Ibiza Style had the privilege of speaking to Richard Herd, who  has an extensive background with over 16 years experience in television production, and is now the head of Foodtube, Jamie Oliver´s incredibly successful online digital platform, and works together with the celebrated celebrity chef on all things digital. Communicating in an authentic way with a global audience, since its launch, Food Tube which was set up by Richard and Jamie together, has amassed over 2 million subscribers, over 180 million views and won many industry awards. They now have a boutique MCN of like minded chefs and a sister channel, Drinks Tube. Richard plays a pioneering role Involved in shaping the digital strategy for this multi layered company and leading his team across all digital and social platforms.

He spoke to us about how the channel was born, himself having become somewhat disillusioned with working on heavily formatted tv shows, he began to work with Jamie, who had himself noticed a shift in his audience, where he was still selling plenty of books, his television shows saw a dip in ratings, with more and more people watching the shows on catch up, engaging with the content but at a time convenient to them.

They began their experiments with Twitter casts, working to promote an American TV show, Food Revolution, and Jamie became so excited and enamoured by the webcast that he actually once missed the actual show they were promoting, he was so happy to be truly engaging with the audience for the first time in years, he really loved the interactions, and so Food Tube was born after they pitched the channel to YouTube.

Reaching new audiences who really want to learn about food, and using the power of clever content om a needs based solutions they realised they could really engage with their audience in this way. The videos are not an online TV show, more of a way to educate, inform, and most importantly show people ´How To´.. cook the perfect steak for example, one of their most watched videos.

Richard tells us that the videos have to be carefully edited according to which platform they are being broadcast on, for example, a Facebook video is usually 30-60seconds, as its difficult to engage for longer than that, however the FoodTube videos are usually around 5-7 minutes with an average view rate of 3-4 minutes, here, to fully benefit from the menu, which obviously has a start, middle and end, viewers need to watch all of the clip to see the finished product.

However, Richard says its not all about the number of views, they are not vloggers, this is disposable content, every day their videos get more and more view, as more people discover FoodTube, and they delight in sharing their creations with their audience. Jamie´s favourite platform is actually Instagram as Richard explains, he really buzzes off sharing the beauty of images of great food. They also use other social media platforms, such as Facebook and Snapchat to reach out to a younger, different demographic.

YouTube is not the end of the story, Richard concludes, rather the beginning of their digital journey, making content which is relevant to as many people as possible so that they can achieve their mission of looking after the superfast, and deliver what they are looking for. We predict big things for the future with this dreamteam of Richard and Jamie at the helm.

www.youtube.com/jamieoliver

Related Posts

  • Published On: October 19th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: October 10th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: October 5th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: October 5th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: August 25th, 2022|Categories: People|

16 Jahre Erfahrung im TV Business, unzählige Produktionen: Es ist ein Privileg mit Richard Herd zu sprechen, dem Kopf von Food Tube, einem der erfolgreichsten Online Channel für Kochwütige und dem Sprachrohr von Jamie Oliver. Diese authentische Art der Kommunikation (nah am Zuschauer)  liegt Jamie Oliver. Seit er gemeinsam mit Richard Food Tube gründete, konnte er über 2 Millionen Abonnenten für sich gewinnen und es werden täglich mehr. Mehr als  180 Millionen Mal wurden seine digitalen Publikationen angeklickt, das Format mit zahlreichen Auszeichnungen belohnt. Damit nicht genug: Es folgten eine Multi Channel Network Boutique mit gleichgesinnten Köchen und ein Schwesterkanal: Drinks Tube. Diese erfolgreiche digitale Strategie ist Richards Pionierarbeit zu verdanken, der  sein Team leichtfüßig durch die sozialen und digitalen Plattformen führt.

Zum Zeitpunkt der Geburtsstunde des Channels war Richard desillusioniert von den starren TV Formaten und traf damit den Nerv von Jamie, der ebenfalls eine Veränderung im Konsumverhalten seiner Fans feststellte. Während sich seine Bücher immer noch sehr gut verkauften, sank das Interesse an den TV Shows.  Die Fangemeinde war ungebrochen, suchte aber andere Kommunikationswege zum Starkoch.

Die beiden fingen an zu experimentieren, testeten Twitter Casts, förderten ein interaktives amerikanisches TV Show Format, Food Revolution, und mehr und mehr ergriff Jamie ein echtes Webcast-Fieber. Die Möglichkeit, eine eigene Show zu produzieren und damit wieder enger in den Kontakt zu seinen Fans zu treten, faszinierte den Briten, der damit nach jahrelanger einseitiger Kommunikation wieder in den Dialog treten konnte: Food Tube war geboren!

Schnell erfasste das Duo seine neue Zielgruppe, die zum einen an guter Ernährung interessiert ist, aber dafür neue Medien nutzt und cleveren Content bevorzugt. Die produzierten Videos sind daher weniger TV Show, mehr kleine Lektionen, die das „how to…“ in den Vordergrund rücken. Nicht umsonst zählt das Video „Wie brate ich das perfekte Steak“ die meisten Klicks.

Richard macht uns gegenüber deutlich, wie wichtig es ist, für jede Plattform das passende Format und die richtige Länge zu wählen. Bei Facebook sollten die Einspieler nicht länger als 30-60 Sekunden dauern, da das Interesse des durchschnittlichen FB Users dann nachlässt. Die Food Tube Videos haben 5 bis 7 Minuten Länge, bei 3-4 Minuten, die entscheidend für den Nutzer sind. Nachdem aber alles Anfang, Mitte und Ende haben muss, sind 7 Minuten schnell erreicht.

Allerdings, so betont Richard, geht es ihnen nicht nur um die Anzahl der Views, da sie sich nicht als Vlogger verstehen, die oft nur Einweginhalte produzieren. Immer mehr Menschen entdecken Food Tube, teilen diesen Kanal, beteiligen sich daran und lieben es, ihre eigenen Kreationen zu posten. Jamie ist ebenso ein großer Fan von Instagram verrät uns Richard. „Er liebt es, schöne Bilder von Gerichten zu posten“.  Andere soziale Plattformen, wie Facebook oder Snapchat, werden genutzt,  um auch das jüngere Publikum zu erreichen.

You Tube ist nicht das Ende der Geschichte, zieht Richard Bilanz, es ist erst der Anfang der digitalen Reise. Fortschrittlichkeit beim Kochen und in der Kommunikation, Präsentation und Publikation: Wir können von diesem Dreamteam noch große Dinge erwarten – und das sicher nicht nur am Herd!

www.youtube.com/jamieoliver