We met up with Berlin-based DJ/production duo Pan-Pot in the courtyard of the Ibiza Gran Hotel in early May. Tassilo Ippenberger and Thomas Benedix were in town to play the People Like Us Closing Party at Pacha. They had hadn’t slept for over 24-hours after flying in from Sofia, Bulgaria, via Madrid, and prior to the start of the interview they each ordered a high-powered organic ginger shot from the poolside bar to help counterbalance the challenge of their hectic touring schedule.

PanPot_Ibiza-Style_003

“You have all these organic juice bars popping everywhere,” Tassilo smiles between careful sips. “Ginger shots and green juices. We like this stuff a lot.”

“But the biggest health kick we do is sports,” Thomas adds. “We go to the gym, running, cycling, sometimes kick boxing.”

“A few months ago I tore a couple of ligaments in my ankle,” Tassilo explains. “I’m taking a highly concentrated mango and pineapple extract which great if you have any kind of injury.”

Last season, Pan-Pot were regular players at Amnesia’s newest techno party, HYTE. Thomas rented a villa on the island for a couple of months, while Tassilo flew in for every gig. “My villa was in Sant Jordi,” Thomas recalls. “My daughter celebrated her first birthday there which was nice. During those two months my girlfriend and I must have checked out at least 30 beaches. My favourite is Cala d’Hort. This year I might stay on the island in September. But we’re touring so much in the summer and with the festival scene as well, even if we did rent a house out here we wouldn’t have much time to use it.”

This summer, Pan-Pot are back at Amnesia, performing, once again, for HYTE. “It’s a brand with nice diverse line-ups,” Tassilo continues. “You get the more groovy side of things with Dice. But it’s also very techno with Marcel Dettmann and Ben Klock.”

“We really like HYTE because it’s not just focused on one DJ,” Thomas says. “All the other techno parties are branded on one person, whereas HYTE has three big headliners.”

And one of HYTE’s three big headliners this summer are Pan-Pot. Indeed, the boys from Berlin have come a long way since they released their first track on Mobilee Records back in 2005. With two studio albums under their belt and their fledgling label, Second State Audio, quickly establishing itself as one of techno’s most innovative imprints, Pan Pot are now at the forefront of the genre.

“Everything comes from hard work in the studio,” Tassilo says, “but the most important thing is our performance in the clubs. Time in the studio is at a minimum at the moment. There’s just no time. We are constantly touring; we get four hours in the studio per week. It’s crazy. But right now, we’re in a good place. We’ve just finished two EPs and we’re in a really creative phase.”

“In the past there was time to hang out in the studio and experiment with things,” Thomas concludes. “Now we have four hours and we need results. That’s a little pressure. But a little pressure is good.”

HYTE opens at Amnesia on June 29th.

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: May 24th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: July 12th, 2018|Categories: Music|

Wir treffen das in Berlin ansässige DJ/Produzenten-Duo Pan-Pot Anfang Mai, im Patio des Ibiza Gran Hotel. Tassilo Ippenberger und Thomas Benedix sind hier, um bei der „People Like Us Closing Party“ im Pacha zu spielen. Von Sofia aus sind sie via Madrid eingeflogen und haben seit über 24 Stunden nicht geschlafen. Das beste Mittel dagegen: ein hoch-organischer Ginger Shot an der Poolside Bar, um den Stress ihres prallvollen Terminkalenders etwas abzufedern.

PanPot_Ibiza-Style_003

„Überall gibt es plötzlich diese Organic Juice Bars,“ bemerkt Tassilo lächelnd, während er am Drink nippt. „Ginger Shots und grüne Säfte. Wir lieben das sehr.“

„Aber der größte Kick in Sachen Gesundheit ist Sport für uns,“ ergänzt Thomas. „Wir gehen ins Gym, laufen, fahren Fahrrad und machen ab und zu Kickboxen.“

„Vor ein paar Monaten habe ich mir die  Bänder im Knöchel gerissen,“ erklärt Tassilo. „Ich nehme einen hochkonzentriertes Extrakt aus Mango und Ananas, das wirkt bei Verletzungen einfach gut.“

In der letzten Saison waren Pan-Pot regelmäßig im Line-up von Amnesias neuester Techno Party, HYTE. Thomas hatte für einige Monate eine Villa auf der Insel gemietet, Tassilo flog ein für die Gigs. „Meine Villa  war in Sant Jordi“, erinnert sich Thomas. „Meine Tochter hat ihren ersten Geburtstag dort gefeiert, das war klasse. In den zwei Monaten hier haben meine Freundin und ich bestimmt 30 Strände ausprobiert. Mein Favorit ist Cala d‘Hort. Dieses Jahr bleibe ich wahrscheinlich im September auf der Insel. Wir sind diesmal so viel unterwegs, auch im Festival Circuit. Selbst wenn ich eine Villa mieten würde, wir hätten kaum Zeit, sie zu nutzen.“

Im Sommer kehren Pan-Pot wieder einmal ins Amnesia, zur HYTE-Party, zurück. „Es ist eine coole Marke mit abwechslungsreichen Line-ups“, sagt Tassilo. „Da sind die groovigeren Sachen von Dice. Dazu Techno pur von Marcel Dettmann und Ben Klock.“

„Wir mögen HYTE sehr. Besonders auch, weil es sich nicht auf einen DJ fokussiert,“ erläutert Thomas. „Alle anderen Techno Partys sind auf eine Person zugeschnitten, das HYTE aber hat drei große Headliner.“

Und einer der diesjährigen Headliner sind Pan-Pot. In der Tat – es hat sich für die Boys aus Berlin einiges getan, seit sie anno 2005 ihren ersten Track auf Mobilee Records veröffentlicht haben. Zwei Studio-Alben haben sie am Start und ihr aufstrebendes Label, Second State Audio, hat sich schnell als eine der innovativsten Techno-Marken etabliert. Pan Pot sind jetzt ganz weit vorn im Genre.

„Alles ist das Ergebnis harter Studio-Arbeit,“ sagt Tassilo, „aber das Wichtigste ist die Performance im Club. Zur Zeit sind wir eh nur minimal, etwa vier Stunden die Woche, im Studio. Wir haben keine Zeit, sind nur unterwegs. Verrückt, aber genau jetzt auch genau richtig. Wir haben zwei EPs fertiggestellt, sind sehr kreativ zur Zeit.“

„Zuletzt war kaum Zeit, um entspannt im Studio zu experimentieren,“ zieht Thomas ein Fazit. „Jetzt haben wir vier Stunden und brauchen Resultate. Klar ist das Druck. Aber ein wenig Druck ist okay.“

HYTE startet im Amnesia am 29. Juni

Related Posts

  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Mai 24th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Juli 12th, 2018|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: September 11th, 2017|Categories: Musik|