Pepe Roselló faces his last season running Space Ibiza serenely, always demonstrating his good grace and exquisite manners. However, despite that serenity and self-control, Roselló is experiencing one of the most bittersweet moments in his career. The sadness at bringing such an emblematic project to an end is combined with the energy and excitement of making this season a memorable one. “My greatest desire is for us to experience a summer to remember, above all after these 27 years that have been magical. “The story of Space must be stamped upon collective memory”, Roselló states.

The multiple award-winning discotheque in Platja d’en Bossa will bring its 27-year-long career to an end on October 2nd. 27 summers making people happy. 27 seasons of memorable parties with the best DJs in the world. It was a fairy story that looked like it would never end. “I would never have imagined this situation. For me, there was no end and that is the frustration that I feel”, Roselló confesses. He intended to carry on with Space and renew the rental contract on the land that belongs to Grupo Empresas Matutes. “But communication between us broke down long ago and what was intended got mixed up. It’s as simple as that”, he maintains.

Once more, it’s clear that competition in Ibiza, particularly among the discotheques, is ferocious. Now, Ushuaïa (the property of Matutes) continues growing, swallowing up the infrastructure of Space, which will be turned into an additional nightclub, Ushuaïa Night, thus managing to remove his main competitor from the board. “One thing is competition between discotheques and another is competition against a hotel with an open air discotheque inside it”, Roselló points out. “Ushuaïa has got a licence to operate as a hotel and it is allowed to hold open-air parties as a secondary activity. But the truth is that many people come together inside the premises every day to enjoy a public spectacle that has got nothing to do with what a hotel does. It is very difficult to compete against a giant of these characteristics, above all, because they pay 10% in VAT while we pay 21%. I ask myself: is it a discotheque or a hotel? Obviously, what goes on inside Ushuaïa when there is dancing and a show ought to be regarded the same as us. What goes on at Ushuaïa has unbalanced the world of leisure on the island and ought to be regulated; if this doesn’t happen it will bring really serious consequences for Ibiza”, Roselló argues. “The commercial way in which Ushuaïa behaves, absorbing much of the public from early in the afternoon until 12 o’clock at night, has completely destabilised the leisure market on the island. It appears that the politicians do not realise the serious harm and the grave consequences that stem from the economic displacement that is produced throughout the entire market on the island. Big events and artists that go on from early in the afternoon and in the open air; ones that take place unregulated and without any kind of special permission as part of the conflict that the island has been undergoing over the last five years.”

Pepe-Rosello_Ibiiza-Style-001

The future of Space Ibiza

Whatever the case may be, the possibility of remaining in Platja d’en Bossa is already a lost battle. For some time now, Space has been declaring that they were looking for somewhere to locate a new project on the island. However, the fact is that there is already one underway: a hotel with a discotheque in San Antonio. “It is an idea that began to be developed two years ago. There is some free land beside Hotel Bahía, where we have designed a magnificent architectural project. This project would give

San Antonio new facilities and improve what it offers to tourists. Hotel Space would be a huge draw for people to spend their holidays in this part of the island. At the moment, the project has, inexplicably, been put on hold by the Town Council in San Antonio, although I hope that we will soon find the way to go ahead”.

So this project may mean a new era for Space in Ibiza. An era in which its greatest ambassador, Carl Cox, would once again be involved. The British DJ was the one who announced in an interview last October that this would be his last year at Space. All sorts of speculations began to circulate when he made his declarations. His future at Ibiza was an unknown…until now. “We have talked and we want to continue working together on the project that I have just mentioned. Carl Cox has had a residency at Space for the last 15 years and he has demonstrated to me his loyalty as well as his love and respect towards his public. For me, he is something more than a great DJ and a friend: he is a tourist ambassador for Ibiza. He loves Ibiza. We have got him here and he will stay here. Ibiza is part of his life and it is his future project. He has got ideas and projects underway that he will combine with his life in Australia”, Roselló declares.

Pepe-Rosello_Ibiiza-Style-002

Despite everything, a happy ending

There will be plenty of time to talk about Space’s new era. Let’s let events develop by themselves; now is the moment to emphasise the high points in its history. When he looks back, Roselló is clear about what stands out most: “The freshest, sweetest image that I have are the mornings on the Terrace at Space. Those mornings when from 8 to 10 we used to serve breakfast: croissants, ham and cheese sandwiches, coffee with milk…after which the music started up. The people coming out of the discotheque joined up with others who came fresh, tourists recently arrived from the airport… It was magical! That contrast of characters, of knowing, happy glances was amazing. I will never be able to forget it”, he concludes.

At the beginning of the summer, the IMS dedicated its Legends Dinner to Pepe Roselló for his contribution to the world of dance music. Pete Tong introduced him as “The man who invented the after-hours”. Because the fact is that, as well as innovating by offering morning parties, Roselló also earned his popularity and the goodwill of the clubbers thanks to his famous appearances in the DJ’s booth and his attitude towards VIPs. “I have never been in favour of putting the VIPs in different places to the rest of the public”, he states.

Pepe has been at the heart of things over the 27 years of life of Space and the awards have not come by chance. “The creativity is the result of looking carefully at what the public needs. The public is constantly telling you what it wants; it has guided my professional behaviour. And you always have to work to give them the best”, he reflects.

This would be the perfect occasion to retire, but Pepe Roselló is a passionate fan of music and his work…and he’s not going to do so. “Now I have to open a new window on my life and I hope to enjoy the health and the strength required to be able to achieve my new goals. A new window, with a new spirit…”.

Or what comes to the same thing: a new Space, with a new spirit.

Everything points to the legend staying alive.

Related Posts

  • Published On: August 3rd, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: July 20th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: July 9th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: June 23rd, 2022|Categories: People|

Pepe Roselló steht seiner letzten Saison im Space Ibiza gegenüber und verliert dabei weder sein Lächeln noch seine guten Manieren. Doch trotz der Selbstbeherrschung und der nach außen gewahrten Fassung ist es für Roselló einer der bittersüßesten Momente seiner Karriere. Es ist die letzte Saison eines der symbolträchtigsten Clubs der Insel und natürlich möchte Roselló, dass diese letzte Saison eine unvergessene bleibt  – mit Trauer im Herzen fällt das nicht so leicht. „Mein größter Wunsch ist es, das dieser Sommer einzigartig wird und einen glanzvollen Schlusspunkt unter 27 magische Jahre setzt“.

Die mehrfach ausgezeichnete Diskothek in Platja d’en Bossa wird ihre 27-jährige Laufbahn am 2. Oktober beenden.  27 Sommer, in denen die Menschen glücklich waren. 27 Saisons unglaublicher Partys mit den besten DJs der Welt. Ein Märchen, von dem man glaubte, dass es nie zu Ende gehen würde. „Ein Ende? Kam in meiner Vorstellung nicht vor. Und nun fühle ich einfach diese große Frustration“. Roselló hat alles versucht,  um den Mietvertrag fortzusetzen, doch Grund und Boden ist Eigentum der Gruppe Empresas Matutes. „Unsere Gespräche sind vor langer Zeit versandet und so wurden wir eben abgewickelt. So einfach ist das“.

Die Situation verdeutlicht, wie heftig der Wettbewerb zwischen den Clubs geworden ist. Gewinner in diesem Fall ist das Ushuaïa, dass das Gelände vom Space nutzen wird, um Ushuaïa Night, einen weiteren Nachtclub der Hotelanlage zu etablieren. „Es ist eine Sache, sich in Konkurrenz zu anderen Clubs zu behaupten, eine andere, gegen ein Hotel, das einen großen Open-Air-Club im Inneren betreibt, anzutreten. Ushuaïa hat eine Betreiberlizenz für ein Hotel mit der Konzession einen Open-Air-Club als Nebentätigkeit zu betreiben. Aber in Wahrheit lockt dieses Spektakel jeden Tag eine Menschenmasse an und das hat nichts mit dem Hotel zu tun. Das ist ein Riese im Club-Geschäft, zahlt als Hotel aber nur 10 Prozent Mehrwertsteuer, wir jedoch 21 Prozent. Ich frage mich ernsthaft, ist das ein Hotel oder eine Diskothek? Was im Ushuaïa passiert, gleicht einem Club: Die Gäste tanzen und vergnügen sich beim Entertainmentprogramm – genau wie bei uns. Diese Situation bringt die Clubszene auf der Insel ins Ungleichgewicht und das wird schwerwiegende Folgen für Ibiza haben“, argumentiert Roselló. „Die kommerzielle Art und Weise mit dem das Ushuaïa Entertainment betreibt, und damit einen Großteil der Öffentlichkeit von nachmittags bis 0.00 Uhr nachts bindet, destabilisiert die Entertainmentbranche der Insel. Es hat den Anschein, dass die Politik nicht realisiert, welchen ernsthaften Schaden Ibiza aus diesen wirtschaftlichen Verschiebungen nimmt, wenn Großveranstaltungen und Künstler vom frühen Nachmittag an bis spät in die Nacht hinein mit Open Air Veranstaltungen für Unterhaltung sorgen. Seit fünf Jahren gibt es Probleme mit Konzessionstreitigkeiten, Events finden ohne Sondererlaubnis statt und das sorgt für Unfrieden.“

Pepe-Rosello_Ibiiza-Style-001

Die Zukunft des Space Ibiza

Was auch immer geschieht, eines ist klar: Die Schlacht um an der Platja d’en Bossa bleiben zu können ist verloren. Aber seit längerem ranken sich die Gerüchte um ein neues Space Projekt auf der Insel. Jetzt wird es konkret: Ein Hotel mit Diskothek in San Antonio. „Diese Idee wurde bereits vor 2 Jahren geboren. Es gibt ein Stück freies Land neben dem Hotel Bahía, auf dem wir ein großartiges architektonisches Projekt planen. Dieses Projekt würde San Antonio neue Vakanzen ermöglichen und das Angebot für Touristen maßgeblich verbessern. Das Hotel Space wäre ein großer Anziehungspunkt für die Urlauber, die ihre Ferien in diesem Teil der Insel verbringen. Derzeit stockt das Projekt etwas, die Stadtverwaltung in San Antonio hat es auf Eis gelegt, aber ich bin zuversichtlich, dass wir hier bald eine Lösung finden“.

Das Projekt läutet eine neue Ära des Space ein. Eine Ära, an der auch der größte Botschafter des Space, Carl Cox, beteiligt sein wird. Es war der britische DJ, der im letzten Oktober in einem Interview verkündete, es würde seine letzte Saison werden. Alle Spekulationen hat er damit beendet, seine Zukunft auf Ibiza war ungewiss… bis jetzt. „Wir haben lange gesprochen und beschlossen, unseren Weg gemeinsam fortzusetzen. Carl Cox war 15 Jahre lang der Resident DJ im Space. Er hat mir seine Loyalität und seine Liebe und seinen Respekt vor dem Publikum unter Beweis gestellt. Für mich ist er mehr als ein großartiger DJ und ein Freund: Er ist ein touristischer Botschafter Ibizas. Er liebt Ibiza und er möchte bleiben. Ibiza ist Teil seines Lebens und sein zukünftiges Projekt. Er hat begonnen, gemeinsam mit uns Ideen und Projekte zu entwickeln, die sich mit seinen Aufgaben in Australien vereinbaren lassen“, erklärt Roselló.

Pepe-Rosello_Ibiiza-Style-002

Allen Widrigkeiten zum Trotz, ein Happy End

Es wird noch viel Zeit geben, um über die neue Ära des Space zu sprechen. Lassen wir den Dingen einfach ihren Lauf. Jetzt ist es an der Zeit inne zu halten, und den Höhepunkt seiner Karriere zu zelebrieren. Die besten Momente für Roselló? „Der frische und reine Morgen auf der Terrasse des Space, wenn wir zwischen 8 und 10 Uhr Kaffee mit geschäumter Milch, duftende Croissants, Schinken- und Käsesandwiches servieren und die Musik sich wieder erhebt. Neue Gäste treffen ein und scherzen mit denen, die den Club verlassen, Touristen kommen noch mit Handgepäck direkt vom Flughafen… es war magisch! All diese unterschiedlichen Menschen, vereint durch pures Glück und strahlende Gesichter. Ich werde das nie vergessen“.

Zu Beginn des Sommers ehrte das IMS anlässlich seines Ehren-Dinners Pepe Roselló für seine Verdienste in der Welt der Dance Music. Pete Tong stellte ihn vor „als Mann, der die Afterhour erfunden hat“.  Doch mehr noch als die Etablierung der morgendlichen Partys, wird Roselló von den Clubbern verehrt und geliebt durch seine verrückten Auftritte am DJ Pult und seine Haltung gegenüber VIP Gästen. „Ich wollte nie VIP Lounges oder getrennte Bereiche, hier feiern alle zusammen“.

Pepe war 27 Jahre lang das pulsierende Herz des Space, das seine Auszeichnungen nicht zufällig bekommen hat. „Die Kreativität ist ein Ergebnis dessen, genau hinzuhören, was die Gäste möchten. Diese wissen genau, was sie wollen und es hat mich als Clubbetreiber maßgeblich beeinflusst und zu Höchstleistung angetrieben“, reflektiert Roselló.

Es könnte ein perfekter Zeitpunkt sein, um sich zurückzuziehen, aber Pepe Roselló ist der Musik und seiner Arbeit leidenschaftlich verbunden, also ist das keine Option für ihn. „Ich habe ein neues Fenster in meinem Leben geöffnet und ich hoffe, dass ich meine neuen Ziele voller Energie durchziehen kann. Ein neues Fenster öffnet sich, ein neuer Spirit scheint hinein…“

Oder, was auf das gleiche herauskommt: Ein neues Space, mit einem neuen Spirit.

Alles deutet daraufhin, dass die Legende am Leben bleibt.