These mythical, ethereal beauties are said to have inhabited the seas and cast their magical spell by wooing sailors with their sirenic songs. However, in Ibiza today, we meet three real life mesmerising mermaids who are not luring good sailors to a watery grave, but instead bewitching their audiences with their musical talents.

A trio of hypnotic females, Claire Wakeman, Tahnee Lee Lindemann and Wiebke Pahrmann have joined forces and merged their vocal and instrumental skills to a new and unique concept to Ibiza, as performing artists Musical Mermaids.

The group grew organically together from an original idea of Claire, who was attending parties where people were dressed as fantastical creatures, such as mermaids and unicorns, and it drove her to combine her lifelong dream of being a real mermaid with her musical talents, and having met Tahnee and Wiebke on this most magical of islands, it was only a matter of time before their complementary passions for performance, costume and music brought them together to form this tantalising trio.

Creating their captivating costumes by using the skills of the best of the best designers on the island, their inimitable look is enhanced with makeup and embellishment from Katy Gill and Lauren Dellow from In Your Dreams Ibiza, with bespoke costumes created for them by talented seamstress Zoey Evans of Iris Batholomew Couture. Their crowning glory, fabulous, handcrafted crowns are by Emma David of Spiritual Gypsy, and Natalie Wood from ‘Deafened Decorum’ and the end result of these collaborations is quite simply mesmerising.

Singing as a three part harmony, with all three mermaids expressing their vocal talents, Claire also plays guitar, whilst Wiebke plays flugelhorn and violin, alongside other percussions, suited to the ambience. They always tailor make their musical choices to fit the venue, client and setting, and they showcase their musical talents with unique arrangements of popular songs which cover a vast range of genres. A typical mermaid performance would start tranquilly with an ethereal sound, and build up to a passionate crescendo with solos and percussion to truly enchant the crowd. Indeed, their harmonies have been described by some clients as sounding like mermaid angels, with their melodic voices ringing out over the water.

They plan to introduce a new style of enchantment by raising the tempo and collaborating with some of the islands hottest DJ’s at pool parties and private events, creating a mermaid wonderland where In Your Dreams and their own mermaid dressing up box can transform guests into mermaids for the night, a dream come true!

Ibiza is their spiritual home, and the legends of the sirens who are said to have lived around Es Vedra make this the most natural place for them to perform. Having recently been flown to play an exclusive set at the One and Only resort in the Maldives, they are soon jetting off to Rome and Sicily, and of course more Ibiza performances are on the agenda for this summer, as well as a return to the Maldives in October. You can keep up to date with their performance schedule on their Facebook page.

We expect to see much more of these sublime sirens on the island this summer, and look forward to being enchanted by the Musical Mermaids..

Follow the mermaids on [email protected]
www.facebook.com/musicalmermaids
www.musicalmermaids.com

Man sagt, sie bewohnen die Meere, jene mythisch-ätherischen Schönheiten, deren magischen Kräfte und Gesänge von je her die Seefahrer verzaubern. In Ibiza treffen wir drei wahrhaftige Meerjungfrauen, die jedoch keine Matrosen in die Tiefe hinablocken, dafür aber ihr Publikum mit musikalischem Talent erobern.

Das hypnotische Frauentrio besteht aus Claire Wakeman, Tahnee Lee Lindemann und Wiebke Pahrmann. Zusammengetan haben sich die drei, um mit ihren gesanglichen und instrumentalen Skills ein einzigartiges Konzept zu entwickeln, das sich anschickt, Ibiza zu erobern – die Musical Mermaids.

Dabei fand die Gruppe ganz selbstverständlich zueinander. Die Idee stammt von Claire, die auf verschiedenen Partys Menschen traf, die sich als fantastische Kreaturen verkleidet hatten, etwa als Meerjungfrauen oder Einhörner. Das brachte sie auf den Gedanken, ihren lebenslangen Traum, selbst eine Meerjungfrau zu sein, mit ihrem musikalischem Talent zu verbinden, und als sie schließlich Tahnee und Wiebke auf der magischsten aller Inseln kennenlernte, und von ihrer gemeinsamen Leidenschaft für Performance, Kostüme und Musik erfuhr, war die Gründung des Trios nur noch Formsache.

Bei der Erstellung ihrer spektakulären Kostüme vertrauen sie auf das Talent von einigen der besten Designer der Insel: Ihr faszinierender Look wird durch das Make up von Katy Gill und Lauren Dellow (beide von In Your Dreams Ibiza) zur Perfektion gebracht. Die maßgeschneiderten Kostüme sind eine Kreation der überaus talentierten Schneiderin Zoey Evans von Iris Bartholomew Couture. Die fantastischen, handgearbeiteten Kronen stammen von Emma David aus dem Hause Spiritual Gipsy und Natalie Wood von Deafened Decorum. Das Ergebnis dieser Kollaborationen ist schlichtweg hypnotisierend.

Zu dritt singen die drei Meerjungfrauen perfekt in Harmonie, zudem spielt Claire Gitarre, während Wiebke Flügelhorn und Geige spielt, Percussion rundet den Sound ab. Dabei passen sie die musikalischen Auswahl stets ans Venue, an die Hörer, die Location an. Mit großem musikalischem Gespür erarbeiten sie ganz eigene Arrangements von Stücken aus einer riesigen Bandbreite von Genres. Eine typische Performance beginnt mit ätherischem Sound, der sich zu einem leidenschaftlichen Crescendo steigert und mit Soli und Percussion die Zuhörer einnimmt. Es gibt nicht wenige, die ihren Klang, der sich über das Wasser ausbreitet, tatsächlich als den der Meerjungfrauen beschrieben haben.

Zusammen mit einigen der heißesten DJs der Insel planen sie einen ganz neuen Stil der Verzauberung: Pool Partys und private Events sollen so zu einem Meerjungfrauen-Wunderland werden. In Your Dreams stellt eine Dressing Box auf, in der sich Gäste dann ihren Wunsch erfüllen können: einmal Meerjungfrau sein.

Ibiza ist ihre spirituelle Heimat. Es sind die Legenden jener Sirenen, die rund um Es Vedra gelebt haben sollen, die diesen Ort zum natürlichsten Schauplatz für ihre Performance machen. Jüngst sind die drei im „One and Only“-Resort auf den Malediven aufgetreten, wohin es im Oktober erneut geht, demnächst steht Rom und Sizilien auf dem Programm. Und natürlich hat Ibiza seinen festen Platz auf ihrer magischen Agenda. Aktuelle Termine findet man auf ihrer Facebook-Seite. Wir freuen uns diesen Sommer auf die sanften Sirenen und darauf, von den Musical Mermaids verzaubert zu werden.

Musical Mermaids auf [email protected]
www.facebook.com/musicalmermaids
www.musicalmermaids.com