The 2016 Space Closing Fiesta was bigger, louder and more important than any closing party Ibiza has witnessed before. It goes without saying that Space Closing is always a special event, but the fact that this was the last ever party at the world-famous nightclub before rivals Ushuaïa take control of the venue next January elevated the festival-sized mood from wild to spine tingling.

“There’s never been a closing party on the island like this one before,” the Mambo Brothers explain after their early evening performance on the Sunset Terrace. “What you’re seeing is a major venue actually closing; not just for the winter, but forever. In years to come, we’re going to be telling people about this amazing club called Space and what it meant to people. And here we are on the last day, living it. It’s totally crazy.”

Indeed, Space Closing 2016 was the sort of historic event that a video camera just can’t capture. Walking into the venue at 9pm we saw people crying, ravers hugging. It all sounds a bit cheesy if you weren’t there, but those in attendance were palpably affected by the magnitude of the situation, which felt as special as it did sad.

“I started playing at Space in 1999,” says long-term resident Jason Bye prior to his back-to-back DJ set with Andy Baxter. “I’ve played more or less every single Sunday since then, including 15 or 16 closing parties, but tonight feels completely different.”

Space-Closing_Ibiza-Style_001

Like most of the 100 or so DJs on the roster, Jason sprinkled his house set with classic tunes, including ‘Tub’ by Grant Phabao, a real crowd pleaser back in 1999. Outside on the Flight Stage, Darius Syrossian dropped ‘Café del Mar’ by Energy 52, while acid-kingpin Josh Wink opted to play a reworked anthology of his own back catalogue, including his anthemic ‘Higher State Of Consciousness’. All of which added a supplementary dose of surrealism to an already nostalgic event.

“I think there’s such a sense of surrealism here tonight because you’re dealing with 27 years of history,” says legendary Ibiza promoter Danny Whittle. “You have three generations of people from all over the planet partying together and paying homage to one of the best nightclubs in the world. It’s an example of how house music can work. As surreal as it is, it’s probably normal given the situation, because the venue has changed so many people’s lives.”

The future of Space may have dominated the dance music gossip columns this summer, but on Sunday night very little was said about ‘what happens next’. From the DJs to the dancefloor, everyone was simply savouring one last dance, enjoying the legacy that Space owner Pepe Rosello has created.

“Right now we’re sitting in the VIP area and everyone here is from San Antonio,” the Mambo Brothers conclude. “We are hanging with our neighbours, the people from the local supermarket, the guys from the Marina, people who work at the fruit market. It’s such a family thing. These are local people that Pepe is seeing day to day. These are the best tables in the entire venue, overlooking the outdoor stage, but Pepe hasn’t thought about the money, he’s only thought about his friends. Pepe is a classy man and truly a man of this island. He’s done more for the dance scene here than anyone else and created one of the best nightclubs in the world, if not the best. One thing is for sure, there won’t be a feeling like this again in Ibiza for a very long time.”

https://www.facebook.com/IbizaStyle.EN/videos/1122119694503580/

Die große Closing Fiesta 2016 des Space Ibiza war größer, lauter und wichtiger als jede andere Closing Party auf der Insel, die es jemals gegeben hat. Es war nicht nur ein krachendes Goodbye für diese Saison, sondern ein explosiver und emotionaler Abschied für immer. Bereits ab Januar tanzt Ibizas berühmtester Club unter der neuen Leitung des Ushuaïa.

„Noch nie hat es auf Ibiza eine vergleichbare Closing Party gegeben”, erklären die Mambo-Brüder sichtlich berührt nach ihrem Set am frühen Abend. „Wir durften und haben einer geschichtsträchtigen Veranstaltung beigewohnt, an einem Ort, den es so nie wieder geben wird. Erstaunliches über das Space gab es schon immer zu berichten, aber nun wird der Club zu einer unerreichbaren Legende des Nachtlebens auf Ibiza und wir sind dabei, es ist total crazy“.

Verrückt – das trifft es genau. Wer nicht dabei war, kann sich kaum vorstellen, wie emotional dieser Abschied war: Um 21 h liegen sich fremde Menschen weinend in den Armen, keine Kamera dieser Welt kann dieses Gefühl wiedergeben, das die Luft mit einem so melancholischen Timbre erfüllte, als gäbe es kein Morgen.

„Seit 1999 habe ich im Space aufgelegt“, schluckt der langjährige Resident DJ Jason Bye nach seinem back-to-back DJ Set mit Andy Baxter. „Fast jeden Sonntag war ich hier und bei mindestens 15 Closings, aber das heute fühlt sich anders an.“

Wie die fast 100 anderen DJs auch, die dem Space die letzte Ehre erwiesen, griff Jason zurück auf die Melodien seiner Anfangszeit im Space, inklusive „Tub“ von Grand Phabao, der die Massen 1999 in Ekstase versetzte. Auch Darius Syrossian sorgte draußen auf der Flight Stage mit Energy 52 und „Café del Mar” für Gänsehaut, während die Acid Größe Josh Wink der Nostalgie einen Schuss Surrealismus hinzufügte, inklusive der Hymne „Higher State Of Consciousness“.

Space-Closing_Ibiza-Style_001

„Dieses surreale Gefühl ist doch ganz normal, wenn man bedenkt, dass wir es mit 27 Jahren Musikgeschichte zu tun haben“, bemüht sich der legendäre Promotor Danny Whittle um Erklärungen: „Wir haben hier drei Generationen auf der Tanzfläche, die aus der ganzen Welt zusammen gekommen sind, um dieser Hommage an den besten Club der Welt beizuwohnen. Das hier ist das Beispiel dafür, wie House Musik das Leben vieler Menschen verändert hat und sie auch miteinander verbindet“.

Die Zukunft des Space füllte in diesem Sommer die Klatschspalten fast sämtlicher Dance Music relevanter Zeitungen, aber an diesem einen letzten Sonntagabend wurde nicht mehr über die Zukunft gesprochen, sondern das Hier und Jetzt auf der Tanzfläche gelebt, die Pepe Rosello verlegt und belebt hat.

„Wir sitzen in der VIP Area, aber halb San Antonio ist mit uns“, ergreifen zum Schluss noch einmal die Mambo-Brüder das Wort. „Alle Nachbarn, die Leute vom Supermarkt, die Arbeiter aus dem Hafen, die Händler vom Früchtemarkt … – das hier ist Familie. Das sind die Menschen, denen Pepe jeden Tag die Hände schüttelt, mit denen er seinen Kaffee trinkt. Es sind die besten Plätze des Clubs, doch hier sitzen die Menschen, die Pepe wichtig sind, keine Prominenten. Auch in diesem Moment denkt Pepe nur an seine Freunde. Er ist Gentleman, Sportsmann und ein Mann der Insel. Er hat mehr für die Dance Szene getan, als jeder andere und einen der besten Nachtclubs geschaffen, wenn nicht sogar den besten der Welt. Eines ist sicher, so etwas wird es auf Ibiza sehr lange nicht mehr geben“.

https://www.facebook.com/IbizaStyle.EN/videos/1122119694503580/