The tickets had sold out days earlier, but that did not prevent masses of fans who did not have one from congregating, all the same, in the bars and surroundings of the wide terraces around Las Dalias, where Manu Chao offered his first concert in Ibiza on May 1st. Very few artists (except the best-known DJs) can claim to provoke such an uproar in Ibiza. San Carlos had literally been taken over by people of all ages and nationalities, who were exuberant in their readiness to spend an unforgettable night beneath an almost full moon, dancing to the sounds of the inventor of patchanka, that original mixture of rock, reggae, punk, ska and rumba that is full of rhythm and happiness.

IBIZASTYLE_MANUCHAO-018

And by no means did he let the fans down. Manu Chao gave an amazing concert that lasted almost three hours and that included—alongside less well known tracks—the great anthems of both his solo career and his time with Mano Negra such as “Clandestino”, “Welcome to Tijuana”, “King of Bongo”, “Mala Vida” or “Lágrimas de Oro”.

Accompanied by the superb musicians of his band La Ventura, this musical icon brimming with unquenchable energy managed to perform almost an hour of encores for a totally devoted audience who responded with cheers, euphoria and lots of dancing. Nor was there any lack of political protests concerning the students who recently disappeared in Mexico, the death of refugees in the Straits of Gibraltar, the Saharawi people or Monsanto’s genetically modified seeds.

Manu Chao’s performance has been called a “historic” concert; one of those that people will talk about for years to come in Ibiza. It was also the perfect starting gun for the 30th anniversary celebrations of Las Dalias, which once again demonstrated its incredible ability to put on a show and bring together a large number of people.

.

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: May 24th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: July 12th, 2018|Categories: Music|

Die Tickets waren bereits Tage zuvor vergriffen, das hielt die vielen Fans jedoch nicht davon ab, sich in den Bars und auf den Plätzen rund um Las Dalias zu versammeln, wo Manu Chao am 1. Mai sein erstes Konzert auf Ibiza spielte. Nur wenige Künstler – die großen DJs einmal ausgenommen – lösen hier wohl eine derartige Euphorie aus. Menschen aller Nationalitäten und Altersstufen hatten San Carlos an diesem Abend eingenommen, nur ein Ziel vor Augen: Sie wollten mit dem Erfinder des Patchanka feiern, zu seiner Mixtur aus Rock, Reggae, Punk, Ska und Rumba tanzen, die Happiness und Rhythmus so einzigartig kombiniert.

IBIZASTYLE_MANUCHAO-018

Und Manu Chao enttäuschte sie nicht. Der Musiker spielte ein fantastisches Konzert, das in fast drei Stunden – neben einigen unbekannteren Tracks – die großen Hymnen seiner Solokarriere und aus seiner Zeit mit Manu Negra bot, wie etwa “Clandestino”, “Welcome to Tijuana”, “King of Bongo”, “Mala Vida” und “Lágrimas de Oro”.

Begleitet von den superben Musikern seiner Band La Ventura, brachte es diese vor Energie nur so strotzende Ikone allein auf fast eine Stunde Zugaben. Und seine treue Gefolgschaft dankte es ihm mit euphorischem Jubel und Tanz. Auch die politische Message kam nicht zu kurz. Die kürzlich spurlos verschwundenen Studenten in Mexiko, der Tod der Flüchtlinge in der Straße von Gibraltar wurden ebenso thematisiert wie die Saharawi oder Monsantos genmanipuliertes Getreide.

Manu Chaos Konzert geriet rundum historisch, eines jener Ereignisse, von dem die Menschen auf Ibiza auch noch in vielen Jahren sprechen werden. Es war zudem der perfekte Startschuss für die Feierlichkeiten rund um den 30. Geburtstag von Las Dalias und ein erneuter Beleg dafür, wie gut man es hier versteht, eine Show auf die Beine zu stellen und die Leute zusammenzubringen.

Related Posts

  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Mai 24th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Juli 12th, 2018|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: September 11th, 2017|Categories: Musik|