Twenty-seven-year-old Patrick Topping first started partying in Ibiza in 2008. There were times when he felt temped to move to the island permanently, but in the end he chose to remain in Newcastle, England to sharpen the quality of his productions.

“I’ve never been an Ibiza worker,” Patrick explains as we convene on the Sun Deck of the Corso Hotel. “I considered it, especially in 2010 when my best mate was living here. But in the end I decided it would be a better use of my time to make music at home rather than partying in Ibiza. In hindsight, I’m so glad I decided to concentrate on my productions. I made so much progress during those three summers, getting my head down and learning how to produce.”

Fast forward to 2013, and Patrick’s studiousness was already beginning to pay off. His debut EP ‘Walk On’ was picked up by Hot Trax, who took an educated gamble on the talented unknown. That summer, Patrick also played his first Ibiza gig, performing at DC10 for Jamie Jones. The following year, Patrick was invited back to Paradise, this time as a resident, where he played four times in what is now considered his breakthrough season.

“When I came back to Ibiza in 2014, they put me in Ocean Drive,” Patrick laughs. “All I’d experienced up until that point was San Antonio, Playa d’en Bossa and the clubs. I’d never really been anywhere else. When I saw Ocean Drive, I was like, wow, what is this! It was such a novelty seeing all the DJs checking in. Ever since then I’ve fallen in love with the Marina and I’ve been booking hotels here ever since.”

By 2015, Patrick was constantly on the road, festival hopping from Mexico to Detroit to Australia. In the studio he was just as busy, releasing massive tunes on Truesoul and Relief Records, which added to his growing list of Beatport hits. Now one of the most in-demand underground DJs on the international dance circuit, Patrick’s decision to concentrate on his productions when he could have been partying in Ibiza has most definitely paid off.

“It’s been a gradual rise,” Patrick explains humbly. “In the beginning Jamie started playing my tracks. Then he signed ‘Any Amounts’ to Hot Creations. After that I scored a gig at Paradise. Then I became a Paradise resident. Now I’m trying to establish myself at places like elrow. In the future I want to step up to the next level, although at the moment I don’t know exactly what that is!”

One thing that isn’t open to any doubt is that dance music’s next generation can learn a lot from Patrick’s story. “A lot of my mates are up-and-coming producers,” Patrick concludes, “but I always say: ‘Don’t do the summer in Ibiza. Stay at home and concentrate on your music.’ From my experience it’s the right thing to do. The main route to getting gigs now is production, which means coming out here and partying is just counterintuitive.”

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: May 24th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: July 12th, 2018|Categories: Music|

Zum ersten Mal machte der 27-jährige Patrick Topping anno 2008 auf Ibiza Party. Es gab Zeiten, da spielte er durchaus mit dem Gedanken, sich ganz auf der Insel niederzulassen. Am Ende entschied er sich jedoch dafür, in Newcastle zu bleiben, um sich auf die Qualität seiner Produktionen zu konzentrieren.

„Ich war nie ein Ibiza-Arbeiter,“ erklärt Patrick, als wir uns auf dem Sonnendeck des Corso-Hotels treffen. „Ich habe es erwogen, insbesondere 2010, als mein bester Freund hier lebte. Aber ich entschied, dass ich meine Zeit besser für die Musik nutzen sollte, anstatt auf Ibiza zu feiern. Im Rückblick bin ich sehr froh, mich für meine Produktionen entschieden zu haben. Ich habe in diesen drei Sommern soviele Fortschritte gemacht.“

Vorspulen 2013 – und Patricks Studioarbeit zahlt sich bereits aus. Hot Trax pickte seine Debüt-E.P. „Walk On“ und setzte auf das unbekannte Talent. In jenem Sommer spielte Patrick auch seinen ersten Ibiza-Gig, für Jamie Jones im DC10. Im Jahr darauf lud ihn das Paradise erneut ein, diesmal als Resident. Vier Mal spielte er damals – es wurde die Saison seines Durchbruchs.

„Als ich 2014 nach Ibiza zurückkam, buchten sie mich ins Ocean Drive,“ lacht Patrick. „Bis dahin kannte ich nur San Antonio, Playa d’en Bossa und die Clubs. Ich war nie wirklich woanders. Als ich das Ocean Drive sah, dachte ich nur, wow, was ist das denn? Es war so eine neue Erfahrung, all die DJs hier zu sehen. Ich habe mich damals in die Marina verliebt und buche meine Hotels nur noch hier.“

2015 schließlich war Patrick ständig auf Tour, Festival Hopping von Mexiko über Detroit nach Australien. Nicht weniger aktiv war er im Studio. Auf Truesoul und Relief Records kamen seine grandiosen Tracks raus, die Liste seiner Beatport-Hits wird stetig länger. Heute ist Patrick einer der gefragtesten Underground-DJs im internationalen Dance Circuit. Kein Zweifel – Patricks Entscheidung zugunsten der Produktionen hat sich längst ausgezahlt.

„Es war ein langsamer Aufstieg,“ erklärt Patrick bescheiden. „Zu Anfang spielte Jamie meine Tracks. Dann signte er „Any Amounts“ an Hot Creations. Danach landete ich einen Gig im Paradise, schließlich wurde ich dort Resident. Jetzt versuche ich mich etwa im Elrow zu etablieren. In Zukunft möchte ich auf das nächste Level hoch, weiß aber eigentlich noch gar nicht genau, was das sein wird!“

Eine Sache ist ohne Zweifel klar: Die nächste Generation der Dance Music kann aus Patricks Geschichte einiges lernen. „Viele meiner Freunde sind aufstrebende Produzenten,“ schließt Patrick, „aber ich sage immer: Vergiss den Sommer auf Ibiza. Bleib’ zu Hause und konzentriere dich auf die Musik. Aus meiner Erfahrung ist es das einzig Richtige. Man bekommt heute hauptsächlich über Produktionen einen Gig. Das bedeutet: Party machen ist absolut kontraproduktiv.“

Related Posts

  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Mai 24th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Juli 12th, 2018|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: September 11th, 2017|Categories: Musik|