It’s funny how music throws unlikely people together. A Buddhist rapper, a superstar DJ, a backroom boy shy of the limelight all coming together to form one of the greatest dance music acts of all time. It doesn’t quite match The Rolling Stones with Mick Jagger enjoying life as a hospital porter and Keith Richards working as a ballboy at his local tennis club, but it’ll do for us.

faithless-ibiza-style-001

This month sees the band celebrate 20 years as the forerunners of dance music with a specially curated remix album ‘Faithless 2.0.’ featuring the likes of Avicii, Tiesto, Rudimental, Eric Prydz and Above and Beyond providing their own take on the band’s classic material. But it nearly didn’t happen! “I was lying in the bath one night last year” giggles Sister Bliss “and I suddenly thought fuck, it’s our 20th anniversary next year, we’d better do something. So I drew up a list of artists we have relationships with, people who have influenced us in the past, guys who I have DJ’d with over the years and acts who music we like…and boom, the album was born.”

Alongside Tiesto’s storming rework of ‘God Is A DJ’, the remix that everyone is talking about comes from superstar Avicii and his take on the legendary ‘Insomnia’, a piece of music that has sent shivers down spines worldwide this summer. “A few years ago I was playing in Stockholm at a party promoted by Avicii’s manager Ash Pournouri, he came up to me and said ‘Bliss I have just started managing this unbelievable kid who is amazing in the studio, I would love him to do a remix for you’. But we were in between albums at the time so had nothing for him. Lying in the bath that night however it suddenly struck me, I know someone who wants to work with us! And we just love what he has done to the track, it is a very cool take on a classic which many people have always told us not to let anyone near. But he has updated it in a good way, it’s not crude like most EDM records are and how he has pitched Maxi’s vocals down was so clever. The track now has a whole new younger audience.” Not bad for a record that started life as a b-side for the album ‘Reverence’ I tease. “Ha ha that is so true. We thought ‘Salva Mea’ was really special but you couldn’t really dance to it, so we made ‘Insomnia’ as a balancing track. It was only after playing it in my DJ sets for over a year that I noticed it was getting a reaction.”

The track of course featured on the quite simply breathtaking BBC Proms special live orchestra performance of dance classics at the Royal Albert Hall in July, curated by Pete Tong and arranged by Jules Buckley…an evening that saw a performance of Ibiza gems including Rhythm is Rhythm’s ‘Strings Of Life’ and Stardust’s ‘Music Sounds Better Than You’. “That was one of the best things I have ever seen” admits Bliss, “I have worked with Jules before and thought the energy was fantastic. I spoke to him afterwards and he told me his orchestra were putting so much effort into a big finish for ‘Insomnia’ that by the end all of the string players fingers were bleeding.”

So what about a new album for 2016 is my parting shot, there are so many rumours going around? “Watch this space Dan, watch this space.” And we all know what that means, bring it on…

‘Faithless 2.0’ is out in September

faithless-ibiza-style-003

Related Posts

  • Published On: October 19th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: October 10th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: October 5th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: October 5th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: August 25th, 2022|Categories: People|

Schon komisch, welche Typen die Musik zusammenbringt. Ein buddhistischer Rapper, ein DJ-Superstar und ein lichtscheuer Junge aus dem Hinterzimmer gründen einen der größten Dance-Acts aller Zeiten. Vielleicht nicht ganz so schräg wie bei den Rolling Stones, deren Mick Jagger einst Hospital-Portier war und Keith Richards, der als Balljunge im örtlichen Tennisclub jobbte, aber doch ziemlich außergewöhnlich.

faithless-ibiza-style-001

In diesem Monat begeht die Band ihr 20-jähriges Jubiläum als Dance-Institution mit dem speziell kompilierten Remix-Album „Faithless 2.0“, u.a. mit Avicii, Tiesto, Rudimental, Eric Prydz und Above and Beyond, die sich der Originale annahmen. Dabei wäre es fast nicht zustande gekommen. „Ich lag eines Abends im letzten Jahr in der Badewanne“, schmunzelt Sister Bliss, „und plötzlich dachte ich, fuck, bald ist unser 20-jähriges, wir sollten was tun. Als machte ich eine Liste mit Künstlern, zu denen wir ein besonderes Verhältnis haben, Leute, die uns in der Vergangenheit beeinflusst haben, mit denen ich zusammen aufgelegt habe und Acts, deren Musik wir mögen…und zack, entstand das Album.“

Neben Tiestos rasanter Version von „God is a DJ“, ist der Remix von Avicii in aller Munde. Der Superstar hat sich das legendäre „Insomnia“ vorgeknöpft, ein Stück, das in diesem Sommer für Gänsehaut allerorten gesorgt hat. „Vor einigen Jahren spielte ich auf einer Party in Stockholm, die Aviciis Manager Ash Pournouri veranstaltete. Er sagte zu mir ‚Bliss, ich habe hier dieses unglaubliche Talent, ein As im Studio, der sollte einmal einen Remix für dich machen.‘ Wir waren jedoch grad zwischen zwei Alben und so hatte ich nichts für ihn. In der Badewanne in jener Nacht fiel er mir wieder ein. Und wir lieben das, was er mit dem Track gemacht hat. Eine sehr coole Version eines Klassikers, bei dem uns immer geraten wurde, niemanden da ranzulassen. Er hat es auf eine gute Art upgedatet, dabei aber nicht so krass wie viele EDM-Platten. Und wie er Maxis Vocals gepitched hat, das ist sehr clever. Jetzt hat der Track ein ganz neues, jüngeres Publikum.“ Nicht schlecht für einen Song, der mal als B-Seite für das Album „Reverence“ gedacht war, sage ich augenzwinkernd. „Ha ha, das ist so wahr. Wir fanden „Salva Mea“ klasse, aber sahen das nicht als Dancetrack, also nahmen wir „Insomnia“ dazu als Gegengewicht. Nach einem Jahr in meinem DJ-Set merkte ich langsam, dass die Leute reagieren.“

Natürlich war der Track auch dabei, als die BBC Proms im Juli ein Special in der Royal Albert Hall veranstalteten, bei denen ein Live Orchester die größten Dance Classics spielte – kuratiert von Pete Tong und arrangiert von Jules Buckley. Ein Abend, an dem auch Ibiza-Klassiker wie Rhythm is Rhythms „Strings of Life“ und Stardusts „Music Sounds Better Than You“ im Programm waren. „Das ist mit das Beste, was ich je gesehen haben“, gesteht Sister Bliss, „Ich habe mit Jules vorher schon zusammengearbeitet. Die Energie war einfach fantastisch. Ich sprach danach mit ihm und erzählte mir, dass sich seine Musiker beim Finale von „Insomnia“ so reingehängt hatten, dass ihnen am Ende die Finger bluteten.“

Und was ist mit einem neuen Album in 2016, es gehen bereits zahlreiche Gerüchte herum? „Dranbleiben, Dan, dranbleiben.“ Und wir alle wissen, was das bedeutet.

‘Faithless 2.0’ erscheint im September

faithless-ibiza-style-003

Related Posts

  • Published On: August 3rd, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Juli 26th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Juli 20th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Juli 9th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Juni 23rd, 2022|Categories: People|