Meeting dance music legends Anané and Louie Vega for the first time, the first thing you appreciate is just how passionate they are about music, about life. They are inspiring. You can feel a certain energy buzzing around them. “Whatever you feel inside, you transmit that feeling outwardly,” says Anané. “Obviously there’s a love between us – we’re married and we’ve been together for many years. That love is evident when we play back-to-back sets together. For us, those experiences really are something special.”

It didn’t take the Vegas’ long to decide upon the concept for their new six-week party residency at Heart. “Visually and musically, we’re going to delve into New York City club culture,” explains Louie. “We’re going to refer back to my experiences growing up in a city which has always been a melting pot of sounds. From being a 12-year-old kid in the late 70s, to the disco scene, being there at the birth of hip-hop, the punk rock scene. I was there. We really want our guests to experience that. Anané has researched a huge number of old images to really help us tap into these different time periods. Then the incredible video mapping system at Heart will allow us to tell the story while we’re playing.”

“Those eras of New York City,” Anané adds. “The afterparties, the raves, the underground clubs, the big clubs, the commercial clubs. Hip-hop, reggae, dancehall, dance, house music, salsa. How do you take your audience on a journey like that? It’s all about your selection of music, of course, and I think Louie and I both compliment each other in that way. From our backgrounds in Puerto Rico salsa, to our Cape Verdean afro roots, combined with everything we’ve experienced in New York City, you’re going to hear lots of different genres, lots of styles. The Ritual is truly going to be a journey, a voyage that transcends throughout the night from beginning to end.”

“The entire experience is going to be something really special,” Louie promises. “Heart is completely different to the traditional Ibiza dance venues like Pacha and Amnesia. It’s not just a club. When you come here, you can book a dinner here with your friends if you like. Then, while you’re eating, you get to experience a little bit of the flavour of Cirque du Soleil. The production is flawless and the food is amazing. Then, just after midnight, that’s when we come in.”

Fittingly, 2017 marks the 10th anniversary of the Vegas’ first collaboration with Cirque du Soleil, the entertainments company known around the world for their theatrical flair. “We performed at the opening show of the 2007 Super Bowl,” Anané continues. “I sang the song Louie composed with Elements Of Life, called ‘One Dream’. 10 years later and we’ve gone full circle. To have our own party at Heart and to be able to collaborate again with such an incredible team is really exciting.”

Anané & Louie Vega will headline The Ritual at Heart for six exclusive weeks, starting Tuesday July 18, running until August 22.

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: May 24th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: July 12th, 2018|Categories: Music|

Wenn man die Dance Music-Legenden Anané und Louie Vega zum ersten Mal trifft, fällt zuallererst auf, wie leidenschaftlich die beiden in Sachen Musik und dem Leben als solchem sind. Sie inspirieren dich einfach. Man fühlt ihre Energie förmlich. „Was immer du fühlst, das strahlst du auch aus“, sagt Anané. „Natürlich ist es erst einmal die Liebe – wir sind seit vielen Jahren zusammen und verheiratet. Diese Liebe ist offensichtlich, wenn wir back to back spielen. Für uns sind diese Erfahrungen etwas Besonderes.“

Als es um die sechswöchige Residency im Heart ging, stand das Konzept der Vegas‘ schnell fest. „Es geht um die Club Culture New Yorks, visuell und musikalisch“, erklärt Louie. „Wir beziehen uns auf meine Erfahrungen, in einer Stadt aufzuwachsen, die immer schon ein Melting Pot gewesen ist. Als Zwölfjähriger in den späten 70ern, in der Disco-Szene, dann die Geburtsstunde des Hip-Hop zu erleben, natürlich auch Punk Rock. Ich war dabei. Wir wollen unsere Gäste das nachfühlen lassen. Anané hat etliche Bilder aus jener Zeit zutage gefördert, die die verschiedenen Perioden abbilden. Das fantastische Video Mapping System im Heart wird uns dabei helfen, die Geschichte zu erzählen, während wir spielen.“

„Diese Äras der Stadt New York“, fügt Anané hinzu.“ Die Afterpartys, die Raves, die Underground Clubs, die Big Clubs, die kommerziellen Venues. Hip-Hop, Reggae, Dancehall, Dance, House Music, Salsa. Wie nimmst du dein Publikum auf diese Reise mit? Natürlich geht es um die Auswahl der Musik, und da ergänzen Louie und ich uns bestens. Von unserem Background mit Puerto Rico Salsa bis zu unseren Afro Roots von den Kapverden, das alles in Kombination mit unseren New Yorker Erlebnissen – das wird ein Mix aus vielen verschiedenen Genres und Stilen. The Ritual wird ganz sicher ein Trip, eine Reise, die sich durch die ganze Nacht zieht, von Anfang bis Ende.“

„Die ganze Erfahrung wird etwas ganz Besonderes sein“, verspricht Louie. „Heart ist ganz anders als die traditionellen Dance Venues wie etwa Pacha oder Amnesia. Es ist nicht nur ein Club. Wenn du herkommst, kannst du ein Dinner mit deinen Freunden buchen. Während du isst, erlebst du den Flavor des Cirque du Soleil. Die Produktion ist grandios, das Essen erstklassig. Und nach Mitternacht schlägt unsere Stunde.“

Genau zehn Jahre ist Vegas‘ erste Kollaboration mit Cirque de Soleil, der Entertainment Company mit dem besonderen theatralischen Flair, jetzt her. „Wir traten bei der Eröffnung des Super Bowl 2007 auf“, fährt Anané fort. „Ich sang damals „One Dream“, den Song, den Louie zusammen mit Elements of Life komponiert hat. Zehn Jahre später schließt sich jetzt der Kreis. Unsere eigene Party im Heart, dazu die Möglichkeit, noch einmal mit diesem unglaublichen Team zusammenzuarbeiten, das ist wirklich aufregend.

Anané & Louie Vega sind Headliner beim The Ritual im Heart, exklusiv sechs Wochen lang. Start ist am Dienstag, den 18. Juli, regelmäßig bis zum 22. August.

Related Posts

  • Published On: Juli 26th, 2022|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Mai 24th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Juli 12th, 2018|Categories: Musik|