Craig David’s last visit to Ibiza was in 2014. That season the R&B star hit the island for a month, soaking up the daytime vibes at Blue Marlin, as well as the midnight party hype at Pacha and Amnesia. But it was Ushuaïa’s outdoor pool parties that intrigued him most of all.  “That’s why I was so excited when Ibiza Rocks called me up and invited me to take a summer residency in San Antonio,” Craig explains. “Three years ago when we were doing the TS5 house parties in Miami I remember saying to a friend: ‘How crazy would it be if we could take the party to Ibiza?’ I’ve spent so many years coming to Ibiza as a fan of the island and I guess I’d always thought about having a residency here. Now I’m like, I don’t know if the island is ready!”

After selling more than 13 million records worldwide between 2000 and 2010, Craig left London for Miami, taking an unofficial hiatus from the industry. “I kind of bought into the Miami dream,” Craig continues, “the palm trees, the beach, the lifestyle. I wanted to be in the studio making music, but the beautiful weather was pulling me outside. I had a crazy time in terms of lifestyle, but the situation wasn’t conducive to making music.”

Back in the UK for a management meeting, one of Craig’s advisors said something that he just couldn’t ignore. “Matt in my management office said a very poignant thing. He said: ‘Craig, it feels like we lose you when you’re over in Miami. You say you’re in the studio, but half the time I think you’re on your terrace having a good time.’ I knew he was talking the truth; most of the time I did literally walk through my home studio. The weather would be beautiful and I’d lay out getting a suntan. But from the moment he said that, I literally cancelled my flight back to Miami and I’ve been pretty much in the UK ever since.”

Both personally and professionally, Craig’s return to the UK has been hugely productive, with performances at Notting Hill Carnival, fabric and Alexandra Palace lighting the fuse for one of the biggest pop comebacks of all time. A chart topping collaboration with Big Narstie, the UKs most notorious grime MC, followed, creating a perfect storm that, according to Ibiza Rocks insiders, equates to the biggest run on tickets they’ve ever seen.

“The whole TS5 show is about embracing that element of DJing I used to do before I became known as an artist,” Craig concludes. “Before David Guetta and Calvin Harris blew up into rock stars, you had to be working within the DJ scene to actually DJ. But I just felt there was a gaping hole for someone who could DJ and who was also an artist. So I thought: ‘Why can’t I just put the two together?’ Play a couple of other people’s tunes, play one of mine, drop a freestyle over an instrumental. Musically my TS5 pool parties are all about me playing whatever I want and leading the crowd up to a full-on electronic set. It’s going to be wicked!”

Craig David’s TS5 Pool Party runs from Sunday July 17th to September 4th at Ibiza Rocks Hotel.

Craig-David_Ibiza-Style-001

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: May 24th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: July 12th, 2018|Categories: Music|

Zuletzt war Craig David 2014 auf Ibiza und das für einen ganzen Monat. Der R&B-Star genoss die Tage im Blue Marlin und die Nächte im Pacha und Amnesia. Die Outdoor Pool Partys im Ushuaïa hinterließen den größten Eindruck. „Deshalb habe ich mich auch so gefreut, als sich das Ibiza Rocks meldete und mir die Sommer-Residency in San Antonio anbot,“ erklärt Craig. „Ich erinnere mich, wie ich vor drei Jahren mit einem Freund die TS5 House Partys veranstaltete und zu ihm sagte, wie verrückt das wäre, diese Party nach Ibiza zu holen. Ich habe hier so viel Zeit verbracht und dabei immer mal wieder überlegt, wie es wäre, hier eine Residency zu haben. Jetzt wird sich zeigen, ob die Insel dafür bereit ist!“

Über 13 Millionen Platten hat Craig David zwischen 2000 und 2010 weltweit verkauft, bevor er von London nach Miami zog und sich inoffiziell aus der Industrie zurückzog. „Ich habe mich für den Traum von Miami entschieden,“ erzählt Craig weiter, „die Palmen, den Strand, den Lifestyle. Ich wollte im Studio arbeiten, aber das herrliche Wetter hat mich einfach nach draußen gezogen. Es war echt eine verrückte Zeit und die Situation einfach nicht da, um Musik zu machen.“

Bei einem Management Meeting in England ließen ihn die Worte eines seiner Berater aufhorchen: „Matt sagte etwas sehr Treffendes. Er meinte: ‚Craig, wir haben das Gefühl dich zu verlieren, wenn du in Miami bist. Du sagst, du bist im Studio, aber die Hälfte der Zeit bist du auf der Terrasse und vergnügst dich.’ Ich wusste, dass er Recht hat. Ich war wirklich kaum im Studio, stattdessen habe ich das Wetter genossen und in der Sonne gelegen. Aber in dem Moment, als er das sagte, habe ich meinen Flug nach Miami gecancelt und bin seitdem fast nur im UK.“

Sowohl persönlich als auch beruflich entpuppte sich Craigs Rückkehr als ausgesprochen produktiv. Aufttritte etwa beim Notting Hill Carnival und im Alexandra Palace bereiteten den Boden für eines der größten Pop-Comebacks aller Zeiten. Eine Kollaboration mit Big Narstie, einem der Grime-DJs des Königreichs schlechthin, toppte die Charts und sorgte für mächtig Wirbel – auch bis nach Ibiza: Glaubt man den Ibiza Rock Insidern, sorgte David für die größte Ticketnachfrage aller Zeiten.

„Bei der TS5 Show dreht sich alles um jenes DJing, wie ich es machte, bevor ich als Künstler bekannt wurde.“ so Craig. „Bevor Leute wie David Guetta und Calvin Harris zu Rockstars wurden, musstest du in der Szene unterwegs sein, um tatsächlich zu DJen. Aber ich hatte das Gefühl, es gab da eine Grenze für Leute, die DJen konnten und gleichzeitig Künstler waren. Also dachte ich mir: ‚Warum kann ich nicht einfach beides kombinieren?’ Ein paar Songs von anderen Leuten spielen, einen von meinen, ein bischen Freestyle über ein Instrumental. Musikalisch geht es bei den TS5 Pool Partys für mich nur darum, was ich spielen will und darum, das ganze zu einem kompletten Electronic Set zu kombinieren. Es wird wicked!“

Craig David’s TS5 Pool Party vom 17. Juli bis zum 4. September im Ibiza Rocks Hotel

Craig-David_Ibiza-Style-001

Related Posts

  • Published On: Juli 26th, 2022|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Mai 24th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Juli 12th, 2018|Categories: Musik|