Mustafa Gündogdu (AKA Mousse T) is best known for his megahit ‘Horny’ and is widely regarded as the best remixer/producer in Germany. He recently spent some time in Ibiza to get his ideas straight for a new album

What does a good manager think to himself when he notices that the creativity of his protégé is being ground down by the daily routine? Exactly! Time to head off for the Island. Mousse T has the good fortune to have such a manager and also a supportive wife. The two of them insisted that he took a two-week break in Ibiza during the month of February. And, quite by chance (?), they fixed up accommodation for him in the 400-year old villa of Henry Sarmiento, owner of the internationally acclaimed Sonic Vista Studios.

Mousse T (born 1966 in Hagen, Germany) is, of course, familiar with Ibiza from previous stints as a DJ: “I’ve played all the great clubs. But I was always here for such a short time that I hardly got to see anything of the Island.” This time, he was determined to draw inspiration from the beauty of the studio’s surroundings, to clear his head and to order his ideas for album number three.

IBIZASTYLE_MOUSSET-002So what can we expect from your new album?
“I’m sort of going ‘back to my roots’. My background is essentially dance culture. I’ve always liked black music and I’ve produced albums for Randy Crawford and Bootsy Collins, but house music and the related culture has always been my thing. That’s when I had my first big success with ‘Horny’. This was followed relatively quickly by ‘Sex Bomb’ with Tom Jones, which opened up the big wide world of pop music for me. The experience showed me that you don’t have to repeat the same act over and over again, but that you can expand your horizons and that it’s not only possible but actually highly desirable to work with a range of artists. I’ve always done this anyway, but you then get accused of being too commercial or not cool enough. That doesn’t bother me any more. My attitude now is the same as David Guetta’s, namely that you really can work with any artist. I think that’s a great approach that I intend to cultivate properly. I’m planning to round up some really strange artists and do some worthwhile projects with them.”

Which famous artists have you worked with already?
“Tough question. I’ve been doing this professionally for about 20 years now. In that time, there’ve been quite a few. For my own satisfaction, I practically made a whole disc together with Tom Jones. But as a producer – God knows… German fans will of course know Xavier Naidoo and the No Angels. International Missy Elliott, Simply Red, who else? Thousands – just look at my website (he chuckles). We’ve done that, and in addition to the stars already mentioned, we found such well-known names as Emma Lanford, Andrew Roachford, Michael Jackson, Quincy Jones, Gloria Estefan, Backstreet Boys, Fine Young Cannibals and Molokound Timbaland.”

Mousse T was in Ibiza for a full two weeks, so that allowed time for some trips around the Island. He was impressed by the fact that you can get a delicious meal on the beach at this time of year, specifically at Cala Jondal where he spent a sunny afternoon in the Yemanja beach restaurant. But he also discovered for himself classics such as Bar Costa in Santa Gertrudis where he was much taken with the famous ham sandwich and the sight of all the hams hanging from the ceiling.
He found his accommodation both comfortable and convenient from a work aspect, being able to relax in the quiet rural setting but also having a professional studio available as and when the muse took him. In fact, Mousse T enjoyed his stay so much that “you can expect to see me here again in the near future”. It will be our pleasure.

For privacy reasons YouTube needs your permission to be loaded.
I Accept

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: May 24th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: July 12th, 2018|Categories: Music|

Was denkt ein guter Manager, wenn er merkt, dass die Kreativität des von ihm betreuten Künstlers unter der alltäglichen Geschäftsroutine leidet? Genau: der ist reif für die Insel. Mousse T. hat das Glück, so ein gutes Management und eine tolle Frau zu haben. Beide zusammen hatten ihm einen zweiwöchigen Aufenthalt auf Ibiza im Februar geschenkt. Ganz zufällig hatten sie ihn in der 400 Jahre alten Villa von Henry Sarmiento – Inhaber der international renommierten Sonic Vista Studios – einquartiert.

Natürlich kannte Mousse T., 1966 in Hagen, Deutschland, geboren Ibiza schon von früheren Auftritten als DJ „…in all den tollen Clubs hier. Ich war aber immer nur so kurz hier, dass ich von der Insel praktisch nichts kennen gelernt habe“. Daher genoss er es dieses mal, sich von der Schönheit der Landschaft, in der das Studio liegt, inspirieren zu lassen, den Kopf frei zu kriegen, Ideen zu sammeln, um so sein drittes Studio-Album fertigstellen zu können.

IBIZASTYLE_MOUSSET-002Was erwartet uns auf Deinem neuen Album?
„Ich geh so ein bisschen ‚back to he roots’. Ich komme ja im Prinzip aus der Dance-Kultur, habe schon immer schwarze Musik gemocht und Alben produziert für Randy Crawford und Bootsy Collins, aber die House Music und die damit verbundene Kultur war schon immer mein Ding. Damals habe ich mit ‚Horny’ meinen ersten großen Erfolg gefeiert. Dann folgte relativ schnell ‚Sex Bomb’ mit Tom Jones, und das hat mir so ein bisschen die große weite Welt der Popmusik geöffnet. Das hat mir gezeigt, dass man nicht immer wieder nur denselben Stiefel spielen muss und soll oder kann, sondern auch mal ein wenig über den Tellerrand gucken darf und auch mit verschiedenen Künstlern arbeiten soll und darf. Das habe ich zwar immer gemacht, aber es heißt dann häufig: das ist zu kommerziell oder nicht cool genug. Darauf gebe ich heutzutage aber nichts mehr und bin jetzt ein bisschen wieder zurück und vertrete im Prinzip das was David Guetta allen Künstlern gebracht hat, nämlich dass Du eigentlich mit jedem Künstler arbeiten kannst – das ist toll und das will ich jetzt noch mal richtig kultivieren und mir ganz, ganz strange Künstler schnappen und mit denen was machen.“

Mit welchen bekannten Künstlern hast Du schon zusammen gearbeitet?
„Gemeine Frage. Ich mach das professionell schon rund 20 Jahre. In der Zeit sind es schon einige gewesen. Für mein eigenes Wohl habe ich mit Tom Jones zusammen praktisch eine Platte auch für mich gemacht. Aber als Produzent – mein Gott! Deutsche werden natürlich kennen: Xavier Naidoo oder die No Angels. International Missy Elliott, Simply Red, wer noch? Tausende – guckt doch einfach auf meine Seite!“ sagt er lachend.
Wir haben es getan – und fanden neben den schon von ihm selbst erwähnten so bekannte namen wie Emma Lanford, Andrew Roachford, Michael Jackson, Quincy Jones, Gloria Estefan, Backstreet Boys, Fine Young Cannibals oder Moloko und Timbaland – um nur einige zu nennen.

Zwei Wochen verbrachte er auf Ibiza, da blieb auch Zeit für ein paar Ausflüge über die Insel. Besonders gefiel ihm, dass man auch in dieser Jahreszeit am Strand einen leckeres Essen genießen kann, denn er war bei herrlichem Wetter im Strandrestaurant Yemanja in der Cala Jondal. Aber auch Klassiker wie die Bar Costa in Santa Gertrudis hat er zum ersten mal kennengelernt und war von den berühmten Schinkenbrötchen und den vielen Schinken unter der Decke beeindruckt.
Die Wahl der Unterkunft empfand er gleichermaßen angenehm und praktisch. Denn hier konnte er einerseits in der ruhigen ländlichen Umgebung entspannen, ihm stand aber gleichzeitig, wenn er eine neue Inspiration hatte, ein professionelles Studio zur Verfügung. Es hat ihm hier so gut gefallen, dass „ich mit Sicherheit schon sehr bald wiederkommen werde!“ Wir freuen uns darauf.