He’s experienced highs and lows. Coming from a modest background, he had to earn a living at an early age. Aged sixteen, he was discovered by a jeans company and designed for brands such as Diesel, Lee and Levi. Finally, he became Chief Designer and Vice President at Von Dutch. He fell out with the company’s owner and quit. He had a heart attack and had to start again from scratch. He set up the T-shirt fashion label, ‘Ed Hardy’, and was a big success. Stars and starlets adore his style. He quickly built up the company into a world-wide fashion empire offering a broad range of products.

IBIZASTYLE_CHRISTIANAUDIGIERINIBIZA-002We met up with him on his eighty foot yacht HERE COMES THE SUN (price, around 2.5 million euros) at Ibiza’s new luxury harbour marina. Actually, he had only intended coming across for a few days from Saint-Tropez but liked it so much, he stayed for several weeks. “I’ve been to Ibiza many times,” said Christian, “but this is the first time on my own yacht. I really like it here. People are warm and friendly. It’s very different to Saint-Tropez. It’s much more relaxed and normal.”

Son, Dylan, is also on board and papa gives him the job of showing an RTL camera team the yacht’s luxury cabins. As I’m chatting with Christian Audigier on the aft deck, my mobile rings. It’s Pete Tong, inviting me to a birthday party round at his place. Christian says with a chuckle, “Right then, I’ll be seeing you tonight. I’ve got an invite too. Pete is a good pal of mine and his wife Carolina used to be with me.” “Great!” says I, “we’ll take photos of Carolina with her two men.” In the meantime, the TV team have caught up with us and follow our conversation with interest.

Christian, you don’t just print tattoo artwork on your T-shirts, you have some tattoos yourself.
Yes, I have. Here on my left arm, I’ve got my son, Dylan. On my right arm, my other son, Rocco and V.I.F for “Very important French”. On my back, I’ve got my daughter Cristal Rock, alongside a king-size version of my logo: Christian Audigier, established 1958 Los Angeles.

And yesterday, you got another one here on Ibiza?
Yes indeed. I had this cross done just yesterday afternoon here on the island. It took four hours and was very painful.

What does the cross mean for you?
You’ve seen the tattoos with the names of my children, well, this cross is in memory of my mother.

You know the best tattooists in the States and have used some of their work for your textile prints.
I’m always on the lookout for new designs. I’ve found an excellent tattooist here on Ibiza. I’m meeting him tomorrow to select some artwork for our textile prints. The backbone of my collections will always be T-shirts printed with tattoo artwork.

So you are working even though you are on holiday?
I work a lot and enjoy it. I love work. Especially this kind.

IBIZASTYLE_CHRISTIANAUDIGIERINIBIZA-005Which are your favourite spots in the Pitiusan Islands?
I adore Formentera. Malibu is my favourite beach on Ibiza and I love the Atzaró.

Normally, you cruise the Caribbean on your yacht. These last couple of days, you’ve been anchored off Formentera. Tell me, which area has the best waters, the Caribbean or Formentera?
Formentera! No contest. Formentera. The colours are out of this world.

You have an American cook on board but what do you think of the local cuisine?
Oh, it’s great. We eat paella all the time and I really like chorizo.
Ricardo Urgell, owner of Pacha’s, comes aboard out of the blue. A bottle of champagne immediately appears. Not just any old bottle, though, but one of Christian Audigier’s own brand.

Christian, what gave you the idea of producing your own champagne?
Ah well, you see, as a Frenchman, I am of course really passionate about wine. Wine is in my blood. I wanted to produce my own wine…

…which comes from Languedoc?
Yes, that’s right. We produce Ed Hardy Chardonnay, Syrah, Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and an Ed Hardy Rosé. For two years now, we’ve also been producing a Brut Premier Cru and a Rosé in the region. You can find our wines in all the clubs and best restaurants on Ibiza. I was in Amnesia’s a couple of days ago, when some Arab princes ordered 20 magnums of our champagne.

IBIZASTYLE_CHRISTIANAUDIGIERINIBIZA-001

Related Posts

  • Published On: August 3rd, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: July 20th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: July 9th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: June 23rd, 2022|Categories: People|

Er hat Höhen und Tiefen erlebt. Aus einfachen Verhältnissen kommend musste er schon früh sein eigenes Geld verdienen. Mit 16 wurde er von einem Jeans-Label entdeckt, wurde Designer von Jeans Label wie Diesel, Lee, Levis und schließlich Chefdesigner und Vice Präsident bei Von Dutch. Er überwarf sich mit dem Firmeninhaber und kündigte. Erlitt einen Herzinfarkt und musste wieder von ganz unten anfangen. Er gründete das T-Shirt Label Ed Hardy und hatte damit einen Riesenerfolg, Stars und Sternchen standen total auf seinen Stil. Schnell baute er sein Unternehmen weltweit zu einem wahren Modeimperium aus mit einer großen Produktpalette aus.ss

IBIZASTYLE_CHRISTIANAUDIGIERINIBIZA-002Wir trafen ihn auf seiner 80 fuss Yacht „HERE COMES THE SUN“ (Kostenpunkt rund 2,5 Mio. Euro) im neuen Luxushafen Marina Ibiza. Eigentlich wollte er nur für ein paar Tage aus Saint-Tropez nach Ibiza rüberkommen. Aber es gefiel ihm hier so gut, dass daraus mehrere Wochen wurden. „Ich war schon öfter auf Ibiza“ erzählt mir Christian „aber jetzt zum ersten Mal mit meiner Yacht. Es gefällt mir hier sehr gut. Die Menschen hier sind so nett und warmherzig. Es ist hier ganz anders als in Saint-Tropez. Hier ist alles viel relaxter und normaler.“

Sohn Dylan ist mit ihm an Bord und wird vom Papa gleich damit beauftragt, einem Kamerateam von RTL die Luxuskabinen der Yacht zu zeigen. Während ich mich mit Christian Audigier auf dem Achterdeck unterhalte, klingelt mein Handy und Pete Tong lädt mich zu seinem Geburtstag in sein Haus ein. Christian lacht und sagt „Dann sehen wir uns ja heute Abend schon wieder – ich bin auch auf der Party. Pete ist ein guter Freund von mir – und seine Frau Carolina war früher mit mir zusammen.“ „Prima“ antworte ich, „dann machen wir ein Foto mit Carolina und ihren beiden Männern.“ Inzwischen ist das TV-Team zu uns zurückgekommen und verfolgt interessiert unser Gespräch.

Christian, Du bedruckst nicht nur Deine Shirts mit Tattoo-Motiven, Du selbst hast auch einige.
Ja, hier auf meinem linken Handgelenk steht Dylan, mein Sohn, auf dem rechten Rocco, mein zweiter Sohn und V.I.F für “Very important French”. Auf meinem Rücken ist meine Tochter Cristal Rock verewigt sowie in Übergröße mein Logo: Christian Audigier, established 1958 Los Angeles.

Und gestern hast Du hier auf Ibiza noch ein neues hinzubekommen?
Ja, dieses Kreuz habe ich mir gestern Nachmittag hier auf Ibiza machen lassen. Es hat vier Stunden gedauert und war sehr schmerzhaft.

Welche Bedeutung hat dieses Kreuz?
Du hast ja die Tattoos mit den Namen meiner Kinder gesehen. Dieses Kreuz nun ist zur Erinnerung an meine Mutter.

Du kennst die besten Tattoowierer in den Staaten, von einigen hast Du Motive für Deine Textilprints übernommen.
Ich bin immer auf Suche nach neuen Motiven. Hier in Ibiza habe ich einen sehr guten Tattoowierer gefunden. Ich treffe mich morgen mit dem Künstler um ein paar seiner Designs für unsere Textilprints auszuwählen – denn die Basics meiner Collectionen sind nach wie vor mitTatoo-Motiven bedruckte T-shirts.

Dann arbeitest Du ja sogar im Urlaub?
Ich arbeite viel und gerne. Arbeiten macht mir Spaß. Und diese Arbeit ganz besonders.s

IBIZASTYLE_CHRISTIANAUDIGIERINIBIZA-005Was sind Deine Lieblingsorte auf den Pityusen?
Ich liebe Formentera, mein Lieblingsstrand hier auf Ibiza ist Malibu, und ich liebe das Atzaró.

Normalerweise kreuzt Du mit Deiner Yacht in der Karibik. Nun hast Du in den letzten Tagen mit Deiner Yacht häufig vor Formentera gelegen. Wo ist das Wasser schöner – Karibik oder Formentera.
Formentera! Ganz klar Formentera – das ist einmalig, diese Farben.

Du hast Deine amerikanische Köchin hier an Bord. Wie gefällt Dir die hiesige Küche?
Oh – wunderbar. Wir essen fast jeden zweiten Tag Paella. Und ich liebe ganz besonders Chorizo.
Unerwartet kommt Pacha-Inhaber Ricardo Urgell an Bord. Es wird sofort eine Flasche Champagner geöffnet – nicht irgendeiner, sondern natürlich Christian Audigiers hauseigene Marke.

Christian, wie kamst Du auf die Idee eigenen Champagner herzustellen.
Ach weißt Du, als gebürtiger Franzose bin ich natürlich eingefleischter Weinliebhaber, habe ich Wein im Blut. Da wollte ich natürlich meinen eigenen Wein produzieren…

…der aus dem Languedoc kommt?
Ja, dort produzieren wir den Ed Hardy Chardonnay, Syrah, Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot sowie einen Ed Hardy Rosé. Seit zwei Jahr nun auch in der Champagne einen Brut Premier Cru und einen Rosé. Wir sind damit in allen Clubs und guten Restaurants auf Ibiza vertreten. Neulich war ich im Amnesia, da hatten ein paar arabische Prinzen 20 Magnumflaschen von unserem Champagner bestellt.

IBIZASTYLE_CHRISTIANAUDIGIERINIBIZA-001

Related Posts

  • Published On: Oktober 19th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Oktober 10th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Oktober 5th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Oktober 5th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: August 25th, 2022|Categories: People|