Driving at about 60kms per hour, the 26-year-old turns onto the bridge leading into the town of Santa Eulària. He might have glanced down fleetingly at the river valley and its dilapidated buildings. Nothing here tempts him to stop for a moment and try to get a sense of the past, nothing inspires him to imagine what it was like when horses and mules crossed this bridge at 10kms per hour, pulling carts of flour for the town’s inhabitants.

‘With the goodness of wheat and essential vitamins’ – these words on the packaging of a loaf of bread in the supermarket at Santa Eulària finally remind the 26-year-old of what actually goes into the product. It is of no concern to him that nowadays we need only pop out to the nearest supermarket or the bakery around the corner to buy a loaf whereas, two hundred years ago, it took people several days to bake a few loaves of bread, and that they had first had to sow, then reap the wheat, before laboriously separating it from the chaff by hand. Should he be driving over the bridge again at the end of December though, he might pause for a moment and immerse himself in a bygone age.

IBIZASTYLE_CANPLANETES-006Because by then, he will be able to admire the Can Planetes mill, situated in the river valley and restored to its original condition. Historians assume that the first settlers in Ibiza made their homes in what is now the town of Santa Eulària. Several mills around the area were powered by water from the river, before its levels slowly but surely started to dwindle, due to the increasing demands of a growing population. From an agricultural perspective, the Santa Eulària region in eastern Ibiza is still one of the most important areas of arable land in the Balearics.

“This is a landmark project. After all, the river played an important role in this area and wheat was the inhabitants’ staple food,” explained Vicent Marí, mayor of Santa Eulària, on 5th June, whilst lowering a clay jug filled with wheat and water into the ground as a symbolic foundation stone. This renovation is part of the government’s `Plan E´ to encourage job creation and it will receive 600,000 euros in central funding. The mill and the Can Planetes farmhouse are to be converted into an open-air museum, as a living demonstration of what life was like in this river valley. There are records of the Can Planetes mill, also known as Molí de Dalt, since the arrival of the Catalans in 1235 showing that it was powered by water from the river. A few months ago, the municipality of Santa Eulària bought these properties and hired a private contractor to restore them. This firm specialises in renovating buildings that are part of the country’s cultural heritage. They will reinforce the walls, recreate the original savina wood frame and reproduce the original floor from clay and natural stone. They will also install an electricity and water supply in the house which is to be used for exhibitions and events. And, as is customary for the pageses, the outside of the buildings will be whitewashed. The Ibicenco architect Juan José Serra is in charge of the project. He was also the mastermind behind the renovation of Molí S´Olivera in Puig d´en Valls.

The water irrigation channels are also to be restored to their original condition so that, by the end of December, the mill will once again be able to produce flour. It will not, however, be powered by water from the river, as the river bed has completely dried up here. According to local government sources, there are plans to take water from the desalination plant, so that as little groundwater as possible is used.

“I think that this spot, below the Puig d´en Missa, which is already a magnet for visitors, is an ideal location for an open-air museum and a large park, to encourage tourists and residents to come for walks and bike rides here,” says Vicent Marí, as he covers the jug – the foundation stone of good fortune – with the final shovel full of earth.

There are also plans for a path to be laid between the various locations that have been declared part of the cultural heritage. It will connect the mill and its myth-shrouded source known as ‘La font de Sa Lluna’ with the Pont Vell bridge which is of equal historical significance. On midsummer night in particular, from 23rd to 24th June, it is really worth looking closely at this picturesque spot on the island, because legend has it that at dawn, a plant will sprout from the earth beneath Pont Vell, which the passer-by must quickly pick, put in a bottle and seal up, otherwise the little plant will be gone again as quickly as it appeared. What he is said to be capturing is a fameliar, or goblin, which constantly shrieks: “Feina o menjar!” (Give me work or food!) The passer-by will have taken hold of a little piece of legend and will perhaps notice over the next few months that he chooses to slow down on the bridge, because here he will get an insight into the history of Ibiza. He may realise that the island is good not just for nights out on the town but also for taking a stroll through different eras of its history.

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 19th, 2018|Categories: Tradition|
  • Published On: July 13th, 2017|Categories: Tradition|
  • Published On: June 24th, 2017|Categories: Tradition|
  • Published On: May 25th, 2016|Categories: Tradition|
  • Published On: August 6th, 2015|Categories: Tradition|

Mit rund 60 Stundenkilometern nimmt der 26-jährige die Kurve auf der Brücke, die am Stadteingang von Santa Eulària endet. Vielleicht hat er nur einen flüchtigen Blick auf das Flußtal mit seinen maroden Bauwerken geworfen. Nichts, was ihn dazu reizt, anzuhalten und einen Blick in die Vergangenheit zu werfen, nichts,was ihn dazu inspirieren könnte, die Gedanken in jene Epoche schweifen zu lassen, da Maultiere und Pferdekarren mit 10 Stundenkilometern über die Brücke zogen, um die in der Stadt lebenden Menschen mit Mehl zu versorgen.

“Mit der Kraft des Weizens und lebenswichtigen Vitaminen” – diese Worte auf einer Brotverpackung erinnern den 26-jährigen im Supermarkt von Santa Eulària schließlich entfernt daran, woraus das Brot hergestellt ist. Weshalb sollte es ihn kümmern, dass heutzutage ein Gang in den nächstgelegenen Supermarkt oder in die Bäckerei um die Ecke reicht, um ein Pfund Brot zu kaufen, es die Menschen aber noch vor zwei Jahrhunderten mehrere Tage kostete, bis sie einige Laibe Brot gebacken hatten. Und dass zunächst das Getreide gesät und geerntet werden mußte, um die Spreu schließlich mühsam mit einem Schlegel per Hand vom Getreide zu trennen? Fährt er jedoch Ende Dezember noch einmal über die Brücke, so könnte er vielleicht innehalten, um in eine andere Zeit einzutauchen.

IBIZASTYLE_CANPLANETES-006Schließlich wird er zu diesem Zeitpunkt die im Flußtal gelegene Mühle `Can Planetes´ in ihrem Originalzustand bewundern können. Historiker gehen davon aus, dass sich die ersten Siedler, die auf Ibiza sesshaft wurden, an den Ufern dieses Flusses auf dem heutigen Stadtgebiet von Santa Eulària niedergelassen haben. Bis ins 20. Jahrhundert hinein wurden mit dem Wasser des Flusses mehrere Mühlen rund um Santa Eulària betrieben, bevor die Wassermenge im Zuge der immer stärkeren Besiedlung und dem damit verbundenen gesteigerten Bedarf langsam aber stetig abnahm. Aus landwirtschaftlicher Sicht gehört die Region um Santa Eulària im Osten Ibizas noch heute zu den bedeutendsten Anbaugebieten der Balearen.

„Es handelt sich um ein emblematisches Projekt. Schließlich spielte der Fluß in diesem Gebiet eine wichtige Rolle und der Weizen bildete die Ernährungsgrundlage der hier lebenden Menschen“, betonte Santa Eulàrias Bürgermeister Vicent Marí, während er am 5. Juni als Symbol der Grundsteinlegung einen mit Weizen und Wasser gefüllten Tonkrug in den Boden einließ. Diese Rehabilitierung ist Teil des staatlichen `Plan E´ zur Schaffung von Arbeitsplätzen und wird von der Zentralregierung mit 600.000 Euro finanziert. Die Mühle samt dem Bauernhaus Can Planetes sollen in ein Freilichtmuseum verwandelt werden und den Besuchern vor Augen führen, wie die Menschen in diesem Flußgebiet lebten. Die Mühle von Can Planetes, auch bekannt als `Molí de Dalt´, die seit der Ankunft der Katalanen im Jahr 1235 dokumentiert ist, wurde mit dem Flußwasser gespeist. Vor einigen Monaten kaufte die Stadtverwaltung von Santa Eulària diese Grundstücke und beauftragte eine Firma mit der Restaurierung. Diese Firma, spezialisiert auf die Renovierung von Gebäuden, die dem Kulturerbe angehören, wird die Mauern stärken, die ursprüngliche Struktur aus Sabinaholz wieder herstellen, den original Boden aus Lehm und Naturstein nachbilden und das Haus, das später auch für Ausstellungen und andere kulturelle Veranstaltungen genutzt wird, mit Elektrizität sowie Wasserleitungen ausstatten. Und so wie es bei den pageses gang und gäbe ist, wird die Fassade mit Kalk gestrichen. Der ibizenkische Architekt Juan José Serra leitet das Projekt. Er war bereits federführend bei den Renovierungsarbeiten der Molí S´Olivera in Puig d´en Valls tätig.

Auch die Bewässerungsgräben sollen in ihren Urzustand versetzt werden, so daß die Mühle bereits Ende Dezember wieder Mehl mahlen könnte. Flußwasser wird allerdings nicht über die Mühlräder laufen, denn schließlich ist das Flußbett an dieser Stelle vollkommen ausgetrocknet. Wie aus Quellen der Stadtregierung hervorgeht, zieht man in Erwägung, das Wasser der Entsalzungsanlage zu verwenden, um so möglichst wenig Grundwasser zu gebrauchen.

„Ich denke, daß dieser Platz unterhalb des Puig d´en Missa, der bereits ein Besuchermagnet darstellt, ideal ist, um hier ein Freilichtmuseum und einen großen Park zu errichten, der sowohl Touristen als auch Residenten dazu reizt, hier spazieren zu gehen oder Rad zu fahren“, sagt Vicent Marí, während er das Gefäß – den glückbringenden Grundstein – mit der letzten Schaufel Erde bedeckt.

Es ist außerdem geplant, einen Rundweg anzulegen, der zu den verschiedenen, als Kulturerbe deklarierten Elementen führt. Er soll die Mühle mit der wegen ihrer mythischen Legenden bekannten Quelle „La font de Sa Lluna“ und der ebenso geschichtsträchtigen Brücke `Pont Vell´ verbinden. Besonders in der Johannisnacht vom 23. auf den 24. Juni lohnt es sich, diesen malerischen Flecken der Insel in Augenschein zu nehmen, denn einer Legende zufolge sprießt unter der `Pont Vell´ im Morgengrauen eine Pflanze aus dem Boden, die der Spaziergänger schnell packen, in eine Flasche stecken und diese flugs verschließen soll, da das Pflänzchen ebenso schnell wie es gewachsen ist, wieder verschwindet. Was er sich da nämlich fängt, ist ein fameliar (ein Kobold), der ständig kreischt: Feina o menjar! (Arbeiten oder Essen!) So hat er ein Stück Legende eingefangen und bereits in wenigen Monaten wird er vielleicht bemerken, daß er selbst das Tempo auf der Brücke drosselt, weil sich ihm hier ein Einblick in die ibizenkische Geschichte bietet und er mag einsehen, daß das Eiland nicht nur dazu dient, nachts um die Häuser zu ziehen, sondern auch dazu, durch die Epochen seiner Geschichte zu wandeln.

Related Posts

  • Published On: Juli 19th, 2018|Categories: Tradition|
  • Published On: Juli 13th, 2017|Categories: Tradition|
  • Published On: Juni 24th, 2017|Categories: Tradition|
  • Published On: Mai 25th, 2016|Categories: Tradition|
  • Published On: August 6th, 2015|Categories: Tradition|