The 28-year-old Boris Smit, better known to the dance music world as Beauriche, grew up in the Netherlands, in a small town called Breda in the south of the country. “When I was younger, Robbert Hardwell was and still is one of my best friends,” explains Smit. “We both DJd and shared the same passion for music. 10 years later, when Hardwell got his Ibiza residency, we were partying together and he said, ‘Dude, I’ve got to tell you something, I’m doing Ushuaïa this summer and you’re going to be opening the shows!’”

beauriche-ibiza-style-003

In 2014, Beauriche opened seven of Hardwell’s Ushuaïa parties. Last summer he performed at the esteemed Playa d’en Bossa venue five times. “Normally when you DJ in clubs you do so in a nighttime environment which is totally enclosed,” Smit continues. “At Ushuaïa it’s open, which is why you have to play more vocals, because when you’re outside the beats escape into the open air. You have to keep it warm and melodic. That’s what works best. If you only play beats and you’re standing 200 metres from the speakers you’re not going to hear all the elements of the song.”

Hailing from the same town as fellow Dutch DJ/producers Tiësto, Hardwell, Funkerman, Dannic and Fedde Le Grand, it seems Beauriche’s future was always going to be behind the decks. “There must be something in the water,” Smit laughs, “or maybe in the beer! Tiesto actually owned a shop in Breda called the Magic Store. That’s where we bought our records. Fedde Le Grand was working behind the counter, so was Funkerman. They were our heroes. We would chat with them and hang at the shop. Today, everyone inspires everyone else. We can drink a beer together, party together, help each other out in the studio – Robbert, Dannic, Funkerman and me still give each other production tips. We’re just really honest with each other. It’s all based on friendship.”

In addition to DJing and composing his own brand of groove laden house music, Beauriche also runs an exclusive party concept called The Fat Black Pussy Cat, which he co-promotes with DJ Roog. In the Netherlands, Beauriche and Roog went back-to-basics, hosting their event at the legendary De Spock nightclub in Breda, where Tiësto’s career began and Hardwell played when he was just fifteen years old. “It’s a really small, intimate party,” Smit explains. “It’s only available for 150 people. After that there are no more tickets. The philosophy behind the Fat Black Pussy Cat is to mix cultures and musical sounds. It doesn’t matter whether you are 21 or 60; you’re going to enjoy it. This summer we’re going to do something similar in Ibiza together with Ibiza Style magazine, taking over a hotel rooftop in Santa Gertrudis on June 29. It’ll be the same concept, with only 150 people and really big DJs. It’s only for house music lovers. Fifty Dutch people, fifty English, and fifty guestsfrom the island, and we’re going to mix everyone up!”

Related Posts

  • Published On: August 3rd, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: July 20th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: July 9th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: June 23rd, 2022|Categories: People|

Der 28-jährige Boris Smit, in der Welt der Dance Music besser bekannt als Beauriche, stammt aus dem Süden der Niederlande, aufgewachsen in einer kleinen Stadt namens Breda. „Als ich noch jünger war, zählte Robbert Hardwell zu meinen besten Freunden und er ist es noch heute,“ erklärt Smit. „Wir DJten und teilten die Leidenschaft für Musik. Zehn Jahre später, als Hardwell seine Ibiza Residency hatte, feierten wir zusammen und er sagte zu mir: `Dude, ich sag’s Dir: Ich bin im Ushuaïa diesen Sommer und Du wirst die Shows eröffnen!`“

beauriche-ibiza-style-003

Anno 2014 tat Beauriche genau das bei sieben von Hardwells Ushuaïa-Partys. Im letzten Sommer trat er fünf Mal im angesehenen Playa d’en Bossa Club auf. „Normalerweise, wenn Du im Club auflegst, dann ist es nachts in einer abgeschlossenen Umgebung. Im Ushuaïa ist alles offen, daher musst Du mehr Vocals spielen, weil die Beats draußen viel stärker von der Luft verschluckt werden. Es muss wärmer und melodischer sein, dann funktioniert es am besten. Spielt man nur Beats und Du stehst 200 Meter von den Boxen entfernt, dann wirst Du kaum alle Elemente des Songs wahrnehmen.“

Beauriche stammt aus demselben Ort wie seine niederländischen Kollegen Tiësto, Hardwell, Funkerman, Dannic und Fedde Le Grand und es scheint seine Bestimmung gewesen zu sein, DJ zu werden. „Da ist irgendetwas im Wasser,“ scherzt Smit, „Oder vielleicht auch im Bier! Tiesto hatte damals einen Laden in Breda namens ‚The Magic Store’, dort kauften wir immer unsere Platten. Fedde Le Grand hat hinterm Tresen gearbeitet, Funkerman auch. Sie waren unsere Helden. Wir unterhielten uns mit ihnen, hingen im Laden ab. Heute inspirieren wir uns alle gegenseitig. Wir können ein Bier zusammen trinken, gemeinsam feiern, einander im Studio helfen – Robbert, Dannic, Funkerman und ich tauschen immer Produktionstipps aus. Wir sind einfach ehrlich zueinander. Alles basiert auf Freundschaft.“

Neben der Arbeit als DJ und Komponist seiner groovigen House Music, hat Beauriche mit The Fat Black Pussy Cat ein exklusives Party-Konzept am Start, das er mit DJ Roog betreibt. In den Niederlanden ging es für die beiden back to basics: Ihr Event hosten sie im legendären De Spock Nightclub in Breda, wo einst Tiëstos Karriere begann und Beauriche schon mit 15 Jahren auflegte. „Es ist eine kleine, intime Party,“ erklärt Smit. „Sie hat eine Größe von etwa 150 Leuten. Mehr Tickets gibt es nicht. Die Philosophie des Fat Black Pussy Cat ist es, Kulturen und Sounds zu mixen. Und es ist ganz egal, ob Du 21 oder 60 bist, Du wirst Dich amüsieren. In diesem Sommer werden wir auf Ibiza etwas Ähnliches veranstalten. Gemeinsam mit Ibiza Style geht es am 29. Juni auf die Dachterrasse eines Hotels in Santa Gertrudis. Es wird dasselbe Konzept sein: 150 Gäste und wirklich große DJs. Exklusiv für House Music Lovers. Fünfzig Holländer, fünfzig Briten und fünfzig Gäste von der Insel – und wir werden das alles mischen!“