For an ardent wine devotee such as myself, stepping into Vino & Co for the first time is like entering Aladdin’s cave. Run with vigour and passion by the ebullient Jeroen Hamersma and his daughter Rosa, it is their obvious passion for what they have created here which makes Vino & Co such an exceptional place. The concept was born from Jeroen’s hobby, great wine, and inspired by his brother Harold, Holland’s most renowned wine critic, he has succeeded in creating his dream, a place where true wine lovers can find gems and treasures to delight their palate.

Working closely with smaller, high quality bodegas, and eschewing the well known brands so familiar on every wine list on the island, 75% of their wines come from Spain, often from wineries which are forward thinking in an environmental sense, and Vino & Co are helping to bring these wineries to the attention of a new wave of wine lovers. Indeed, laughs Jeroen, even his brother is always amazed by the new wines that he manages to find, and this is a man who tastes more than 8,000 wines every year! Vino & Co do their utmost to represent the taste of the Northern European and modern wine lover.

A veritable treasure trove of sumptuous wines, this is the go to place for every well respected restaurant and the most knowledgeable sommeliers on the island to source the perfect wines to complement their menus. However, Jeroen explains, they are not aiming to take over the whole wine list of these restaurants, rather to offer something very different to their list, of course he understands that the easily recognisable brands must still be included, but by including exquisitely different references, Vino & Co are able to really excite and delight the palate. This benefits the restaurants in question, because more and more high class venues are relying on Vino & Co for their high quality wines, knowledge and passion and outstanding service. Wine lovers are becoming more and more adventurous and educated about wine and these days, big brands can quite easily bore an educated palate.

However, as I discover on my visit, Vino & Co offer much, much more than wine alone. For example, the intriguing selection of vodka, gin and two different kinds of rum, sourced directly from the bio and eco distillery of Josef Farthofer in Austria. These spirits are so pure that they make other brands pale into comparison. In fact, so protective is Josef of the purity of his drinks that when asked to give a recipe for visiting cocktail maker extraordinaire Chris Edwardes, he refused, as he said that to put these exceptional spirits into a cocktail is a waste, in fact, he considers it a crime to even add an ice cube!

There is also a fabulous Vermouth, which comes from Tarragona, a unique, artisanal concoction of herbs and spices, which at first, Jeroen says he was reluctant to even try, as for him, Vermouth conjured up images of the 70’s, the smell and the taste reminding him of ht goodnight kiss of his mother! However, so persuasive was the vendor who brought the vermouth to him, the man ran across the street to buy an orange, sliced it into a glass with some ice, and after two seconds, the bittersweet taste was so amazing that Jeroen immediately ordered 200 bottles on the spot.

A long term passion for Japanese food plus a shared love of music and drinking has also brought together the renowned DJ and sake lover Richie Hawtin and Jeroen, and as well as becoming great drinking buddies, they are also working together to curate the very best selection of sake to be found anywhere on the island. Through an alliance with Richie, Nagai restaurant and the Ministry of Sake in Japan, their ever expanding selection includes 10 very high end sakes, which will delight any true aficionado.

vino-co-ibiza-style-005

So, with the season coming to a close, what can we expect from Vino & Co over the winter months? In fact, this is the time that the place really comes to life, hosting some innovative and inspiring events pairing food with wine. Each Friday brings Bebe Viernes, an open and welcoming chance to sample some of the fabulous wines from their collection. It began as just a small gathering for around 15 friends, but as word spread, the weekly gatherings were attended by up to 90 people.. total chaos laughs Jeroen! The philosophy behind this is to educate people and introduce them to the world of good wine. It’s difficult, you can obvioulsy learn technical things on a course – but really it’s all about tasting! That’s the exciting part explains Jeroen, wine is fun! It’s an adventure to be explored and relished – a lifestyle.

They also host a Table d’Hote every other Thursday, offering a platform for restaurants and private caterers on the island to showcase their culinary delights to a wider audience. These events can include up to 30 people and Vino & Co offer  wine suggestions with menu, alternatively, guests can  choose any wine they wish from their extensive selection and simply pay the price of bottle plus 10€ corkage giving people the chance to taste the quality for a minimal corkage fee. These events attract a varied crowd and the visiting caterers prepare a 5 course menu costing just 30-40 euros per person.  Previous hosts have included Can Domingo and Catering Frances, and even Jeroen himself has cooked, his own Burgundy style food – rich and unhealthy, he laughs!

So, should you desire something exceptional for your table, villa or boat, Vino & Co is undoubtedly the place to go. They offer an online ordering system where you can place and advance order to be delivered directly to your villa, ensuring your Ibiza experience begins with the very best wine. Vino & Co will go to extreme lengths to make sure everything is there on time. It can be a challenge, says Rosa – but they do it!

Keep an eye on their Facebook page  www.facebook.com/VinoyCoIbiza  for all upcoming events and pop ups happening in the very near future.

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 20th, 2022|Categories: Locations|
  • Published On: July 9th, 2022|Categories: Locations|
  • Published On: June 3rd, 2019|Categories: Locations|
  • Published On: October 20th, 2017|Categories: Locations|
  • Published On: September 26th, 2017|Categories: Locations|

Als ich das erste Mal den wunderbaren Laden Vino & Co betrat, war es für mich, dem glühenden Weinliebhaber, als ob ich Aladins Schatzhöhle gefunden hätte. Die übersprudelnde Herzlichkeit des Besitzers Jeroen Hamersma und seiner Tochter Rosa sowie die Energie und die Leidenschaft mit der sie die Weinhandlung betreiben, machen diesen Ort so außergewöhnlich. Das Konzept basiert auf Jeroens Hobby (der Liebe zu gutem Wein) und wurde inspiriert durch Jeroens Bruder Harald, einem der renommiertesten Weinkritiker Hollands. Ein Traum wurde Wirklichkeit. Für Jeroen, aber auch für seine Kundschaft.

Die Zusammenarbeit mit kleinen, qualitativ hochwertigen Weingütern und damit der Verzicht auf große, bekannte Anbieter, die fast auf jeder Weinkarte zu finden sind, ist nicht nur ein mutiger Schritt, sondern der einzig richtige. 75 Prozent seiner Weine stammen aus Spanien, bevorzugt von Weingütern, die zukunftsweisend in ökologischen Weinanbau investieren. Und natürlich, so lacht Jeroen, ist auch immer wieder ein besonderes Fundstück von Harald dabei, der 8000 Weine im Jahr testet. Jeroen orientiert sich bei der Auswahl seiner Weine am Geschmack nordeuropäischer, dem Neuen aufgeschlossener Weinliebhaber.

Diese hochklassige Schatzkiste hervorragender Weine zieht auch die Aufmerksamkeit der Inselrestaurants auf sich. Erstklassige Sommeliers geben sich die Klinge in die Hand, um hier neue Weine zu ihren Menüs zu testen. Jeroen ist sich bewusst, dass die großen Namen und Marktführer nicht von den Weinkarten verschwinden werden, aber freut sich, dass seine Weine wohlplatziert nun bei immer mehr Gästen für Gaumenfreuden sorgen. Da Vino & Co zunehmend an Ansehen gewinnt, und von Weinkennern längst für die hohe Qualität und das hervorragende Fachwissen geschätzt wird, ist es auch für Restaurants von Vorteil, einen Wein aus seinem Sortiment auf der Karte zu haben. Heutzutage kennen sich Weinliebhaber sehr gut aus; sind abenteuerlustiger geworden – auch die bekannten Marken müssen sich der Kritik dieser geschulten (Amateur-)Gaumen stellen.

Etwas das mir sofort auffällt ist, dass Vino & Co mehr bietet als nur gute Weine. Eine faszinierende Auswahl an Wodka, Gin und zweier verschiedener Arten Rum aus der österreichischen Bio-Edeldestillerie Josef Farthofer überzeugen. Diese Hochprozenter sind so rein, dass sie andere Marken im Vergleich blass aussehen lassen. Diese Reinheit zu bewahren ist Josef Farthofer ein besonderes Anliegen. So musste sich auch der erstklassige Barkeeper Chris Edwardes, als er einen Cocktail mit Farthofer Erzeugnissen kreieren wollte, anhören, dass bereits die Verfremdung seiner Erzeugnisse durch einen Eiswürfel ein Verbrechen sei!

Ein weiteres Juwel: Ein Vermouth aus Tarragona, einzigartig in seiner Zusammenstellung an Kräutern und Gewürzen, der, so gibt Jeroen etwas widerstrebend und wehmütig zu, ihn zunächst an die 70er Jahre und den Gutenachtkuss seiner Mutter erinnerte. Doch der Verkäufer, der ihn diesen Vermouth offerierte, war so überzeugt, dass er schnurstracks über die Straße lief, eine Orange kaufte, ein kleines Stück mit einem Eiswürfel in ein Glas füllte, mit Vermouth ergänzte und – et voilà – es entfaltete sich ein wunderbarer, bittersüßer Geschmack, der Jeroen sofort 200 Flaschen bestellen ließ.

Seine Leidenschaft für die japanische Küche brachte Jeroen mit DJ und Sakeliebhaber Richie Hawtin zusammen, verbunden durch ihre Liebe zu Musik und zum Trinken. Inzwischen sind beide Freunde geworden und arbeiten gemeinsam an einer Auswahl der besten Sake, die auf der Insel zu finden sind. Durch die Zusammenarbeit mit Richie, dem Nagai Restaurant und dem Ministerium für Sake in Japan kann Jeroen zehn der feinsten Sakekreationen präsentieren, die jeden Kenner begeistern werden.

vino-co-ibiza-style-005

Nun, da sich die Saison dem Ende zuneigt, sind wir gespannt auf das, was wir von Vino & Co in den Wintermonaten erwarten dürfen und das ist einiges. Immer freitags trifft sich eine große, gesellige Runde zu Bebe Viernes, einer Veranstaltung, bei der Weine verkostet werden können. Erst waren es nur 15 Freunde, die sich hier regelmäßig trafen, aber nun kommen hier rund 90 Weinliebhaber zusammen, ein totales Chaos, lacht Jeroen. Die Philosophie hinter diesen Treffen: Menschen in die Welt des guten Weines einzuführen, um ihre Gaumen zu schulen. Natürlich lernt man hier theoretische Dinge, so Jeroen, aber wichtig sei es letzten Endes, schmecken zu können. Das ist das Credo bei Bebe Viernes: Wein ist Freude! Es ist ein Abenteuer, das genossen werden möchte und ein Lebensstil!

Jeden zweiten Donnerstag locken kulinarische Gaumenfreuden: Table d’Hote ist eine Plattform für Restaurants und private Caterer, die hier ihre Kochkünste einem breiteren Publikum präsentieren. Bis zu 30 Personen können sich hier verwöhnen lassen, Vino & Co begleitet das Essen mit seinen köstlichen Weinen. Jeder Gast kann aber auch selbst wählen und zahlt dabei lediglich den Flaschenpreis plus 10 Euro Korkgeld. Eine tolle Gelegenheit, um hochwertige Weine zu testen. Dieses Event zieht ein buntes Publikum an (eine fantastische Atmosphäre) und ein 5-Gänge-Menü liegt nur bei 30 bis 40 Euro. Gastgeber waren bereits das Can Domingo und der Catering Service Frances. Aber auch Jeroen hat die Gäste schon mit seinen Kochkünsten aus dem Burgund verwöhnt, reichhaltig und ungesund, schmunzelt er.

Wann immer Sie sich etwas Außergewöhnliches wünschen für Ihren Tisch, Villa oder Boot: Vino & Co wird Sie nicht enttäuschen. Es gibt auch ein Onlinesystem, in dem Bestellungen vorgenommen werden können – ein Lieferservice fährt dann direkt zum Anwesen, auch bereits vor Ankunft der Gäste, so beginnt die Ibizazeit perfekt! Eine logistische Herausforderung, aber Rosa macht alles, um die Kunden zufriedenzustellen.

Behalten Sie die Facebookseite www.facebook.com/VinoyCoIbiza  im Auge – hier finden Sie Informationen über Veranstaltungen und tolle Happenings.