Born in 1945 as the scion of a family of bankers in Zurich, year after year Dieter Meier gives the catchphrase “diverse interests” a new meaning. He broke off his legal studies and applied himself to the game of poker. Later on he raised livestock on a cattle ranch in Buenos Aires, became a shareholder worth millions, produced wine and designed watches. As if all this weren’t enough, he also works as a conceptual and performance artist. His appearance at Documenta 5 in Kassel was legendary. There, in 1972, he left a panel in the ground. The inscription read: “On March 23, 1994 between 3 and 4 pm Dieter Meier will stand on this panel.” No sooner said than done: 22 years later Meier stood right on that spot for 60 minutes in front of an enthusiastic audience.

Most long-lasting of all, however, was the impression Meier made as part of the band Yello. Founded in 1978 as a trio, the sound tinkerers shone with early classics such as “Bostich” or “She’s got a gun”. Years later, Yello had shrunk down to a duo and the mainstream was ripe for their idiosyncratic gems. Songs like the wonderful “Desire” became hits, while “The Race” turned into the title tune of the music show “Formula One”. In April Meier and his partner Boris Blank received the German record academy’s Ehren-ECHO for their life’s work. Not that that was a reason to take it easy, on the contrary: Shortly afterwards the man with the indispensable scarf published his debut album as a soloist. IBIZA Style met the master in Hamburg’s Park Hyatt hotel.

IBIZASTYLE_DIETERMEIER-001

So, did you find somewhere to put the Echo?

It stands in the entrance hall of my house in Zurich.

Does that also make you a little reflective, in the sense of “What’s next?”

Not at all. That’s no reason to look back. Certainly not for me. I think of everything that’s somehow originated within me as the footprints on a walk. The Echo is a wonderful surprise. But I neither look back nor am I terribly proud. Nothing that I do in my life gives me the feeling that I was the one who did it; but rather that it came into existence within me – through many, many coincidences.

How was the Echo party?

That was like every year. I’ve already been there a few times. It’s an industry that celebrates itself there. It’s just an event that’s about success and not necessarily about art. These excellent people who are mainly pop singers and people who are led by the pressure of a particular production. Who work with respect to a market which is, by the way, very tough. Sometimes it works out and sometimes it doesn’t. At Echo you find exactly those people who serve this market very professionally and they are honoured for having sold so much.

Two men in their prime in elegant jackets, with handkerchiefs in their breast pockets and brilliantine in their hair formed the highlight at an event like this and then went on to perform a new song on stage. Your desire for innovation seems to know no bounds.

Actually, we were never ahead of our time or ever felt that way. We were like kids in a sand pit who become closer to themselves in these fantasy castles. Who invent themselves. When you walk along this path, then originality is already given because each human being is a unique, divine being. I am an atheist. I think that people are the real gods. What’s sold to us as religion, of course, is utter nonsense. Nevertheless, it goes without saying that this reinvention isn’t always possible. We also made LPs with Yello that were just treading water. We didn’t invent something new every time.

What struck me at the gig was the vibe between you and Boris Blank. You are still best friends, right?

We have become great friends and we have a deep appreciation of one another. I am incredibly fond of Boris. He’s an amusing, charming and highly sensitive young man. Whenever we do have an argument, it is always about music. In the studio sparks sometimes fly but it is this friendship that makes it all possible in the end. In private, we’ve hardly ever had a quarrel.

IBIZASTYLE_DIETERMEIER-004What does Boris Blank have to say about your solo debut?

He saw the first concert and he was thrilled. And above all, surprised that I stood on the stage for two hours and sang songs after I’ve never done it before in my life. In my first unstructured performances in the 70s I used to scream my head off; it was something completely different. Boris was definitely afraid for me, too. Is Dieter going to be able to do it?  Will he find an audience?

Have you also asked yourself these questions?

No, I didn’t have any picture in my mind of ​​what could happen. Of course, I quickly sensed that the first two songs had gone over well. But I’m not a professional singer in that sense. Nonetheless, the audience really carried me through the gig after that and when that happens, then you can take ever greater risks. And also leave what is learned behind to add something improvised. There was euphoria at the end of the concert. People were amazed what this old studio hand had managed to pull off.

Your solo debut hasn’t exactly arrived early in your career. Have you ever thought that you should have done this earlier?

I don’t think along the lines of “If only I had…”. I believe that things come to a man by fate. This whole album has come to me at the right moment. I never strived for it to come out like that, just like almost everything else in my life. Of course, there’s this person, this Mr. Meier, who is just like every person in the world. On one hand, determined by genetic conditions. On the other hand, determined by where this little man has landed on the planet. That’s what gives you character. I like to compare it with the rhizome, the network of a mushroom plant that’s located beneath the ground. Only when the temperature is right, when the rain falls, when symbiosis with a tree takes place, can the mushrooms then come out of the ground. Only then can something grow and come into being. I would never have made such professional music in my life, if I hadn’t met “the tree”, Boris Blank​​, with whom I could then proceed in a symbiotic fashion. With whom I had the opportunity as an unstructured, lazy dog to step into these wonderful sounds and write myself a role there. In contrast to “Out of Chaos,” Yello is and always was a game of role-play.

IBIZASTYLE_DIETERMEIER-007How did the cooperation with Berlin electro and techno specialists Nackt, Ben Lauber and T.Raumschmiere go?

That was something totally different. It came out of chaos, out of singing along to an out of tune guitar. Scraps of conversation and stories suddenly formed. At that time we were already on tour with an initial line-up, all great jazz musicians. The songs were recorded later and played to the producers who came up with two very different ways we could go with it. Nonetheless, I really loved it straight away. A song world, far away from what I had done live. As a result I definitely wanted to make the album with these people, on the condition that I didn’t have a say in anything. I didn’t want to corrupt their creative process with my ideas. In that phase of the creative process, the producer must be allowed to be an idiot who knows nothing. What comes out of the chaos, hopefully something original, uncovers the person within.

What about the muse that you are waiting for – do you need a particular situation, an experimental arrangement in order to write lyrics?

In my transitory life I make music everywhere anyway. Completely amateurish and unstructured. When I got my first guitar I removed all the strings, except for one. Then I played it as they do in Indian music, while adding a bit of sing-song. But it’s never been the case that I have had to be particularly inspired and then sit down and make something out of that inspiration. The songs now are the result of an unstructured wandering as well as out of a sense of doubt as to whether this is doable.

Is Ibiza a good place for you to be creative?

As I said, it’s not important to me where I am.

IBIZASTYLE_DIETERMEIER-005When was the first time you came to the island?

That was a long time ago, 30 years. For the last ten years I have been renting a wonderful house perched high on a hill above San Juan.

What brought about the decision to settle here, at least part of the time?

For me, Ibiza has always been a wonderful island of contrasts. A place of seclusion but also the crazy circus in the clubs, the incredible merry-go-round of people showing off, the shameless exhibition in this insane marina. For an observer or a voyeur who steps into this, Ibiza is one of the world’s epicentres – the eccentricity, the posing, and the projection of self.

What kind of balance do you strike between club life and relaxation?

I rarely go to the clubs in Ibiza. If I go shopping in the market, I sit down for one or two hours in the café, read the newspaper and observe this many-hued dance.

In your opinion, has the island changed a lot?

The circus has been held here for 40 years, and it gets more and more intense. The yachts get larger and more lavish. The advertising of prostitution more shameless. The girls from the brothels wander around the streets half naked carrying banners. The people who organise them drive them into the city in cars, unload them and then they strut around Ibiza Town with their bare butts promoting their brothel. It’s getting more extreme. It’s not that I have got anything particularly against it either, but this circus has been around for 40, 50 years.

Do you have a favourite place?

The place where my house stands. It’s really wonderful. The absolute calm, the sea view. Even in summer, there’s always a cool breeze. For me it’s the perfect place for a life of nothingness. I can spend days on end there without doing a thing. I call them “dog days”. The dog is lying around somewhere. For reasons that he is unaware of, he gets up, walks twenty yards, turns around in a circle three times and then lies back down. Life in this house, where I also write lyrics and play the guitar, is already a purposeless life. Except for a spot of cooking maybe.

Would Ibiza be the right place to settle down?

That’s never been an option for me. I am rarely in one place for more than two weeks. I have several residences around the world. I am constantly on the move. Staying put in one place, no matter how beautiful it is there too, is completely unthinkable. I’m happy to get here and equally happy to leave.

IBIZASTYLE_DIETERMEIER-002Zeit magazine recently, and very aptly, called your style “Nachtgestalten Blues” (night time blues) – this is something that applies as much to classics like “She’s got a gun” (1981) as well as to a new track like “The Ritual”. The setting, subliminal and dramatic, is similar, almost like film noir. Where does this fascination come from?

Yes, it’s an atmosphere that I love very much. The bar where you sit alone, but in public at the same time. Life in the big city. You leave the bar where you’ve been sitting for an hour. You stand on the road and you don’t know whether you want to go left or right. For some reason you go left, then make a stop. You spy another bar; you go in and drink a beer. These are the random, meandering urban wanderings that occur in a wonderful, public solitude. That’s what I love above all. I can be alone for weeks in a city without having anything to do and let myself be carried along like a piece of driftwood by the invisible currents.

With everything that you’ve done – raising cattle, designing watches, making films – music’s something that you return to again and again. Is it the one constant in this “letting yourself go”?

The constant is Boris Blank. He’s a rock in my life. For him making music really isn’t just an option that you can be aware of or not. For him, music is his life, it’s breathing, oxygen. Without music Blank would despair. He would perish.

What would life be like for you without music?

Not producing music would be ok. I would regret it if I could not sing along to a guitar anymore, if you banned me from doing it.

In his tribute to you at Echo Dieter Moor spoke about your roots in punk music. Could the next album be a punk album, too?

No. By definition, punk’s a crude form of spontaneous self-exploitation. The days when you went up on stage hollering in an unstructured and chaotic way – are over. And that goes for naivety, too. I’ve lost that of course.


IBIZASTYLE_DIETERMEIER-006Dieter Meier on…

Malcolm McLaren: “A brilliant charlatan, God rest his soul, who shamelessly exploited the Sex Pistols. They really had no idea what was happening to them. And McLaren shoved them out onto the stage. He had the master plan; the poor guys could hardly even play their instruments. ”

Bob Marley: “He is one of the big bosses, Bob Marley. All I have to do is watch the films where he’s playing live and I start to cry. Amazing. ”

Grace Jones: “I knew her pretty well in her heyday. At that time she was working with Trevor Horn and they had to make a single first. So she came to the studio,

Related Posts

  • Published On: October 19th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: October 10th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: October 5th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: October 5th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: August 25th, 2022|Categories: People|

Anno 1945 als Sproß einer Bankiersfamilie in Zürich geboren, gibt Dieter Meier dem Schlagwort „vielseitig interessiert“ Jahr um Jahr eine neue Bedeutung. Sein Jura-Studium bricht er ab und verdingt sich beim Pokerspiel. Später betreibt er Viehzucht auf einer Rinderfarm in Buenos Aires, wird millionenschwerer Aktionär, baut Wein an und entwirft Uhren. Als wäre das alles nicht genug, arbeitet er zudem als Konzept- und Aktionskünstler. Legendär sein Auftritt bei der Documenta 5 in Kassel. Dort lässt er 1972 eine Tafel in den Boden ein. Die Aufschrift: : “Am 23. März 1994 von 15 bis 16 Uhr wird Dieter Meier auf dieser Platte stehen”. Gesagt, getan: 22 Jahre danach steht Meier genau dort für 60 Minuten vor begeistertem Publikum.

Am nachhaltigsten hat Meier jedoch als Teil der Band Yello für Eindruck gesorgt. 1978 als Trio gegründet, glänzen die Soundbastler mit frühen Klassikern wie „Bostich“ oder „She’s got a Gun“. Jahre später, Yello sind zum Duo geschrumpft, ist auch der Mainstream reif für die eigenwilligen Kleinodien. Songs wie das wunderbare „Desire“ werden Hits, „The Race“ wird zur Titelmelodie der Musikshow „Formel Eins“. Im April erhielten Meier und Kompagnon Boris Blank den Ehren-Echo für ihr Lebenswerk. Kein Grund sich auszuruhen, im Gegenteil: Kurz darauf hat der Mann mit dem unverzichtbaren Halstuch sein Debütalbum als Solist veröffentlicht. IBIZA Style traf den Meister im Hamburger „Park Hyatt“-Hotel.

IBIZASTYLE_DIETERMEIER-001Wo hat der Echo denn seinen Platz gefunden?

Der steht in der Eingangshalle von meinem Haus in Zürich.

Macht Sie das auch bisschen nachdenklich, im Sinne von „What’s Next?“

Überhaupt nicht. Das ist ja kein Grund zurückzuschauen. Für mich schon gar nicht. Alles, was mir irgendwie entstanden ist, das sehe ich wie Fußspuren eines Ganges. Der Echo ist eine wunderbare Überraschung. Aber weder schaue ich zurück noch bin ich unendlich stolz. Bei nichts von dem, was ich in meinem Leben mache, habe ich das Gefühl ich hätte das gemacht, sondern es ist mir entstanden – durch viele, viele Zufälle.

Wie war die Echo-Party?

Die war wie jedes Jahr. Ich war schon ein paar Mal dort. Es ist eine Industrie, die sich dort feiert. Es ist ja eine Veranstaltung des Erfolgs und nicht unbedingt eine der Kunst. Diese ausgezeichneten Leute, das sind vor allem Schlagersänger und Leute, die vom Druck einer bestimmten Produktion geleitet sind. Die im Hinblick auf einen Markt arbeiten, was übrigens sehr schwierig ist. Das gelingt manchmal und manchmal nicht. Beim Echo sind halt diese Leute, die diesen Markt sehr professionell bedienen und dafür geehrt werden, dass sie viel verkauft haben.

Zwei Herren im besten Alter in eleganten Jackets, mit Einstecktuch und Brillantine im Haar setzen den Glanzpunkt bei so einer Veranstaltung und machen auf der Bühne mal eben einen neuen Song. Ihre Lust an der Innovation scheint kein Alter zu kennen.

Wir waren eigentlich nie unserer Zeit voraus oder haben das so empfunden. Wir waren wie Kinder in einem Sandhaufen, die sich selbst in diesen Phantasieburgen näherkommen. Sich selbst erfinden. Wenn man diesen Weg beschreitet, dann ist die Originalität ja schon gegeben, weil jeder Mensch ja ein einzigartiges, göttliches Wesen ist. Ich bin Atheist. Ich denke, die Menschen sind die eigentlichen Götter. Was uns als Religion verkauft wird, ist natürlich grober Unfug. Dennoch gelingt dieses Neuerfinden natürlich nicht immer. Wir haben mit Yello auch LPs gemacht, die ein Treten auf der Stelle waren. Wir haben nicht jedes Mal etwas Neues erfunden.

Was mir auffiel beim Auftritt war der Vibe zwischen ihnen und Boris Blank. Sie sind immer noch beste Freunde, oder?

Wir sind sehr befreundet und schätzen uns extrem. Ich mag Boris unglaublich gern. Ein humorvoller, liebenswürdiger und fein empfindender, junger Mann. Wenn wir mal Dispute haben, dann geht es immer um die Musik. Im Studio fliegen schon mal die Fetzen, aber es ist diese Freundschaft, die das überhaupt möglich macht. Privat haben wir kaum einen Streit gehabt.

IBIZASTYLE_DIETERMEIER-004Was sagt Boris Blank zum ihrem Solo-Debüt?

Er hat das erste Konzert gesehen. Er war begeistert. Und vor allem überrascht, dass ich da zwei Stunden auf der Bühne stehe und Lieder singe, nachdem ich das in meinem Leben so noch nie gemacht habe. Meine ersten Auftritte in den 70ern waren unstruktierte Punk-Schreieren, das war etwas ganz anderes. Boris hatte sicher auch Angst um mich: Schafft der Dieter das? Findet er sein Publikum?

Haben Sie sich diese Fragen auch gestellt?

Nein, ich habe mir kein Bild davon gemacht, was passieren könnte. Ich habe natürlich sehr schnell gespürt, dass die ersten beiden Songs gut gelungen waren. Ich bin aber kein professioneller Sänger in dem Sinne. Das Publikum hat mich danach jedoch förmlich durch den Gig getragen und wenn das passiert, dann kann man immer größere Risiken eingehen. Das Gelernte auch verlassen, um Improvisiertes hinzuzufügen. Am Schluss des Konzertes war es eine Euphorie. Die Leute haben gestaunt, was dieser Studiohase da zustande bekommt.

Ihr Solodebüt kommt nicht eben früh in ihrer Karriere. Haben Sie schon mal gedacht, dass Sie das früher hätten machen sollen?

Ich denke nicht in Kategorien von „Hätte ich nur…“. Ich glaube, dass die Dinge schicksalhaft auf einen Menschen zukommen. Dieses ganze Album ist mir im richtigen Augenblick zugefallen. Ich habe das nie final angestrebt, wie auch fast nichts in meinem Leben. Es gibt natürlich diese Person, diesen Herrn Meier, der so ist wie jeder Mensch auf der Welt. Determiniert von genetischen Vorrausetzungen einerseits. Andererseits davon bestimmt, wo dieses Menschlein auf diesem Planeten gelandet ist. Das ergibt den Charakter. Das vergleiche ich gern mit dem Rhizom, dem Geflecht eines Pilzgewächses, das sich unter dem Boden befindet. Erst wenn die Temperatur stimmt, der Regen fällt, es eine Symbiose mit einem Baum gibt, dann kommen die Pilze aus dem Boden. Dann erst kann etwas wachsen und entstehen. In meinem Leben hätte ich nie so professionell Musik gemacht, wenn ich nicht „den Baum“, Boris Blank, getroffen hätte, mit dem ich dann symbiotisch vorgehen konnte. Mit dem ich als unstruktierter, fauler Hund die Möglichkeit hatte, diese wunderbaren Klangbilder zu betreten und dort meine Rollen zu schreiben. Im Gegensatz zu „Out of Chaos“ war und ist Yello immer ein Rollenspiel.

IBIZASTYLE_DIETERMEIER-007Wie war die Zusammenarbeit mit den Berliner Electro- und Techno-Spezialisten Nackt, Ben Lauber und T.Raumschmiere?

Das war etwas völlig anderes. Das ist aus dem Chaos, aus dem Singsang zur ungestimmten Gitarre entstanden. Plötzlich bildeten sich Wortfetzen und Geschichten. Wir waren dann bereits mit einer ersten Formation, allesamt tolle Jazzmusiker, auf Tournee. Die Songs wurden später aufgenommen und den Produzenten vorgespielt. Die entwickelten daraus zwei Vorschläge, die sehr anders waren. Ich liebte das jedoch sofort sehr. Eine Songwelt, weit weg von dem, was ich live gemacht hatte. Ich wollte daraufhin unbedingt mit diesen Leuten das Album machen. Unter der Bedingung, dass ich nichts dazu sagen muss. Ich wollte deren Schöpfungsprozess mit meinen Ideen nicht korrumpieren. In dieser Phase des Entstehens muss der Produzent ein Idiot sein dürfen, der nichts weiß. Der aus dem Chaos kommt, aus dem hoffentlich etwas Originelles, eine Freilegung der eigenen Person entsteht.

Wie steht es mit der Muse, auf die man wartet – brauchen sie eine bestimmte Situation, eine Versuchsanordnung, um Texte zu schreiben?

In meinem Transitleben mache ich sowieso überall Musik. Völlig dilettantisch und unstruktiert. Bei meiner ersten Gitarre habe ich alle Saiten abgebaut, bis auf eine. Dann habe ich sie gespielt wie in der indischen Musik, dazu irgendein Singsang. Das ist aber nie so gewesen, dass ich besonders inspiriert sein muss und mich dann hinsetze und aus der Inspiration heraus etwas mache. Die Songs jetzt sind entstanden aus einem unstruktierten Umherwanderns und auch aus einem Gefühl des Zweifelns, ob das machbar ist.

Ist Ibiza ein Ort, an dem sie gut kreativ sein können?

Es ist mir wie gesagt unwichtig, wo ich bin.

IBIZASTYLE_DIETERMEIER-005Wann waren Sie das erste Mal auf der Insel?

Das ist lange her. 30 Jahre. Seit zehn Jahren habe ich dort ein wunderbares Haus gemietet. Hoch oben am Hügel über San Juan.

Warum die Entscheidung, sich hier zumindest teilweise niederzulassen?

Ibiza war für mich immer eine wunderbare Insel der Gegensätze. Ein Ort der Abgeschiedenheit, aber auch des wahnsinnigen Zirkus in den Clubs, des unglaublichen Selbstdarstellungs-Reigens, des schamlosen Zurschaustellens in diesem wahnsinnigen Yachthafen etwa. Für einen Beobachter oder Voyeur, der hier einsteigt, ist Ibiza eines der Epizentren der Welt – der Exzentrizität, der Angeberei, der Selbstdarstellung.

Wie ist ihre Gewichtung zwischen Club-Leben und Erholung?

Auf Ibiza bin ich selten in Clubs. Wenn ich zum Einkaufen auf den Markt gehe, setze ich mich noch ein, zwei Stunden ins Café, lese die Zeitung und beobachte diesen weitgefächerten Reigen.

Hat sich die Insel sehr verändert aus ihrer Sicht?

Seit 40 Jahren ist dort Zirkus – und zwar immer intensiver. Die Yachten werden größer, verschwenderischer. Die Anpreisung von Prostitution schamloser. Da gehen die Bordellmädchen halbnackt mit Transparenten durch die Straßen. Die Organisatoren fahren sie mit Autos in die Stadt. Dort werden sie abgeladen und ziehen mit ihren entbößten Hintern durch Ibiza-Stadt und bewerben ihr Bordell. Das wird immer extremer. Ich habe da ja auch überhaupt nichts dagegen, aber diesen Zirkus, den gibt es schon seit 40, 50 Jahren.

Haben Sie einen Lieblingsplatz?

Dort, wo mein Haus steht. Das ist schon wunderbar. Die absolute Ruhe, der Blick aufs Meer. Auch im Sommer immer ein kühles Lüftchen. Für mich der perfekte Ort für ein Leben im Nichts. Dort kann ich Tage verbringen ohne irgendetwas zu tun. Ich nenne es „Hundetage“. Der Hund liegt irgendwo. Aus Gründen, die er  nicht kennt, steht er auf, geht zwanzig Meter, dreht sich drei Mal im Kreis und legt sich wieder hin. Das Leben in diesem Haus, wo ich auch Texte schreibe und Gitarre spiele, ist schon ein Leben der Absichtslosigkeit. Außer Kochen vielleicht.

Wäre Ibiza ein Ort um zu bleiben?

Das ist nie eine Option für mich. Ich bin selten zwei Wochen an einem Ort. Ich habe mehrere Wohnsitze auf der Welt. Ich bin ständig im Transit. Irgendwo zu bleiben, egal, wie schön es dort auch ist, ist völlig undenkbar. Ich komme gerne und ich gehe auch gern wieder weg.

IBIZASTYLE_DIETERMEIER-002Die „Zeit“ nannte ihren Stil jüngst ziemlich treffend „Nachtgestaltenblues“ – das ist etwas, was für  Klassiker wie „She’s Got a Gun“ (1981) ebenso zutrifft wie für einen neuen Track wie „The Ritual“. Das Setting ist ähnlich unterschwellig dramatisch, fast wie ein Film noir. Woher kommt diese Faszination?

Ja, das ist eine Stimmung, die ich sehr liebe. Die Bar, in der man einsam, aber doch in der Öffentlichkeit sitzt. Das Leben in der Großstadt. Man verlässt die Bar, in der man eine Stunde gesessen hat. Man steht auf der Straße, weiß nicht, ob man links oder rechts gehen will. Geht dann aus irgendeinem Grund links, macht einen Stopp. Sieht wieder eine Bar, geht hinein, trinkt ein Bier. Das sind diese zufälligen, mäandernden Stadtgänge in einer wunderbaren, öffentlichen Einsamkeit. Das liebe ich über alles. Ich kann wochenlang allein in einer Stadt sein, ohne irgendetwas zu tun und mich wie ein Stück Treibholz den unsichtbaren Strömen hingeben.

Bei allem, was sie gemacht haben – Rinderzucht, Uhren-Design, Filmerei – ist die Musik etwas, wohin sie immer wieder zurückkehren. Ist das die Konstante in diesem „Sich treiben lassen“?

Die Konstante ist Boris Blank. Wie eine feste Burg in meinem Leben. Für ihn ist ja Musikmachen nicht eine Option, die man wahrnehmen kann oder nicht. Für ihn ist die Musik das Leben, das Atmen, der Sauerstoff. Ohne Musik würde Blank verzweifeln. Er würde zugrunde gehen.

Wie wäre es für Sie ohne Musik?

Keine Musik zu produzieren wäre ok. Bedauern würde ich, wenn ich nicht mehr zur Gitarre einen Singsang loslassen könnte, wenn man mir das verbieten würde.

Dieter Moor sprach in seiner Echo-Laudatio von ihren Punkwurzeln. Könnte das nächste Album auch ein Punk-Album sein?

Nein. Punk ist ja per Definition eine rohe Form der spontanen Self-Exploitation. Die Zeiten, wo man sich unstrukturiert und chaotisch auf die Bühne stellt, um loszuschreien – die sind vorbei. Dazu gehört auch Naivität. Die habe ich natürlich verloren.



IBIZASTYLE_DIETERMEIER-006 Dieter Meier über …

… Malcolm McLaren: „Ein genialer Scharlatan, Gott habe ihn selig, der die Sex Pistols schamlos ausgenutzt hat. Die wussten ja gar nicht, wie ihnen geschieht. Und McLaren hat sie hinaus auf die Bühne geschoben. Er hatte den Masterplan, dabei konnten die armen Kerle kaum ihre Instrumente spielen.“

… Bob Marley: „Er ist einer der ganz großen Chefs, Bob Marley. Wenn er live spielt, da muss ich nur die Filme sehen und ich fang an zu heulen. Genial.“

… Grace Jones: „Ich kannte sie ihn ihren großen Zeiten ziemlich gut. Als sie damals mit Trevor Horn zusammenarbeitete, sollte als erstes eine Single gemacht werden. Sie kam also ins Studio, hörte sich das an, sang zweimal „Slave to the Rhythm“ und rauschte nach fünf Minuten wieder ab. Trevor hat dann monatelang an diesen drei, vier Wörtern gearbeitet und etwas daraus gezaubert. Dann gab es eine Präsentation vor den honorablen Vertretern von Warner Brothers. Grace Jones kam eine Stunde zu spät. Der Song wurde abgespielt, sie stand da, hörte sich das an und sagte schließlich: „This is the best Work I’ve Done in Years“:

Related Posts

  • Published On: August 3rd, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Juli 26th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Juli 20th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Juli 9th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Juni 23rd, 2022|Categories: People|