German techno pioneer Monika Kruse was born to rock big rooms. Just take a look at her Ibiza bookings this summer. It doesn’t get much bigger than dates at Hï, Amnesia and the colossal 10,000-capacity dance Mecca, Privilege. “Right now, it’s an exciting time for Privilege,” Monika explains. “I can’t wait to play there this summer for Resistance. I know the Ultra guys very well. I played for Ultra twice in Miami, once in Croatia and also for Ultra South America. When I went to Burning Man with Carl Cox they joined us. They’re good people with a good heart and really into their techno.”

As well as curating cutting edge line-ups, Ultra are also renowned for producing some of the most spectacular dance music shows on the planet. “The production is just out of this world,” Monika continues. “In Miami, I performed on the Spider Stage. Picture, if you can, a giant mechanised spider made out of metal which releases huge fireballs into the air. I actually DJd in the belly of the spider, above the dancefloor, while the arms of the machine were moving in time with the music. It’s the craziest stage I’ve played anywhere in the world. Although, when I was younger, I did DJ in a tank! That was at an illegal rave party in Munich back in the ‘90s – a very different party to Ultra Resistance, but still impressive in its own way!”

Despite having a penchant for techno, tanks and enormous fire breathing spiders, Monika assures us that she does have a softer side. “I’m also into spiritual things,” she laughs. “Reiki, for instance. When I first tried it, reiki made me feel really calm. Any fears or problems I had just fell away.”

Like many of the world’s top DJs, Monika uses the healing arts to offset the rigours of her hectic lifestyle, much of which is spent touring the globe. “Ayurveda is another interest of mine,” Monika says. “It’s all about detoxifying your body. I’ve been practicing it for the last 15 years. When I was younger I got sick really easily, but since I started the treatment I never really get sick anymore.”

Monika takes a few weeks off every year to visit ayurvedic retreat centres in India, Sri Lanka and Germany. But her favourite place to detoxify is here in Ibiza. “The girl I use is called Elke. She’s very good, even better than the healers in India. She has a team that cooks for you, a team that takes the yoga – it’s more of a private thing than a retreat. She looks after a lot of top DJs, like Luciano, for example. These days, ayurvedic retreats are a kind of a meeting point for DJs. Richie Hawtin and Sven Väth go to the one I use in Germany and the last time I was there I met Marc Romboy. Today, DJs take care of more than just their music!”

www.monikakruse.de

Catch Monika Kruse performing at Andrea Oliva & Friends at Hï Ibiza on July 11, HYTE at Amnesia on July 26 and September 20, and at Resistance at Privilege on August 8.

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: May 24th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: July 12th, 2018|Categories: Music|

Geboren, um die Big Rooms zu rocken: die deutsche Techno-Pionierin Monika Kruse. Allein ihre Ibiza Bookings in diesem Sommer: Dates im im Hï, Amnesia und dem riesigen 10.000er Dance Mekka Privilege – mehr geht fast nicht. „Es ist eine aufregende Zeit für das Privilege“, erklärt Monika. „Ich kann es kaum erwarten, im Sommer beim Resistance zu spielen. Ich kenne die Ultra-Crew sehr gut, ich habe zweimal für sie gespielt, einmal in Kroatien, einmal in Südamerika. Als ich mit Carl Cox beim Burning Man war, stießen sie zu uns. Tolle Menschen mit großem Herz. Und sie lieben Techno.“

Zum einen kennt man Ultra als Kuratoren von exquisiten Line-ups, sie sind zudem auch für einige der weltweit spektakulärsten Dance-Produktionen verantwortlich. „Die sind nicht von dieser Welt“, fährt Monika fort. „In Miami bin auch auf der Spider Stage aufgetreten. Stell dir das vor, eine riesige, mechanische Spinne aus Metall, die riesige Feuerbälle in die Luft spuckt. Ich habe im Bauch der Spinne aufgelegt, oberhalb des Dancefloors, während die Arme dieser Maschine im Takt mitgegangen sind. Die verrückteste Bühne, auf der ich je gestanden habe. Obwohl – als ich noch jünger war, habe ich mal in einem Panzer aufgelegt, auf einer illegalen Rave Party in München. In den 90ern war das. Eine völlig andere Geschichte als Ultra Restistance, dennoch sehr beeindruckend!“

Und obwohl sie eine Vorliebe für Techno, für Panzer und feuerspuckende Spinnen hat, gibt es da auch eine weichere Seite, wie Monika uns versichert. „Ich mag spirituelle Dinge“, lacht sie. „Reiki zum Beispiel. Als ich es das erste Mal probierte, beruhigte es mich total. Alle Ängste und Probleme fielen ab von mir.“

Wie so viele der Top-DJs dieser Welt, nutzt auch Monika die heilenden Kräfte, um sich vomhektischen Lifestyle, den Reisen um den Globus, zu erholen. „Ich interessiere mich auch für Ayurveda“, sagt Monika. „Es geht darum, den Körper zu entgiften. Ich praktiziere das seit 15 Jahren. Als ich jünger war, wurde ich sehr schnell krank. Seit ich diese Behandlungen durchführe, hat das aufgehört.“

Jedes Jahr nimmt sich Monika mehrere Wochen Auszeit, um ayurvedische Zentren in Indien, Sri Lanka und Deutschland zu besuchen. Ihr Lieblingsort dafür ist jedoch Ibiza. „Das Mädchen, zu dem ich gehe, heißt Elke. Sie ist sehr gut, besser noch als die Heiler in Indien. Ein Team kocht für dich, ein Team macht  Yoga – es fühlt sich alles eher privat an. Sie kümmert sich um viele Top-DJs, wie etwa Luciano. Die ayurvedischen Rückzugsorte sind heute eine Art Treffpunkt für DJs. Richie Hawtin und Sven Väth gehen in Deutschland in das Zentrum, in dem ich auch bin. Als ich das letzte Mal dort war, traf ich Marc Romboy. Heutzutage kümmern sich DJs um mehr als nur die Musik!“

www.monikakruse.de

Monika Kruse beim Andrea Oliva & Friends im Hï Ibiza am 11. Juli, beim HYTE im Amnesia am 26. Juli und am 20. September, und beim Resistance im Privilege am 7. August.

Related Posts

  • Published On: Juli 26th, 2022|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Mai 24th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Juli 12th, 2018|Categories: Musik|