A whole range of the most highly varied disciplines coexist in Heart Ibiza: the artistic creativity and magic of Cirque du Soleil along with styles of cooking from all over the world under the unique label of Ferran and Albert Adrià.

Heart Ibiza has been conceived to be experienced in a different way every day. It’s all continuously evolving; gastronomic innovations on a daily basis along with different performances and visual stimuli as well as impromptu musical “happenings” create a world of sensations that varies as the evening progresses into the early hours of the morning.

Albert was kind enough to make time in his busy schedule to answer a few questions for the readers of Ibiza Style.

Are you happy with the way things have gone so far?  

Ibiza is a special place and it takes time to establish a rhythm, especially when the season is so short. Considering that we started late, we are very satisfied with how things have gone.

All chefs place great emphasis on the raw ingredients they use; how important are they for you? 

For me, they’re absolutely essential. We’ve got a system whereby if the suppliers don’t bring us first rate raw ingredients, they can just take them straight back again. I only want the very best. Both fish and vegetables can be difficult to get at this time of year, especially fish. For example, I would prefer to prepare some really fresh, high quality mackerel than use tuna that is not up to scratch.

How do you intend to adjust your gastronomy to Ibiza’s diners?

That’s a good question.  In the end, there’s good food and bad food and that’s true of diners, too. I’m adapting to what clients ask for.  Diners are looking for something here that they can’t find elsewhere; they want special things. To give you an example of one recent innovation, upstairs on the Terrace we have just introduced a dish of ramen, or Chinese noodles, served with a frozen sauce and it’s proving really popular. The fact that we’re starting to get repeat diners is very encouraging. It’s a year of trying things out; we’ll keep what works and throw out what doesn’t. So far, in the six weeks we’ve been open, we’ve already gone through seven or eight different menus.

Are there any local culinary traditions from the island that you plan to introduce at Heart?

If you remember, at the opening there was a stew based on an Ibizan recipe. As far as local produce is concerned, our only problem is that, since we require large quantities of fresh produce on a daily basis, not many local farmers are capable of handling that kind of demand.

Aren’t you concerned that the “performance” aspect that Cirque du Soleil brings to the enterprise is going to overshadow the cooking?

No: quite the opposite. I believe it will stimulate us to raise our game even higher. As I said, this year it’s a case of trying things out. We’re holding meetings all the time to work out how to fuse performance, music and gastronomy and when we manage to get it all absolutely right—by which I mean next season—that will be Heart.

Can you tell us about your relationship with Ibiza and how you see it evolving as an up–and-coming “hot spot” for haute cuisine?

My relationship is not very exciting, I come here to work!  In general, I think haute cuisine is a sign of how well a country’s economy is doing and the facts will back me up. In Germany, Belgium, England, and France they’ve got the best restaurants overall and that’s because the economies are doing well. Ibiza is another example although there is still a long way to go. Some people say you can’t eat well in Ibiza, but the level of gastronomy here is constantly improving. There’s better produce, more suppliers and an ever-greater range of places to eat.

It’s well known that you used to enjoy going out at night; is there anywhere in particular in Ibiza you enjoy? 

(Laughs)…I’d love to, but the truth is I’m simply too busy working to go out at night.

To what extent is your brother, Ferrán, involved in Heart?

He’s deeply involved. I send him daily reports and he’s very enthusiastic about the whole project.

Is there any particular activity or place in Ibiza that allows you to switch off? 

Yes, (laughs) Gran Hotel! I slip away for a quick dip there whenever I can. That and going for a nice relaxing stroll to the lighthouse in the evening. I love it.


albert-adria-ibiza-style-005

Ferran y Albert Adrià 

Ferran and Albert Adrià are fully entitled to call themselves the best-known brothers in the world of international gastronomy. Thanks to their willingness to communicate and divulge their work by means of presentations, conferences and books, they have succeeded in bringing about a “before” and “after” in cuisine around the world.

Guy Laliberté 

Guy Laliberté’s capacity for work has made him one of the clearest examples of success on both the financial and social level. An artist born with an inquiring mind, his urge to find out about the world led him to leave home at the age of 14. He rose to become the founder of Cirque du Soleil. Laliberté’s talent and creativity has extended to other fields in which he continues to inspire with the same energy and spirit that have characterised him all along. His latest project, Heart Ibiza—in partnership with the Adrià brothers—is further proof of it.

Frank Helpin 

Frank Helpin was born in Sept-Iles (Québec). He has been working with Cirque du Soleil for the past five years. Currently, he is the Creative Director of Cirque du Soleil Hospitality. Heart Ibiza has been a dream of Frank’s for the past two years; it’s a concept that he has been working on alongside the legendary Adrià brothers.

Related Posts

  • Published On: August 3rd, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: July 20th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: July 9th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: June 23rd, 2022|Categories: People|

Im Heart Ibiza koexistieren aus 3 ganz unterschiedlichen Disziplinen die besten ihres Faches: die magische Akrobatik des Cirque du Soleil, die besten Kochkünste aus der ganzen Welt, und die Regie der einzigartigen Gebrüder Adrià, Ferran und Albert.

Das Heart Ibiza wurde konzipiert, um jeden Tag einzigartig werden zu lassen. In einem ständigen kreativen Prozess wird hier an gastronomischen Innovationen experimentiert. Durch unterschiedliche Darbietungen, visuelle Reize und musikalische Improvisationen (Happenings) wird eine Erlebniswelt präsentiert, die sich im Verlauf eines Abends bis in die frühen Morgenstunden ständig verändert.

Extra für die Leser von Ibiza Style nimmt sich der vielbeschäftigte Albert Zeit, ein paar Fragen zu beantworten.

Sind Sie glücklich mit der derzeitigen Entwicklung?

Ibiza ist ein besonderer Ort. Es braucht seine Zeit um den richtigen Rhythmus zu finden, gerade weil die Saison kurz ist. In Anbetracht der Tatsache, dass wir spät gestartet sind, können wir sehr zufrieden mit dem Stand der Dinge sein.

Alle Küchenchefs legen großen Wert auf die Zutaten, die sie verwenden – wie wichtig ist das für Sie?

Für mich ist das absolut essentiell. Wir arbeiten mit einem speziellen System: Lieferanten, die uns mangelhafte Waren anliefern, müssen diese sofort zurücknehmen. Ich wünsche nur das Beste! Zu dieser Jahreszeit kann es schwierig sein, gutes Gemüse und Fisch zu bekommen. Aber ich verwende lieber eine Makrele von super Qualität, als einen Thunfisch, der nicht topfrisch ist.

Wie bewerten Sie Ihre Gastronomie angesichts der Gäste auf Ibiza?

Das ist eine gute Frage. Am Ende unterscheidet man doch nur in gutes oder schlechtes Essen und das entscheiden die Gäste. Es ist eine Frage des Kundenwunsches. Gäste sind auf der Suche nach etwas, was sie sonst nirgendwo finden. Ich gebe Ihnen ein Beispiel für die jüngste Innovation. Oben auf der Terrasse servieren wir nun die chinesische Nudelsuppe Ramen und kombinieren diese mit einer gefrorenen Sauce: populär und spektakulär. Nun dürfen wir erleben, dass die ersten Gäste wiederkommen, und das ist sehr ermutigend! Das erste Jahr ist ein Experiment, wir testen, was ankommt und was nicht. In den sechs Wochen, in denen wir nun geöffnet haben, haben wir über acht Menüs ausprobiert.

Gibt es lokale, kulinarische Traditionen der Insel, die Sie im Heart übernommen haben?

Wenn Sie sich erinnern, gab es am Eröffnungstag ein Stew, das auf einem alten ibizenkischen Rezept beruht. Das Problem mit den regionalen Produkten ist, dass wir eine große Menge davon benötigen und die hiesigen Bauern das Volumen nicht bewältigen können.

Sind Sie besorgt, dass die Performance vom Cirque du Soleil in Ihrem Restaurant von der Kochkunst ablenkt?

Nein, im Gegenteil. Ich glaube, dass es uns ermutigt, unsere Messlatte noch höher zu legen. Wie gesagt, in dieser Saison probieren wir uns aus und machen ein Feintuning was die Performance, die Musik und die Gastronomie betrifft. Wenn alles auf dem Punkt ist – und das wird es nächste Saison – dann schlägt das Heart im Takt!

Erzählen Sie doch was über Ihre Beziehung zu Ibiza und wie Sie die Insel bewerten als neuen Hotspot für Haute Cuisine?

Mein Ibizabezug ist nicht wirklich aufregend: Ich komme hierher, um zu arbeiten. Im Allgemeinen glaube ich, dass Haute Cuisine ein Zeichen für wirtschaftliche Stärke ist. In Deutschland, Belgien, England und Frankreich haben sie die besten Restaurants überhaupt und das sind attraktive Wirtschaftsstandorte. Ibiza ist ebenfalls auf den Weg dahin. Es gibt immer noch Leute, die sagen, hier kann man nicht gut essen, aber das Niveau der Gastronomie steigt stetig an. Es gibt immer bessere Produkte, hochwertigere Lieferanten und eine immer größere Auswahl an Restaurants.

Es ist allgemein bekannt, dass Sie gerne ausgehen, gibt es einen besonderen Ort auf Ibiza, den Sie bevorzugen?

(lacht) Ich würde sehr gerne ausgehen, aber die Wahrheit ist, dass ich einfach zu wenig Zeit dafür habe.

Inwieweit ist Ihr Bruder Ferrán in das Heart involviert?

Er ist eng eingebunden. Ich schicke ihm täglich Berichte und er ist sehr enthusiastisch.

Gibt es eine Aktivität bei der Sie oder einen Ort auf Ibiza, an dem Sie ausschalten können? 

Ja (lacht), das Gran Hotel! Hier gehe ich gerne kurz schwimmen. Oder am Abend ein Spaziergang zum Leuchtturm. Ich liebe es.


albert-adria-ibiza-style-005

Ferran und Albert Adrià 

Ferran und Albert Adrià gehören wohl zu den bekanntesten Brüderpaaren der gastronomischen Szene weltweit. Ihres Kommunikationstalentes sei Dank haben sie in zahlreichen Präsentationen und Publikationen die internationale Gastroszene in ein Vor- (den Brüdern Ferran) und ein Nachher geteilt – und das weltweit.

Guy Laliberté 

Guy Laliberté zu beschreiben, heißt einen Traum zu beschreiben. Der Kanadier, der bereits mit 14 Jahren als Straßenkünstler aktiv war, gehört zu den Gründern des Cirque du Soleil, einem Zirkuskonzept, das durch das Weglassen klassischer Elemente, wie Manege und Tiere, Weltruhm erlangte. Seinem Talent und seiner Kreativität ist es zu verdanken, dass dieses Konzept so erfolgreich wurde. Seine Energie und seinen Geist steckt er auch in viele neue innovative Konzepte, wie zum Beispiel nun in das jüngste Projekt der Adrià Brüder, das Heart Ibiza.

Frank Helpin 

Frank Helpin wurde in Sept-Iles (Québec) geboren. Seit fünf Jahren arbeitet er für den Cirque du Soleil. Derzeit ist er der kreative Direktor von Cirque du Soleil Hospitality. Zwei Jahre lang war das Heart Ibiza ein Traum von Frank, der dieses Konzept gemeinsam mit Ferran und Albert Adrià ausarbeitete, nun wurde dieser Wirklichkeit.

Related Posts

  • Published On: Oktober 22nd, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Oktober 19th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Oktober 10th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Oktober 5th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Oktober 5th, 2022|Categories: People|