Replacing ENTER. on the Space roster won’t be easy, but if anyone can do it, it’s Italian techno visionaries Tale Of Us. Over the last few years, Matteo Milleri and Carmine Conte’s abstract sound has become more defined, evolving into something tangible, something a major superclub could forge a party around. Consequently, when Richie Hawtin announced that he was leaving Space over the wintertime, Tale of Us’ new Afterlife concept was considered the natural replacement.
“The Afterlife concept is all about uncompromised live acts,” explains Matteo. “At least half of the DJs and artists on the line-up have never played here in Ibiza before. It’s a new thing for the island.”

“The concept is divided between three rooms,” Carmine adds. “We’re going to have the Terraza, The Sunset Terrace and El Salon. The music will start on the Sunset Terrace. We’re going to call it the Sunset Live and it will be specifically for live acts and concerts. This room will be open from the beginning of the night – from around 9pm until midnight – after that it will be left open as a chillout area.”

Tale-of-us_Ibiza-Style-002

With alternative indie bands and electronic acts including Howling, David August and Bob Moses already announced, its clear that Tale Of Us really are looking to do something different on the Sunset Terrace, delivering a roster of live artists renowned for blurring the lines between traditional and technological production. Then, just before midnight, the lights come on in the Terraza.

“We’re going to be performing on the Terraza with other headliners like Dixon, Nina Kraviz and Recondite,” Matteo continues. “We’re going to be experimenting with El Salon. It will be called the Chamber, with acts like Distant Echoes and Locked Groove playing. El Salon is not a very big room and for us this is the most challenging room. The sound is a bit more Berlin, a bit more techno.”

If the challenge of having their first Ibiza superclub residency is weighing heavily on their shoulders, Matteo and Carmine aren’t letting the pressure show. “The pressure is a good thing,” Matteo explains. “We’ve been playing on this island for a long time. We played DC10 as residents. We’ve played at Space many times. We have a particular kind of sound that isn’t always fitting for these parties, so I think it is very important for us to be able to bring our complete vision to Ibiza and interact with the island on this level.”

A little later, Carmine shows us the tattoo on his forearm. “This is the Afterlife symbol,” he explains. “It’s basically the man that abandons himself to the infinite.”

“The concept comes from our need to explore different realities,” Matteo interjects. “The falling man represents our journey into the unknown. It’s a search for the unknown and a call to innovate. It’s not about life – we don’t trust in life so much, we trust there is a meaning.”

Tale-of-us_Ibiza-Style-003

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: May 24th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: July 12th, 2018|Categories: Music|

Einen Ersatz für ENTER finden – ein schwerer Angang für das Space, aber wenn es jemand schaffen kann, dann sind es die italienischen Techno-Visionäre Tale of  Us. Im Laufe der letzten Jahre ist der abstrakte Stil von Matteo Mileri und Carmine Conte zugänglicher geworden, hat sich zu einem Sound entwickelt, um den ein Superclub bestens eine Party herum aufbauen kann. Es macht daher Sinn, dass nach der Ankündigung Richie Hawtins, im Winter das Space zu verlassen, dass das neue Konzept von Tale of Us – namentlich Afterlife – als logische Nachfolge erwogen wurde.

„Das Afterlife-Konzept dreht sich um unverbrauchte Live-Acts,“ erklärt Matteo, „Mindestens die Hälfte der DJs und Künstler hat nie zuvor auf Ibiza gespielt. Das ist eine neue Sache für die Insel.“

„Das Konzept ist in drei Räume aufgeteilt,“ ergänzt Carmine. „Wir haben die Terraza, die Sunset Terrace und El Salon. Die Musik startet auf der Sunset Terrace. Wir nennen es Sunset Live und es ist speziell für Live-Acts und Konzerte. Dieser Raum ist geöffnet von Beginn der Nacht an – ab 21 Uhr bis Mitternacht – danach bleibt er als Chillout-Area zugänglich.“

Tale-of-us_Ibiza-Style-002

Alternative Indie-Bands und elektronische Acts wie Howling, David August und Bob Moses sind bereits angekündigt, und schnell wird klar, dass Tale of Us die Dinge auf der Sunset Terrace anders als sonst angehen. Die Mischung der Live-Acts lässt die stilistische Grenzen zwischen traditioneller und technologischer Produktion verschwimmen. Schließlich, kurz vor Mitternacht, gehen die Lichter auf der Terraza an.

„Auf der Terraza performen wir mit anderen Headlinern, wie etwa Dixon, Nina Kraviz und Recondite,“ erzählt Matteo weiter. „Mit dem El Salon werden wir experimentieren. Es wird Chamber heißen, mit Acts wie Distant Echoes und Locked Groove. El Salon ist kein besonders großer Raum und daher für uns die größte Herausforderung. Der Sound geht Richtung Berlin, ein bisschen mehr Techno.“

Mag die Herausforderung ihrer ersten Residency in einem Superclub der Insel auch schwer wiegen, merkt man es Matteo und Carmine nicht unbedingt an. „Druck ist eine gute Sache,“ erklärt Matteo. „Wir spielen schon lange auf der Insel. Wir waren Residents im DC10. Wir haben so oft im Space gespielt. Wir haben diesen speziellen Sound, der nicht unbedingt zu jeder Party hier passt, daher ist es uns wichtig, diesmal unsere komplette Vision zu präsentieren und auf diesem Level mit der Insel zu interagieren.“

Kurze Zeit später zeigt uns Carmine sein Tattoo auf dem Unterarm. „Dies ist das Afterlife-Symbol,“ erläutert er. „Es ist im Prinzip der Mensch, der sich dem Unendlichen hingibt.“

„Das Konzept entspringt unserem Drang dazu, verschiedene Realitäten zu erkunden,“ unterbricht Matteo. „Der fallende Mensch repräsentiert unsere Reise ins Ungewisse. Es ist die Suche nach dem Unbekannten und der Wunsch nach Innovation. Es geht gar nicht mal um das Leben – wir haben da nicht so viel Vertrauen oder Glauben, aber wir vertrauen auf seinen Sinn.“

Tale-of-us_Ibiza-Style-003

Related Posts

  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Mai 24th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Juli 12th, 2018|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: September 11th, 2017|Categories: Musik|