“I want to turn the white island black” laughs Carl as we sit on the beach at No Name where he has been hosting a series of Detroit Love Affair parties this summer alongside his Detroit Love sessions at Space. It was always something of an irk for us techno lovers never to see one of the biggest artists on the planet in Ibiza, it took almost 20 years until he succumbed and finally hit We Love dropping Donna Summer and Steve Miller to a spellbound dancefloor.

What was it like coming here back then and being able to play anything you wanted I ask? “I think I inadvertently played these kind of Ibiza classics that made the island and the Balearic scene, but I didn’t even know that they were the important records when I played them. It just turns out that good music is appreciated everywhere, maybe not by the masses, but by those select few who really make a difference.”

carl-g-ibiza-style-002

And make a difference is something that is close to his heart back in his home city of Detroit where he is now imploring the younger generation to start making techno. “To get a new generation of people making music is a preservation thing – and the only way that music can be preserved is by moving forward. The more that it languishes in the realms of people who have been doing this as long as me or longer, it’s like it seems we are seen as the only guys really doing it for our city. It loses its appeal to the next generation of people coming up, we need to always have a new generation of people that are making the music.”

The last time we spoke we talked about the gang problems in cities like Detroit and also another musical institution, Chicago. How does the land lie now? “The street gangs in Detroit are nothing like the ones n Chicago. But the crime that happens in Detroit has less to do with it being organised crime and more to do with it being random stuff that goes on. Of course there is some organised crime, I mean, there are casinos, but we don’t have the gangland stuff that is happening in the same way that Chicago has it right now.”

And as his Detroit Love Affair party starts to turn into overdrive, he gets up and wanders into the melee. “I think I have always made my mark on this island as I have always had good opportunities – playing parties like We Love, Cocoon and Vagabundos, so it is just a natural progression to do my own thing. And you know what? I’m having so much fun…”


First techno vinyl bought : Kraftwerk ‘Numbers’ in 1981

Favourite analog machine : Roland 808

Favourite producers of 2015 : Seven Davis JR and Thundercat


Detroit Love @ Space takes place on September 6th with Carl Craig, Magda, Octave One live and special guest…

Related Posts

  • Published On: October 19th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: October 10th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: October 5th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: October 5th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: August 25th, 2022|Categories: People|

„Ich will die weiße Insel schwarz färben“, lacht Carl. Wir sitzen am Strand beim No Name, wo er in diesem Sommer, zusätzlich zu den Detroit Love Sessions im Space, eine Reihe von Detroit Love Affair Partys veranstaltet hat. Es hat uns als Techno Lover schon ein wenig gewurmt, einen der größten Künstler des Planeten niemals auf Ibiza zu sehen. Fast 20 Jahre hat es gedauert, bis es schließlich doch geklappt hat und er beim We Love schließlich mit Klassikern von Leuten wie Donna Summer und Steve Miller den Dancefloor befeuerte.

Wie war es hierher zu kommen und einfach alles spielen zu können, was man wollte, will ich wissen. „Ich habe wohl aus Versehen diese ganz bestimmte Art von Ibiza Classics gespielt, aber ich hatte keine Ahnung davon, wie wichtig sie tatsächlicfür Ibiza und die Balearic Scene gewesen sind. Es ist einfach so, dass gute Musik geschätzt wird, vielleicht nicht immer von den Massen, aber grundsätzlich von jenen, die wirklich den Unterschied machen.“

carl-g-ibiza-style-002

Und den Unterschied zu machen – das liegt ihm auch in seiner Heimat Detroit am Herzen, wo er eine junge Generation dazu motiviert, Techno zu machen. „Eine neue Generation dazu zu bringen, Musik zu machen, ist lebenswichtig. Und es geht nur, indem man sich vorwärts bewegt. Je länger es in den Händen der Leute liegt, die es so lange machen wie ich, desto stärker wird das Empfinden, nur wir bestimmen den Sound der City. Der Reiz für die nächste Generation würde so irgendwann verblassen, daher braucht die Musik immer frisches Blut.“

Als wir das letzte Mal sprachen, ging es auch um die Problematik der Gangs in Detroit und einer weiteren musikalischen Hochburg, in Chicago. Wie ist die Lage jetzt? „Die Street Gangs in Detroit sind ein anderes Ding als in Chicago. Die Verbrechen in Detroit sind weniger organisiertes Verbrechen als vielmehr der alltägliche Kram, der leider passiert. Klar gibt es auch organised crime, allein durch die Casinos. Aber dies ist kein Gangland, wie es zur Zeit in Chicago vorzufinden ist.“

Und als seine Detroit Love Affair Party beginnt abzuheben, zieht es ihn in das Gedränge. „Ich denke, ich habe hier auf der Insel Akzente gesetzt, weil ich oft gute Gelegenheiten dazu hatte und diese ganz einfach genutzt habe – auf Partys wie We Love, Cocoon oder Vagabundos. Das ist für mich eine ganz natürliche Entwicklung, dass ich mein Ding mache. Und weißt du was? Ich habe soviel Spaß…“


Erste Technoplatte: Kraftwerk – „Numbers“ 1981

Analog Favorit: Roland 808

Lieblingsproduzent 2015: Seven Davis JR und Thundercat


Detroit Love @ Space findet am 6. September statt, mit Carl Craig, Magda, Octave One live und special guest…

Related Posts

  • Published On: Oktober 22nd, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Oktober 19th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Oktober 10th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Oktober 5th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Oktober 5th, 2022|Categories: People|