Today I am privileged to be exploring one of my teenage alter egos, I’m here to talk to four young Ibiza dancing nightclub starlets – Kamila, Inma, Maite and Lauren about their life and longings. These girls are making shapes at some of the world’s finest nights but what interests me is not just their obvious beauty and style – but how quick and clever they all are, not only in their moves but with their chat. I mean you have to be pretty streetwise to leave your hometown and get paid for doing something that all young people want to do in their spare time, dance to great music. Right?

Meet Kamila Moraczewska, out-worldly and magnetic…her little sister calls her Alien. She models and once represented Poland in Miss Universe. She left her home country at the age of 21 to live in Dublin, opening her own business and creating mystery-dining experiences for restaurants and bars there. Her philosophy in life is to take on a new adventure every six months.  This is awe-inspiring considering Kamila was once in a plane accident…“when the engine blew out, we were falling down in complete darkness and without any power for a few seconds before everything went back to normal and we emergency landed. I went to hypnosis so I wouldn’t be scared of flying after that.” She says like it happened to someone else.

In June 2013 she felt like falling down a new rabbit-hole and booked a one-way ticket to Ibiza. “I had to find a job as I didn’t speak Spanish and the easiest way was to become a dancer”. At first it wasn’t easy as she didn’t know anybody at all, but her life is now very different three seasons later. “I’ve met so many incredible people and Ibiza has become my second home. I have danced in Space, Amnesia, Ushuaia and Destino whilst my last two winters I spent in London dancing. I really enjoy my time here and I’m always a bit sad when the season finishes and it’s time to leave.”

dancers-ibiza-style-005

Dancer Kamila Moraczewska.

Outfit courtesy of Glitterbox (designer Shara Hayz), wigs by Kevin Fortune, hair and make up by Lander Rodriguez.

Chances are, if you like to party and appreciate house music, you’ve danced into the wee hours of the morning at the clubs Inma Lopez is busting moves in. Originally from a small Spanish mainland village of two thousand habitants where everyone settles into a marriage in their early twenties, Inma discovered Ibiza on holiday and decided she wanted to stay. “When I first came to Ibiza it was a complete surprise for me. I had heard thousands of people’s experiences about the island, the parties and crazy people here…but I found something much more than all that. Here is a little family for me doing what I love, it’s truly my passion working in clubs like Pacha and Space”.

Behind her Blondie rock looks and hot Mediterranean mouth Inma admits that she’s in fact really shy “but is working on it”. She enjoys studying and is currently doing psychology and will be finished her course in a few years time. Her biggest inspiration is her grandmother who was “a really, really good dancer many years ago”.

Dancer Inma Lopez.

Outfit courtesy of Hyte (designer Sabrina Serrat), hair and make up by Lander Rodriguez.

Exotic and active, Maite Leiva Stietz has explored many disciplines such as gymnastics, synchronized swimming and dance whilst growing up in Buenos Aires.  She describes herself as a “searcher and experimenter”, always reaching out to new people and places in both her training as a dancer and also studying singing and theatre. “I decided to travel to Spain for three months, first in Barcelona and then my first season in Ibiza. After this I received the offer to work as a Gogo in the best clubs in Barcelona five days a week and that was when I decided to stay living in Spain, resuming my jazz classes and various styles such as hip-hop, Waacking and Femme Style. I love working in Barcelona during the winter and Ibiza in the summer. After finishing this great season where I’m dancing in the hottest clubs and festivals such as Cocoon, Hyte, Glitterbox, Elrow, Vagabundos and Nassau Beach, I want to travel around the world and get to know new locations.”

Dancer Maite Leiva Stietz.

Outfit courtesy of Cocoon (designer The Gypset Diary), wigs by Elia Martine Quesada, hair and make up by Lander Rodriguez

Ireland’s Lauren Hope Sullivan is also trained in many different dance styles from hip-hop, gymnastics, freestyle disco and Irish dance, competing in many competitions in her home-country. She even learnt how to play with fire – breath fire, eat fire and stilt walk! She loves Tech House and her favourite DJ’s are Loco Dice, Richie Hawtin, Tale Of Us and Richy Ahmed. Her stunning, slightly Megan Fox features, are balanced beautifully with her athletic physique and distinctive tattoos. She loves to take risks and in 2013 sold some of her prized possessions including her car…and three weeks later was living in Ibiza. She takes inspiration from people who “do what they want to do with their lives.”, envisages travelling and dancing in the most beautiful places on the planet and is literally living her dream.

Dancer Lauren Hope Sullivan.

Outfit courtesy of Enter (designer Ester Sancho), hair and make up by Lander Rodriguez.

And looking at these girls, it does sound and look like a whole heap of fun.

Related Posts

  • Published On: August 3rd, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: July 20th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: July 9th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: June 23rd, 2022|Categories: People|

Heute habe ich das Vergnügen, die Alter Egos meiner Teenagerzeit zu treffen. Ich spreche mit vier tanzenden Nachtclub-Starlets – Kamila, Inma, Maite und Lauren – über ihr Leben und ihre Träume. Sie bringen mit ihrem Look einige der weltgrößten Partynächte zum Glänzen, was mich aber viel mehr interessiert, ist nicht nur ihre Schönheit und ihr Style, sondern wie schnell und clever sie nicht nur in ihren Bewegungen, sondern auch im Gespräch sind. Man muss schon ziemlich ausgefuchst sein, wenn man seine Heimat verlässt, um sich für etwas bezahlen zu lassen, wovon viele junge Leute träumen: zu großartiger Musik zu tanzen.

Da ist Kamila Moraczewska, überirdisch und anziehend. Ihre kleine Schwester nennt sie Alien. Sie modelt und vertrat Polen bei der „Miss Universum“-Wahl. Mit 21 verließ sie ihre Heimat, um in Dublin zu leben, startete ihr eigenes Business und veranstaltete Mistery-Dinner-Abende in Restaurants und Bars. Ihre Philosophie: alle sechs Monate ein neues Abenteuer starten. Das ist ziemlich erstaunlich, wenn man bedenkt, dass Kamila einst bei einem Flugzeugabsturz dabei war. „Als der Motor versagte, stürzten wir bei völliger Dunkelheit sekundenlang in die Tiefe, bevor wir schließlich notlandeten. Ich unterzog mich später einer Hypnose, um meine Flugangst zu bekämpfen.“ Sie erzählt das, als wäre es jemand anders passiert.

Im Juni 2013 fühlte sie sich erneut, als würde sie in ein Loch fallen – und buchte ein One-Way-Ticket nach Ibiza. „Ich brauchte einen Job, sprach kein Spanisch, also wurde ich Tänzerin.“ Es war zunächst nicht einfach, sie kannte niemanden. Inzwischen – drei Saisons danach – ist ihr Leben ein völlig anderes. „Ich hab so viele unglaubliche Leute getroffen, Ibiza ist meine zweite Heimat. Ich habe im Space, Amnesia, Ushuaia und Destino getanzt, die beiden letzten Winter in London. Ich genieße meine Zeit hier sehr und bin immer etwas traurig, wenn das Ende der Saison und damit der Abschied naht.“

dancers-ibiza-style-005

Dancer Kamila Moraczewska
Outfit courtesy of Glitterbox (designer Shara Hayz), wigs by Kevin Fortune, hair and make up by Lander Rodriguez.

Wer gern Party macht und House Music liebt, hat irgendwo zu später Stunde ganz sicher auch dort getanzt, wo Inma Lopez ihre Moves zeigt. Ursprünglich kommt sie vom spanischen Festland, aus einem kleinem Dorf mit 2000 Einwohnern, wo jeder mit Mitte 20 unter der Haube ist. Inma entdeckte Ibiza im Urlaub und entschied sich zu bleiben. „Als ich das erste Mal nach Ibiza kam, war das völlig überraschend. Ich hatte von etlichen Leuten Geschichten gehört, wie es hier abgeht – die Parties und all die verrückten Typen. Ich fand viel mehr als das. Hier habe ich meine kleine Familie und tue das, was ich liebe. Es ist meine Leidenschaft, in Clubs wie dem Pacha und dem Space zu arbeiten.“

Hinter ihrem rockigen Blondie-Look und dem losen Mundwerk, so gibt Inma zu, ist sie durchaus „schüchtern“, aber sie arbeitet dran. In einigen Jahren wird sie ihr Psychologie-Studium beenden. Inmas größte Inspiration ist ihre Großmutter, die einst eine „wirklich großartige Tänzerin war.“

Dancer Inma Lopez
Outfit courtesy of Hyte (designer Sabrina Serrat), hair and make up by Lander Rodriguez.

Exotisch ist sie und aktiv – Maite Leiva Stietz hat sich in vielen Bereichen, von Gymnastik über Synchronschwimmen bis zum Tanz, ausprobiert, während sie in Buenos Aires aufwuchs. Stets auf der Suche, gern experimentierend, so sieht sie sich, immer offen für neue Leute und Orte, nicht nur als Tänzerin, sondern auch als Gesangs- und Theater-Elevin. „Ich wollte damals drei Monate durch Spanien reisen, zuerst nach Barcelona, dann meine erste Saison auf Ibiza. Anschließend bekam ich Angebote als GoGo-Girl in den besten Clubs Barcelonas, fünf Tage die Woche. Ich entschied mich, in Spanien zu bleiben, und meine Kurse von Hip-Hop über Waacking bis Femme Style hier fortzusetzen. Ich liebe die Arbeit in Barcelona im Winter und Ibiza im Sommer. Nach dem Ende dieser großartigen Saison, in der ich im Cocoon, Hyte, Glitterbox, Elrow, Vagabundos und Nassau Beach getanzt habe, will ich um die Welt reisen und neue Orte kennenlernen.“

Dancer Maite Leiva Stietz
Outfit courtesy of Cocoon (designer The Gypset Diary), wigs by Elia Martine Quesada, hair and make up by Lander Rodriguez

Lauren Hope Sullivan aus Irland ist ebenfalls in diversen Stilen trainiert – Hip-Hop, Gymnastik, Freestyle Disco und Irish Dance – und hat daheim in zahlreichen Competitions mitgemacht. Sie kennt sie auch mit Feuer aus – Feuer schlucken etwa und über glühende Kohle laufen. Sie liebt Tech House, ihre DJ-Favoriten sind Loco Dice, Richie Hawtin, Tale of Us und Richy Ahmed. Ihr einnehmender Look, der an Megan Fox erinnert, steht in wunderbarer Balance zu ihrem athletischen Körper und ihren Tattoos. Sie liebt das Risiko – nicht von ungefähr hat sie 2013 Teile ihres Besitzes, darunter auch ihr Auto, verkauft, und zog drei Wochen später nach Ibiza. Was sie inspiriert? „Menschen, die so leben, wie sie wollen.“ Sie reist durch die Welt und tanzt an den schönsten Plätzen des Planeten – sie lebt ihren Traum.“

Dancer Lauren Hope Sullivan
Outfit courtesy of Enter (designer Ester Sancho), hair and make up by Lander Rodriguez.

Und wenn man sich die Girls so anschaut, dann scheint das eine ganze Menge Spaß zu machen.

Related Posts

  • Published On: Oktober 22nd, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Oktober 19th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Oktober 10th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Oktober 5th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Oktober 5th, 2022|Categories: People|