It’s been a busy winter for Doorly. When we caught up with the Huddersfield-born spinner in early April, he was in the middle of an extensive cross-continent world tour. “I’m only back in Ibiza for a few days,” Doorly smiles. “I’m here to do my washing and celebrate my girlfriend’s birthday. Then we go to Snowbombing in Austria, Australia for Easter weekend, Kuala Lumpur, before heading back to the US for more festivals. After that it’s Ibiza!”

Doorly spends his winters in LA, where he is rightly considered a key player in a young but vibrant scene. “I was actually trying to buy a place in LA,” Doorly explains. “The market is really hot over there at the moment. I guess that’s why my landlord wouldn’t sell for a reasonable price!”

Rather than buying property in LA, Doorly decided to invest in Ibiza instead. “We’ve almost completed the deal on our new house,” he continues. “It’s a really nice villa with a separate building for my studio. I’ve already had my equipment shipped over from LA. Once we’re settled and I’ve saved up a bit, we’ll probably look at LA again. But as a first time buyer, I felt like it was a lot easier for me to buy a place in Europe. Right now, with all this Donald Trump nonsense going on, the US doesn’t seem like a good place to spend my life savings.”

Looking forward to the Balearic party season, Doorly says he won’t be focusing as much of his time on promotion in 2017. “Last season, Doorly & Friends at Space was fun. But it was also lot of stress. The plan this year is to go back to being a DJ, playing a cross-section of parties across the island.”

In addition to his Doorly & Friends residency, which returns to Pikes this summer, Doorly will also make his Cream Ibiza debut alongside the legendary Fatboy Slim. Playing a sizeable role in San Antonio’s resurgence is also on his radar. “I’m going to be performing at elrow as well as the new Do Not Sleep presents Cuckoo Land pool parties at Ibiza Rocks,” Doorly nods. “I’ve also been booked to play Defected at Eden. Hopefully those events can help make San Antonio great again. I think Defected is the one party that will really put Eden on the map; it has such a strong following. You could hold a Defected party anywhere and it would be good!”

On the production front, Doorly has recently launched a new record label, impertinently named Reptile Dysfunction. “Consider it an outlet for my weirder side,” Doorly grins. “It’s the perfect platform for the kind of records I can’t release on Hot Creations, Dirtybird or Cajual. The first single is with Mike Skinner. Then I’ve got one with Idris Elba coming out. It’s all about interesting collaborations and we’ve got loads of great conceptual ideas for super immersive parties. So stay tuned!”

Doorly will perform at Amnesia, Eden, Ibiza Rocks and Pikes this summer.

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: May 24th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: July 12th, 2018|Categories: Music|

Es war ein arbeitstreicher Winter für Doorly. Als wir uns im frühen April mit dem Mann aus Huddersfield treffen, steckt er mitten in einer massiven Welttour. „Ich bin nur ein paar Tage hier,“ lächelt Doorly. „Ich will Wäsche waschen und den Geburtstag meiner Freundin feiern. Dann fahren wir zum ‚Snowbombing‘ nach Österreich, Ostern nach Australiene, Kuala Lumpur, bevor es zu weiteren Festivals in die USA geht. Danach sind wir wieder in Ibiza!“

Doorly verbringt die Winter in L.A., wo er völlig zu Recht als eine der Schlüsselfiguren in einer neuen, aber dynamischen Szene gilt. „Ich wollte eigentlich ein Haus in L.A. kaufen,“ erklärt Doorly. „Der Markt hier ist grad ziemlich heiß, weswegen mein Vermieter wohl auch nicht zu einem akzeptablen Preis verkaufen wollte!“

Statt auf Eigentum in L.A. zu setzen, entschied sich Doorly, lieber in Ibiza zu investieren. „Wir haben den Vertrag für das neue Haus so gut wie abgeschlossen,“ erklärt er. „Es ist eine tolle Villa mit einem zweiten Gebäude für mein Studio. Ich habe mein Equipment auch schon hier. Wenn wir uns hier eingelebt haben und ich mich etwas erholt habe schauen wir uns vielleicht noch einmal in L.A. um. Als Erstkäufer fand ich es viel leichter, in Europa etwas zu kaufen. Gerade jetzt, mit dem ganzen Trump-Schwachsinn, erscheinen mir die Staaten nicht optimal, um meine Ersparnisse dort zu investieren.“

Doorly freut sich auf die Party-Saison der Balearen, räumt jedoch ein, in 2017 nicht allzuviel Promotion zu machen. Doorly & Friends im Space letztes Jahr war super, aber auch eine Menge Arbeit. In diesem Jahr plane ich, als DJ auf diversen Parties auf der ganzen Insel zu spielen.“

Zusätzlich zu seiner Doorly & Friends-Residency – diesen Sommer im Pikes – wird Doorly sein Cream Ibiza-Debüt geben, an der Seite des legendären Fatboy Slim. Auch seinen Anteil am Wiederaufleben San Antonios hat er auf dem Schirm. „Ich lege bei elrow auf und bei den Pool Parties des “Do not Sleep presents Cuckoo Land” im Ibiza Rocks,“ nickt Doorly. „Ich bin auch beim Defected im Eden gebucht. Ich hoffe, diese Events helfen dabei, San Antonio wieder nach vorn zu bringen. Ich glaube, mit der Defected-Party wird Eden wieder für Furore sorgen, die Anhänger sind so unglaublich treu. Eine Defected-Party könntest du überall veranstalten, sie wäre immer klasse!“

In Sachen Produktion hat Doorly jüngst ein neues Plattenlabel gegründet, der schräge Name: Reptile Dysfunction. „Da lebe ich mein verrücktere Seite aus,“ grinst Doorly. „Die perfekte Plattform für Sachen, die ich bei Hot Creations, Dirtybird oder Cajual nicht veröffentlichen kann. Die erste Single ist zusammen mit Mike Skinner, danach habe ich eine mit Idris Elba am Start. Es geht immer um interessante Kollaborationen und wir haben großartige Konzepte für fantastische Parties am Start. Also – stay tuned!“

Doorly performt diesen Sommer im Amnesia, Eden, beim Ibiza Rocks und Pikes.

Related Posts

  • Published On: Juli 26th, 2022|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Mai 24th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Juli 12th, 2018|Categories: Musik|