Summer 2018 sees the iconic El Chiringuito celebrate its 10th anniversary of serving good, honest food, combined with unrivalled service to the island of Ibiza. As ever, we at Ibiza Style welcome another season of culinary delights in this most idyllic of settings.

El Chiringuito has earned a well deserved reputation for creating dishes which are simple yet sumptuous, using only the finest quality ingredients, and created not just with skill, but with love.

This year, the new addition to the menu which has captured our attention, and our taste buds is a typically innovative yet subtle dish, Spaghettini with King Crab. We spoke to Head Chef Jerome Palayer and he explained with his usual passion and vigour how this exceptional offering is created.

The spaghettini, he explains is just perfect for enjoying in a beachside location, light, and fresh, with a subtle crunch provided by the ingenious addition of panko, japanese breadcrumbs. Add to this the finest King Crab legs, sourced from the coldest waters of the Barents Sea which borders Russia and Sweden, rather than from the Alaskan Coast, which has suffered from over exploitation.

Sourcing the king crab from these icy waters means that it is succulent and moist, cooked in a delightful reduction of fish stock, flavoured with a combination of japanese onion, garlic, and just a little zing from the addition of fresh chillies.

The crab is cooked slowly, reducing the stock until it reaches perfection, at which point a touch of fresh butter is added, and the spaghettini, perfectly finished with a squeeze of lemon juice and garnished with a touch of lime peel.

The results are sublime, and must be tasted to be believed. Once again, the team at El Chiringuito have created yet another delectable dish to be enjoyed at lunch or dinner for your pleasure.

El Chiringuito

Playa Es Cavallet

07817 San Jordi

.+34 971 395 355

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 7th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: June 4th, 2019|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: June 4th, 2019|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: June 4th, 2019|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: May 26th, 2019|Categories: Gastronomy|

In diesem Sommer feiert das legendäre El Chiringuito sein zehnjähriges Jubiläum – und setzt seine Erfolgsgeschichte mit hervorragendem, authentischem Essen und unvergleichlich gutem Service fort. Ibiza Style machte den Saisoncheck 2018.

Das El Chiringuito folgt weiterhin seiner Philosophie, die Gerichte einfach, aber in ihrer Qualität herausragend zu halten. Die Küchenchefs verarbeiten nur die besten Zutaten und das nicht nur mit Expertise, sondern auch mit Herz.

In diesem Jahr erregt ein Neuzugang auf der Karte unsere besondere Aufmerksamkeit. Ein gleichermaßen subtiles und doch innovatives Gericht: Spaghettini mit King Crab. Chefkoch Jerome Palayer erklärt uns gewohnt leidenschaftlich, welche Idee hinter dieser außergewöhnlichen Kreation steht.

Zum einen, lacht er, sind die Spaghettini perfekt geeignet, um sie am Strand zu genießen, zum anderen haben sie eine frische Leichtigkeit und einen feinen Crunch, der durch Panko, japanische Semmelbrösel, entsteht. Die Königskrabben stammen aus der Barantssee, und zwar aus dem nördlichen Teil, der an Russland und Schweden grenzt, und nicht von der Alaska Küste, die unter Ausbeutung und Überfischung leidet.

Durch das eisige Herkunftsgewässer sind die Königskrabben herrlich saftig und werden in einer Fischbrühe gekocht und dann mit japanischen Zwiebeln, Knoblauch und einem Hauch frischer Chilis verfeinert.

Die King Crab ziehen langsam in der Brühe gar, die immer weiter reduziert wird, bis sie Perfektion erreicht hat. Dann nur noch ein Stich frische Butter, dazu die Spaghettini, ein Spritzer Zitronensaft und mit der Nuance einer Limettenschale garniert. Fertig!

Wieder einmal beweist das Team vom El Chiringuito, dass es oft die einfachen Dinge sind, die, wenn sie mit Passion und Liebe zubereitet werden, den größten Genuss bereiten. Ein Geschmackserlebnis, perfekt zum Lunch oder Dinner. Guten Appetit!

El Chiringuito

Playa Es Cavallet
07817 San Jordi
.+34 971 395 355