The sailing club and school Club Nautico of Ibiza was founded in 1925, originally formed by a group of sailing enthusiasts  who came together to share their love of the waters which surround Ibiza. From this small group, the club has grown over the years to include a sailing school, which has trained some of the most competent and award winning sailors from the island, who continue to excel in local and international regattas, a strong testament to the quality of teaching and the pride that the school takes in its pupils.

The club is an important hub for sailors on Ibiza, and despite many attempts from large companies to purchase or rent the premises in the prime location on the port of Ibiza, continues to provide a much loved and thriving social point for the sailing community, as well as being one of the biggest sailing schools in Ibiza. Here, local children are given the chance to learn about the sea and develop their boating skills from a young age, with the invaluable experience and knowledge from the professional team.  Offering classes all year round the club has over 900 members, of which around 100 are still active sailors.

club-nautico-ibiza-style-007

We spoke to Sebastian Vidal Torres, Director of the Sailing School, who was born and raised on Ibiza, and first took to the waters at the tender age of nine years old. With 25 years experience of teaching children and young adults to sail, he tells us that his love for the sea, sailing and educating children is what drives him, and he explains that these days, children have so much more opportunity, equipment and skills available to them than when he began his sailing life! He tells us that these days, much of the sailing school activity takes place around the waters of Talamanca, since the year 200, as the waters around the main port of Ibiza are simply too crowded.

Of course, one of the most important factors in sailing is the wind, and this small island of ours is surrounded by powerful and unpredictable weather, with the wind being one of the most powerful forces of nature, one over which we have no control. A change in wind speed, temperature or direction can chance a peaceful, calm, fun filled day at sea into a potentially dangerous and even life threatening situation. He says that the Mediterranean Sea, so beautiful and clear, is much more unpredictable than the waters of the Atlantic, making it a riskier place to be out at sea.

This is why, Sebastian explains, it is of the utmost importance to be aware of the maritime forecasts, and he tells us that before beginning each day he checks three or four different meteorological websites, assessing each one and then making his own informed decision about the sailing day ahead. Of course, in days gone by, such websites were not available, and this is evident in the inherent knowledge of long time sailors, especially those native to the island, for example, fisherman who can spot in an instant when the winds are about to change and know instinctively to head for shore. These men and women understand the power and the force of the winds, and the need to have the utmost respect for their strength and speed.

club-nautico-ibiza-style-009

Another popular water based pastime in Ibiza is kitesurfing, again a high octane sport which relies on the unpredictable power of the wind. The shores of Cala Martina, S’Argamassa and Aguas Blancas are the most popular locations, but locals and kitesurfing experts warn that once again, you are putting yourself at the mercy of the wind, this most powerful of elements, and indeed, fatalities have sadly occurred in recent years. If you wish to indulge in this adrenaline filled activity, be sure to seek solid and sound advice from experts on the island before taking to the water.

Sebastian says that 15 knots is the perfect wind speed for an idyllic day of sailing, and that beginners should always take things slowly, learning and listening to advice from more experienced sailors until they begin to understand the secrets of the sea and the force of the winds that surround them. However, daredevils and more experienced sailors often delight in taking to the sea when the winds are higher, with increased speed and thrills, but of course they take with them a wealth of knowledge, and also exceptional physical strength which is imperative to be able to handle a vessel out at sea in high winds. The most dangerous of times to be out at sea, is when the island experiences one of its spectacular electrical storms, a rogue bolt of lightning hitting he mast of a boat can be catastrophic, and potentially fatal, this, Sebastian says, is the time when you absolutely shouldn’t be on the sea, no matter how experienced or strong you are!

The club is looking forward to seeing some of their prodigies compete in the upcoming regattas, with shining stars such as Victor Albert, Lucas Vetter, Marc Terrassa and Ivan Moreno amongst them. The next big regatta will take place on Mallorca,  the Gran Dia de la Vela at the Club Nautical Arenal , featuring 20 sailors from the club. The next event to take place on the island itself is the Balearic Championship, which runs from 26th until 30th August , and will feature more than 700 boats, followed by the Cruiser Class Regatta Jornadas Nauticas Pitiusas  which takes place over 3 days from September 18th-20th.

For more information about Club Nautico and all of the services they offer, see their website www.clubnauticoibiza.com

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 20th, 2022|Categories: Locations|
  • Published On: July 9th, 2022|Categories: Locations|
  • Published On: June 3rd, 2019|Categories: Locations|
  • Published On: October 20th, 2017|Categories: Locations|
  • Published On: September 26th, 2017|Categories: Locations|

Der Segelclub/-schule Club Nautico auf Ibiza wurde 1925 gegründet. Ursprünglich war es nur eine kleine Gruppe passionierter Segler, die zusammenkamen, um sich auszutauschen, verbunden durch ihre Liebe zu den Gewässern rund um Ibiza. Aus dieser kleinen Gruppe heraus ist der Club jedes Jahr weiter gewachsen und die Segelschule kann inzwischen erfolgreiche und preisgekrönte Absolventen vorweisen, die national und international Segelregatten bestreiten. Eine große Bürde, die die Schule aber gerne trägt und diesen Stolz auch an seine Schüler weitergibt.

Der Club ist ein wichtiger Treffpunkt für Ibizas Segler und trotz vieler intensiver Bemühungen von Großunternehmen, die Räumlichkeiten des Clubs in bester Lage im Hafen zu übernehmen, ist der Segelclub sich und seiner Gemeinschaft treu geblieben. Er bleibt weiterhin auch sozialer Bezugspunkt für die Segelcommunity. Hier bekommen Kinder die Möglichkeit, alles über das Meer zu lernen und ihre seglerischen Fähigkeiten weiter auszubauen und das mit Hilfe eines Profiteams, das über einen Schatz an Erfahrungen verfügt. Es gibt das ganze Jahr über Kurse und Klassen, der Club hat 900 Mitglieder, rund 100 davon sehr aktiv.

club-nautico-ibiza-style-007

Wir sprachen mit Sebastian Vidal Torres, dem Leiter der Segelschule. Geboren und aufgewachsen auf Ibiza, schipperte er bereits mit neun Jahren auf den Gewässern der Insel. Seit 25 Jahren vermittelt er sein Wissen an Kinder und junge Erwachsene. Seine Liebe zum Meer fließt voller Leidenschaft in die Schulung der Jugendlichen ein. Er erklärt uns, dass die Kinder heute sehr viel mehr Möglichkeiten haben, aber auch über bessere Ausrüstungen verfügen, als zu seiner Kinderzeit. Heutzutage finden die Aktivitäten auf dem Wasser mehr rund um Talamanca statt, da die Gewässer seit 2000 rund um den Haupthafen von Ibiza einfach zu voll sind.

Einer der wichtigsten Faktoren beim Segeln ist der Wind. Rund um die kleine Insel herrscht ein kräftiges, oft auch unvorhersehbares Wetter. Wind ist einer der mächtigsten Kräfte der Natur, und wir können ihn nicht kontrollieren. Eine Änderung der Windgeschwindigkeit, Temperatur und Richtung können einen ruhigen und friedlichen Tag auf dem Meer zu einer potentiell gefährlichen – manchmal auch lebensbedrohlichen Situation werden lassen. Er erklärt uns, dass das Mittelmeer, so schön und klar es ist, oft viel unberechenbarer sein kann, als der Atlantik.

Das ist der Grund, so führt Sebastian aus, warum es so wichtig ist, die meteorologischen Vorhersagen genau zu checken. Jeden Tag prüft er in der Früh drei oder vier unterschiedliche Webseiten mit meteorologischen Vorhersagen, fasst die Ergebnisse zusammen und trifft erst dann die fundierte Entscheidung, wie der Segeltag auf dem Wasser aussehen wird. Natürlich standen in früheren Zeiten diese Onlineinformationen nicht zur Verfügung. Aber erfahrene Segler und auch die Fischer der Insel sind mit den Gegebenheiten vertraut und wissen, wann die Winde drehen und wann man ans Ufer fahren sollte. Diese Frauen und Männer begreifen die Macht und die Kraft des Windes und haben Respekt vor seiner Stärke und Geschwindigkeit.

club-nautico-ibiza-style-009

Eine weitere sehr populäre Sportart auf Ibiza ist das Kitesurfen, eine Aktivität, die ebenfalls die Power des Windes benötigt. Die Ufer von Cala Martina, S’Argamassa und Aguas Blancas sind beliebte Treff- und Startpunkte für die Kiter. Einheimische und Kiteprofis warnen aber immer wieder vor den Gefahren des Windes, die in den letzten Jahren bereits einige Todesfälle gefordert haben. Adrenalinjunkies, die dieser Aktivität nachgehen, sollte sich vor dem Start von Experten beraten und auf lokale Besonderheiten hinweisen lassen.

Laut Sebastian sind 15 Knoten die perfekte Windgeschwindigkeit für einen idyllischen Tag auf See. Anfänger sollten es immer langsam angehen lassen und den Profis aufmerksam zuhören und von deren Wissen profitieren, solange, bis sie selbst die Geheimnisse der See und der Winde verstehen und lesen können. Draufgänger und erfahrene Segler lieben natürlich das Meer, wenn es stürmischer ist. Die hohen Geschwindigkeiten sorgen für Nervenkitzel, aber erfordern auch eine Fülle an Wissen und auch an körperlicher Stärke, die zwingend notwendig ist, um ein Schiff bei starkem Wind zu navigieren. Eine der gefährlichsten Situationen auf See ist es, wenn eine Gewitterfront aufzieht. Ein Blitzeinschlag im Mast kann katastrophale Folgen haben und ist ein lebensbedrohlicher Moment. Bei einem Gewitter, so Sebastian, sollte absolut niemand auf dem Wasser sein, auch kein Profi, egal wie erfahren oder stark dieser ist.

Der Club beobachtete gespannt die letzten Regatten, bei denen einige seiner großen Talente starteten, wie Victor Albert, Lucas Vetter, Marc Terrassa und Ivan Moreno. Die große Regatta Gran Dia de la Vela auf Mallorca richtete der Club Nautico Arenal aus, 20 Teilnehmer waren allein vom Club dabei. Ein Erfolg auch die balearischen Meisterschaften vom 26. bis zum 30. August, die rund 700 Booten anzog. Im September folgt dann die große Cruiser Regatta Jornadas Nauticas Pitiusas , die über 3 Tage andauert, vom 18. bis zum 20. September.

Für mehr Informationen über den Club Nautico, Angebote und Kurse besuchen Sie bitte die Webseite www.clubnauticoibiza.com