Worried that she was going to lose her individuality to the conservatism of Japanese culture, deep techno star Hito left Japan in 1999 to find a new base for her distinct personality.

“My home town is called Himeji,” Hito explains. “Himeji has a traditional Japanese castle; in terms of heritage and tradition the city is very important to Japan. But I wanted to see and feel a more international way of life.”

When she arrived in Berlin, Hito didn’t have any plans to start DJing. In fact, there was no great master plan at all. Germany was just another stepping stone for Hito as she hopped from one European country to another, sampling the many diverse cultures the continent has to offer.

“I already had a few friends in Berlin who I’d met at language school,” Hito continues. “I hung out with other new friends and a few artists, nowadays better known as Chilly González and Raz Ohara.”

To earn a living, Hito found work mixing vinyl in small underground bars across the city. Larger gigs, as they often do, followed. But it wasn’t until Richie Hawtin asked her to become the face of his new sake bar that Hito scored her big break. When, in 2012, Hawtin’s ENTER. concept landed in Ibiza, the girl from Himeji, Japan was suddenly on her way to Ibiza:

“The first time I visited the island was to play the opening of ENTER. at Space. I was terribly nervous and I couldn’t think about anything except playing. After the first gig I felt really burned out. The next day my friend took me to Es Vedra. I felt the energy come flooding back and I was able to relax again.”

hito-ibiza-style-001

Over the next few years, Space became a home-from-home for Hito’s dark, minimalistic techno sound. She spent four seasons as a resident for ENTER.Sake, an engagement that massively increased her profile. “Since then, I’ve played everywhere in the world,” Hito smiles, “touring by myself and touring with Rich for his ENTER.Sake projects.”

Hito admits that she will miss the spectacular nature of Thursday nights at Space this summer after Richie Hawtin decided to call time on his ENTER. residency. “But on the other hand, it’s a nice moment to change as well,” she declares. “I had an exclusivity with ENTER., but this year I can play many different venues in Ibiza and with different approaches musically. Now I can deliver my message to new dancefloors!”

No doubt her mentor Richie Hawtin would be proud, after all, his advice to his beautiful kimono-dressed protégé was always: “Hito, just be as you are.”

Tag 1: Catch Hito performing at Circoloco in June, at Space Closing in October, and a string of Enter.Sake shows at Pacha restaurant in-between.

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: May 24th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: July 12th, 2018|Categories: Music|

Als sie ihre Individualität von Japans Konservativen bedroht sieht, gibt es für Deep-Techno-Star Hito 1999 nur einen Ausweg: Das Land verlassen, um eine neue Basis für ihre ausgeprägte Persönlichkeit zu finden.

„Meine Heimatstadt heißt Himeji“, erklärt Hito. „Es gibt dort eine historische, alte Burg. In Sachen Erbe und Kultur ist die Stadt unglaublich wichtig für Japan. Aber mich zog der internationale ,Way of Life‘ viel stärker an.“

Als sie damals in Berlin ankam, dachte sie noch gar nicht ans DJ‘en. Es gab überhaupt keinen Masterplan. Eigentlich war die Stadt nur eine weitere Anlaufstelle auf ihrem Trip durch europäische Länder, der ihr die verschiedenen Kulturen näherbrachte.

„Ich hatte ein paar Freunde in Berlin, die ich in der Sprachschule kennenlernte,“ erzählt Hito weiter. „Ich hing also mit meinen Leuten und einigen Künstlern ab, darunter auch Chilly González and Raz Ohara.”

In kleinen Berliner Underground Bars legte Hito Vinyl auf, größere Gigs, wie so oft, folgten schließlich. Der große Durchbruch kam, als Richie Hawtin sie bat, das Gesicht seiner neuen Sake Bar zu werden. Als Hawtin sein ENTER.concept 2012 schließlich nach Ibiza brachte, verschlug es also auch das Mädchen von Himeji auf die Insel.

„Bei meinem ersten Besuch hier spielte ich beim ENTER.opening im Space. Ich war unfassbar nervös und konnte an nichts anderes denken als ans Auflegen. Nach dem ersten Gig war ich total fertig. Am nächsten Tag nahm mich mein Freund mit nach Es Vedra und ich spürte, wie sich meine Batterien wieder aufluden und ich mich entspannte.“

hito-ibiza-style-001

In den folgenden Jahren wird das Space zum „home from home“ für Hitos dunklen, minimalistischen Techno Sound. Vier Seasons hat sie als Resident für ENTER.Sake gespielt, ein Engagement, mit dem sie sich immer stärker profiliert. „Seitdem habe ich in der ganzen Welt aufgelegt,“ lächelt Hito, „Dabei toure ich allein oder mit Rich und seinen ENTER.Sake-Projekten.“

Das donnerstägliche Spektakel im Space wird Hito, das gibt sie unumwunden zu, vermissen. Richie Hawtin hat sich entschieden, seine ENTER-Residence dort zu beenden. „Es ist aber auch ein guter Moment für Veränderung,“ sagt sie. „Ich hatte bislang einen Exklusivvertrag. Jetzt werde ich in verschiedenen Venues spielen. Ich kann variieren und meine Message auf neue Floors bringen.“

Richie Hawtin dürfte stolz sein auf sein Protégé im Kimono. Hatte er ihr als Mentor doch immer den einen Rat gegeben: „Hito, sei einfach Du selbst.“

Tag 1: Hito kann man im Juni im Circoloco sehen, beim Space Closing im Oktober, dazu bei diversen ENTER.Sake-Shows im Pacha Restaurant.