Santa Eulalia is embracing the arrival of a new venue, Chiringuito Blue, which encapsulates all the glamour you would expect from an Ibizan chiringuito with a truly exceptional culinary experience, quite unlike anything the town has been graced with in the past.

At the helm of this new gastronomic venture is renowned chef Haim Cohen. Having enjoyed an illustrious career in his home city of Tel Aviv, he comes to Ibiza with a wealth of experience, and a host of intriguing and frankly outstanding dishes.

Having fallen in love with food at an early age under the influence of his mother’s kitchen, he is self taught, and explains that when he began his culinary journey, the advantages which are available to young chefs today were not there for him, instead he honed his craft by travelling the world, embracing new flavours, cultures and bringing these influences together to create his own signature style.

He tells us that he loves to remain true to his roots, yet is not afraid to experiment with new versions of classic dishes, drawing on staples such as fresh pita bread, aubergines, and lamb stew, adding a unique twist to each dish.

He is supported on his quest to ensure that each service is better than the last by his protegee, Head Chef Tzvi Avisat, who was himself inspired to become a chef after reading an interview with Haim in a magazine, advising young people with aspirations in the restaurant world to travel, study and explore, which he did, spending three years at the Hoffman Culinary Institute in Barcelona, before returning to Tel Aviv, where he has spent the last 3 years working alongside Haim, forging a deep understanding of the same language of food.

Haim is passionate about making the most of the wonderful local produce available to him here on the island, sourcing local fish, which he says is some of the freshest he has ever tasted, using handpicked island herbs and adding olive oil from Ibiza in his dishes.

He describes the menu as perfect beach food, to be enjoyed on your luxuriant daybed, or in the elegant setting of the shaded restaurant area, and the food is simply divine. We tasted three dishes, recommended by Haim, beginning with sumptuous lamb, encased in handmade pitta bread and enriched with flavours of shallots,  local herbs and served spicy and cinnamon sauces.  A innovative take on a classic dish.

Next we were delighted by some excellent yellowtail sashimi, complemented by tomatoes, squeezed over the dish as if they were lemons, and the subtle additions of coriander and olive. A final serving of the ingenious ‘married sardines’ dish, where two fabulously fresh sardines are cooked together and then combined with bulgar wheat and aubergine, and then cooked in fresh breadcrumbs. Heavely.

Haim finished our conversation by telling us that being in Ibiza is a dream come true, to be cooking in the state of the art open kitchen whilst just a few metres away from the sea, a whole other world to the hectic, fast paced life in Tel Aviv, here he feels relaxed, and welcome the people who come to spend an idyllic day at Chiringuito Blue. After all, he laughs, food is what makes EVERYONE happy!

Chiringuito Blue

Paseo Maritimo, 15

Santa Eulalia

+34 971 331 331

www.chiringuitoblueibiza.com

Related Posts

  • Published On: October 7th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: August 29th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: August 28th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: August 26th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: August 17th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomy|

Der Neuankömmling in Santa Eulalia, das Chiringuito Blue, sorgt nicht nur durch seinen Beachrestaurant Glamour für Gesprächsstoff, sondern vor allen Dingen durch seine außergewöhnliche Kulinarik, die sich von allem abhebt, was es bislang in der Stadt gab.

Die Küche trägt die Handschrift des ersten israelischen Celebrity-Kochs Haim Cohen, der sich zu seiner glanzvollen Karriere in Tel Aviv mit dem Ibiza-Projekt einen weiteren Traum erfüllte und damit die faszinierenden Rezepte seiner Heimat auf die Insel brachte.

Bereits früh entdeckte Cohen unter dem Einfluss der guten Küche seiner Mutter die Liebe zur Kochkunst, die er im Selbststudium stetig weiter vorantrieb. „Zu meiner Zeit hatten Köche nicht die gleichen Möglichkeiten, wie die jungen Köche heute. Ich habe mir alles beigebracht, indem ich die Welt bereiste und neue Geschmacksrichtungen und Aromen sammelte, um daraus meine eigene Küche zu kreieren.“, erklärt Cohen.

Cohen betont, dass er seinen Wurzeln treu bleiben möchte, aber auch keine Angst davor hat, klassische Gerichte neu zu interpretieren. Ob duftendes Pita-Brot, Auberginen oder Lammeintopf, Cohen haucht jedem Gericht eine einzigartige Note ein.

Um sein Ziel, jedes Gericht noch besser zu machen als das vorangegangene, zu erreichen, lässt er sich durch seinen Protegé, den Chefkoch Tzvi Avisat, unterstützen. Avisat wurde durch ein Interview Haims dermaßen inspiriert, dass er seinem Vorbild folgte und, wie Haim in dem Interview riet, zunächst viel reiste, um kulinarische Erfahrungen zu sammeln. Unter anderem war er drei Jahre an der Kulinarischen Schule Hoffman in Barcelona, ehe er nach Tel Aviv zurückkehrte und dort die Zusammenarbeit mit Cohen aufnahm.

Haims Leidenschaft auf Ibiza gilt den lokalen Produkten. Er verwendet fast nur einheimischen Fisch, von dem er sagt, er sei der frischeste, den er je gekostet hat und arbeitet mit handverlesenen Inselkräutern und ibizenkischen Olivenöl.

Er beschreibt die Speisekarte des Chiringuito Blue als perfektes Strandessen. Wunderbar, um es auf einer der großzügigen Sonnenliege zu genießen oder im Restaurantbereich. Wir probieren drei Gerichte, die Haim uns empfohlen hat und starten mit dem saftigen Lammfleisch, das umhüllt von Pita-Brot serviert wird. Das Aroma der süßen Schalotten, der scharfen und süßen Dips sowie der würzigen Kräuter macht geradezu süchtig.

Ganz anders, aber ebenso verführerisch: Sashimi von der Gelbflossenmakrele, darüber ausgedrückt, als seien es Zitronen, Tomaten, kombiniert mit Koriander und Oliven, deliziös! Als Letztes eine Variante der „verheirateten Sardinen“: Zwei Sardinen aneinander gebraten, danach in frischen Semmelbröseln gewälzt, dazu Weizen-Bulgur und Auberginen. Einfach himmlisch.

Zum Ende unserer Begegnung erzählt uns Haim noch, dass er sich mit Ibiza tatsächlich einen Traum erfüllt hat: In einer offenen Küche zu kochen, nur wenige Meter vom Strand entfernt, in einer lockeren Atmosphäre, die so gar nichts mit dem hektischen Alltag der Großstadt Tel Aviv zu tun hat. Hier fühle er sich entspannt und begrüße voller Freude die Gäste des Chiringuito Blue. Aber, so lacht er, Essen mache ja JEDEN glücklich!

Chiringuito Blue

Paseo Maritimo, 15
Santa Eulalia
+34 971 331 331