Every once in a while, come along a person whose passion and love for what they do is enough to take your breath away. One such person is Santi Serra, who has taken his natural raw passion and deep connection with his horses and other animals to another level, becoming a globally renowned performer, travelling the world with his Sercam Shows.

horse-sinphony-biza-style-022

On a recent visit to Ibiza, he put on a mesmerising display for the Alegria Natural Horse Academy equestrian centre at Noah’s Garden, a fluid and seamless performance incorporating his horses and dogs, which was truly a joy to behold. Santi explains that he feels a strong connection with Ibiza, and that being on the island makes him alive, He holds a long term dream to perform in the sand at one of the islands beaches, for him, this would be a magical experience. Born and raised in Barcelona, his main business and home is in the city, but he has travelled the world with his performances, as far and wide as Hong Kong and the USA, where audiences are entranced by the unique display of showmanship and his obvious love and deep rooted connection with his animals.

He tells us that, being born into a family of horse lovers, horsemanship is truly in his blood. The horses, he says, know that his heart is full of love and respect for them, which is why the connection runs so deeply. He works closely with his brother and business partner John, and the title of Sercam Shows is a combination of their family names. Santi was riding horses before he could even walk, and over the years, developed his natural riding skills, becoming a professional rodeo rider at the tender age of 14. Whilst Santi is the visible face of Sercam shows, it is very much a family business and he and his brother are a closely knit team.

Horses are not the only love of his life, indeed, his extended animal family includes dogs, llamas and even a zebra. He says that they are all great friends, enjoying an atmosphere of peace, respect and harmony, although, he laughs, this leaves him little time for any other relationships! The horses though are the main attraction of his shows, and Santi works with horses of all breeds and types, although currently his main companions at the shows are predominantly Arabs, Frisians and Lusitanos. He says that he knows instantly when a horse is the right one to join his family, a natural instinct tells him when a horse has the special character that he needs.

Kindness, patience and trust is the key to building the relationship with these spirited creatures, his ultimate aim is for the horse to feel comfortable when they are performing, keeping their own strong spirit and nature, and above all to ensure that the horse is happy and nurtured on every level. He also often works with horses who have suffered past trauma, either through mistreatment or bad experiences with hard riders. Again, using endless amounts of patience and spending hour after hour building a connection, he helps the horse to regain its confidence and trust in humans once more.

And so, what does 2015 hold for Sercam Shows and Santi Serra? “Ufff”.. he laughs, “The summer ahead is so busy, with not even one week where I am not travelling”. However, this is where is heart lies, and he is truly passionate and excited about each and every one of his upcoming performances. We hope to see more of Santi and Sercam shows here on the island in the very near future.

Related Posts

  • Published On: October 19th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: October 10th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: October 5th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: October 5th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: August 25th, 2022|Categories: People|

±

Ganz selten im Leben trifft man einen Menschen, dessen Leidenschaft, Liebe und Energie für eine bestimmte Sache einem den Atem raubt. So ein Mensch ist Santi Serra. Allein mit der Verbundenheit zu seinen Pferden und den anderen Tieren in seiner Show hat er ein Level geschaffen, das ausreicht, um die großartige Sercam Show weltberühmt zu machen.

horse-sinphony-biza-style-022

Bei seinem kürzlichen Besuch auf Ibiza hinterließ er eine geradezu hypnotische Visitenkarte, als er mit seiner Show in der Alegria Natural Horse Academy in Noahs Garten auftrat. Es war eine fließende Darbietung voller Leichtigkeit, die einfach Freude bereitete. Auch zu Ibiza fühlt er eine tiefe Verbundenheit, wie er uns erklärt. Noch immer träumt er davon, eines Tages an einem der weißen Strände mit seinen Pferden eine Show zu präsentieren. Geboren und beheimatet ist er allerdings in Barcelona. Ein wahrer Stadtmensch also, der aber durch seine Welttourneen viel unterwegs ist: Hongkong oder auch die USA – überall auf der Welt feiert er mit seiner Show große Erfolge. Seine innige und faszinierende Verbindung mit seinen Pferden stößt überall auf respektvolle Bewunderung.

Geboren in einer Familie von Pferdeliebhabern, liegt ihm die Liebe zu diesen einfach im Blut. Die Pferde fühlen, dass sein Umgang mit ihnen durch Liebe und Respekt geleitet wird. Er arbeitet Hand in Hand mit seinem Bruder (und Geschäftspartner) John zusammen, der Showtitel kombiniert ihre Familiennamen. Santi konnte reiten, ehe er laufen konnte und im Laufe der Jahre hat er viele Dinge ausprobiert. Mit 14 Jahren kam er zum Rodeo Sport und schnupperte das erste Mal Showluft. Und obwohl er das Gesicht der Sercam Show ist, betont er immer wieder, wie wichtig die Zusammenarbeit mit der ganzen Familie ist.

Pferde sind nicht die einzige Liebe in seinem Leben. Seine Tierfamilie schließt auch Hunde, Lamas und einen Esel mit ein. Sie seien seine besten Freunde, die einfach die großartige Atmosphäre von Liebe und Harmonie in seinem Umfeld genießen, lacht Santi, obwohl er schmunzelnd zugibt, dass er ihnen auch wenig Zeit für andere Freundschaften lässt. In seiner Show sind aber die Pferde die Hauptattraktion. Santi arbeitet mit unterschiedlichen Typen und Rassen zusammen. Derzeit sind es überwiegend Araber, Friesen und Lusitanos, mit denen er auftritt. Er erklärt uns, dass er instinktiv spürt, ob ein Pferd in seine Familie passt oder nicht und ob es den besonderen Charakter hat, um mit ihm gemeinsam weiter zu gehen.

Freundlichkeit, Geduld und Vertrauen, das sind die Schlüssel zum Aufbau einer Partnerschaft mit so temperamentvollen Wesen wie Pferden, so Santi. Nur, wenn sich das Pferd wohl fühlt, kann es eine gute Performance in seiner Show abgeben. Es braucht einen starken, gesunden Geist und muss auf geistiger und körperlicher Ebene wohlgenährt sein. Oftmals sind es Pferde aus miserabler Haltung oder mit schlechten Erfahrungen, die zu ihm kommen. Stunde um Stunde verbringt er mit ihnen, um den Pferden erneut Zuversicht und Vertrauen zu den Menschen zurückzugeben.

Und, was hält das Jahr 2015 für Sercam Show und Santi Serra bereit? „Uff..”, lacht er, „Der ganze Sommer ist gefüllt mit Terminen, es gibt keine Woche, in der ich nicht reise”. Aber genau das ist es, was er sich wünscht: mit seiner Tierfamilie unterwegs zu sein, und den Zuschauern seine Freude und den natürlichen Umgang mit Pferden zu vermitteln. Wir hoffen, noch ganz viel von diesem wunderbaren Mann zu sehen!

Related Posts

  • Published On: Oktober 22nd, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Oktober 19th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Oktober 10th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Oktober 5th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Oktober 5th, 2022|Categories: People|