For the past two seasons, Israeli DJ/producer Guy Gerber held his Rumors parties at Beachouse in Playa d’en Bossa. The event was about as about as underground as you can get here in Ibiza. There was no entrance fee and the line-ups were seldom announced until the last moment. Having grown to epic proportions – by word of mouth alone – the party was eventually closed down by the authorities, with 3,000 ravers spilling out onto the beach. Cue this season’s move to Destino, Pacha’s beautiful cliff top resort in Talamanca, where Rumors holds a new weekly residency.

“Musically, it took me a few weeks to get the sound right at Destino,” Guy explains, “to realise the message I wanted to say. But by mid-June I was in perfect sync with my surroundings.”

Born near Tel Aviv, Guy spends his summers in Talamanca, within walking distance of Destino. “I don’t drive, but I like walking,” Guy continues. “From Talamanca, I can walk to Pacha, walk to the spa at the Gran Hotel, walk to the Fish Shack, walk to Destino. Most of my friends live here. The area has a neighbourhood vibe. I could be in a villa in the mountains, but in Talamanca I feel as though I’m actually living in Ibiza with the people, living a normal life, rather than being detached in some ivory tower. I think when you have a residency in Ibiza it’s essential that you actually live here. You want to have the right people at your party. Not just random people that come for a week. You want the locals to come. But it’s hard to impress the locals!”

Thankfully, making an impression is something Guy is rather good at. His DJ sets are as lush as they are accessible, but it’s his innovative techno productions that really set him apart from the majority of his peers. His Fabric 64 album, for instance, verges on genius. “There’s a lot good music out there,” Guy continues, “but I think people are a little bit too safe with their decisions. They are either trying to stay on top or get recognised. People are following trends. But I’m always thinking: ‘If I listened to this again in ten years time would I hate it?’ At the same time, it’s really important for me not to sound like anybody else. When I go into the studio sometimes I’ll be making stuff that could sound good, but if it reminds me of something else I’ll delete it.”

Inspiration comes to artists in many different forms. But where Guy is concerned, being inspired is the easy part. “If something inspires me – some emotional situation – I will be more concentrated on what I’m doing,” he explains. “But after living on this planet for so many years I don’t look for a source of inspiration. Living this sort of lifestyle, there’s enough inspiration around. What really matters is how sensitive you are when listening to the things around you. That’s the most important thing.”

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: May 24th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: July 12th, 2018|Categories: Music|

Zwei Saisons lang hat der israelische DJ und Produzent Guy Gerber zu seinen Rumors Partys im Beach House am Playa d’en Bossa geladen. Die Veranstaltung war in punkto Underground unerreicht auf Ibiza. Kein Eintritt erforderlich, die Line-ups geheim bis zur letzten Sekunde – nur durch Mundpropaganda wurde daraus am Ende eine riesige Attraktion, so dass die Behörden die Party schließlich stoppten.  3000 Raver hatten sich zuletzt am Strand versammelt. Und in diesem Jahr? Rumors hat eine wöchentliche Residency im Destino, Pachas wunderschönes Cliff Top Resort in Tamalanca.

„Es hat einige Wochen gedauert, bis ich den richtigen Sound für das Destino gefunden habe“ erklärt Guy, „meine Message klar auszuformulieren. Aber Mitte Juni etwa war ich dann  so richtig angekommen.“

Der aus Tel Aviv stammende Guy verbringt seine Sommer in Talamanca, nur einen Spaziergang vom Destino entfernt. „Ich fahre kein Auto, aber ich laufe gern“  erzählt Guy weiter. „Von Talamanca kann ich zum Pacha spazieren, zum Spa im Gran Hotel, zum Fish Shack und zum Destino. Die meisten meiner Freunde leben hier, dadurch hat das alles einen sehr nachbarschaftlichen Vibe. Ich könnte natürlich auch eine Villa in den Bergen mieten, aber in Talamanca fühle ich mich, als würde ich tatsächlich mit den Menschen zusammenleben – und zwar ein normales Leben und nicht auf sich gestellt in einem Elfenbeinturm. Ich finde es essentiell, hier zu wohnen, wenn man eine Residency hat. Du willst die richtigen Leute auf deiner Party haben, nicht irgendwelche, die für eine Woche auf die Insel kommen. Du willst, dass die Locals kommen. Und die sind nun mal nicht so leicht zu beeindrucken!“

Es trifft sich gut, dass Guy in der Lage ist, Eindruck zu machen. Seine DJ-Sets sind ebenso eigenwillig wie zugänglich und es sind seine innovativen Techno Produktionen, die ihn vom Großteil seiner Zeitgenossen unterscheiden. Sein Fabric 64-Album zum Beispiel ist ein Geniestreich. „Es gibt eine Menge guter Musik da draußen“  erläutert Guy, „aber ich finde, die Leute machen es sich manchmal etwas zu einfach. Entweder wollen sie an der Spitze bleiben oder sie wollen erkannt werden. Sie folgen den Trends. Ich dagegen denke stets: ‚Wenn ich mir das in zehn Jahren anhören, werde ich es dann noch mögen?’ Zudem ist es mir sehr wichtig, nicht wie irgendjemand anders zu klingen. Manchmal gehe ich ins Studio und entwickle etwas das toll klingt. Aber wenn ich merke, es erinnert mich an einen anderen Künstler  – dann lösche ich es wieder.“

Die Inspiration eines Künstlers kann viele Gesichter haben. Für Guy ist das jedoch der leichtere Teil des Ganzen. „Wenn mich etwas inspiriert – eine emotionale Situation etwa – dann kann ich mich besser darauf konzentrieren, was ich tue. Das Wichtigste ist, dass du empfänglich bist für all das, was um dich herum passiert. Das ist das Allerwichtigste!“

Related Posts

  • Published On: Juli 26th, 2022|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Mai 24th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Juli 12th, 2018|Categories: Musik|