Piazza hat wie immer einiges zu erzählen, aber was genau können Stammgäste und neue Besucher des Locals Only im Sommer 2016 erwarten?

Fokus und Philosophie sind unverändert: Frisch auf den Tisch – und das direkt vom Bauernhof. Diese grundsätzliche Regel hat dazu geführt, dass das Locals Only seine Zusammenarbeit mit lokalen Bauerhöfen, Fischern und anderen Lieferanten noch weiter vertieft hat. Ein deutliches „Ja“ zu Bio aus der Region und ein „Ja“ zur Unterstützung des regionalen Unternehmertums.

Frische Bioprodukte aus der Region geben dem Essen im Restaurant den letzten Schliff: Die köstliche Zitronen-Margarita aus hiesigen Zitronen, eiskalt serviert, erfrischt wie ein Sprung ins Meer, und ist schon längst heimlicher Favorit der Bar. Auch der legendäre Key Lime Pie aus Florida bekommt bei Tito ein ibizenkisches Gewand an und präsentiert sich mit Vanillesoße, abgeschmeckt mit Zitronensaft und frischen Eier vom Bio-Bauernhof um die Ecke,  derart köstlich, dass sein Geschmack, einmal probiert,  unvergessen bleibt.

Die bereits zuvor umfangreiche und liebevoll zusammengestellte Weinkarte wurde erneut sorgfältig überarbeitet und um eine Handvoll ausgewählter Bioweine aus Europa ergänzt. Die meisten davon stammen aus Italien, eine Verbeugung vor Titos Wurzeln, aber auch die neuen vollmundigen Roten von Ibiza und die knackfrischen Weißen von der Schwesterinsel Formentera sind eine Sensation. Die Cocktailkarte präsentiert sich innovativ und mit ihren Tagesempfehlungen geradezu frech, nie um außergewöhnliche Kreationen verlegen. Neu in der Getränkekarte: Zwei lokale Ibosim-Biere, das eine aus Johannisbrot, das einen ähnlichen Geschmack wie Guinness hat, und ein zweites, Posidonia, das mehr nach Pale Ale schmeckt – beide sind auf der Insel gebraut.

Ein besonderes Highlight wartet an den Wochenenden auf die Gäste. Samstags und sonntags verführt von mittags bis 16.30 Uhr der beste Brunch der Insel die verwöhnten Gaumen. Wir empfehlen das weiße Bio-Rührei von Hühnern aus der Nachbarschaft mit rohem Lachs, gegrillten Zucchini und Zucchinisauce und die einzigartige grüne Bloody Mary, die das Wochenende perfekt einläuten.

Eines der beliebtesten Gerichte auf der Karte ist das schwarze Trüffel Risotto, abgeschmeckt mit Bio-Prosecco. Das Risotto ruft jedes Mal Begeisterungsstürme hervor und wird von Kritikern auf der ganzen Insel gelobt. Der Donnerstag jedoch gehört den Fleischliebhabern. Die saftigen, gegrillten Rippchen mit der rauchigen hausgemachten BBQ Sauce ist der Renner, immer wieder hört man ganze Tische über die geheime Zutat in der leckeren Sauce spekulieren, die aber bleibt ein Geheimnis. Weiterer Bestseller ist das Auberginen-Parmigiano, nicht nur für Vegetarier toll!

Fischliebhaber können sich besonders freuen, denn durch die Intensivierung der Zusammenarbeit mit hiesigen Fischern, ist die Vielfalt an ausgezeichneten Fischgerichten und Meerestierspezialitäten noch gewachsen. Je nach Saison verführen Oktopus, Zackenbarsch, Skorpionfisch und die beliebten Boquerones (die hiesigen Sardellen).

Jeder Gast ist herzlich willkommen im Locals Only. Die charmante Atmosphäre des Restaurants eignet sich sowohl für ein gemütliches Mittagessen, als auch ein geselliges Abendessen oder nur auf ein Glas Vino oder einen der ausgezeichneten Cocktails – die Aussicht auf den von Bäumen gesäumten Platz und der herzliche Service lohnen immer einen Besuch!

Locals Only

Plaza del Parque, 5
07800 Ibiza
+34 971 301 997