London-born rapper Tinie Tempah headlined one of the most popular parties on the island last season at Hard Rock Hotel. In fact, Tinie’s Disturbing Ibiza pool parties were so successful that this summer the event is moving to Ushuaïa so that everyone can get in.

“Every show we did at Hard Rock was sold-out,” Tinie recalls. “It was a 3,000 capacity venue, but week after week it was a roadblock. When we finally got back to England there was so much hype around our Ibiza events; it seemed like everyone was talking about the party. Those who wanted to come out again this year, plus, as word was spreading, others coming out for the first time. So we thought it would be a good idea to do the Disturbing Ibiza party somewhere cool where we could fit more people in and make it even crazier – and the perfect place was Ushuaïa.”

Tinie’s first Ibiza gig was back in 2011 for Ibiza Rocks. In 2012, he warmed up for Elton John at the 123 Festival, before making his Amnesia debut later in the season. A regular on the island ever since, when he’s not on stage Tinie likes to party at Amnesia and DC10. “If I’m going to go out with friends sometimes we’ll head over to Lío,” the Disturbing Ibiza star adds. “And loads of my friends always end up DJing at Pacha, so I’m at that legendary club quite a lot. When I get my breakfast in the morning I like to eat healthily, so I go to Passion. I’ve also got quite a few friends on the island, so I’ll go over and hang out with them at their pads too.”

Tinie-Tempah_Ibiza-Style_003

An artist with a distinctive look to rival Mexican drug lord El Chapo and Brad Pitt’s Fight Club character Tyler Durden, we ask Tinie about the gear he’s wearing in this exclusive Ibiza Style photoshoot: “Lots of those clothes are from my personal collection,” Tinie explains. “I did that photoshoot with a guy called Jamie Kendrick who has worked with lot of artists I respect. I wanted to express myself in that shoot, so I pulled everything I could find from my wardrobe and simply put it together on set. I’m little bit more unapologetic with my approach these days. I’ve always spoken about my fashion style and have been proud of my look, but I used to feel a little bad about having that many clothes. I felt like I had to tone it down. But this was a photoshoot where I could fully express myself, so I did just that. Everyone loved it, most importantly me! I’m wearing a Burberry fur coat, an Alexander Wang bucket hat and a vintage Jean Paul Gaultier shirt.”

After registering two UK number one singles in the past 12 months alongside Katy B and Jess Glynne, as well as dropping a ‘Junkfood’ mixtape to keep the underground onside, Tinie continues to magnetise success. But does he believe in the law of attraction?

“Yeah definitely,” he replies. “I do believe in that. I don’t feel as if that sense is nurtured enough in people, whether it’s in school or college or even within our families. Some people believe that this ideology – if you think about something hard enough it can happen – is quite silly. However it kind of has for me. And it still does! It’s a value and principle that I will definitely pass on, because I personally know it works.”

Catch Tinie Tempah performing at Disturbing Ibiza at Ushuaïa on June 10, 17, 24, and September 2, 9, 16, and also at Ibiza Rocks Hotel on July 27.

Related Posts

  • Published On: August 17th, 2022|Categories: Photography|
  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: July 25th, 2022|Categories: Photography|
  • Published On: July 9th, 2022|Categories: Art & Design|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Music|

Die letzte Saison sah den Londoner Tinie Tempah als Headliner bei einer der populärsten Partys der Insel im Hard Rock Hotel. Tinies Disturbing Ibiza Pool Partys entwickelten sich zu einem solchen Erfolg, dass sie in diesem Jahr ins Ushuaïa ziehen, damit jeder kommen kann.

„Jede unserer Shows im Hard Rock war ausverkauft,“ erinnert sich Tinie. „Die Venue fasst 3000 Zuschauer, jede Woche war es rappelvoll. Als wir schließlich nach England zurückkehrten, gab es einen ziemlichen Hype um unsere Ibiza Events; jeder schien drüber zu reden. Da gab es solche, die aufgrund des Gehörten wiederkommen wollten, andere reisten zum ersten Mal an. Also dachten wir uns, dass es eine gute Idee wäre, die Disturbing Ibiza Party an einem coolen Spot zu machen, der noch mehr Leuten Platz bietet und es noch verrückter zu machen – das Ushuaïa war der perfekte Spot dafür.

Tinies erster Ibiza Gig fand 2011 beim Ibiza Rocks statt. Im Jahr darauf supportete er Elton John beim 123 Festival, es folgte sein Debüt im Amnesia. Als regelmäßiger Gast auf der Insel feiert Tinie selbst gern dort und im DC10. „Wenn ich mit Freunden ausgehe, sind wir oft im Lio,“ ergänzt der Disturbing Ibiza-Star. „Und viele meiner Freunde legen im Pacha auf, sodass ich oft in diesem legendären Club bin. Ich Sachen Frühstück ernähre ich mich gern gesund, also bin ich im Passion. Ich habe zudem einiges an Freunden auf der Insel, die ich dann besuche, um mit ihnen abzuhängen.“

Tinie-Tempah_Ibiza-Style_003

Schaut man sich Tinie an, denkt man an Größen wie den mexikanischen Druglord El Chapo oder Brad Pitts Tyler Durden im Film „Fight Club“. Wir fragten Tinie nach dem Outfit, das er beim exklusiven Shooting für Ibiza Style trägt: „Viele dieser Sachen stammen aus meiner privaten Sammlung,“ erklärt Tinie. „Ich habe das Shooting mit Jamie Kendrick zusammen gemacht, der bereits mit vielen Künstlern zusammengearbeitet hat, die ich respektiere. Ich wollte mich darstellen, wie ich bin, also habe ich alles mitgenommen, was ging und dann am Set kombiniert. Ich bin bei meinem Outfit heutzutage ziemlich kompromisslos. Ich habe viel über meinen Modestil gesprochen und bin stolz auf meinen Look, aber ich fühlte mich oft auch schlecht, weil ich so viele Klamotten habe. Ich hatte das Gefühl, das ein bischen herunterfahren zu müssen. Aber bei diesem Shooting konnte ich mich völlig ausleben. Alle liebten es, ich ganz besonders. Ich trage einen Burberry Pelzmantel, einen Bucket Hat von Alexander Wang und ein Vintage Shirt von Gaultier!

Zwei Nummer-1-UK-Singles in den letzten zwölf Monaten, neben Katy B und Jess Glynne, dazu ein „Junkfood“-Mixtape, das ihn im Underground kredibel hält – Tinie ist und bleibt ein Erfolgsmagnet. Glaubt er an das Gesetz der Anziehungskraft?

„Auf jeden Fall,“ antwortet er. „Ich glaube daran. Ich denke aber nicht, dass die Leute es allzu sehr verinnerlicht haben, ob nun in der Schule, am College oder in den Familien. Einige Menschen halten diese Ideologie, wenn man nur fest genug an etwas glaubt, es auch passiert, für ziemlich daneben. Bei mir hat das funktioniert und das tut es immer noch. Es ist ein Grundsatz, den ich sicher weitergeben werde, weil ich weiß, dass er wahr ist.“

Tinie Tempah beim Disturbing Ibiza am 10., 17. und 24. Juni, dazu am 2., 9. und 16. September im Ushuaïa, außerdem am 27. Juli im Ibiza Rocks Hotel

Related Posts

  • Published On: Juli 26th, 2022|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Juli 25th, 2022|Categories: Fotografie|
  • Published On: Juli 9th, 2022|Categories: Art & Design|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Musik|