Nastia’s personal journey towards the summit of the underground dance music scene began in her home country of Ukraine. “The village where I grew up is like one big family,” she begins. “Today people live in the online social networks. You can write something bad on a message board and there are no repercussions. But growing up in a village you feel responsible for everything you say. If you mess up in the city and lose your friends, you can find more tomorrow. But in a village it’s not like that. If you talk about people in a bad way they’ll come to your house and you’ll have to take responsibility for what you’ve said. I think village life is responsible for sixty percent of my personality. You get a good basic upbringing.”

These days, Nastia lives in Kiev, Ukraine’s capital city. Despite the recent political upheaval across the region the city has become her home. “I had the option to move to Berlin or New York,” she explains, “but I feel amazing in Kiev. After the revolution, Kiev has returned to normal life. The mess has moved to the Crimea and the eastern part of Ukraine. But in Kiev life is just as safe as before. We don’t have any problems. Nobody is shooting anybody.”

After the Euromaidan revolution of 2014, many Ukrainian people lost their jobs, while the hryvnia fell sharply against the euro, losing three times its previous value. “If, for example, you wanted to book an artist for your party,” Nastia continues, “you suddenly had to pay three times more in local money and raise the entrance fee. We had to change a lot of things. And yet today Ukraine has the strongest dance scene I can remember. It’s like Great Britain at the end of the 1980s when everything first started. Now the younger generation in the Ukraine are following the same path.”

Indeed, Ukraine’s recent revolution seems to have ignited a burgeoning dance scene across the region, as a disaffected generation look to find solace in the pursuit of hedonistic pleasure. “I am very excited about what is happening in Ukraine right now,” Nastia smiles. “For sure, we’ve had some adventures with revolution and war, but not only bad things have come out of it. The younger generation are really getting into the culture. They’re dressing raver style, making their outfits special. It’s all very stylish. And we’ve just opened an amazing new club in Odessa in southern Ukraine. It has the same feeling as Berlin in the beginning of 2000s, with a proper soundsystem, wooden floor, low ceilings, freedom and safety inside the place. Along with Kiev, there are now two cities in the country for people to party.”

Another interesting consequence of the revolution is that dance music parties and festivals in Ukraine are, in a sense, lawless – which means the music keeps pumping until people stop dancing. “At the moment, there are no laws for this,” Nastia concludes, “no limits. At my festival, for instance, we started at Saturday at 6pm and finished at 6am on Monday morning. People go together: ravers, promoters, club owners, they are all connected. It’s freedom, a community – a unique situation.”

This summer, Nastia will perform for Circoloco at DC10, and for Cocoon at Amnesia. You can also hear her on Ibiza Sonica Radio on Mondays until September 26.

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: May 24th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: July 12th, 2018|Categories: Music|

Nastias persönliche Reise Richtung Underground Dance Music Scene begann in ihrem Heimatland, der Ukraine. „Das Dorf, in dem ich aufwuchs, war wie eine große Familie“ so Nastia. „Heute sind die Leute online in den sozialen Medien unterwegs. Du schreibst irgendetwas Mieses in irgendeinem Message Board und musst kaum etwas befürchten. Aber wenn du in deinem Dorf aufwächst, dann bist du verantwortlich für alles, was du sagst. Wenn du über jemanden etwas Böses sagst, dann werden sie vor deiner Tür stehen und du musst dich dafür rechtfertigen. Ich denke, dieses Dorfleben hat mich zu 60 Prozent zu dem gemacht, was ich bin. Es war eine gute Erziehung.“

Heute lebt Nastia in Kiew, der Hauptstadt der Ukraine. Ungeachtet der politischen Vorkommnisse in der Region ist die Metropole ihr Zuhause geworden. „Ich hätte nach Berlin oder New York ziehen können“ erklärt sie. „Aber ich fühle mich großartig in Kiew. Nach der Revolution hat es sich wieder normalisiert, der Ärger ist Richtung Krim und in die Ost-Ukraine weitergezogen. Das Leben in Kiew ist so sicher wie zuvor. Wir  haben keine Probleme, niemand schießt hier auf den anderen.“

Nach der Maidan-Revolution 2014 hatten viele in der Ukraine ihren Job verloren, die Währung verlor im Vergleich zum Euro massiv an Wert. „Wenn du einen Künstler für deine Party buchen wolltest“ berichtet Nastia weiter, „musstest du plötzlich das Dreifach an Gage zahlen und natürlich die Eintrittspreise erhöhen. Wir musste eine Menge Dinge ändern. Und dennoch hat die Ukraine heute die beste Dance-Szene, die ich mir vorstellen kann. Es ist ungefähr so wie in England Ende der 80er Jahre als alles begann. Jetzt folgt die junge Generation der Ukraine diesem Weg.“

In der Tat – es scheint, als hätte die Revolution in der Ukraine die Dance-Scene erst so richtig befeuert. Eine Jugendbewegung, die Ablenkung und Inspiration im Hedonismus sucht. „Ich bin sehr erfreut über das, was gerade in der Ukraine passiert“ lächelt Nastia. „Sicher, es gab einiges an Unruhe mit der Revolution und dem Krieg, aber es sind nicht nur schlechte Dinge daraus entstanden. Die jüngere Generation kommt langsam rein in diese Kultur. Sie stylen sich wie Raver, machen ihre Outfits zu etwas Besonderem, alles sehr stylish. Und wir haben gerade einen fantastischen neuen Club in Odessa, im Süden des Landes eröffnet. Es fühlt sich an wie Berlin zu Beginn der 2000er. Super Soundsystem, Holzfußboden, niedrige Decken, Freiheit und Sicherheit garantiert. Zusammen mit Kiew gibt es jetzt also zwei Städte, wo die Leute feiern können.“

Ein weitere interessante Folge der Revolution: Dance Music Partys und Festivals können in der Ukraine jetzt fast ohne Limit gefeiert werden, es gibt keine Regeln. Die Musik pumpt – bis die Leute aufhören zu tanzen. „Im Moment gibt es dafür keine Gesetze“ resümiert Nastia. „Keine Grenzen! Bei meinem Festival haben wir am Samstag um 18 Uhr begonnen und um 6 Uhr am Montagmorgen aufgehört. Die Leute kommen zusammen: Raver, Promoter, Clubbesitzer – sie sind alle connected. Es bedeutet Freiheit und Zusammengehörigkeit – eine einzigartige Situation.“

Diesen Sommer performt Nastia für Circolo im DC10 und für Cocoon im Amnesia. Dazu ist sie bis zum 26. September jeden Montag auf Ibiza Sonica Radio zu hören

Related Posts

  • Published On: Juli 26th, 2022|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Mai 24th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Juli 12th, 2018|Categories: Musik|