Now he’s backing Oilmotion, an enterprise that has turned him into the great international ambassador of this product. Oil may be about to have its day…

How many stars should a chef who got rid of spare tyres be awarded?

None I think, now that having a dadbod is in fashion. But it’s true that a star in the kitchen or a restaurant is when the customer comes back and you feel proud of what you do. A restaurant is not just what you eat, but the overall experience you have and share. There are lots of stars that work too many spare tyres not off the customers but off those who are doing their very best every day with humility and constant hard work.

Is this culinary boom going to blow up?

I do hope not!! As long as we new chefs keep our feet on the ground to defend a job that is not a reality show but rather a great deal of sacrifice many hours a day.

In lots of other trades the bubble bursts but those who have done a good job have got a future and they’ll always be around. It’s what you call a classic; somewhere you can’t stop going, not because it’s trendy, but because of the idea, quality and respect.

How does the fact that cooking has taken off with the economic crisis go down?

Cooking didn’t take off with the crisis; it’s always been around in all shapes, colours, textures and more, but it’s true that with the reality shows it seems like we’re taking off.

The problem is that everyone thinks they can open a restaurant; that is true but it’s one thing to open one and quite another to run one. I’m a chef and I can assure you that however easy something as simple as painting a room or making a piece of furniture appears, I have to admit that I wouldn’t know how to set up a business in that field. You’ve got to really respect a professional because behind everything you see there’s a huge amount of work. Ours is a generation of chefs not because we are famous but because we understand that this job is a way of life.

How many chefs are having us on?

Ha ha, the truth is I don’t know, but it’s going to backfire on anyone who’s fooling people before they know it. The people who respect this line of work don’t have you on because they are professionals and should be recognised as such.

Will fast food end up being costly?

Good fast food always has been, is and will be expensive since behind every product there’s great expertise and respect. Saying whether something is expensive or cheap is very relative. Is bread with tomato expensive? It doesn’t just depend on the quality, as many people think. It also depends on whether you grow the wheat, the flour, the dough, you grow the tomatoes or you make the oil. As you see, behind every product there is respect and expertise. How do you work out the price of that?

What have we got to take not to choke on the upcoming (Spanish) elections?

Lots of water because it seems like a triathlon. The difference— apart from the effort— is that it never ends: in the sport they change discipline and everything changes but in politics the parties change and everything goes on the same.

If oil is liquid gold, then why is a skip full of olives so cheap?

Just like I said; many, many things are important when it comes to making good oil: studying the climate, the equipment, the weather, etc. And the most relevant thing of all, something to which we don’t attach much importance here but they do in other countries, is professionalism. Everything has a price and here, for many reasons, the customer no longer trusts anything or anybody. People think they can get rich by deceiving them and I assure you that in this line of work the person who loves what they do tries to give their very best at the best price. However, I’ll say once more that what you see or what it looks like is not the only thing that counts; the surroundings, where it’s come from and the quality also matter.

Is butter a rude word?

Lots of people butter us up ha ha ha, but the fact is that butter is like everything; good butter is something incredible even if many people have given us all sorts of things instead of butter and they’re the ones who really deserve rude words.

Will the United Kingdom leave the EU before olive oil is used in its frying pans?

No, the truth is I love the UK. For me, it is much more than an island about which people who do not know it say you can’t eat well there. I can assure you that after having spent many years living in that amazing country olive oil is used in many frying pans. However, it’s true that butter colonised the first great kitchens in London; though oil is used it is done so very sparingly because of the high cost of good olive oil.

When will there be a variety of olive oil that does not taste of oil?

I don’t think you’ve asked the question in the right way ha, ha, ha… There are already many olive oils that do not taste of olive oil. Let me ask you the question: when are all of the oils that are called olive oil going to taste of olive oil?

Prepare me a full menu for Rajoy and Puigdemont in a bilateral meeting in Ibiza.

A bowl of all i oli so that they agree on the meal and I’d start with a rustic salad with toast, tomato and dried fish with a good olive oil from the islands. After, either arroz de matanza or bullit so that they see you can eat fish with potatoes first and rice afterwards. For dessert, flaó with hierbas de Ibiza.

Do you think there’s been a two-party system in Spain of paella and ham?

I don’t think so! Because food isn’t politics; it’s culture. I can understand good bread with tomato with a good ham and I can understand good paella that can be just as good with or without onion, like a Spanish omelette, and there’s no accounting for taste. The last thing we need is not being able to say what we like or do not like. Just imagine if we started saying how we’d run the country or a football team!!

Tell me about a nightmare you’ve experienced in the kitchen

The truth is I’ve had quite a few but the worst nightmare is when you work with people who don’t love the profession, who lose respect for it and so this way of life too. But I know what you’re on about; I can assure you the truth is stranger than fiction. I prefer not to explain because then people know everything ha ha ha.

If all the Chinese jumped up and down at the same time would all the olives fall off?

Better they don’t jump, just in case.

Tell me an original recipe that you can make in the time it takes to read this interview.

While you’re reading the interview toast some bread over the fire or in a toaster, spread OilJelly olive oil jam on it, then grate 70% cocoa dark chocolate on it and add a little salt from Ibiza. The interview will be more amusing and the person reading it will understand a bit about me and what I was eating while I was being interviewed.

Related Posts

  • Published On: October 19th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: October 10th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: October 5th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: October 5th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: August 25th, 2022|Categories: People|

Mit der Firma Oilmotion ist er nun zum internationalen Botschafter seines Lieblingsproduktes aufgestiegen.

Wie viele Sterne verdient eine Kochkunst, die dick macht?

Wahrscheinlich keinen, auch wenn dadbods (Männerbäuchlein) wieder in sind. Aber ein „Stern“ ist es auch, wenn ein Gast zufrieden ist und wieder kommt, darauf sollte man stolz sein. Ein Restaurant ist mehr als nur die Küche, es ist ein Erlebnis, eine Erfahrung, die du mit deinen Gästen teilst. Kochen ist eine harte Arbeit und das hat nichts mit TV-Rampenlicht oder Sternevergabe zu tun. Hier lernt man, demütig zu sein.

Ist der kulinarische Boom bereits überhitzt?

Ich hoffe nicht!! So lange die neuen Köche die Füße fest auf dem Boden lassen und begreifen, dass es nicht um einen Reality Show, sondern um einen ernstzunehmenden Job geht, ist alles gut. Bei einigen ist die Blase bereits geplatzt, doch die Köche, die eine gute Arbeit machen, werden immer eine Zukunft haben. Echte Klassiker eben, die nicht nur trendy sind, sondern gut in ihren Ideen, ihrer Qualität und ihrem Respekt.

Kochaufschwung und Wirtschaftskrise, hängt das zusammen?

Kochen gehört zu unserer Gesellschaft, unabhängig von der Krise. Aber aufgrund neuer Präsentationen hat sich das Erscheinungsbild verändert und den Trend dadurch verstärkt.

Das Problem ist, das jeder denkt, er könne ein Restaurant eröffnen. Das Eröffnen ist auch noch einfach, aber das Ganze am Laufen zu halten, ganz und gar nicht. Ich bin Koch und ich versichere Ihnen, so leicht es auch aussieht, einen Raum zu streichen oder einen Tisch zu zimmern: Ich wäre unfähig, dieses zu tun. Man muss der Professionalität einfach Respekt entgegenbringen, denn dahinter steckt jede Menge Arbeit. Wir leben nun einmal in einer Generation bekannter Köche, aber nicht weil wir berühmt werden wollen, sondern weil es unserer Leidenschaft entspricht.

Wie viele Köche veräppeln uns also?

Ha ha, das weiß ich nicht. Aber ich wette, dass jeder, der versucht die Leute zum Narren zu halten, auf die Nase fallen wird. Menschen, die gerne kochen, werden nicht versuchen, jemanden über das Ohr zu hauen.

Ist Fast Food überteuert?

Fast Food hat es immer gegeben. Wenn das Produkt gut und es hochwertig verarbeitet ist, darf es auch etwas kosten. Doch was ist teuer und was ist billig? Ist ein einfaches Brot mit Tomate teuer? Es ist nicht nur abhängig von der Qualität, sondern auch von den Produkten dahinter: dem Weizen, dem Mehl, dem Teig, den Tomaten und dem verwendeten Öl. Wie Sie sehen, stecken hinter jedem Produkt eine Menge Arbeit und Know How. Wie wollen Sie also den Preis für etwas festlegen?

Was sollten wir konsumieren, um die anstehenden Wahlen (in Spanien) auszuhalten?

Eine Menge Wasser, wie bei einem Triathlon. Der Unterschied zum sportlichen Wettbewerb ist der, dass es kein Ende gibt. Im Sport wechseln die Disziplinen und es verändert sich alles. In der Politik wechseln die Parteien und alles bleibt beim Alten.

Wenn Olivenöl flüssigem Gold gleicht, warum sind Oliven so günstig?

Wie ich schon sagte, hinter jedem Erzeugnis steckt viel Arbeit. Gutes Öl ist nicht einfach herzustellen: Man muss das Klima studieren, braucht ein gutes Equipment und das Wetter muss mitspielen. Und es gibt noch einen wichtigen Grund, der hier bei uns leider oft nicht wertgeschätzt wird: Professionalität. Alles hat seinen Preis, aber viele Kunden haben ihr Vertrauen verloren. Es gibt viele Menschen, auch Händler, die glauben, sie können durch Betrug reich werden. Das schadet vor allen Dingen denjenigen, die ihre Arbeit lieben und dafür auch einen guten Preis verdient hätten. Aber noch einmal: Entscheidend ist nicht nur, wie die Produkte aussehen, sondern auch woher sie kommen und welche Qualität dahinter steckt.

Butter, ein böses Wort?

Hahaha, Butter ist natürlich kein böses Wort, sondern eine gute Butter ist etwas ganz Wunderbares. Aber es gibt eine Menge Menschen, die haben uns etwas serviert und als Butter verkauft, was den Namen nicht verdient.

Würden die Briten eher die EU verlassen, anstatt mit Olivenöl zu braten?

Nein, und ich gestehe, dass ich das UK liebe. Für mich ist dieses Land so viel mehr, als nur eine Insel mit dem Ruf, nicht kochen zu können. Nach vielen Jahren, die ich in Großbritannien verbracht habe, kann ich reinen Herzens versichern, dass es eine Menge Haushalte gibt, die Olivenöl verwenden. Allerdings muss ich auch zugeben, dass in vielen Londoner Restaurants Butter oder Öl anstelle von Olivenöl verwendet wird, oft wegen der höheren Kosten.

Wann wird es ein Olivenöl geben, das nicht nach Öl schmeckt?

Hahaha, ich weiß nicht genau, ob ich die Frage richtig verstanden habe. Es gibt eine Menge Olivenöle, die nicht danach schmecken, und daher drehe ich die Frage um, wann werden alle Olivenöle, die sich so nennen, auch danach schmecken?

Rajoy und Puigdemont treffen sich zu einem bilateralen Treffen auf Ibiza, was würden Sie kochen?

Eine große Schüssel all i oli. Nun, zunächst einen rustikalen Salat mit geröstetem Brot, Tomaten und Stockfisch, dazu einen Schuss feines Olivenöl von der Insel. Danach arroz de matanza oder bullit, damit sie sehen, dass man auch Fisch mit Kartoffeln essen kann und danach Reis. Zum Dessert flaó mit Hierbas de Ibiza.

Gibt es in Spanien ein Zwei-Parteien-System von Paella und Schinken?

Nein, das glaube ich nicht. Essen ist keine Politik, sondern Kultur. Ein gutes Brot mit Tomaten und feinem Schinken funktioniert genauso gut wie eine Paella, die mit oder ohne Zwiebel schmecken kann, genau wie ein spanisches Omelett. Über Geschmack lässt sich nicht streiten. Das Letzte was wir brauchen sind Gesetze, die regeln, was wir mögen dürfen oder wie wir Fußball zu spielen haben!!

Was ist für Sie ein Alptraum in der Küche?

Davon hatte ich eine ganze Menge, aber der schlimmste Alptraum ist, wenn Sie mit Menschen zusammenarbeiten müssen, die ihren Job nicht lieben. Aber ich weiß, dass Sie nun eigentlich wilde Geschichten hören möchten. Die behalte ich aber lieber für mich, denn die Wahrheit ist schlimmer als jeder Alptraum … hahaha …

Wenn alle Chinesen zugleich hopsen, würden dann alle Oliven von den Bäumen fallen?

Vorsichtshalber sollten sie das bitte nicht tun.

Verraten Sie mir doch ein Rezept, welches man in der Zeit zubereiten könnte, die es benötigt, das Interview zu lesen.

Rösten Sie ein Brot im Ofen oder Toaster, streichen Sie OilJelly Olivenölmarmelade darauf, raspeln Sie 70prozentige dunkle Schokolade darüber und ein bisschen Meersalz von Ibiza. Das Interview lese sich amüsanter. Zudem würde man mich besser verstehen und wissen, was ich während des Gesprächs gegessen habe.