Cold, crisp London was the setting for our springtime get-together with English house and techno DJ Richy Ahmed. A significant name on the Ibiza circuit, the Hot Creations star will be performing at underground institutions like Music On, Paradise, elrow and Circo Loco later this summer. But our conversation centred on Privilege, where Richy is set to play a lead role in what many expect to be a renaissance period at the world’s biggest nightclub.

“The Vista Club is next level,” Richy nods. “For me it’s the best small room on the island. The sound is incredible. I wanted to do more parties there. They actually offered me a weekly slot, but everyone has a piece of me and it was just too complicated to make it work at this time.”

Back in the UK, the popularity of Richy’s new FourThirtyTwo parties, where he regularly plays all-night long, continue to swell. “I though I was going to be playing in 400-capacity venues,” Richy explains. “Small clubs like Sub Club in Glasgow, Black Box in London and Cosmic ballroom in Newcastle, but they all sold out. The next thing I know, we’re playing fabric in London and now the Vista Club in Ibiza. I didn’t realise the popularity. I was supposed to be playing the 600-capacity Marble Factory in Bristol in April, but the event was selling so many tickets they pushed me into the much bigger Motion, which has a capacity of around 2,000. I was like, hang on, Motion is massive. At first I was a little bit nervous, but my manager just laughed and said: ‘Don’t worry, you’ll sell it.’ I have to be honest though; this has all gotten a lot bigger than I actually planned!”

More than just a stomping tech-house party brand, Richy’s new label is also marked with the eye-catching FourThirtyTwo insignia. “I’m only putting out five releases a year,” Richy continues. “I want each release to be good. I’ve also got some amazing original artwork, with full picture vinyl sleeves. I’ve really put a lot of love into this label and I hope everyone can see that. The new release from Luca Cazal, which we released back in April, is testament to what we’re trying to do.”

The term FourThirtyTwo is a subtle ode to the so-called 432 Hz miracle tone, a vibrational frequency that resonates throughout nature and the universe beyond. “I wanted to start a label with a nod to consciousness,” Richy smiles. “Something a bit cosmic, but without getting in peoples faces and calling it something like Gaia! I mediate to 432 Hz music and I tuned the first EP to that sound. It’s something I’m really into; consciousness, yoga, old beliefs. When you’re putting your love, music and creativity out there I think that’s important. I hope people like the concept; if they don’t, I hope they like the music.”

Catch Richy’s FourThirtyTwo parties at Vista Club Privilege on June 1st and again in September (date TBC).

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: May 24th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: July 12th, 2018|Categories: Music|

Trotz Frühling ziemlich kühl – das Wetter in London, als wir uns dort mit dem britischen House und Techno DJ Richy Ahmed treffen. Auf Ibiza zählt er längst zu den Big Names, in diesem Sommer wird er bei den absoluten Institutionen der Insel – Music On, Paradise, elrow und Circo Loco – auftreten. Im Mittelpunkt unseres Gesprächs steht jedoch das Privilege, wo Richy eine führende Rolle einnimmt. Glaubt man den Prognosen, dann steht  die Wiederauferstehung des größten Nachtclubs unmittelbar bevor.

„Der Vista Club ist die nächste Stufe,“ so Richy. „Für mich ist das der beste kleine Saal auf der Insel. Der Sound ist unfassbar. Ich wollte dort noch mehr Parties machen. Man bot mir auch einen wöchentlichen Slot an, aber alle wollen ein Stück von mir und dieses Mal war es einfach zu kompliziert.“

Im UK hat die Popularität von Richys FourThirtyTwo-Parties, wo er regelmäßig die ganze Nacht spielt, stetig zugenommen. „Ich dachte zunächst an Clubs mit 400er-Kapazität,“ erklärt Richy. „Kleine Läden wie der Sub Club in Glasgow, Black Box in London oder der Cosmic Ballroom in Newcastle, aber überall war es schnell ausverkauft. Dann ging es ins Londoner fabric und den Vista Club in Ibiza. Mir war diese Popularität gar nicht so klar. Ich sollte im April auch in Bristol in der Marble Factory spielen, aber die 600 Tickets waren so schnell weg, dass man die Nummer ins wesentlich größere Motion mit 2000er Kapazität verlegte. Ich dachte nur, hey, Motion ist eine Riesensache. Ich war doch ziemlich nervös, aber mein Manager lachte nur: ‚Keine Sorge, das wird schon.’ Aber ganz ehrlich: Das ist alles viel größer geworden, als ich jemals gedacht habe.“

Richys neues Label ist mehr als nur eine imposante Marke für Tech-House Parties, allein die FourThirtyTwo-Insignien sind schon ein Hingucker. „Ich mache nur fünf Releases im Jahr,“ erzählt Richy weiter. „Jeder Release muss top sein. Ich habe zudem fantastisches Artwork, großformatig bedruckte Vinyl Sleeves. Ich stecke sehr viel Liebe ins Label und ich hoffe, die Leute merken das. Die April-VÖ von Luca Cazal steht für unsere Philosophie, für all das, was uns antreibt.“

Der Begriff FourThirtyTwo ist dem sogenannten 432 Hz-Wunderton gewidmet, eine vibrierende Frequenz, die überall in der Natur und im Universum zu finden ist. „Ich wollte das Label mit dem Bewusstsein verbinden,“ sagt Richy und lächelt. „Etwas Kosmisches, aber nicht so direkt, indem ich ihm einen Namen wie etwa Gaia gegeben hätte. Ich bin zur 423 Hz Musik hingezogen und habe auch meine erste EP darauf abgestimmt. Ich stehe darauf; bewusstes Leben, Yoga, alte Glaubensarten. Es ist am wichtigsten, dass man all seine Liebe, Musik und Kreativität nach außen bringt. Ich hoffe, die Leute mögen das Konzept. Und wenn nicht, dann zumindest die Musik.“

Richys FourThirtyTwo Parties im Vista Club Privilege am 1. Juni und im September (Datum tbc.)

Related Posts

  • Published On: Juli 26th, 2022|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Mai 24th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Juli 12th, 2018|Categories: Musik|