There exists in Ibiza a place which has remained practically the same as it was 100 years ago. On the hill leading up to Puig de Missa in San Miguel, beside a beautiful fortified church, Can Xicu de sa Torre is a bar come tobacconist’s, one of those places which seems to observe the passage of time without interruption. It’s a charm-filled place that emits a sense of calm, almost impossible to find in Ibiza today.

“Even though it may appear almost impossible to believe, when I was young, San Miguel was really a fashionable place, on Saturdays, people came here to have their first drink, the bars were packed and there were dances for older people”, Tita Planells, the venue’s owner, tells us. The place has always been in the hands of her family and, two years ago, she took over from her sister, Cati, who in her turn had taken up the baton from her mother some years before in order to continue the legacy. For them, it is something “almost sacred”, and that is why they have made such an effort to maintain the venue’s true identity. As far as they remember back through their family history, the shop has been open for almost 130 years. It began with their grandparents’ godfather, who then handed it on to them. Later, it was run by their mother’s uncle, Xicu, from whom it got its name and who, whether it was because of his vision or austerity, created the original essence that it still conserves today .

During the times of Tita’s grandparents, the bar was the epicentre of the village’s social life. On Saturdays, even the Justice of the Peace used to drop in and it was also the location of the first branch of Banca March. In times of scarcity, when the men of the island emigrated to Cuba or Algeria, their grandfather was the person in charge of reading and responding to the letters that they sent there to their wives, most of whom were illiterate, as this was the local ‘post office’. They also held the key to the cemetery, and the priest gave their grandparents an enormous almond milk which still exists today. When it was time to prepare the salsa de nadal, a Christmas sweet that is typical in Ibiza, the entire village used to come with their little sacks of almonds to mill them one by one, “for free, of course”, Tita points out, and naturally, they used to stay around to have a drink in the bar.

In later years, the hippies began to frequent the place to pick up the money orders that their well-heeled families sent from all over Europe. It is from that era that the bar gained the faithful following of the mixture of diverse people and cultures which arrived, attracted by its unique tranquillity. You will find no music here, except when someone sets up an improvised concert, and there is only one table outside where people sit to have a long, relaxed conversation, or play backgammon with strangers. Everyone talks to everyone else just like Ibiza used to be.

During the Civil War, the Valencian painter, Amadeo Roca, spent a long time hiding in a well for fear of being imprisoned. Every night, he used to come out of his hiding-hole and go to the bar, where the grandparents used to give him dinner. Various paintings by the artist still decorate the walls as a testimony to that friendship. Villangómez, probably the most famous literary figure in Ibiza, spent five years as a teacher at the San Miguel school and used to go to the bar every night to play cards. As a reminder of the era that he always considered to be the most inspirational in his career, a statue of the poet still stands in front of Can Xicu.

The place has a small museum of traditional instruments and old photographs in its interior. This is because Tita’s father always had a passion for folklore and, also, with the priest’s help, he created the demonstration of baile payés (farmers’ dances) which has taken place each Thursday in the Church of San Miguel for the past 40 years. Sadly,the only thing you can no longer find here are the famous hierbas ibicencas that Cati Planells (and her mother and grandparents) used to prepare following a secret recipe. In spite of its success, they stopped making this around two years ago in order to avoid problems with the increase in health and safety controls. Irrespective of that, we highly recommend a visit to this most traditional of places which is a fitting tribute to an age of an Ibiza gone by which has been almost extinguished today.

Estanco San Miguel

Carrer de Missa
07815 San Miguel
+34 971 334 416

Es ist kaum zu glauben, aber es gibt auf Ibiza einen Ort, der praktisch seit fast 100 Jahren unverändert ist. Auf dem sanften Hügel in Puig de Missa in San Miguel, gleich neben der wunderschönen Festungskirche, steht die Tabak-Bar Can Xicu de sa Torre. Ein charmanter kleiner Platz, der eine Ruhe ausstrahlt, wie sie heute auf Ibiza nur noch selten zu finden ist und an dem ein jeder Gast herzlich willkommen ist.

„Man kann es sich vielleicht nicht mehr vorstellen, aber als ich jung war, war San Miguel ein wirklich angesagter Ort. Am Samstag kamen Besucher von der ganzen Insel, um hier ihren ersten Drink zu nehmen und zu späterer Stunde gab es Tanzveranstaltungen für die Erwachsenen“, erklärt uns Tita Planells, die Inhaberin der kleinen Bar. Can Xicu de sa Torre war schon immer in Familienbesitz und vor zwei Jahren hat sie ihre Schwester Cati abgelöst, die den Laden bereits von ihrer Mutter übernommen hatte. Für sie ist dieses Erbe fast „etwas Heiliges“ und es bestand nie ein Zweifel darüber, dass der Laden genauso weitergeführt wird wie bisher. Vor 130 Jahren wurde der Tabakladen vom Paten der Großeltern eröffnet und nach seinem Tod an diese weitervererbt. Später übernahm der Onkel von Titas Mutter (Xicu) die Bar, von dem sie auch ihren Namen, das Konzept und ihre ursprüngliche Essenz erhielt, an dem heute noch konsequent festgehalten wird.

In der Zeit von Titas Großeltern war die Bar das Epizentrum des gesellschaftlichen Lebens von San Miguel. Kein Samstag verging, ohne dass der Friedensrichter auf ein Glas vorbei kam und auch Banca March eröffnete hier ihre erste Außenstelle. In der Krisenzeit, in der die Männer der Insel nach Kuba oder Algerien auswanderten um Geld zu verdienen, schrieb und verlas Titas Großvater die Briefe der Familien (oft Analphabeten) und fungierte als Postamt. Selbst der Schlüssel für den Friedhof wurde hier deponiert, im Gegenzug schenkte der Pfarrer der Familie eine besondere Mandelmilch, die noch heute zubereitet wird. Wenn es im Winter Zeit wurde, die salsa de nadal zuzubereiten, eine Süßigkeit zu Weihnachten, dann kamen die Bewohner und ließen ihre Mandeln hier mahlen, „natürlich kostenlos“, wie Tita betont, „aber dafür wurde dann auch ein Gläschen getrunken“.

Erst in den darauf folgenden Jahren wurde die Bar auch zum Treffpunkt der vielen Hippies, die hier die Geldsendungen ihrer wohl etwas betuchteren Familien aus Europa abholten. Seit dieser Zeit ist die Bar ein Tummelplatz für Menschen aller Schichten und Kulturen, die von der einzigartigen Atmosphäre des Ortes angezogen werden. Es gibt keine Musik, außer es stimmt jemand spontan ein Lied an und es gibt nur einen Tisch, an dem alle gemeinsam sitzen, miteinander sprechen oder Backgammon spielen.

Während des Bürgerkrieges versteckte sich der Künstler Amadeo Roca aus Valencia in einem Brunnen ganz in der Nähe und kam erst spät am Abend aus seinem Versteck heraus. Dann ging er in die Bar und aß mit den Großeltern zu Abend. Einige Bilder des Künstlers schmücken diese noch heute und sind ein Vermächtnis dieser tiefen Freundschaft. Mariá Villangómez, einer der bedeutendsten Literaten Ibizas, lehrte 5 Jahre lang an einer Schule in San Miguel und kam jeden Abend in die Bar, um Karten zu spielen. Eine große Statue vor Can Xicu erinnert an diesen außergewöhnlichen Schriftsteller.

Der Laden beherbergt noch heute ein kleines Museum mit traditionellen Instrumenten und alten Fotografien. Titas Vater pflegte eine große Leidenschaft zur Folklore und mit Hilfe des Pastors organsierte er einen wöchentlichen Umzug der baile payés, der traditionellen Bauerntänze. Das Einzige, was Sie in der Bar leider nicht mehr probieren können, ist der hausgemachte hierbas ibicencas, den Cati Planells (und ihre Mutter und ihre Großeltern) nach einem geheimen Familienrezept herstellten. Trotz des großen Erfolges haben sie den Ausschank aufgegeben, um Probleme mit dem Gesundheitsamt und den neuen Sicherheitsbestimmungen zu vermeiden. Unabhängig davon sollten Sie es nicht versäumen, diesem verträumten kleinen Platz einen Besuch abzustatten, er ist ein Kleinod Ibizas und eine Hommage an eine längst vergangene Zeit.

Estanco San Miguel

Carrer de Missa
07815 San Miguel
+34 971 334 416