This summer as the sun goes down, El Chiringuito will prepare their enchanting venue to host their divine dinner service. By night, this most emblematic of Ibiza’s restaurants takes on a whole new ambience, of course retaining the effortless elegance of the daytime Chiringuito which we know and love so well, but with an added” je ne sais quoi”, a touch of candlelit magic to entrance and delight you.

With the focus as always firmly on fabulous food and drink, combined with their renowned and consistently excellent service, we ask ourselves, what wonderful wines can we expect to indulge our palates from this new night time environment?

We spoke to sommelier Esteban, who has been curating the wine list with care and integrity at El Chiringuito for the last 5 years. Hailing from Buenos Aires, he joined the team as a runner then became a waiter, but desired more, and noting the absence of a dedicated sommelier, he began to to study the ancient art of fine wine in Barcelona.

He tells us that he believes the wine world is expansive and evolving, that the more you learn the less you know, the different cultures, different grapes which constantly appear on the scene mean that every year the wine world is changing, in his opinion, it is infinite. Having spent time in some of the best vineyards across the world, he truly loves what he does, and this is evident in his excellent selection. Along with his assistant Christina he advises guests using his innate psychology and knowledge of wine to gently guide them to the perfect choice, offering and allowing them to discover new things.

He has handpicked some of the finest wines from around the globe, specifically to complement not only the refined evening menu, but to match and enhance the after dark atmosphere.

He tells us that he has added a wider selection of red wines, as the rich and aromatic scents of the grilled meat and fish which are offered on the dinner menu simply invite you to enjoy them with a good red wine.

For a light red, perhaps as an aperitif, look at the Vera Vides a versatile, medium to light bodied wine, full of fruit & freshness. Or perhaps you prefer to try one of the biodynamic wines from the village of Morgon, made by Marcel Lapierre, who Esteban refers to as the ‘pope’ of wines, a truly great winemaker.

Discover El Chiribique, from Tenerife, which can be found in Michelin starred restaurants across the globe. These are complex, different wines created from vines which are located 700 – 800 metres above sea level and grown from volcanic soil, giving the wines personality and complexity.

Esteban has also collated an exceptional selection of old riojas, including Vina Pomal & Vina Real, with the intention of giving guests the experience of tasting wines which were produced perhaps before they had ever tasted wine, from the great cellars of  ‘78, ‘83 and ‘85, the only danger here, he laughs, is that once you have tasted these wines you may never wish to drink a young wine again! These wines are light, yet elegant, tasting them is a true experience.

But, what about the bubbles? Naturally, we would expect only the very finest champagnes and cavas to appear on the menu, and we are not disappointed. Esteban is particularly excited by a very special cava, Loxarel 109, which he presents to us. This cava sleeps with the leaves in the cellar for 109 months, hence the name, giving it is unique complexity and aromas, it’s a gastronomic cava to enjoy with friends in a big glass. Beautifully presented in a rustic wooden box, the bottle is not cleaned when it is taken from the cellar, enhancing the overall feeling of authenticity.

Of course, you can also indulge in the well-known brands yet, alongside them, more than holding their own are some fine champagnes from smaller winemakers in France.

By the glass, enjoy the Jean Louis Vergon from the famous Grand Crum salon. 100% chardonnay, with an elegant touch of peach, apple vanilla, toasted bread and butter, very well balanced, the aftertaste is rich in minerals. A great champagne to begin your dining experience, perhaps with some sumptuous oysters, and this delectable drink will seamlessly see you through your courses, perfectly balancing the flavours of the freshly grilled fish.

El Chiringuito has never failed to amaze, delight and inspire us with their exceptional offerings and we are confident that the night time experience will continue this legacy.

Related Posts

  • Published On: October 23rd, 2022|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: October 21st, 2022|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: October 7th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: August 29th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: August 28th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomy|

Einer der spannendsten Orte der Restaurantwelt Ibizas, das El Chiringuito, gehört seit Jahren zu den coolsten Day-Locations der Insel. Die lässige Eleganz, das fantastische Ambiente und den Hauch „Je ne sais quoi“ kann die bunte Gästeschar nun auch im Schein flackernder Kerzenlichter genießen.

Kenner schätzen den Ehrgeiz des Restaurants, nur hervorragende Gerichte und eine erstklassige Getränkeauswahl zur präsentieren. Zu Recht sind wir also gespannt, mit welchen neuen Weinen das El Chiringuito zur Abendröte überraschen wird.

In einem ausführlichen Gespräch mit Esteban, der seit fünf Jahren als Sommelier die Weine im El Chiringuito kuratiert, erfahren wir Näheres. Esteban stammt aus Buenos Aires und arbeitete sich als einfacher Runner zum Kellner hoch, störte sich jedoch am Fehlen eines engagierten Sommeliers und begann schließlich selbst in Barcelona die Kunst der feinen Weine zu studieren.

Fast philosophisch mutet es an, wenn Esteban uns erzählt, wie stark die Welt der Weine expandiert, so dass er fast das Gefühl bekommt, je mehr man lernt, desto weniger weiß man. Unterschiedliche Kulturen, neue Trends und Rebsorten, die in den Mittelpunkt treten: Jedes Jahr eine aktuelle Wendung, in der sich die Weinszene immer wieder neu erfindet. Esteban hat viele Jahre in den Weinbergen verbracht, liebt und lebt seinen Beruf. Gemeinsam mit seiner Assistentin Christina und seinem angeborenen psychologischen Gespür serviert er zu jedem Anlass die perfekte Weinbegleitung.

Es ist eine handverlesene Sammlung exzellenter Weine aus der ganzen Welt, die nicht nur das raffinierte Abendmenü ergänzen, sondern mit ihrer Tiefe auch das dunkle Timbre der Nacht widerspiegeln.

Vor allen Dingen die Auswahl an Rotweinen wurde verstärkt, denn die vollmundigen und aromatischen Weine passen sensationell zu den feinen gegrillten Fischen und den delikaten Steaks vom Grill.

Ein etwas leichterer Rotwein, der gerne auch als Aperitif genossen werden kann: Der Vera Vides, voll fruchtiger Frische. Eine Sensation auch der ökologische Wein vom Naturweinvorreiter Marcel Lappiere aus Morgon, dessen Weingut feine schwefelarme Weine hervorbringt, ein „Weinpapst“, so Esteban.

Oder entdecken Sie den El Chiribique für sich, ein Wein von Teneriffa, der seinen Weg in zahlreiche Michelin Restaurants gefunden hat. Ein sehr komplexer Wein, der 700 bis 800 Meter über dem Meeresspiegel auf fruchtbarer vulkanischer Erde heranwächst, sie verleiht ihm seine persönliche und mineralische Note.

Faszinierend auch Estebans Auswahl an alten Riojas, inklusive Vina Pomal & Vina Real. Damit können die Gäste auch einen Wein trinken, der vor ihrer Geburt abgefüllt wurde, z.B. die Jahrgänge 1978, 1983 und 1985. Die einzige Gefahr hier, so lacht Esteban, ist, dass man danach keine jungen Weine mehr trinken möchte. Trotz ihres Alters sind es leichte und elegante Weine: Ein wahres Geschmackserlebnis!

Und die prickelnden Verführer? Auch bei der Champagner- und Cavakollektion ist die Erwartungshaltung hoch. Und natürlich werden wir nicht enttäuscht. Auf besondere Begeisterung stößt bei Esteban ein ganz besonderer Cava, der Loxarel 109. Dieser biodynamische Cava lagert 109 Monate im Keller und wird danach nicht degorgiert, sondern verbleibt in der original (schmutzigen) Flasche mit Original-Korken; allein das Öffnen der wie ein Geschenk verpackten Flasche ist ein Erlebnis, das Sie nicht vergessen werden. Es ist sein außergewöhnlich fruchtiger Geschmack, der ihn so besonders macht.

Natürlich bleiben auch die exzellenten Champagner-Klassiker, wie Cristal und Dom Perignon, auf der Karte, aber daneben werden auch neue feine Champagner kleinerer Winzer aus Frankreich zu überraschen wissen.

Als offener Champagner überzeugt ein überragender Jean Louis Vergon aus dem berühmten Grand Cru Salon. 100 Prozent Chardonnay mit einem Hauch von Pfirsich, Apfel, Vanille, geröstetem Brot mit Butter, sehr schön ausgewogen, im Abgang leicht mineralisch. Ein wunderbarer Champagner, um in den Abend zu starten, zusammen mit ein paar Austern. Doch auch zum gegrillten Fisch im El Chiringuito eine vorzügliche Wahl.

Das El Chiringuito schafft es immer wieder, uns auf überraschende Weise zu beeindrucken. Die außergewöhnliche Auswahl ist inspirierend und wir freuen uns, dass dieses Erlebnis nun auch unsere Abende erhellt.

Related Posts

  • Published On: Oktober 7th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomie|
  • Published On: August 29th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomie|
  • Published On: August 28th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomie|
  • Published On: August 26th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomie|
  • Published On: August 17th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomie|