The issue of sustainability is something which is slowly but surely becoming a high profile topic on the island of Ibiza. As we once again face the daunting possibility of oil prospections, there are many organisationations on the island, as well as individuals and businesses who are making conscious, effective decisions in order to maintain the natural beauty of the island we live, love and work on.

One such business is the osteria Locals Only, located in the heart of PLaza del Parque. Here, owner Titito Piazza is more than focused, he is fully committed to ensuring that his restaurant is as ecologically conscious as possible.

He explains, in his inimitable style that he believes in sustainability in every direction, harbouring a deep rooted respect for the island, for Mother Nature herself, and he works tirelessly to encourage a global mentality towards this way of thinking. To this effect, all paper products within Locals Only are recycled, every piece of wood in the restaurant is reclaimed, and you won’t find any plastic straws here.

And of course, this policy is also applied to the most important aspect of Locals Only, the fabulous food and drinks which are all created consciously. Tito tells me that he has spent much time building relationships with local farmers, therefore, every vegetable you will ever eat here has come directly from the earth of Ibiza.

Carrots, avocados, rocket, onions, hand picked and grown organically in the islands rich and fertile soil. Sustainable agriculture is at the very heart of what he does here, and Tito views this as a sign of showing respect to Mother Nature through his passion for creating fabulous food.

Local artichokes, a true delicacy, feature heavily in the dishes here, having spent the winter working with a local farmer who planted two types of baby artichokes, moretti, typical of the Venetian Islands, and the other the classic sweet green artichokes, used in several dishes, served crispy deep fried, alla Romana, and included in their renowned risottos.

Having concerns about the overfishing of the ocean, Tito is using more and more stockfish and cod for which uses a different system to preserve, the cod is salted, stockfish is dried in typical Nordic style. He likes to focus on creating a beautiful dish out of an rather unknown fish to reduce the impact on the overfishing on tuna, salmon a problem which is becoming more and more of a global concern. He also loves to use sardines and boquerones, both of which are low in mercury and therefore much healthier.

Tito has created a truly exceptional environment here at Locals Only, and his laid back approach is reflected in the ambience of the restaurant, having come from a fine dining, formal background, he wants Locals Only to be a place where people come to relax, to laugh out loud, informal, friendly, welcoming. Enjoy  the daily lunch menu for 15 euros from Tuesday through until Friday, (closed Mondays) until July and August, where  the ever changing menu incorporates following the market freshness and ingredients which are fresh that day.

An elegant way of working abounds here, creating dishes with love and care, making people feel the passion that has gone into each dish created in his kitchen, and of course with the deepest respect for the island herself.

Locals Only

Plaza del paque, 5

07830 Ibiza

+34 971 301 997

Related Posts

  • Published On: August 17th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: July 7th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: June 4th, 2019|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: June 4th, 2019|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: June 4th, 2019|Categories: Gastronomy|

Das Thema Nachhaltigkeit bahnt sich langsam, aber sicher seinen Weg ins öffentliche Bewusstsein der Insel Ibiza. Angesichts der bedrohlichen Perspektive neuer Ölbohrungen, nimmt die Zahl an Organisationen, Privatleuten und Business-Vertretern, die sich für den Erhalt der Schönheit Ibizas einsetzen – die Insel, die wir lieben, auf der wir leben und arbeiten – stetig zu.

Eines dieser Businesses ist die Osteria Locals Only, im Herzen der Plaza del Parque. Besitzer Titito Piazza hat sich voll und ganz den ökologischen Grundlagen verschrieben und sie zur Basis seines Restaurants gemacht.

In seiner unnachahmlichen Art erzählt er uns, wie sehr sein Herz an der Nachhaltigkeit hängt, basierend auf dem tiefen Respekt für die Insel, für Mutter Natur, und wie unaufhörlich er daran arbeitet, andere von diesem Mindset zu überzeugen. Alle Papierwaren des Locals Only werden recyclet, jedes Stück Holz im Restaurant ist aufbereitet, zudem verzichtet man vollends auf Plastikstrohhalme.

Keine Frage, dass dieses Bewusstsein sich auch auf den wichtigsten Aspekt des Locals Only bezieht – die fantastischen Drinks, das wunderbare Essen, alles ganz bewusst hergestellt und zubereitet. Tito erzählt mir, dass er seit langem enge Beziehungen zu den örtlichen Bauern aufgebaut hat. Die Folge: Jedes Gemüse, das Sie hier genießen, stammt aus dem Herzen Ibizas.

Karotten, Avocados, Rucola, Zwiebeln, handgepflückt, organisch angebaut auf dem reichen Boden Ibizas. Nachhaltige Landwirtschaft ist die Wurzel allen Tuns hier, für Tito sein unverrückbarer Dienst für Mutter Natur, und das in allem, was er hier an fantastischen Speisen zusammenstellt.

Hiesige Artischocken bilden eine äußerst delikate Zutat der Speisen. Den Winter über hat Tito mit einem lokalen Farmer zusammengearbeitet, der zwei Arten von Baby-Artischocken anbaut. Zum einen Moretti, den Klassiker der Venetian Islands, zum anderen die klassischen, süßen, grünen Artischocken, die in den Menüs zu finden sind, knusprig gebraten alla Romana, und die die schmackhaften Risottos bereichern.

Mit Blick auf das Thema Überfischung verwendet Tito immer mehr Stockfisch und Kabeljau, die auf andere Weise haltbar gemacht werden, der Kabeljau wird gesalzen, der Stockfisch auf nordische Art getrocknet. Er konzentriert sich zunehmend darauf, seine wunderbaren Speisen aus eher unbekannten Fischen zu zaubern, um so dem Problem der Überfischung von Thunfisch und Lachs entgegenzuwirken. Er liebt zudem die Verwendung von Sardinen und Boquerones, beide mit geringem Quecksilbergehalt und daher deutlich gesünder.

Tito hat mit dem Locals Only eine einzigartige Umgebung geschaffen, seine entspannte Art spiegelt sich in der Atmosphäre des Restaurants wider. Ursprünglich aus der edlen Gastronomie kommend, liegt für Tito hier der Schwerpunkt auf Entspannung: Es soll gelacht werden, die Menschen sich willkommen und gut aufgehoben fühlen. Lunch genießt man täglich von Dienstag bis Freitag (montags geschlossen), bis Juli/August, das Menü für 15 Euro. Die Speisekarte folgt dabei den Angeboten an frischen Produkten und Zutaten direkt vom Markt.

Ein eleganter Mix ist es, den man hier erlebt: Speisen, die mit Liebe und Bedacht zubereitet werden, die den Menschen die Leidenschaft für Küche und Kochen vermitteln, das alles vor dem Hintergrund tiefsten Respekts für die Insel selbst.

Locals Only

Plaza del paque, 5
07830 Ibiza
+34 971 301 997