Like so many young English dance music fanatics who make the pilgrimage to Ibiza every summer, when Sam Divine first set foot on the island back in 2005, she did so with a record box and a suitcase but with no great plan. “All I knew was that Ibiza was the place to be if you wanted to make it as a house music DJ,” Sam recalls.

Sam’s rise to the top started at Hush, a popular party bar situated in San Antonio’s notorious West End. “At the end of the summer, Hush offered me a residency,” Sam explains. “The following year I was DJing six nights a week, doing all the programming and learning how to run events. Then, in the winter of 2009, I was working in a record shop in London. I bumped into one of the A&R guys from Defected. I’d been going to Defected every Tuesday night in Ibiza, so I knew all about the brand. In truth, I was religious about it. I was invited backstage at Pacha to meet the Defected crew. That’s where I met label boss Simon Dunmore.”

In 2010, Simon asked Sam to manage his Defected parties at Pacha. “Things were happening so quickly,” Sam continues. “I was warming up at Café Mambo every week, picking the artists up from the airport. Before long, I was one of the main residents, which meant playing more or less every Defected show.”

After staging massive full-season residencies at Pacha, Ushuaïa, BoOom! and most recently Amnesia, this year Defected have resettled again – this time to Eden. The news caught everyone by surprise when it was first announced. Initially, even Sam raised an eyebrow.

“Ravers usually head to DC10, Amnesia or Playa d’en Bossa,” says Sam. “San Antonio has always been more commercial. But over the years, Playa d’en Bossa has become very high end. They’ve done it up really nicely, but it can be expensive. San Antonio has also been redeveloped – the Marina and the promenade look fantastic – but it’s nowhere near as pricey. That’s why most young ravers choose to holiday in San Antonio. And it’s the young ravers that Defected really wants to attract. The crowd that used to go to Defected at Pacha has since moved to Glitterbox, but the kids who are listening to Defected are all based in San Antonio. And this summer we’re going to be right on the doorstep – myself, MK, Dennis Ferrer – all the old school Defected DJs, alongside new talent like Jacky and Amine Edge & DANCE. Looking at the programming, I think Simon has been really clever. The balance is perfect! And I’m really excited to get back to San Antonio, which is where it all started for me 10 years ago.”

Catch Sam at Defected on June 4, 11, July 2, 9, 23, 30 and September 17, and also at Cream at Amnesia on June 22. Sam’s D-Vine Sounds insignia will also host the Next room at Eden on selected dates.

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: May 24th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: July 12th, 2018|Categories: Music|

Als Sam Divine zum ersten Mal auf die Insel kam, war es für sie wie für so viel junge Dance Music Fans aus England, die jeden Sommer den Weg nach Ibiza antreten: Als Gepäck nur einen Koffer, eine Kiste mit Schallplatten und keinen großen Plan im Sinn. „Ich wusste nur, dass Ibiza der angesagteste Ort war, wenn du es als House Music DJ schaffen wolltest“, erinnert sich Sam.

Sams Aufstieg begann im Hush, einer populären Party Bar in San Antonios West End. „Am Ende des Sommers bot das Hush mir eine Residency an“, erklärt Sam. „Im Jahr darauf legte ich an sechs Abenden die Woche auf, ich machte das Programming und lernte, wie solche Events laufen. Später, im Winter 2009, arbeitete ich in London in einem Plattenladen und lief in einen der A&R-Typen von Defected. Ich war dienstags eh immer beim Defected in Ibiza, also kannte ich die Marke genau, tatsächlich verehrte ich sie förmlich. Im Pacha wurde ich dann backstage eingeladen, um die Defected-Crew kennenzulernen. Dabei traf ich dann Labelchef Simon Dunmore.“

Im Jahre 2010 bat Simon ihr an die Defected-Partys im Pacha zu managen. „Es ging so schnell“, erzählt Sam weiter. „Im Café Mambo machte ich jede Woche den Warm-up, holte die Künstler vom Flughafen ab. Es dauerte nicht lange, und ich war einer der Haupt-Residents. Ich spielte quasi bei jeder Defected-Show.

Nach riesigen Full-Season-Residencys im Pacha, Ushuaïa, BoOom! und aktuell im Amnesia, ist Defected erneut umgezogen – diesmal ins Eden. Eine Nachricht, die so viele überraschte, auch Sam war anfangs erstaunt.

„Raver gehen ins DC10, Amnesia oder nach Playa d‘en Bossa“, sagt Sam. „San Antonio war immer eher kommerziell. Aber über die Jahre hat sich Playa d‘en Bossa Richtung High-End entwickelt. Sie haben das wirklich sehr cool aufgebaut, aber es kann teuer werden. Auch San Antonio hat sich weiterentwickelt – die Marina und die Promenade sehen fantastisch aus – aber es ist nicht so hochpreisig. Das ist der Grund, warum es junge Raver im Urlaub hierher zieht. Und es sind jene Raver, die Defected anlocken will. Die Crowd, die bisher zum Defected ins Pacha ging, ist ins Glitterbox gewechselt, aber die Kids, die auf Defected stehen, sind alle in San Antonio. Und diesen Sommer sind wir vor ihrer Haustür – MK, Dennis Ferrer und ich – all die Oldschool Defected-DJs, dazu neue Talente wie Jacky und Amine Edge & DANCE. Wenn ich mir das Programm so anschaue, dann war Simon wirklich clever. Die Balance ist perfekt. Und ich freue mich sehr, nach San Antonio zurückzukommen, dorthin, wo für mich vor zehn Jahren alles begann.“

Sam bei Defected am 2., 9., 23. und 30. Juli, und am 17. September, zudem bei Cream im Amnesia am 22. Juni. Sams D-Vine Sounds hostet außerdem den Next-room im Eden an ausgewählten Tagen.

Related Posts

  • Published On: Juli 26th, 2022|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Mai 24th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Juli 12th, 2018|Categories: Musik|