Vagabundos by name, Vagabundos by nature. Since 2010, Luciano and his nomadic Cadenza crew have held massive weekly residencies at Pacha, Ushuaïa, BoOom!, Destino and Space. Rather than bunkering down at one venue, Luciano has grown accustomed to swapping clubs on a yearly basis. “Before that I was a resident at DC10,” Luciano laughs. “I was also resident at Amnesia and some years ago when DC10 moved to Privilege I held residency there as well. A lot of people say it’s very confusing not sticking to one venue, but I always found I needed to share these moments of my life with all the people I’ve met over the years. If I could repeat it, I would do it all over again.”

Vagabundos’ return to Pacha will go down as one of the most successful party shifts of the summer. But a lot has changed since Luciano first held residency at Pacha back in 2010, including, oddly enough, his diet. “I’ve made loads of changes,” he explains. “I think it has something to do with maturity. As you grow older you start to become more conscious of your body. Travelling, eating at different times, eating different foods – there’s a point when you realise you can make it work for ten years, 15 years, but after 20 years you start to feel the consequences and you start to be more conscious, more careful. These days, I try to respect my body. I’ve reduced the amount of fat I eat and am trying to focus on more of the things that will give you the right level of energy to survive in this industry.”

Although Luciano is based in his home country of Switzerland, Ibiza has been his second home for decades. “This summer I am based near the Marina,” he explains, “close to Pacha and Destino. As I am always flying in and out of the island it is more convenient.”

Luciano also owns a villa in Roca Llisa on the east side of the island. With beautiful views over the ocean, it’s a place to relax and get inspired. “We’ve had the villa for three years,” Luciano continues. “It’s a modern design with beautiful architecture, very different from the styles you usually see in Ibiza. The project took us four years to build and we are extremely proud of what we have achieved.”

Sonic enthusiasts will be interested to learn that Luciano’s villa boasts its own dedicated music room. Fuelled by a clear, concise Martion Orgon soundsystem, it’s a setup that looks as good as it sounds. “I’ve been researching sound for the whole of my life,” Luciano says. “The subject fascinates me. The Orgon from Martion is probably the truest soundsystem you can find. The output is so similar to what your ears are able to hear. It’s outstanding. But it’s not just for club music; it’s more for proper jazz. The room has been designed for listening to music, not to produce. I have a recording studio in Switzerland and that’s where I work.”

Catch Vagabundos at Pacha on Friday August 12th, September 9th and September 16th

Related Posts

  • Published On: August 25th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: August 18th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: August 17th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: August 3rd, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: People|

Vagabundos – der Name ist wörtlich zu nehmen. Seit 2010 hatten Luciano und seine umtriebige Cadenza Crew große, wöchentliche Residencys im Pacha, Ushuaïa, BoOom!, Destino und Space. Statt sich in einem Venue festzusetzen, wechselt Luciano die Clubs im Jahresturnus. „Davor war ich Resident im DC10,“ lacht Luciano. „Ich war auch Resident im Amnesia und als das DC10 vor einigen Jahren ins Privilege zog, war ich auch dort. Viele Leute sagen, es wäre etwas verwirrend, nicht in einem Venue zu bleiben, aber für mich war es immer wichtig, diese Phasen meines Lebens mit all jenen Menschen zu teilen, die ich so über die Jahre getroffen habe. Ich würde alles genau so wieder machen.“

Vagabundos Rückkehr ins Pacha wird als eine der erfolgreichsten Partys des Sommers in Erinnerung bleiben. Dabei hat sich viel geändert, seit Lucianos erster Residency dort im Jahre 2010 – unter anderem auch seine Ernährungsweise. „Ich habe viel verändert“ erklärt er. „Ich denke, es hat etwas mit der Reife zu tun. Wenn du älter wirst, wird dir dein Körper immer wichtiger. Herumreisen, zu verschiedenen Zeiten essen, verschiedene Sachen – man kommt an einen Punkt, an dem man feststellt, das geht vielleicht 10, 15 Jahre – aber nach 20 Jahren spürst die Folgen und du wirst vorsichtiger, handelst bewusster. Heute versuche ich, meinen Körper zu respektieren. Ich ernähre mich fettreduziert und konzentriere mich mehr auf solche Sachen, die dich in dieser Industrie auf dem richtigen Energielevel halten.“

Zuhause ist Luciano in seinem Heimatland, der Schweiz, aber Ibiza ist seit Dekaden sein zweiter Wohnsitz. „Dieses Jahr wohne ich in der Nähe der Marina“ erzählt er. „Das ist nahe beim Pacha und dem Destino. Da ich viel hin und herfliege, ist das einfach am bequemsten“.

Luciano besitzt zudem eine Villa in Roca Llisa im Osten der Insel. Der Ausblick aufs Meer ist wunderschön, ein Ort der Entspannung und der Inspiration. „Wir haben die Villa seit drei Jahren“ fährt Luciano fort. „Modernes Design, tolle Architektur, durchaus anders als das, was man sonst auf Ibiza sieht. Vier Jahre hat das Projekt gedauert und wir sind sehr stolz darauf.“

Sound-Enthusiasten dürfte der Music Room der Villa besonders gut gefallen. Das Audiosystem ist von Martion und sieht so gut aus wie es klingt. „Ich habe mich Zeit meines Lebens für Sound interessiert.“ sagt Luciano. „Es fasziniert mich einfach. Der Orgon Hornlautsprecher von Martion ist wohl das authentischste Soundsystem überhaupt. Es ist so optimal auf die Fähigkeiten der Ohren ausgerichtet, das ist außergewöhnlich. Es ist nicht nur etwas für den Club, sondern insbesondere auch für echten Jazz. Der Raum wurde so angelegt, dass ich hier Musik höre – und nicht produziere. Mein Aufnahmestudio ist in der Schweiz und dort arbeite ich.“

Vagabundos im Pacha am Freitag, den 12. August, 9. und 16. September