One afternoon when I was a child living in Nigeria I wrote ‘je veux etre une actrice’ on my bedroom wall. Naturally my family weren’t too happy with my decorating skills and my little dream was completely out of the question. Becoming an actress was never going to be possible as everyone wanted me to have a ‘proper job’ such as a banker, an architect or a lawyer…but little did they know.”

nicole-moudaber-ibiza-style-001

Not many people know this about Nicole Moudaber. Then again, not many people know that one of the biggest techno DJs on the planet once upon a time organised parties in the Lebanon in the mid 90s when the country was coming out of the turmoil of war. “I had meetings with the generals of the army and the city councils who loved the project as we were all working on putting the country back on the map. The party was called Trashy Renaissance and took place in the middle of Beirut, the idea was to overcome hatred and all join together in one big party and we had 1000 people dancing the night away. And did I put it back on the map? Yes, the clubbing map.”

See what I mean? Nicole doesn’t play by the rule book. She is an expert water skier and can handle the biggest motorbike yet I once caught her singing along to ‘Remember The Time’ by Michael Jackson, this lady does have her soft side too. And of course there is the small matter of being the biggest female DJ in the world…but she hates talking genres – “let’s talk about music, it is much more important.” This summer in Ibiza she has the dream ticket with residencies at Circo Loco’s DC10 mayhem and Carl Cox’s prestigious Music Is Revolution down at Space. Ask any DJ what their ideal gig on the white isle is and these two parties will always be right at the top of their wish lists. “I just had to become part of the Circo family this year, their energy and vibe just runs through my veins. And as for Carl? Well I just love him, we play everywhere together and have a real connection behind the decks. I have been blessed to have people like him and Danny Tenaglia who believed in me in the first place and gave me a chance to show everyone what I have got.”

In today’s day and age where everyone can become a DJ by simply making a tune on their bedroom computer, it is so refreshing to see the success of Miss Moudaber who comes alive when DJing. She simply makes a club rock. Sure her production skills are world class and we are all looking forward to the release of her hugely anticipated 5 track ‘Breed’ EP in September that she has created with Skin of Skunk Anansie, but what stands out so much for us is her sheer passion for DJing – and what more, Nicole is one of the few DJs out there who gives a shit about her fans. Most artists have a team answering their Facebook, Twitter and Instagram accounts, this girl doesn’t…she is proper hands on. “I have been a fan of musicians all my life, I have been there, seen it and done it so I know what it feels like when someone reaches out to you, I love to reply to my fans even if it is only a few little words. At the end of day, without these guys I wouldn’t be where I am today.”

And today is Ibiza. An island which she fell in love with many years ago and keeps coming back – the draw is irresistible. “There is nowhere like it in the world. From a DJ’s point of view it’s like we are in a candy shop, this is our inspiration on so many levels.”

Related Posts

  • Published On: August 3rd, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: July 20th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: July 9th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: June 23rd, 2022|Categories: People|

Eines Nachmittags – ich war noch ein Kind und lebte in Nigeria – schrieb ich ‘je veux etre une actrice’ an die Wand meines Zimmers. Meine Eltern waren nicht allzu glücklich über diese Verschönerung, auch mein Traum stand völlig in den Sternen. Schauspielerin zu werden schien absolut außer Frage, da jeder von mir natürlich verlangte, einen ‚ordentlichen Beruf’ zu lernen, so etwas wie Banker, Architekt oder Anwalt. Sie hatten ja keine Ahnung!“

nicole-moudaber-ibiza-style-001

Nicht allzuviele wissen derlei über Nicole Moudaber. Und kaum bekannt ist auch, dass eine der größten Techno-DJanes dieses Planeten einst Partys im Libanon organisierte, in einer Zeit, als das Land sich gerade von den Kriegswirren erholte. „Ich traf mich damals mit Armee-Generälen und den Stadtverwaltungen. Sie liebten das Projekt, denn alle waren bestrebt, das Land wieder auf die Beine zu bringen. Die Party hieß „Trashy Renaissance“ und fand mitten in Beirut statt. Wir wollten den Hass besiegen und es kamen zu dieser riesigen Party über 1000 Leute zusammen, die die ganze Nacht durchtanzten. Ob man das Land danach wieder auf dem Schirm hatte? Unter Club-Gängern ganz sicher.“

Merken Sie es? Nicole spielt nach ihren eigenen Regeln. Sie fährt erstklassig Wasserski, kommt mit den dicksten Motorrädern klar, dennoch hat sie auch ihre soften Seiten – ich kam einmal darüber hinzu, als sie Michael Jacksons „Remember the Time“ vor sich hinsang. Und dann gibt es da noch dieses kleine Detail, dass sie der weltbekannteste weibliche DJ ist. Dabei hasst sie nichts mehr, als in solchen Größenordnungen zu sprechen – „Lass uns über Musik reden, das ist viel wichtiger.“ In diesem Jahr hat sie die Top-Tickets mit den Residencys beim „DC10“-Gipfel im „Circo Loco’s“ und Carl Coxs prestigeträchtigem „Music is Revolution“ im Space. Man muss nur irgendeinen DJ nach seiner Wunschliste fragen und diese beiden Partys rangieren dort garantiert ganz oben. „Ich musste in diesem Jahr einfach Teil der Circo-Family werden, ihre Energie, ihr Vibe fließt durch meine Adern. Und Carl? Ich liebe ihn einfach, wir spielen überall zusammen und haben an den Decks eine ganz besondere Verbindung. Ich bin gesegnet mit Menschen wie ihm oder Danny Tenaglia, die immer an mich geglaubt haben und mir eine Chance gaben zu zeigen, was ich kann.“

Heutzutage, da jeder, der einen Track bastelt, zum DJ wird, ist es erfrischend, den Erfolg von Miss Moudaber mitzuerleben. Sie bringt den Club einfach zum Beben. Ihre Production Skills sind Weltklasse und wir sind gespannt auf ihre heißersehnte 5-Track-E.P. „Breed“, die sie mit Skin von Skunk Anansie produziert hat. Aber was alles toppt, das ist ihre Leidenschaft für das DJing – ebenso die Tatsache, dass sie derart nah an ihren Fans ist. Die meisten Künstler haben ein Team, das sich um Facebook, Twitter und Instagram kümmert, nicht so Nicole. Sie macht das selbst. „Ich war selbst ia auch immer schon Fan, ich kenne das Gefühl, wenn jemand den Kontakt zu Dir sucht. Ich liebe es, meinen Fans selbst zu antworten und wenn es nur ein paar Zeilen sind. Am Ende des Tages sind sie es, die mich hierher gebracht haben.“

Jetzt also Ibiza – eine Insel, in die Nicole Moudaber sich bereits vor vielen Jahren verliebt hat und zu der sie immer wieder zurückkehrt. „Nirgendwo auf der Welt ist es wie hier. Für einen DJ ist das so etwas wie ein Süßwarenladen. Dies ist unsere Inspiration auf so vielen Ebenen.“

Related Posts

  • Published On: Oktober 22nd, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Oktober 19th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Oktober 10th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Oktober 5th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Oktober 5th, 2022|Categories: People|