It’s the summer of 1981 and five young guys are strutting the streets of Ibiza with their 20 strong entourage. Anywhere else in the world cars would be driving into lamp posts as this invasion of colour and style swaggered through town wearing the latest Christos Tolera zoot suits, big Bowie quiffs, eyeliner galore, Davy Crocket jackets from Kensington Market, John Wayne scarves, a Melissa Caplan monk outfit, leather jodhpurs and cowboy boots – Ibiza must have thought they’d seen it all, but suddenly there was a new gang in town…and they were bringing London with them.

“Discovering Ibiza for the first time for any nineteen year old pop star is like finding a pearl in an oyster” recalls Martin Kemp as we sit in Dalt Villa discussing Spandau Ballet’s forthcoming gig at Ibiza Rocks in August.

IBIZASTYLE_SANDAUBALLET-001

“The early 80s for me was all about excess, everything was larger than it should have been, from shoulder pads to hair, to what you wore and how much you drank and enjoyed yourself. We had played some crazy gigs in London and New York before coming here, but that first trip to Ibiza really blew our minds. The island was quite simply a playground where anything could and did happen.”

Spandau Ballet were without doubt one of the biggest super-groups of the 80s selling over 25 million records across the globe with hits including ‘Gold’, ‘Through The Barricades’, ‘True’ and ‘Only When You Leave’…tracks that Kemp and the band still love playing. “So many songs are the soundtrack to the poignant moments of people’s lives, the list goes on and on and it’s just great still being able to make people smile.”

But it wasn’t just about the music, for them the fashion was just as important. “I think what happened when Spandau came along was that it was a case of reacting against the last big thing which so many scenes do.  For us that was punk, a scene where everything was like the world was coming to an end and everyone wearing black. We were all about ‘the future is bright’ and everybody all of a sudden wanted to be a hero, instead of an anti hero…which is what New Romantics were all about.”

Looking ahead to Ibiza Rocks later this summer I ask Martin how the band feels about coming back to the island, this time entertaining a much younger crowd more used to the likes of Rudimental, Bastille and Ed Sheeran. It’s a far cry from rubbing shoulders with Grace Jones at the Coco Loco Bar discovering mescaline for the first time and having to climb the walls to avoid the venue’s famous angry bull. Are there any nerves floating around for Ibiza 2015?

“There is never any nerves taking a gig anywhere in the world for us” he admits with a smile. “The best thing Spandau Ballet do is play live, that’s what we are built for – that was always the dream. The band are so looking forward to Ibiza Rocks, the island has always held a special place in our hearts from the early days of Ku playing over the swimming pool, sharing a stage with Freddie Mercury and Montserrat Caballé, through the Summer Of Love and now holidays in the hills overlooking the island.”

Spandau Ballet play Ibiza Rocks on August 19th. Full details at: www.ibizarocks.com

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: May 24th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: July 12th, 2018|Categories: Music|

Sommer 1981. Fünf junge Typen streunen mit 10-köpfiger Entourage durch die Straßen von Ibiza. An jedem anderen Ort der Welt wären Autofahrer bei diesem Anblick gegen Laternenpfahle gerast: Ein Rausch aus Farbe und Fashion, die neuesten Zoot Suits von Christos Tolera, riesige Bowie-Tollen, Lidstrich galore, Davy Crocket Jacken vom Kensington Market, John Wayne Halstücher, ein Mönchsornat von Melissa Caplan, Jodhpurs aus Leder und Cowboystiefel – Ibiza dachte, alles gesehen zu haben, aber plötzlich war diese neue Gang in der Stadt. Und sie hatte London im Gepäck.

„Wenn du als 19-jähriger Popstar Ibiza zum ersten Mal entdeckst, dann ist das wie die Perle in einer Auster“, erinnert sich Martin Kemp, als wir uns in der Dalt Villa treffen, um über Spandau Ballets kommenden Auftritt beim „Ibiza Rocks“ im August zu sprechen.

IBIZASTYLE_SANDAUBALLET-001

„In den frühen 80ern ging es nur um den Exzess. Alles wurde größer. Ob Schulterpolster oder Frisuren, die Klamotten, die du anhattest oder wieviel du getrunken und gefeiert hast. Wir hatten schon ein paar verrückte Shows in London und New York gespielt, bevor wir herkamen, aber der erste Trip nach Ibiza hat uns umgehauen. Die Insel war ein Ort, an dem alles möglich war. Und auch alles passierte.“

Zweifellos waren Spandau Ballet eine der Supergroups der 80er Jahre. Die Band verkaufte über 25 Millionen Alben, darunter Welthits wie „Gold“, „Through the Barricades“, „True“ und „Only When You Leave“. Songs, die Kemp und seine Band auch heute noch zu gern spielen. „Diese Songs waren der Soundtrack für besondere Momente im Leben vieler Menschen. Das nimmt kein Ende und es ist großartig, diesen Menschen immer noch Freude zu bereiten.“

Aber es ging nicht nur um Musik, Mode mindestens ebenso wichtig. „Als wir mit Spandau Ballet auf der Bildfläche erschienen, war das, wie so oft, eine Gegenreaktion auf die letzte große Bewegung. In diesem Fall Punkrock, eine Szene, die sich kurz vor dem Weltuntergang wähnte und nur schwarz trug. Wir sagten „Die Zukunft ist leuchtend. Plötzlich wollte jeder ein Held statt eines Antihelden sein –darum ging es den New Romantics.

Mit Blick auf Ibiza Rocks frage ich Martin, wie es sich anfühlt, auf die Insel zurückzukehren, um für ein Publikum zu spielen, das um einiges jünger ist und auf Künstler wie Rudimental, Bastille und Ed Sheeran abfährt. Die Zeit, da man mit Grace Jones Seite an Seite die Coco Loco Bar unsicher machte, Meskalin entdeckte und die Wände hochkletterte, um dem wütenden Bullen des Ladens zu entkommen, sind lange her. Fühlt die Band so etwas wie Anspannung?

„Anspannung gibt es für uns bei keiner Show auf der Welt“, sagt Kemp lächelnd. „Das, was Spandau Ballet am besten können, ist live spielen. Das ist unsere Bestimmung, das war immer unser Traum. Die Band freut sich riesig auf Ibiza Rocks. Die Insel hatte immer einen besonderen Platz in unseren Herzen. Von den Anfangstagen des KU, als wir über dem Swimmingpool spielten, auf einer Bühne mit Freddie Mercury und Montserrat Caballé, im Sommer der Liebe bis hin zu diesen Ferien, da wir von den Bergen aus über die Insel schauen.“

Related Posts

  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Mai 24th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Juli 12th, 2018|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: September 11th, 2017|Categories: Musik|