Driving through the scorched fields of the campo looking for the house of Sneak, I know I am not going to get lost – there aren’t too many places on the island with a beautiful low-rider sitting in the driveway. “There is nothing cooler than an Impala with some bounce, I’ve always dreamed of having a beautiful classic car and when I saw this in Los Angeles, I just knew I had to ship her over. Now I can cruise around this crazy island my way.” The man you have to admit has Ibiza Style.

The clock is just ticking towards midday yet the thermometer on the wall is already touching 90 degrees as we settle down to talk, but Sneak is cool. Super cool. It’s funny to think that I am in the company of a guy who to put it bluntly, loves to fuck off everyone in the world on social media who he has an issue with, just when he feels it’s gone a bit quiet out there and things need stirring up.

“He drives me crazy” says his wife and manager Melissa who wanders out with some drinks. “I’ll be in the office working away and all of a sudden I’ll receive half a dozen messages on my computer from magazines around the world asking for a quote from him about the latest Twitter argument he has just started. I’ll jump up and scream down the stairs ‘what the hell have you gone and done this time?’ And he just laughs back at me.”

Over the years our main man has ripped into everything from superstar DJs whose music he dislikes, technology making it too easy for nobodies to spin, huge nightclubs he feels have lost the plot and lazy festivals organisers pitching unmatched DJs in back to back press glory sets…

“I have been playing Tomorrowland in Belgium for five years and I love it. But this year, Eats Everything vs Derrick Carter and Mark Farina vs Seth Troxler? What the fuck? It should have been the other way round pairing wise. Myself and guys like Farina and Carter helped start the whole back to back style, so why are these promoters now putting complete opposites together? They are just hoping for some weird shit to go down and get some mad media attention. I don’t want to be a dick and I don’t want people to think I’m a dick, but certain issues in our industry have to be raised. It’s crazy how many people come up to me and say how much they love my opinions and that there should be more people in the world like me. So fuck everybody if they don’t like it. I will not stand for stupid shit.”

Have you always been so outspoken I ask, does this date back to your school days? “Dan, I have never been a bully dude, always the opposite. All the mother’s would be like ‘I’ll buy you an ice cream honey but will you just look after my kid at school please.’ So I would be the big guy with four little ones around me just giving out the ‘don’t mess with my homies’ kinda vibe. Just to get that ice cream.”

As I chuckle at one of my favourite producers on the planet ranting off, his four year old daughter skips out towards the pool and I remind Sneak that the last time we spoke in 2014 she would sing Beyonce’s ‘XO’ to him on the way to school every day. Has she gotten into the DJ Sneak vibe yet I ask? “Heh heh. Only the other day her mom was in the kitchen with some pop shit blaring out and she went over and said ‘can you put some of daddy’s music on now please?’ I think she’s getting into the Gangster groove already…”

Catch DJ Sneak at ANTS @ Ushuaia on August 1st, August 22nd and September 5th. ‘DJ Sneak presents Magnetic Cuts V1.V.2 & V.3’ roll out from July 27th.

dj-sneak-ibiza-style-003

Related Posts

  • Published On: October 19th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: October 10th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: October 5th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: October 5th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: August 25th, 2022|Categories: People|

–±±

Während ich so durch die versengten Felder des Campo fahre, wird mir klar, dass ich ganz sicher verloren gehe – es gibt nicht viele Orte, an denen ein wunderschöner Low-Rider mitten auf der Straße steht. „Es gibt nichts Cooleres als einen Impala mit etwas Bounce. Ich habe immer davon geträumt, einen coolen Klassiker zu fahren und als ich den hier in L. A. sah, musste ich ihn einfach hierher schiffen lassen. Jetzt kann ich auf meine Art über diese verrückte Insel cruisen.“ Man muss es zugegeben – dieser Typ hat Ibiza Style.

Es ist fast Mittag, das Thermometer an der Wand kratzt die 90-Grad-Marke, als wir uns zum Gespräch niederlassen, aber Sneak ist cool. Es ist schon witzig, hier mit jemandem zu sitzen, von dem bekannt ist, dass er in Sachen Social Media aber auch wirklich jeden vor den Kopf stößt, der ihm quer kommt, oftmals genau dann, wenn er das Gefühl hat, es wird ein bisschen zu ruhig da draußen.

„Er macht mich fertig“, sagt Ehefrau und Managerin Melissa, die ein paar Drinks bringt. „Ich sitze im Office und arbeite und irgendwann trudelt ein halbes Dutzend Mails ein. Irgendwelche Magazine wollen ein Zitat über den jüngsten Beef, den er auf Twitter gestartet hat. „Was hast Du wieder gemacht?“ rufe ich dann die Treppe hinunter. Und er lacht nur.“

Über die letzten Jahre hat unser Main Man sich so ziemlich alles vorgeknöpft: DJs, deren Musik er nicht mag genauso wie jene Technologie, die jeden Dummy zum DJ macht. Die großen Nightclubs, die es seiner Meinung nach nicht mehr bringen und lahme Festival-Organisatoren, deren Back to Back-Sets die unpassendsten DJs zusammenbringen.

„Ich habe fünf Jahre lang das ‚Tomorrowland‘ in Belgien gespielt und ich liebe es. Aber dieses Jahr … Eats Everything vs. Derrick Carter und Mark Farina vs. Seth Troxler? What the fuck? Es hätte genau andersherum zusammengestellt sein müssen. Leute wie ich und Farina und Carter haben den Back-to-Back-Style an den Start gebracht, und diese Typen packen jetzt völlig konträre DJs zusammen? Sie hoffen wohl, dass irgendetwas Verrücktes passiert und sie in den Medien Aufmerksamkeit bekommen. Ich will kein Arsch sein und ich will auch nicht, dass Leuten denken, dass ich einer bin, aber bestimmte Dinge in unserem Business müssen angesprochen werden. Es ist schon verrückt, wieviele Leute zu mir kommen und sagen, wie sehr sie meine Statements lieben und dass es mehr Leute geben müsste wie mich. Als Scheiss auf die, die es nicht mögen. Mit solchem blöden Kram habe ich nichts am Hut.“

Warst Du immer schon so freimütig, auch in deinen Schulzeiten? „Dan, ich war niemals ein Rüpel, im Gegenteil. ‚Würdest du auf mein Kind aufpassen nach der Schule? Ich kauf dir auch ein Eis‘, sagten die Mütter zu mir. Also saß ich da als großer Junge mit vier Kleinen und machte allen klar: Lasst meine Homies in Ruhe. Ich war halt auf Eiscreme scharf.“

Ich muss lachen, während mein Lieblings-Produzent so schwadroniert, als plötzlich seine vierjährige Tochter zum Pool geht. Ich erinnere Sneak an unser letztes Gespräch anno 2014. Sie sang damals Beyoncés ‚XO‘ für ihn auf dem Weg zur Schule. Hat sie mittlerweile den DJ Sneak-Vibe drauf, will ich wissen. „Heh, heh. Gerade neulich, als ihre Mom in der Küche irgendwelches Pop-Zeug hörte, kam sie an und sagte ‚Könntest du jetzt bitte Papas Musik anmachen?‘ Ich glaube, sie kommt so langsam in den Gangster-Groove …“

Catch DJ Sneak at ANTS @ Ushuaia on August 1st, August 22nd and September 5th. ‘DJ Sneak presents Magnetic Cuts V1.V.2 & V.3’ roll out from July 27th.

dj-sneak-ibiza-style-003

Related Posts

  • Published On: August 3rd, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Juli 26th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Juli 20th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Juli 9th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Juni 23rd, 2022|Categories: People|