One of the most eye-catching billboard designs of Ibiza 2016 has to be Maya Jane Coles’ ANTS campaign, which features Maya ordering drinks in an eerie film noir barroom. It’s an image that evokes sci-fi memories of Ridley Scott’s 1982 cult classic, Blade Runner. “Ushuaïa wanted to do something a bit artier this summer,” Maya explains. “I never usually fly abroad for a shoot; it takes so much time out of my schedule. But because the concept was so strong, I thought, okay, I’ll fly to Berlin for this one. The couple that shot it, Chloé Claverie and Nick West, have worked with Kanye West. They’re big time photographers in the commercial world.”

The aforementioned ANTS shoot wasn’t Maya’s creative proposition, but more so than ever before she is taking a controlling interest in the way she’s depicted on the page. “The image has to match the music,” Maya continues. “Dark and mysterious, that’s my vibe. That’s why I work with people who are goth-inspired. When I was younger, I’d end up in so many situations where the photographer would do a quick Google search and come to the wrong conclusion about how I wanted to be portrayed. If I do find myself in that situation now I’m quite good. The photographer can always get something, as long as they’re not forcing me to do something ridiculous that I feel uncomfortable with. I remember one fashion shoot where they brought in floral leggings and a lilac top! They hadn’t really done their research.”

A true artist in every sense of the word, Maya’s unique underground aesthetic is totally self inspired. She paints, she draws and even her tour visuals are her own sketch works, which are then animated. “If I’m killing time on a plane I’ll just draw,” Maya smiles. “I always keep a sketchbook with me when I’m touring. Then when I get home I’ll scan my images and edit them in Photoshop. That’s how all of my release artwork is made. It’s not just about the music for me; I want everything I produce to be personal. I could get someone else to design it, but I like to know I did it all myself.”

Three years after the release of her acclaimed debut album Comfort, Maya is now ready to drop a brand new double album, which will hit the digital shelves later this year. As you might expect, the music and the graphic artwork is all her own work. “It’s 24 tracks, plus a few bonuses,” Maya explains. “As much as I love making 125bpm, four to the floor tracks, I get a lot more satisfaction writing music that you can listen to anytime. The kind of music that stays with you for life, like Massive Attack and Portishead. For that reason, Disc One has been designed for home listening; the second is more club stuff. It’s always difficult to describe exactly what it sounds like, but I definitely think it’s more mature than my first album.”

Maja-Jane-Coles_Ibiza-Style-001

www.mayajanecoles.com

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: May 24th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: July 12th, 2018|Categories: Music|

Eines der aufsehenerregendsten Billboards in Ibiza 2016 ist zweifellos die ANTS- Kampagne mit Maya Jane Coles. Das Motiv zeigt Maya, die in einer geheimnisvollen Film-noir-Bar Drinks bestellt. Ein Bild, das unweigerlich Erinnerungen etwa an Ridley Scotts Sci-Fi-Kultfilm „Blade Runner“ hervorruft. „Ushuaïa wollte diesen Sommer etwas Künstlerischeres machen,“ erklärt Maya. „Normalerweise fliege ich nicht für ein Shooting irgendwo hin, es kostet einfach zuviel Zeit. Aber dieses Konzept fand ich doch so stark, dass ich dafür nach Berlin gereist bin. Das Fotografen-Duo, Chloé Claverie and Nick West, hat schon mit Kanye West gearbeitet. In der Werbewelt sind die beiden echte Big Names.“

Das besagte ANTS-Shooting war zwar nicht Mayas Kreation, dennoch ist es ihr heute wichtiger als jemals zuvor, wie sie dargestellt wird. „Das Image muss zur Musik passen,“ erzählt sie. „Dunkel und geheimnisvoll, das ist mein Vibe. Ein Grund, warum ich mit Leuten arbeite, die von Goth inspiriert sind. Als ich jünger war, endete es oft damit, dass ein Fotograf ein wenig googelte und schließlich den falschen Eindruck bekam, wie ich dargestellt werden wollte. Heute komme ich mit so einer Situation viel besser klar. Der Fotograf bekommt sein Motiv, aber nur so lange ich nicht irgendetwas machen muss, mit dem ich mich unwohl fühle. Ich erinnere mich an ein Mode-Shooting, wo das Team Leggings mit Blumenmuster und ein lila Top mitbrachte. Die hatten wohl nicht richtig recherchiert.“

Eine wahre Künstlerin im besten Sinne ist Maya, ihre Underground-Ästhetik ist ihre eigene Schöpfung. Sie malt, sie zeichnet und sogar die Visuals ihrer Tour stammen von ihr. Dann werden sie anschließend animiert. „Wenn ich Zeit im Flugzeug totschlage, dann zeichne ich eben,“ lächelt Maya. „Ich habe immer ein Sketchbook auf Tour dabei. So ist mein gesamtes Artwork entstanden. Es geht mir nicht nur um die Musik. Alles, was ich produziere, steht für mich. Ich könnte es jemand anders designen lassen, aber ich mag die Tatsache, dass ich alles selbst gemacht habe.“

Drei Jahre sind seit der Veröffentlichung ihres vielbeachteten Debüts Comfort vergangen und es ist an der Zeit für ein brandneues Doppelalbum, das in diesem Jahr in die digitalen Regale kommt. Wie zu erwarten war, stammen Musik und das grafische Artwork komplett von ihr. „Es sind 24 Tracks, dazu ein paar Bonussongs,“ erklärt Maya. „So sehr ich 125bpm-Sachen mag, four to the floor, umso stärker erfüllt es mich, Musik zu schreiben, die man immer hören kann. Musik, die das ganze Leben bei dir bleibt, so etwas wie von Massive Attack oder Portishead. Disc 1 ist daher für das Anhören zu Hause gedacht, Disc 2 ist Club-Material. Es ist immer schwer zu beschreiben, wie es nun klingt, aber ich denke, es ist reifer als mein erstes Album.“

Maja-Jane-Coles_Ibiza-Style-001

www.mayajanecoles.com

Related Posts

  • Published On: Juli 26th, 2022|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Mai 24th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Juli 12th, 2018|Categories: Musik|