Tell us something about the history of your record shop, Can Vinilo, please. When did you start, how did the idea come about und who is who at Can Vinilo?

Can Vinilo started from the idea of keeping the essence of vinyl and analogic sound alive in Ibiza. We are two guys on their journey that started in May 2014! David has been a Spanish resident DJ on the island for over 17 years, who was in contact with vinyls from his early age, and me, Bogdan, I am a Romanian promoter, who is based and established in Ibiza for the last 10 years with a large music experience, which I gained over the years working and living in this business. The idea came naturally. There was no other record shop in Ibiza and one of the best parts in buying records is looking personally for treasures, touching old vinyls until you find that black round piece that makes you happy and satisfied.

What was the main concept idea – which style, which musical direction was your choice?

From the beginning we thought that it woouldn‘t be easy to have a vinyl exclusive store, especially in these times when digital is superior to the analog, with mp3 vs vinyl, laptop vs record case. After two years I can say that we have almost 8000 records in our shop, a lot of new electronic music, limited vinyl records, especially from Romania and Germany from our friends  Ourown and DBH Music, but also a large variety of classic, disco, rock and pop. Who wants to see exactly what it is about, should come and visit us personally .

Did you have record shop experiences before?
Yes, from 1991 on David worked in different music stores in Spain and in Ibiza he attended Delta Discos and Lespai.

How difficult was the start? Was it hard to find a location?

It was not  easy at the beginning, a lot of paperwork, licenses, permits, and the most difficult part was to fill the shop with records. We were quite lucky finding the space to rent. It is perfect for our budget, the location is on Ignacio Wallis 50, one of the main streets of Ibiza Town and we have nice neighbours: all music lovers.
How did record buyers accept the store?
We had a lot of positive feedback from our friends, before we started and a very good vibe and positive energy from all our visitors of all ages, looking for the latest releases or they are just curious.
What is the typical client of your shop?
I could say that the Ibiza residents are visiting us on a regular basis, all year around.

Do DJs come to the shop when they are on the Island?

Actually they come and we are happy about that. Ricardo, Tini, DJ Pippi and Rhadoo visit us when they have time.

Do you guys DJ in clubs or at partys?

David is DJing since1986 and over the years he played in Space  Privillege, Pacha.  We have a party in Pacha called “Can Vinilo Records “, where David is a resident and it is always a blast .
These days a lot is about the return of vinyl. Others say: Return? It was never away. What is your take about the „black gold“?
Vinyl was never gone in our opinion but we can’t deny that the digital music era had a negative impact on the vinyl industry. In the last years the vinyl has become more powerful again compared to digital again, but it was never in danger of extinction.
Tell us your favorite albums in the shop.
Our top picks : SIT – „Sideways EP“ and Raresh – „Vivaltu EP“, both of them exclusive in Ibiza at Can Vinilo.

canvinilo-ibiza-style-007

Which records sell best at Can Vinilo?

Everything coming from the Romanian producers is sold out. Over the last years Romania has gained a strong position on the electronic music map and they produce a lot of quality music. The vinyls are limited to 500-1000 copies without repressing, so they don’t lose value. It is more or less  a long term investment buying limited edition vinyls.

How is vinyl business on the island in general – is there a certain network?
In these days the vinyl business is tough. For us it is more passion and less financial satisfaction. We work a lot and we develop our webpages at the moment. (See bottom of story for link)
Do you take part in the Record Store Day?
For us every day is a Record Store Day!

How does a typical Can Vinilo-Day look like?

We open at 10 every morning, answer e-mails, listen to new music, receive new orders, ordering the newcomers, preparing the records bought online by music lovers all over the world. We deliver to Australia, Japan, Argentina. In the second half of the day usually friends are visiting. We are like a meeting point for DJs. We talk about new projects, releases and new productions that will be available soon.

Do Vinyl shoppers have a certain season?

It is quite a difference between the number of people that enter the shop in winter and in summer. We observe that during wintertime we know almost everybody who is visiting us, in summer we have more tourists and seasonal DJ’s from all over the world.

Any tips for shoppers? What is the insider tip to look out for?

Come to our shop and expect magic to happen. We always approach every customer personally and it depends on what they look for, but we always find a solution for their demands. We have a lot of great records, one of them „Buena Vista Social Club“ and of course romanian gems.

And your personal alltime favorite record?

David: U2 – „The Joshua Tree“ – Bogdan: Bryan Ferry – „Don‘t stop the Dance“

Can Vinilo

www.canvinilo.com

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 20th, 2022|Categories: Locations|
  • Published On: July 9th, 2022|Categories: Locations|
  • Published On: June 3rd, 2019|Categories: Locations|
  • Published On: October 20th, 2017|Categories: Locations|
  • Published On: September 26th, 2017|Categories: Locations|

Erzählt einmal vom Can Vinilo – wann hat alles begonnen, woher stammt die Idee und wer sind die Macher?

Can Vinilo enstand aus dem Wunsch, die Essenz des Vinyls und des analogen Klangs auf Ibiza lebendig zu halten. Wir sind zu zweit und unsere Reise begann im Mai 2014. David war seit über 17 Jahren spanischer Resident DJ auf der Insel, von klein auf an mit Vinyl in Kontakt und ich, Bogdan, stamme aus Rumänien, und bin seit über zehn Jahren als Promoter hier und das mit all der musikalischen Erfahrung aus der langen Zeit im Business. Die Idee kam ganz von allein. Es gab keinen anderen Plattenladen auf Ibiza und das Schönste am Plattenkauf ist nun einmal die persönliche Schatzsuche, das Berühren des Vinyls und dann dieses Gefühl, wenn du genau jenes schwarze, runde Teil gefunden hast, das dich glücklich macht.

Wie sieht euer Konzept aus – welcher Stil, welche musikalische Richtung gibt es im Can Vinilo?

Wir wussten von Anfang an, dass es schwer werden würde, einen Vinyl-only-Shop zu etablieren, gerade in diesen Zeiten, da digital gegenüber analog längst die Nase vorn hat, ob mp3 vs. Vinyl oder Laptop vs. Plattenkoffer. Inzwischen haben wir über 8000 Platten im Geschäft, viel elektronische Musik, limitierte Platten, viel aus Rumänien und Deutschland von unseren Freunden von Ourown und DBH Music, aber auch eine große Auswahl an Klassik, Disco, Rock und Pop. Wer es genau wissen will, der kommt natürlich am besten ins Geschäft und besucht uns persönlich.

Hattet ihr zuvor Erfahrungen in Sachen Plattengeschäft?

Ja, David hat von 1991 an in verschiedenen Musikgeschäften auf dem spanischen Festland gearbeitet und war auf Ibiza bei Delta Discos und Lespai tätig.

Wie schwer war der Start? Wie problematisch die Location?

Es war nicht einfach. Eine Menge Papierkram, Lizenzen, Genehmigungen, und dann noch die Aufgabe, den Laden mit Platten zu füllen. In Sachen Location hatten wir Glück. Wir sind auf der Igancio Wallis 50 eingemietet und das ist perfekt für unser Budget. Es ist eine der Hauptstraßen in Ibiza Town und wir haben tolle Nachbarn: alles Musik-Liebhaber.

Wir haben die Plattenkäufer den Shop angenommen?

Wir bekamen von unseren Freunden viel positives Feedback, schon vor dem Start. Dazu jede Menge gute Vibes und positive Energie von unseren Besuchern aller Altersklassen, die entweder nach der neuesten Platte suchen oder einfach nur neugierig sind.

Gibt es einen typischen Kunden?

Ich würde sagen, alle Ibiza Residents. Und zwar regelmäßig, das ganze Jahr über.

Kommen die DJs zu euch, wenn sie auf der Insel sind?

Sie kommen in der Tat und darüber sind wir sehr glücklich. Ricardo, Tini, DJ Pippi und Rhadoo besuchen uns, wenn sie Zeit haben.

Wie schaut es mit euch aus – seid ihr als DJs im Einsatz?

David ist DJ seit 1986 und hat schon im Space, im Privilege und im Pacha aufgelegt. Es gibt dort eine Party namens „Can Vinilo Records“, wo David Resident ist und das ist jedes Mal ein Riesenspaß.

Viel ist die Rede von der Renaissance des Vinyls. Andere sagen: Rückkehr? Es war niemals fort. Wie ist euer Blick auf das „schwarze Gold“?

Unserer Meinung nach war Vinyl nie weg, aber natürlich lässt es sich nicht leugnen, dass es in dieser digitalen Ära schwer wurde für die Vinyl-Industrie. Es hat jedoch in den letzten Jahren wieder kräftig zugelegt. Und vom Aussterben bedroht war es sowieso nie.

Was sind die Favoriten in eurem Laden?

Unsere Top Picks: SIT – „Sideways EP“ und Raresh – „Vivaltu EP“, beide gibt es auf Ibiza exklusiv bei Can Vinilo.

canvinilo-ibiza-style-007

Was sind eure Bestseller?

Rumänische Produktionen sind sehr gefragt. In den letzten Jahren hat sich im elektronischen Markt viel getan, es gibt dort wirklich gute Musik. Die Platten sind auf 500 bis 1000 Exemplare limitiert, werden nicht nachgepresst und behalten so ihren Wert. Es ist eine echte Geldanlage, limitierte Vinyl-Editionen zu sammeln.

Wie sieht das Vinyl-Business auf Ibiza aus – gibt es ein Network?

Das Vinyl-Business ist heute tough. Für uns ist es jedenfalls mehr Leidenschaft als finanzieller Ertrag. Wie arbeiten hart und sind grad dabei, unsere Websites aufzubauen. (Weblinks am Ende des Interviews)

Nehmt ihr am Record Store Day teil?

Für uns ist jeder Tag Record Store Day!

Wie sieht ein typischer Tag im Can Vinilo aus?

Wir machen um 10 Uhr auf, beantworten E-Mails, hören neue Musik, bekommen Online-Bestellungen, machen die Aussendungen in alle Welt fertig. Wir liefern nach Australien, Japan, Argentinien. Am Nachmittag kommen Freunde vorbei, wir sind so etwas wie ein Treffpunkt für DJs. Wir sprechen über neue Projekte, Releases und Produktionen, die in Kürze anstehen.

Haben Vinyl-Käufer eine bestimmte Saison?

Es ist schon ein großer Unterschied zwischen den Kunden im Winter und denen im Sommer. In der Wintersaison kennen wir jeden, der herkommt. Im Sommer sind es viel mehr Touristen und DJs aus der ganzen Welt.

Habt ihr einen Insidertip für euer Publikum?

Kommt ins Can Vinilo und spürt die Magie. Wir beraten jeden Kunden persönlich. Natürlich kommt es darauf an, was man sucht, aber wir haben immer das Richtige im Angebot. Wir führen großartige Platten, auch so etwas wie den „Buena Vista Social Club“ und jede Menge rumänische Preziosen.

Eure persönlichen Lieblingsalben?

David: U2 – „The Joshua Tree“ – Bogdan: Bryan Ferry – „Don‘t stop the Dance“