Jürgen Vogel is best known for his ‘outsider’ roles in films and TV dramas and has received numerous international accolades for his acting performances over the years. For the past eight of these, he has been a regular visitor to Ibiza. The ‘Arenal D’Or’ at Aguas Blancas has become a second home where he takes up residence several times per year. He has already booked his visit for the coming winter. For him, it is the ideal place to switch off from the demanding roles he plays and to recharge his batteries. Jürgen took time off from his busy schedule to give an interview to IBIZA&FORMENTERA STYLE.

JB: You made your first film when you were only fifteen years of age. Then, when you went on to the drama academy in Munich, you stuck it out for just one day.
JV: The drama schools in those days – and I suppose it’s still the same now – were always geared towards stage acting. And I knew right from the start that I didn’t want a career in theatre but rather in film.

JB: Right from the start?
JV: Yes. I’d already appeared in my first film and it was clear to me that if I was going to achieve anything at all as an actor, that would be the medium. I’ve never seen a future for myself in theatre. And at the academy – this was around 1985 or 1986 – they were totally focused on acting for the stage. Cinema was sort of looked down on. If you said “I want to go into film making”, they would regard that as a negative. Things may have changed in the meantime. There are drama schools that also run film courses, workshops where you can also learn how to operate a camera. But there are no real film academies as such.

JB: What was the title of this film you appeared in when you were just 15?
JV: It was called ‘Kinder aus Stein’ (‘Children of Stone’) starring Natja Brunckhorst who shot to fame as Christiane F in ‘Wir Kinder vom Bahnhof Zoo’. I played the role of a street urchin. That was just a lucky break. When I’d finished, it was obvious to me that this was something I really wanted to do.

JB: And next you went to Berlin?
JV: Actually, the only reason I went to Berlin was to escape doing national service. I just intended to register as a resident and then come back. But then I realised when I arrived in Berlin around 1985 that this was where I wanted to be. I had a great time there. It was like living on an island. There was that type of feeling to the place.

JB: A very remote island!
JV: (Laughs) Oh yes. Very remote!

JB: You shared accommodation with Richy Müller for some time…
JV: Yes, we were in the same commune together for about two and a half years. Then I decided to assert my independence and get a flat of my own. I was determined not to work in any TV series. There were quite a lot of opportunities in soaps at the time, particularly for young talents such as myself. So I got a job working in a kitchen because that way you never starve. (Laughs) I could eat my fill of desserts and, because it was an Austrian-run establishment, they were delicious. There was no way I was going to get roped into any series. That way, you just get tied down.

JB: You often play the role of an outsider in films that take a critical stance on social issues. Would you say that you are actually playing yourself?
JV: For me, acting has always been a study of normal life. I try to get that across in the roles I play so that what the audience sees is genuine and authentic rather than theoretical and artificial. That has always been a priority as far as I’m concerned. From the mid 80s to the early 90s I tended to appear in quite a few TV dramas with a socially critical theme and I was often cast as a juvenile delinquent. I think, though, that I managed to change for the better the image of these clichéd figures.

JB: Don’t you need to have a lot of self-discipline to play roles of that kind? Did you ever worry that it could affect your mind?
JV: I did reach the point where I got fed up with it. I was playing a junky in a fairly hard-hitting TV drama called ‘The Pirate’. We spent eight weeks filming it and mixing with real druggies. I started thinking that if I only ever played roles like that, I might go crazy.

JB: How do you recover afterwards?
JV: By acting in comedies, or maybe thrillers. They are relatively relaxing for me because they are generally written to a formula where you know what twists the plot is going to take and when matters are going to be resolved. So essentially, it is straightforward acting that you can invest with a bit of character. Or comedies. I’ll do them providing they are competently written. That’s almost like a holiday for me.

JB: And presumably you find Ibiza relaxing too?
JV: (Laughs) Oh, yes… I first visited Ibiza when I was sixteen. That was my first real holiday without my parents and I was in Ibiza on my own for four full weeks. I had a base in San Juan belonging to a friend of mine who was an artist. And basically I just scrounged all the time I was here. Good Lord; that was 24 years ago! What a fabulous experience. Then I seemed to lose sight of Ibiza for a while.

JB: But eventually you did return?
JV: About eight years ago, I came back to the Island and ended up in Arenal D’Or. I thought it was wonderful. Since then, I’ve been coming back every year.

Juergen-Vogel_Ibiza-Style-002

JB: You said earlier that you didn’t want to act in any series. I’ve just read, however, that you’ve been signed up for a role in ‘Schillerstrasse’. If that isn’t a series, then what is?
JV: Well, by ‘series’ I mean a TV soap where the formula is always standard. Like in a detective series where it’s essentially the same every episode.

JB: So would you say that ‘Schillerstrasse’ is more about improvisation?
JV: That’s what I really like about it. After 25 years in this business, I was asked whether I’d like to give it a try, so I watched a few episodes. I was already reasonably familiar with it. Improvisation isn’t actually anything new for me because I’ve often done that in films. It’s something I very much enjoy doing. If the combination of people is right and everything gels properly, the results can be great. It’s even OK if things go slightly wrong because that adds a bit of spice to the occasion. I’ve been involved with the show for a year now. There are 24 episodes spread over a twelve-month period. That makes 24 working days which I find OK. They used to make a lot more – 40 or 45 of the things. That was tough going. But 24 or so – that’s good fun. It’s just up my street because I’m keen to try it out. You always need to do something different in life.

JB: So you feel this urge to try out new things?
JV: Definitely. It was always the same with music as well. It’s terrific fun to see or hear something new and to experience the pure pleasure of experiencing something different for a change. The same applies in any career. I revel in it!

JB: You just spoke about making music. You once said you’d like to move to Ibiza, buy a house here and become a music producer. How would you classify your tastes in music?
JV: I made a brief excursion into the music scene when I produced a film called ‘Keine Lieder über Liebe’ (‘No Songs About Love’) in which I also acted. We set up a pop group called Independent Mucke. Then we went on tour with this specially created band for three weeks. They were all lads from Hamburg from the same generation as me which was great. We had three cameras and just made the film spontaneously without any script. Afterwards, we did a few more tours, the last one just a year ago. And then, because I know Campino quite well – he’s a big name in the German music scene – and he has a house not far from here, I thought it would be great to come here in autumn when it’s really peaceful but there are still a few decent shops and restaurants open. I’d produce some records and meet up with a few musicians. Then, while the production process was carrying on, I’d take a dip in the Med. Superb idea, I thought. Certainly better than staying in Berlin or Hamburg.

JB: Will you be back this winter?
JV: Yes. I’d like to return when it isn’t so crowded, explore the area on a quad bike and clear my head a little. I’d also like to work with a friend on a film script because this is the perfect place to get your ideas together and relax at the same time.

JB: Thank you for talking to us today.

Interview with Jürgen Vogel (JV) conducted by Editor Jürgen Bushe (JB)

Related Posts

  • Published On: August 3rd, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: July 20th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: July 9th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: June 23rd, 2022|Categories: People|

Schon seit acht Jahren kommt der für seine Außenseiter-Filmrollen bekannte und für seine schauspielerischen Leistungen mehrfach international ausgezeichnete Darsteller Jürgen Vogel nach Ibiza. Hier ist ihm „Aguas Blancas“ ein zweites zu Hause geworden, wo er sich mehrmals im Jahr – diesmal will er auch im Winter kommen – im „Arenal D’Or“ einquartiert. Hier kann er wunderbar von seinen oft anstrengenden Rollen abschalten und neue Energie tanken. Für IBIZA&FORMENTERA STYLE nahm er sich die Zeit für ein Exclusiv-Interview.

J.B. Mit fünfzehn Jahren drehtest Du schon Deinen ersten Film. Auf der Schauspielschule in München hast Du es danach nur einen Tag ausgehalten.
J.V. Auf den Schauspiel Schulen wurde damals – und eigentlich ist es auch heute noch so – vorwiegend für Theater ausgebildet. Und ich wusste auf jeden Fall, dass ich nicht Theater spielen will, sondern dass ich Film machen möchte.

J.B. Vom ersten Moment an?
J.V. Ja. Ich hatte nun ja schon das erste mal gedreht, und da war dann klar: wenn ich überhaupt was hinkriegen würde, dann das! Beim Theater habe ich mich nie gesehen. Und in der Schule – es war 1985/86 – das war halt sehr stark Theater. Film war da auch immer so’n bisschen verschrien. Wenn Du sagtest, Du willst zum Film, dann war das eigentlich eher was Negatives. Das hat sich jetzt ein wenig geändert. Es gibt jetzt Schulen, die auch Filmkurse machen, Workshops, wo Du auch so’n bisschen Kameraarbeit lernst – aber eine richtige Filmschauspielschule gibt es nicht.

J.B. Wie hieß denn dieser erste Film, in dem Du mit 15 spieltest?
J.V. Das war „Kinder aus Stein“ mit Nadja Brunckhorst, das war die von Christiane F. aus „Kinder vom Bahnhof Zoo“, da hab ich einen Straßenjungen gespielt. Das war eigentlich Glück – Zufall. Und danach war dann klar, dass ich das machen will – unbedingt!

J.B. Und dann gingst Du nach Berlin?
J.V. Eigentlich ging ich zunächst nach Berlin nur wegen der Bundeswehr. Wollte mich da nur anmelden und dann wieder zurück. Aber da war dann klar, als ich in Berlin gelandet war – so 1985 – dass ich da nicht mehr weg will. Eine geile Zeit. Das war auch wie eine Insel, auch so vom Feeling.

J.B. Eine recht abgeschlossene Insel!
J.V. (lacht) Sehr, ja sehr abgeschlossen!

J.B. Da hast Du eine Zeit lang mit Richy Müller zusammen gewohnt?
J.V. Wir wohnten zusammen in einer W.G., so zirka zweieinhalb Jahre. Dann habe ich mich selbstständig gemacht, abgenabelt und selber eine Wohnung genommen. Und damit ich keine Serien machen musste – damals gab es schon ziemlich viele Angebote für Fernsehserien, da war ich ja noch schweinejung und die wollten junge Talente für ihre Serien abgreifen – da habe ich immer nebenbei in der Küche gearbeitet damit ich so überleben kann und immer schön gefüttert werde (lacht). Da konnte ich Desserts essen ohne Ende beim Österreicher, war echt lecker. Ich wollte einfach keine Serien machen, da legt man sich dann zu sehr fest.

J.B. Du spielst ja oft Außenseiter und sozialkritische Rollen, in denen Du Dich selber spielst ohne Dich verstellen zu müssen.
J.V. Für mich war Schauspielerei ja eigentlich immer so ‘ne Studie übers normale Leben. Ich versuche das in den Film rein zu packen, damit das was du da machst eben echt und wirklich wirkt und nicht so theoretisch und künstlich ist. Das war mir immer superwichtig. Gerade so Mitte der achtziger, Anfang der neunziger habe ich ganz viel sozialkritische Fernsehspiele gemacht, in denen ich jugendliche Kriminelle gespielt habe. Wo ich glaube, auch ein bisschen etwas verändert zu haben in dem Bild dieser Klischeefiguren.

J.B. Muss man nicht extrem diszipliniert sein wenn man solche Rollen spielt? Hast Du da nicht manchmal Angst wahnsinnig zu werden?
J.V. Ich hatte mal eine Phase, da hatte ich ein bisschen die Schnauze voll. Da habe ich so Junkies gespielt, ein ziemlich hartes Fernsehspiel – „Der Pirat“ hieß das – da haben wir acht Wochen auch mit echten Junkies gedreht. Da habe ich gedacht, wenn ich jetzt nur noch solche Rollen spiele, dann werde ich verrückt.

J.B. Wie erholst Du Dich dann von so etwas?
J.V. In Komödien, manchmal auch Krimis. Die sind für mich relativ entspannt, das ist so eine Reißbrettgeschichte wo ganz klar ist, wann welcher Plot sich wie aufbaut und wann Dinge sich auch wieder auflösen. Das hat so was handwerkliches was Du dann ausfüllen kannst mit Lebendigkeit. Oder Komödien, die mach ich auch, wenn sie wirklich gut geschrieben sind. Dann ist das für mich ein bisschen wie Urlaub.

J.B. Und Ibiza entspannt auch?
J.V. (lacht) Jaaa. Ich bin das erste mal nach Ibiza gekommen da war ich sechzehn. Das war mein erster Urlaub überhaupt, da bin ich wirklich alleine 4 Wochen nach Ibiza. Ich hatte eine Anlaufstelle in San Juan über einen Freund von mir, der Künstler war. Und habe mich so durchgeschnorrt . Mein Gott, das ist jetzt 24 Jahre her. Das war sooo geil. Aber dann hatte ich Ibiza ein bisschen aus den Augen verloren.

J.B. Aber irgendwann kamst Du dann doch wieder?
J.V. Vor zirka acht Jahren, da kam ich wieder her und bin durch Zufall hier im „Arenal D’Or“ gelandet und habe gedacht: geil. Seitdem komme ich jedes Jahr wieder hier her.

Juergen-Vogel_Ibiza-Style-002

J.B. Du sagtest vorhin, dass Du nie Serien machen wolltest. Ich habe aber gerade gelesen, dass Du demnächst in die „Schillerstraße“ einziehen wirst. Ist das nicht absolut Serie?
J.V. Naja, für mich ist eine Serie eher eine Fernsehserie, da wiederholt sich die Dramaturgie, das ist wie in einer Krimiserie, da wiederholt sich alles.

J.B. „Schillerstraße“ ist da mehr Improvisation?
J.V. Das ist das, was ich wirklich super finde. Nach 25 Jahren Filmarbeit haben sie mich gefragt, ob ich das machen will. Ich habe mir dann noch mal ein paar Folgen angesehen, ich kannte das ja auch schon. Improvisation ist für mich ja auch nicht so wirklich was Neues, weil ich auch schon Filme improvisiert habe – aber das ist etwas was ich gerade super lustig finde. Wenn die Kombination der Leute gut ist und sich das ergänzt, dann kann das richtig gut sein. Es kann auch ein Ding mal daneben gehen – das find ich auch gar nicht schlimm – dadurch bekommt es so eine ganz eigene Lebendigkeit. Das mach ich jetzt erst mal ein Jahr lang. Das sind 24 Folgen über’s ganze Jahr verteilt. Das sind letztendlich 24 Arbeitstage, das finde ich ganz ok. Die haben früher ja viel mehr produziert – 40 oder 45 von den Dingern – das fand ich dann schon hart. Aber so 24 – da hab ich auch echt Spaß daran! Das ist etwas für mich, weil ich sehr neugierig bin so etwas auszuprobieren, weil sich Dinge auch echt verändern müssen – also auch in meinem Leben.

J.B. Rein aus der Lust , einfach mal was anderes zu machen?
J.V. Ja unbedingt. Das war auch mit der Musik schon so. Es hat tierisch Spaß gemacht etwas Neues zu sehen und dabei vielleicht das Glück zu haben ein Stückchen neues Leben leben zu dürfen. Auch in der Branche was Neues auszuprobieren. Das find ich echt super. Da freu ich mich drauf!

J.B. Du sprachst gerade von Musik machen. Du hast ja mal geäußert, am liebsten würdest Du irgendwann nach Ibiza ziehen, dort ein Haus kaufen und Musik produzieren. Was ist denn Dein Musikstil?
J.V. Ich hab ja schon mal so ’nen kleinen Ausflug gemacht in die Musikszene als ich den Film produziert habe „Keine Lieder über Liebe“, da hab ich auch mitgespielt. Da haben wir eine Band gegründet, so deutsche Independent Mucke. Mit den Jungs dieser Filmband – alle auch aus Hamburg, alle die gleiche Generation, die ich sehr liebe und sehr schätze – sind wir dreieinhalb Wochen auf Tour gegangen und haben ohne Drehbuch mit 3 Kameras spontan einen Film entwickelt. Danach haben wir auch noch Touren gemacht, die letzte vor knapp einem Jahr. Und da habe ich so gedacht – weil ich ja auch Campino ganz gut kenne, der hat ja auch nicht weit weg von hier ein Haus – das wär ja echt geil, wenn Du hier im Herbst herkommst wo es echt so ruhig ist und trotzdem noch ein paar tolle Läden und Restaurants auf haben, wenn Du dann hier Platten produzierst. Sich hier mit ein paar Musikern zu treffen. Dann während des Entwicklungsprozesses zwischendurch ins Meer zu gehen, das wäre ja eigentlich ideal. Finde ich besser als in Berlin oder Hamburg.

J.B. Wirst Du auch im Winter wiederkommen?
J.V. Ja. Ich möchte mal kommen wenn’s hier nicht so voll ist, mit ‘nem Quad etwas durch die Gegend zu fahren und den Kopf einfach mal frei machen. Ich möchte hier auch mal ein Drehbuch zusammen mit einem Freund entwickeln, weil es hier ideal ist, Ideen zu sammeln und gleichzeitig zu entspannen.

J.B. Vielen Dank für das Gespräch!
Das Gespräch mit Jürgen Vogel (J.V.) führte Herausgeber Jürgen Bushe (J.B.)

Related Posts

  • Published On: August 3rd, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Juli 26th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Juli 20th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Juli 9th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Juni 23rd, 2022|Categories: People|